paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on wrightusmc02's Review / Comments on wrightusmc02's Review / Comments on wrightusmc02's Review / Comments on wrightusmc02's Review / Comments on wrightusmc02's Review

Comments on wrightusmc02's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

wrightusmc02 Tuesday, October 17th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month
Last There: January 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Painted Forest Adventure Games -- Alot more fields. Alot more safety minded
Review: I played this field for the first time during their Blackhawk Down Scenerio game. The playing field itself is great. It is true woodsball. The woods have not been cleared out. There is a village set up right in the middle, with a creek bed that runs along side the outskirts of the village. The creek bed is deep enough to walk through with te banks still above your head. The bunkers that are spread throughout are big. There is plenty of room for bigger people to get behind.

The prices are good. If you preorder your paint and registration for the day on their website, the prices are even better. It only cost me $8 to register for the scenerio game. You can also bring your own paint if you want to. That doesn't really matter though because the prices are so good. You can get X-Ball Bronze for $42.50 a case.

However, the safety is not the greatest. The chrono station is right in the middle of the staging area, and they dont make you wear masks while chronoing. Also, there were people shooting in the staging area. There was not the first scale there to fill tanks. Every time I had my tank filled, they just held it in their hand. My tank was never filled all the way. Once my wife had her tank "filled" the very next game she ran out of air with a 20 oz tank.
After one game was over, a paintball came flying through and hit my wife in the face. Luckily she still had ger mask on. Nothing was done to that guy for shooting after the game was over.

The actual field is great. I would play there again. But Im not going to until the safety issues are addressed. I am rating this field only half way because of the safety issues. If they are improved upon the field will be an easy 8 or 9.



NEW STUFF

I went back to Big Pearl a couple months ago for the Cops and Robbers scenerio. They have made quite a few improvements to the field, very nice. As I originally said, my complaints were on the lack of safety there. The chrono was moved out of the staging area - good, They dont allow shooting in the staging area - good, Barrel Covers on when not playing - eh, needs improving. There was still alot of people walking around with Barrel Covers off while others didnt have on masks. I saw that the refs did try to make an effort to make people put them on - good. There was still some shooting while no masks were on, i.e. chronoing. As a side note, I noticed that some of the bunkers and forts had nails sticking out really bad that someone could get cut on. Overall though there was an improvement to the safety of the field. Good job guys keep it up.
I know there will be a couple people inparticular (xps35, wallride2) that will dispute this for some reason or another. I know you think Big Pearl is Heaven's paintball field here on earth, hey thats great, thats your opinion. Just keep in mind that Im not bashing the field, Im only pointing out safety concerns. I like the field too. Oh and by the way xps35, I noticed in a comment you told a guy when you are using an electro and it starts ramping, you dont know what its gonna do, I can tell you are a player that relys on your gun and not your skill.
Last edited on Wednesday, April 30th, 2008 at 11:46 pm PST
 

Review Comments
xps35 Sunday, November 19th, 2006 | 6:43 am PST
Dispute:
ok i aggree with our field being awsome ..the crono was moved, people shooting in the stageing area is being delt with. reffs r improving . safty standards r being hightened. they got a tank scale but they were havin problems with all but 2 of the co2 tanks so they wernt fillen anyones tanks full at all! sometimes people do get shot after the game , i got shot at when your wife did, IT HURT!! painted forest aint my choice of field , just beacuse i think big pearl is a better deal, im not against playen ther, ive seen pics of the field it look cool. big pearl has great deils on equipment, and they will beet or mach just about any price. big pearl tryes to promote a christian atmisphere that everyone can feel welcome in. i have always enjoyed playen there.
Last edited on Saturday, December 2nd, 2006 at 5:13 pm PST
   

wrightusmc02 Tuesday, November 21st, 2006 | 7:15 pm PST
I tkink we need to step back and look at a few things. I have read articles that say statistically, paintball is safer than golf. However, it is only safer if the rules are followed. If I were a field owner, then I would take every precaution to protect my customers. Not to only protect them, but myself as well. Yes you do sign a waiver, but that protects the field owner from injuries caused by falls and such. Allowing people to shoot in the staging area and to continue to shoot after the game is over will eventually cause someone to get hurt. At that point it becomes negligance on the owner's part and he/she can be found liable.
To address the issues you raised in your comment. Yes the chrono area is to the left. But it is , like you said, only 4 feet from the staging area. That is too close for safety reasons. Those people that shoot in staging areas, no matter what field you are playing at, should be reprimanded some how. The field owner is responsible to employ enough help to watch everyone and keep them safe. My wife's mask was on when she got hit. That does not change the fact though that she was hit AFTER the game was called. Again, unsafe actions were allowed.
xps35 is right, Painted Forest is a safer field. That is why I continue to play there.
Last edited on Thursday, November 23rd, 2006 at 6:17 pm PST
   

