paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on dm4syzygy's Review / Comments on dm4syzygy's Review / Comments on dm4syzygy's Review / Comments on dm4syzygy's Review / Comments on dm4syzygy's Review

Comments on dm4syzygy's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

dm4syzygy Sunday, August 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month
Last There: August 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish - incredible field if you can afford $100 for a case of 2000
E-jam outdoor - BYOP, friendly refs, 4 fields, knowledgeable techs .. simply awesome
Directions
to the Field:
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&hl=en&saddr=&dad
dr=1745+Greenwood+Lake+Turnpike+07421&ie=UTF8&om=1
Review: PROS
~Cost - You can't beat $15 admission and BYOP. CO2 prices are $5 for a 20z tank and Nitro is $1.20 for 1000psi or $10 unlimited fills. Field paint is $60 for a case, which isn't too bad.

~Safety - The refs are rightfully very anal about keeping your goggles and barrel bag on and your gun on the ground. As long as you follow the rules, the field is perfectly safe.

~Low waiting time between games - Compared to E-Jam and Skirmish (from my limited experience), the games at ABC start soon after the previous game ends, so you get more play time in. I'm not sure about speedball, but the woodsball games are about 5-10 minutes apart (finish of one game to the start of the next).

~Woodsball field - This is a pretty nice field. It's big enough for a good 10v10 game (that's all I really played). There are plenty of bunkers to take cover behind and several paths you can take to the enemy base (including a road down one side of the field).

~Dairy Queen nearby - Right next to the woods field is a Dairy Queen.


CONS
~Variety - There are only two fields, speedball and woodsball.

~Speedball field - I tried this field 3 times and didn't like it. It's way to big for speedball and it's on a large hill - the team on the bottom is at a significant disadvantage.

~Management - Avoid Leo, the owner, at all costs. He will just ruin your day with his nonexistent customer service and appreciation and constant foul mood. Leo's son, on the other hand, is very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.


CONCLUSION
On its own, this field isn't all that bad. If you wanna have some fun playing woodsball, check it out. But overall, I think you'll have a better time at E-Jam (although the competition there is more intense).


Off topic about their Paramus store:
Although the store is well-stocked, the people there aren't friendly or pleasant. I went there with a friend and we were there for about an hour while he bought an Ion and a $1000 set-up and the owner didn't seem to appreciate the business. Add to that their ridiculous no-return, no-exchange policy and the fact that they sold me a barrel that didn't fit my gun and a leaky remote, I'd recommend never going to this store.

Instead, check out E-Jam's pro-shop which is 10 minutes away from ABC's. The owner there is incredibly helpful and will price-match ABC's stuff if you ask.

Sorry, ABC, but the stuff you pull worked pretty well when you were the only shop in the area, but now that E-Jam's moved in, your business model needs some major work.
 

Review Comments
MrGerbik Monday, August 14th, 2006 | 5:42 pm PST
i bought a gun and a few extras and pretty much was treated like trash. i needed a 5 dollar valve to replace the one that needed to be changed out on the gun and i couldnt even get that for free...that is AFTEr paying just over 400 dollars in their store. At Ejam my brother got the same valve for free and he didnt spend anything. Somone needs to go teach these guys how to run a buisness
   

dm4syzygy Tuesday, August 15th, 2006 | 8:17 pm PST
Yeah, I definitely agree. The only thing I actually like about their store is that they claim to give you a lifetime warranty with any marker you purchase there, but I never bought a marker there so I don't know if they hold true to that.

I strongly recommend going to E-Jam's proshop in Paramus or Hackensack at their indoor field. (I'm told the Hackensack one is bigger and carries more stuff).
   

Ref#10 Tuesday, August 15th, 2006 | 9:41 pm PST
hey genius if u had brought the barrel back we would have exchanged it for u cause it wasnt ur fault and as long as u didnt damage the barrel it wouldnt have been a big deal... also when ur friend was looking at barrel for ion/imp threads and then ur like "o ill take one as well"... so when u could have just came back and exchanged the barrel ou had to be a moron about it... and the lady at abc even told u to come back and exchange the barrel because she had called and said that you would be coming back for an exchange... so you wasted your own money...
   

dm4syzygy Wednesday, August 16th, 2006 | 8:30 am PST
Dude, gimme a break. The service at that store is so horrible it would have been a headache to deal with you again. I didn't come back because I bought a different gun so I didn't need that barrel at all. You guys have a no-return policy, so do the math.

Also, if you're going to make fun of me, check your grammar first. This is a forum, not an AOL chatroom. Your post looks like a 10-yr old wrote it.

