paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on j_mscott's Review / Comments on j_mscott's Review / Comments on j_mscott's Review / Comments on j_mscott's Review / Comments on j_mscott's Review

Comments on j_mscott's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

j_mscott Monday, August 14th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: August 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Paintball Arena
Review: What I'll do in this review is just compair the two indoor fields.

Safety - Paintball Arena (PBA) is unbelievable with their saftey rules. I never once feel threatened on the field by someone breaking rules, and never have to worry about being hurt (especially with the new carpet on the field)... Raiders - Was just alright, not nearly in-depth enough however.

Fields - No comparison when it comes to the Rec Ball fields. PBA arena blows Raiders out of the water in this field. I found Raiders so small that it was next to impossible to flank the opposing team. The carpet on both fields is great, however the PBA just has greater area to move and a really cool theme.

Hours of Operation - Almost identical except the PBA has the summer day camp monday-friday during the day (which doesn't help myself or any player over 13, but benifits the new players)... PBA is also opened Monday, and Tuesday when Raiders I don't believe is.

Prices - Alright for both fields.

Rules - Alright for both fields but inforced more at PBA

Services - Both ok

Proshop - Raiders blows PBA out of the water when it comes to selection. You can find almost anything in their shop. PBA however blows Raiders out of the water when it comes to pricing. Most Tippman products I say at Raiders were $10-$100 cheaper at the PBA.

Staff - Two completely different out takes on the game. The PBA staff treats there players as friends. Everyone is welcome even if you don't buy large sums of paint, and the treat you like you really belong there. Raiders was also very helpfull and kind, I just found them to be there for the business side of things though, not for the enjoyment of the game.

Refs - Uncomparable. The refs really listen and see the needs of the players at the PBA. They come up with unbelievable scenarios and love working there. The refs at Raiders looked almost as if they were forced to be working there. They consitantly looked upset, and played the same games over and over again.

Players - Raiders has great players. They are all fairly skilled or very experienced. It was great compition, however the cockyness of some of them really got to me. PBA was more of a laid back atmosphere with people just there to have fun (win or lose). That was a good and bad thing.

Facility - Very diffirent once again. PBA is very homely. Very relaxing, you have room to just hang out with the guys. Theres a great party room, great X Box games room. It's all fairly low on apperance look however its great for hanging out and viewing. Very spacious. Raiders is the opposite. It's very tiny. Not too much space to move around. My equipment got hosed by paint because the only thing seperating paint from me was a net. I went and grabbed a drink, when I got back, things were hosed down with paint from splatter. HOWEVER, the place does look great, the sound and TV looks great.

Food - I go to play paintball, not eat. I didn't know either place had food (if they do).

Overall - I had fun at both places. I love the PBA atmosphere and people there. I think I just enjoyed Raiders cause I enjoy paintball. The enjoyment would be there no matter where I played.
PBA - 9.5 out of 10
Raiders Rec Ball - 3 out of 10
Raiders X Ball 6 out of 10 (ref's had a big part of it being so low)
 

Review Comments
treehunter Saturday, October 28th, 2006 | 6:44 pm PST
ok, how often do you play at PBA, everytime i go there somebody nearly gets their eye shot out. Last time i went there some kid came running in to the staging area with his marker un plugged, yelling that he needed more paint while waiving his gun around. Plus they still use plugs there which have been prooven not to work, abd half of the plugs only have 1 oring and are missing 2 so they practically fall out on their own.

you forgot to compare their rentals aswell, Flagraiders has tippmanns and HPA tanks and what des PBA have, some vintage piranaha markers with Co2


PBA is larger, but over all FlAGRAIDERS WHOOPS THEIR BUT, IF ITS TOO SMALL GO TO THE OUTDOOR WHERE YOU HAVE ALL THE SPACE IN THE WORLD.
   

Tony #1 BUCS Friday, December 8th, 2006 | 6:28 am PST
I Play there pretty much every week and trust me there refs are on top of new players that come out into stageing area with out the barrle condoms on .Yes barrle condoms they stoped useing plugs at lest a year ago! plus they normaly sit the player a game to kicking out for the day after they give them certian amount of warnings first ! U cant even " dry fire " in the stageing area ! come on what field have u ever gone to and never seen someone forget to put on a barrle condom I cant name 1 field I have been to yet that I have not seen this happen!!! what can u say people get excited and forget sometimes! or rush out with out thinking or leave a game earley to go to washroom???
   

freakynorton Saturday, December 16th, 2006 | 11:35 pm PST
lol...how long have you been working for PBA???

the fact that they cant even upgrade to barrel condoms is sad, too many kids walking around thier staging area without them in (not a ref in site )

The staging area is acutally about the same size as raiders, its just longer. Unlees your 12 and your going thier for a birthday party who cares about a lounge.