wrightusmc02 Monday, November 27th, 2006 | 4:00 pm PST
It doesn't take 30 refs to keep people safe. It only takes 1 or 2 that actually know what they are doing. Newbies do make mistakes, but whether you are a newb or not if you act unsafe you should be penalized. It is how you learn not to do things that you are not supposed to. By the way Painted Forest is not expensive. Paint starts at $45 a case. If you spend at least $25 in paint you get free air for the day, plus there is no field fee at all, unlike Big Pearl. I can tell you personally that I have never been ripped off. My entire family goes to the field and the shop. If I had been ripped off I would not have been going there for almost 10 years. Im curious xps35, how long have you been playing?
   

wrightusmc02 Saturday, December 2nd, 2006 | 6:19 am PST
I never said I didnt like Big Pearl. Like I said in my original comment, the field is great. The safety is what is lacking. Its good to know that the chrono station has been moved. But if something is not done about people shooting in the staging area or after games are over, then someone IS going to get hurt. Get a since of reality. Our sport catches enough flak as it is. Field owners especially need to make sure safety is priority. I do plan to play there again. But if the safety has not been improved on Ill never play there again, and I will not promote the fielsd and encourage people not to go there.
   

Paint3all Wednesday, December 27th, 2006 | 4:54 am PST
you should incist on a mask on, untill all barrel plugs or covers are on the barrel. Thats what painted forest does and it works.
   

xps35 Wednesday, January 10th, 2007 | 10:01 am PST
actualy the rule is "masks on until your off the field" rule and painted forest is for NOOBS
Last edited on Tuesday, January 16th, 2007 at 2:58 pm PST
   

wrightusmc02 Sunday, January 28th, 2007 | 11:34 am PST
It's good to hear that the safety has improved. As soosn as I get a chance Im going to come to the field to play again. Again, that was my only real complaint, and Im glad too see it is being taken care of.
   

Tipp_pro Friday, November 16th, 2007 | 3:33 pm PST
Dispute:
The safety has been upgraded. The chrono is nowhere near the staging area, and you do have to wear a mask when using it. You cannot take off your mask after a game until the reff says so. Long story short it is one of the safest fields around.
   

wallride2 Friday, January 4th, 2008 | 8:32 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by wrightusmc02
It's good to hear that the safety has improved. As soosn as I get a chance Im going to come to the field to play again. Again, that was my only real complaint, and Im glad too see it is being taken care of.

masks on until your off the field was the rules at the black hawk down event?!?!?!?!
and people are gunna get shot sometimes after right after the game ends, play enough paintball and you will do it yourself. thats compedative paintball!!
   

wrightusmc02 Saturday, January 5th, 2008 | 6:47 pm PST
I never said that mask off was not the rule. You people need to pay attention to what I actually wrote. I made sure my team was playing fair and safe. Other people were not listening to the safety rules. When a game id over it's OVER!. That means no shooting. Yes Ive played enogh paintball to have done it myself. Over the last 10 years or so I've sat out a couple of games because I broke a safety rule or shot after the game. This guy that shot my wife after the game was over did it like 5 mins after the game was donr. That is plenty of time to know that a game is over and to put your BBD on. At the recent Iron Curtain game I unfortunetly could not make it at the last minute. However I heard from the others on my team that the safety had greatly improved along with the field too. That is great to hear.
   

wallride2 Sunday, February 3rd, 2008 | 7:38 am PST
ok. i still wouldnt have said te safty was lacking if i got shot if i was still on the field, but everyone is entitled to there opinion.
   

wrightusmc02 Monday, February 4th, 2008 | 3:21 pm PST
I said that the safety was lacking because of an overall assessment, not just because my wife was shot well after the game was over. Try reading my whole review there genious.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media