EDIT:
And, by the way, the only reason we were there that night is because E-Jam's shop closed early that day for some reason.
Last edited on Wednesday, August 16th, 2006 at 2:35 pm PST
   

MrGerbik Wednesday, August 16th, 2006 | 9:57 am PST
Its not exactly a lifetime warranty if i understand it correctly. Its not like they will replace the gun if something goes wrong, but i am pretty sure that they will fix it for free. Im not too sure on this tho. I remember saying something about oiling the gun before going out to play and the guy there said "Don't bother just bring it here each time and we will do it for you". Good idea but not very practically. Besides that they really need to get their act together. Also if you buy something that happens to not be working before you even use it, good luck getting a new one. I know someone who bought an electro hopper with a fried board inside the package. ABC refused to do anything about it saying that the manufacturer would not accept a return from them. Well a call to the manufacturer revealed that they pretty much lied and they would have accepted it back no questions asked.
Last edited on Wednesday, August 16th, 2006 at 10:01 am PST
   

sickshot173 Saturday, August 19th, 2006 | 5:32 pm PST
the life time warranty is a total joke. lets say you want to put apart on gun, you would need to buy the part and gun at abc for this "deal" to work. if not it cost $90 an Hour!!!!!!!!!!!!! that is so retareded, ejam does it for $25 and they aren't complete dicks to you ( i do have to say this master pete, if he still works there is has been such a long time, ryan, and gary are cool). also the deal is a whole rip off cause the gun price and part prices are over priced so much it cheaper to do buy the part online and get it put on at ejam. the owner is a complete ass, a couple days ago i was in that god for saking place and heard him talking his usually BS to these two guys who believe everything he said. luckily it is probably my last time going in there because i just sold my last gun i bought at abc and just needed it to get a tune up before i sold it. now all my business goes to ejam.

i am totally with dm4syzyv. i dont know why you went there in the first place you should have just wanted till ejam opened up. they have a store now if you didnt know open during the day when the field pro shop is closed. the store is right by paramus park on rt 17 south. the store is open during the day except for mondays and sundays. then when that closes the field store is open. the basically overlap times. just go to ejam plain and simple there store is better and there fields are A LOT better. (even for woodsballers!!!) they have to woodsball field and the castle field, which i am a x baller and found that a lot of fun!
Last edited on Sunday, August 20th, 2006 at 11:03 am PST
   

sickshot173 Monday, August 21st, 2006 | 10:31 am PST
and you know what else is a rip off, today i went to pick up my gun that was getting tuned up ( i did this because i am selling it and wanted it to work like new so the person he buys it cant say that i sold them a broken and get a refund). the reason i went to abc is because i thought with the "life time warranty" all i would have to pay for it the o-rings and any other things that need to be fix and labor would be free. well, when i went to pick up my gun the guy tells me that it will be $65. i was like wow, how much did you need to replace in it. he said just the o-rings so i was like what is so much money. he says to clean the gun it cost $35. well, dont get me wrong but wouldnt that fall under the category of life time warranty and mantinece? guess not and they already did the work so i could just not pay them i needed to get my gun.

so once again i was ripped off, AGAIN, by abc. and anyone whos says i wasnt is wrong because i asked for a price when i brought the gun in they said they would give it to me when i picked it up. so i didnt know how much it would be think if i new it was going to be this much i would have just taking it to ejam.

so glad that is my last time in there!!!!!!!!!
   

MrGerbik Monday, August 21st, 2006 | 7:59 pm PST
Yea i may bring my gun in for a once over, but before i leave it with them i am going to make sure i know and they know what the warranty is.
   

Ref#10 Monday, August 21st, 2006 | 8:33 pm PST
if you listen carefully to what the warranty covers its repairing and installing new parts but the fact of the matter is that your gun was filthy like you have never maintained it to begin with, the warranty does not cover cleaning up after your mess, just so you can sell your gun to some one else. ok well everyone have a good night
   

sickshot173 Monday, August 21st, 2006 | 11:05 pm PST
you would think when you charger over $200 more than the gun is worth that all of this would be included, guess not. and what is the diff. between getting your gun cleaned and getting a part on it? your still doing labor and maintenance.

and dont say it isnt true cause you guys are selling an ego in there for $1300, i got one at ejam for $1100. and it is the same one a diff color.

also i just read you review in detail, towards the end it say that ejam will price match any price at abc. why would you want to price match abc, all there stuff is over priced. what i think you mean is that they would price match anything online because everything online is always cheap. i did this the other day with something and the price online was higher than at ejam. so as a joke he still asked me if i wanted a price match. smartly i said no.
Last edited on Thursday, August 24th, 2006 at 1:36 pm PST
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media