I dont rent but the rental markers are brutal, i can shoot straighter after chopping paint.
Raiders has good quality markers running HPA. Having to chorno down to 220 pissed me off as well, almost as much as the ref insisting that i cut my sprind. If i do that Mr. Ref what do i do when i go to a real feild? hmmm?

The variety of games is good at both fields. Played a Counter Stirke style game last friday..was very cool.


Try playing at a field more than once before you judge it.


   

Out_Post Sunday, December 24th, 2006 | 8:54 pm PST
I just want to say that was just a awsome review!!! i want to ask you a favor, im starting a paint ball arena and i want a urban feild but i have never been to fla raiders, but i want you to help me... i need information o better my chances of start up, i want some help making sure what my feild looks like, looks great, looks bette then flag raiders.

my mission statement
i want the best of customer service, i want cambridge and the other close areas to know im not all about money, i enjoy playing too. i want to make something great for every one to enjoy, fun, fast, enjoyable, and "affordable" paint balls. im looking into interviewing experienced players and that have enjoyed and that are looking into bettering the paint ball industry.

please contact me, help me continue my research to start the next generation of paint ball, thank you

Albert_o1@hotmail.com

Devon H
   

Righty Tuesday, January 30th, 2007 | 1:38 pm PST
Dispute:
First Off, This Is Not An Advertisement For PBA.
This Is A Review For FlagRaiders Indoor.

"Safety - Paintball Arena (PBA) is unbelievable with their saftey rules. I never once feel threatened on the field by someone breaking rules, and never have to worry about being hurt (especially with the new carpet on the field)... Raiders - Was just alright, not nearly in-depth enough however."

Rules Are Explained At Both Locations, The Only Diffrence Is That Flagraiders Staff Explains Them Over The Counter. Not In They re Own Little Area.
Flagraiders Uses Barrel Condoms, Because Plugs Can Be Shot Out. PBA Uses Plugs.
I Have Saw A Ref Jump Into My Ropes, Because Simone Had Theyre Mask Up.
Flagraiders Chrono's Walkons At Very Least Every 3 Games.
Flagraiders Are A Bit Easier On The Rules.
Getting Hurt? Unless You Are 8 or 80, You Shouldn't need Worry At Any Field.

"Fields - No comparison when it comes to the Rec Ball fields. PBA arena blows Raiders out of the water in this field. I found Raiders so small that it was next to impossible to flank the opposing team. The carpet on both fields is great, however the PBA just has greater area to move and a really cool theme."

The Rec Ball Filed At PBA May Be Bigger, But FR's Is Clean. If You Like Throwing Out Your Shoes At The End Of The Night, The PBA Is For You. Not To Mention Touching Anything But Your Gun Will look Like you Were Shot 300 Times And Grenaded twice. Wood Buildings Line Both Fields, However, Flagraiders Has Cars, Vans, Mailboxes, Crates, Fences you name it. There is No Theme To PBA. And The Reason It Is Bigger Is Because Its One Field, Not Two. So One Game At A Time. FR Has The Tourney Level XBall Field. the SpeedBall FIeld At PBA Consists Of Wooden Bush Shapes...

"Hours of Operation - Almost identical except the PBA has the summer day camp monday-friday during the day (which doesn't help myself or any player over 13, but benifits the new players)... PBA is also opened Monday, and Tuesday when Raiders I don't believe is."

Summer Day Camp....Cool.
Flagraiders Is Open Mondays Are For Private Bookings. Tuesdays Are Mission Paintball Senario Based Games, Wednesday Is BYOP Speedball Nights. Thursdays Are OpenGames, Fridays Are FoodBank Days, Bring Up To 5 Canned Goods In And Recieve $2-$10 Off Admission. Saturdays And Sundays Are Open Games Too.
Flagraiders Rents Jt Masks, Tippmann 98c, With 38/3000 HPA Tanks.
PBA Rents Jt Masks, "Titan" Markers, And 9oz Co2

"Prices - Alright for both fields."
Flagraiders Is Cheaper, Everyday.

"Rules - Alright for both fields but inforced more at PBA"
Agreed. Finally Something I Cant Dispute....

"Services - Both ok"
Services? PBA has no services. they even make you use a phone booth.
FR will Lend you Tools you forgot, Barrel Condoms If You Forgot, Or Have A Plug

"Proshop - Raiders blows PBA out of the water when it comes to selection. You can find almost anything in their shop. PBA however blows Raiders out of the water when it comes to pricing. Most Tippman products I say at Raiders were $10-$100 cheaper at the PBA."
First off, PBA Has No Proshop(ive saw garages with better selection)
The Stuff May Be Cheaper Than FR, But Heck, So Is Canadian Tire. You Get What you Pay For. This is What PBA Has: 12 Pods, 1 Freak jr, A Spyder Marker, 2 Packs, And Some Masks? Oh, About 5 9oz Co2 Bottles. Take A Look At FRs Shop. If you Can Name 1/8 Of The stuff, I Salute you.

"Staff - Two completely different out takes on the game. The PBA staff treats there players as friends. Everyone is welcome even if you don't buy large sums of paint, and the treat you like you really belong there. Raiders was also very helpful and kind, I just found them to be there for the business side of things though, not for the enjoyment of the game."

Sometimes The Refs At FR Are A Bit Drained, And Think Of It As Work, But ive Always Felt Welcomed, And Treated As A friend....Except I think One Ref Secretly Wants To Kill Me.... PBA Didnt Help Me Much. I Had A conversation With The Counter guy, Every Time I got Paint(FR).

"Refs - Uncomparable. The refs really listen and see the needs of the players at the PBA. They come up with unbelievable scenarios and love working there. The refs at Raiders looked almost as if they were forced to be working there. They consitantly looked upset, and played the same games over and over again."

Other Than Full Field Elimination, I Have Yet To Play A Game More Than Twice (Attack, Then Defend) In One Night. Nothing Is More Creative Than "Bob Goes To Work". FR even Lets You Choose Games, And Change Rules. The refs At Both Fields Have The Same Attitude, We All Have Our Days.

"Facility - Very diffirent once again. PBA is very homely. Very relaxing, you have room to
just hang out with the guys. Theres a great party room, great X Box games room. It's
all fairly low on apperance look however its great for hanging out and viewing. Very
spacious. Raiders is the opposite. It's very tiny. Not too much space to move around. My
equipment got hosed by paint because the only thing seperating paint from me was a net. I went and grabbed a drink, when I got back, things were hosed down with paint from splatter. HOWEVER, the place does look great, the sound and TV looks great."

Im Getting Tired Of Typing.... PBA Is Half Lounge. If You Want To Chill And Talk, There's A Place For It. FR Is A Paintball Field. Your Supposed To Be Having Fun On The FIeld, Not Sitting Down. I Like The Idea Of upper Viewing Area. At FR If You Put Your Gear On The Tables Beside The Nets, You Will get Some Spray. So, Put It In Your gearBag, Or Under The Table. Im Not Sure About xbox Games, At PBA, But You Can Play Xbobx On the Big 10'x12' Screen.....Most Of The Time Its Playing Videos Though.

"Food - I go to play paintball, not eat. I didn't know either place had food (if they do)."
FR Sells Pop, Energy Drinks, Water, Chips, Granola Bars And So on... They Have A Lil booth behind The Counter. PBA Doesn't.

The FIrst 2 Times I Went Paintballing I Went To PBA. I Then Went To FR And I Will NEVER go back. Ive Been back to FR Countless Times.
Also, You Can Fill Your Tanks Before You Go Home, As A Lil Gift from FR.








   

kds Thursday, March 15th, 2007 | 11:46 pm PST
i agree with the dispute...i have never even been to flagraiders, and ill agree i had fun the one time i was at pba, but this is a review, not a comparison. if you want to advertise pba then do it elsewhere, im looking at reviews for the field and you told me nothing about flagraiders. of course bpa blows flag raiders out of the water for rec ball....thats because flag raiders focuses on speedball! i enjoy both but if you dont know the difference then why are you on a paintball site? they have two fields for that reason. from what i hear they focus mainly on the competition side of things, and not the rec ball, which is why the rec field may be smaller. i dont mind the speedball at pba, but its not anywhere near competative grade....the bunkers are wood. the speedball at this place is completely competative grade.
wow stick to reviews and not comparison...ill say it again...i havent even played at flag raiders and i liked pba, but this review is outrageous
Last edited on Sunday, March 18th, 2007 at 8:30 pm PST
   

PB VS2 Tuesday, August 7th, 2007 | 1:42 pm PST
Paintball Arena stinks!!!!!!
   

Brianofontario Wednesday, September 5th, 2007 | 3:32 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by PB VS2
Paintball Arena stinks!!!!!!

pb vs2, i love the simplicity of your post!

And I agree with the dispute in all areas
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media