paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on NATURALBORNKILL's Review / Comments on NATURALBORNKILL's Review / Comments on NATURALBORNKILL's Review / Comments on NATURALBORNKILL's Review / Comments on NATURALBORNKILL's Review

Comments on NATURALBORNKILL's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

NATURALBORNKILL Tuesday, October 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year
Last There: October 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cz,irp,oes,op,epic
Directions
to the Field:
middle of nothing
Review: Wow tjis place is in the middle of nowere. the road is horble.[i know it is not the parks falt its the citys] there were no speedball fields to play on so it was just woodsball.
im not trying to badmouth the field but the refs most deff need some work.all they did was yell and scream. they stood on the netline the whole time they would not eaven do a p8ntcheck for crying out loud! the vibe i got from the refs is they thought they were the best and know everything. the prices were not bad. my younger borther payed $5
me and my older bro payed $ 10 each to get in. but the only thing i can complain abut is the air cards they were $10 each. on the last game my my older bro got shot from 3 ft away it was also his first time playing. we went and told thr refs and the refs just shrugged it off.
 

Review Comments
cguzman Sunday, October 29th, 2006 | 5:24 pm PST
It's funny you mention the air card. Today I just made a decision of not to come back to the field. The Park is not the reason but the vendor. Well, let me first start by saying that I am a scuba diver. I have many certifications, Nitrox, Rescue, First Aids, Dive Master, etc. I have two 80cu 3,000 PSI tanks. I can get them field at the scuba shop for $3.75. Yes! not $10 per tank. Only Certified divers have the ability of going to the store and get the scuba tanks fill. No other person without certification can go to a scuba store and get air. By SCUBA diving industry's standards no person without a certification is allowed to get air tanks fill.

So I figure I go to my local paintball store and purchase a scuba tank adapter to fill my paintball tanks. I was going to Hurricane Park for about 5 to 6 weakens, one weekend after another. Well, today the vendor (owner), the same people that I purchase the adapter from came over to my truck and saw that I had the tanks to fill my paintball tanks with, So insted of taking to me directly about it, and letting me know about the regulations they had in the park. He initiated a conversation praising a jersey I had on. Then He continue walking down to the reff and told them about it.... Mua, mua, mua.

Some body with a reff shirt came over and talk to me about how the tanks were not permitted, because of insurance and safety reasons. Yeah Right! We, divers strap this tanks on our back for years with no safety issues. Well you know and every body else reading this, what was the real reason. I was told not to use my tanks. It's a shame, I was having a lot of fun. Oh well is not my lost. I wounder whose is it!

I can not tell people how to run their business, but what I can really do is make a decision where to take my business to....

Fact One - If there was or is a sign. I did not see it or read it. I am human I make mistakes, So I am very sorry an apologies to who ever I Offended. I understand the rules and regulations of the park. Never the less it was the way I was approach about it.

Fact Two - SCUBA Tanks Rate of safety is very height. This tanks need to be hydro tested every five years to determine if the metal can contain the pressures in it. The regulating agencies require every tank to be stamp or mark indicating the type of material the tank is made and the maximum pressure is permitted in it. This are the markings in top of the tanks. for example. DOT-34L is the Controlling Body, 3000 is the working pressure, etc.

Every tank have a valve. On this valve there is a burst disk that will brake or open to release the air from it, if the tank is overfill over the maximum pressure. Paintball Tanks also suppose to have this burst disk.

Tanks are also required to be visualize once a year, which involves removing the valve and looking inside for signs of corrosion or damage. If the tank is deemed safe, an evidence of Inspection sticker is applied to the tank showing the date of inspection, etc.

The major culprit in tank degradation is corrosion, everytime the user release the air completely from it. He or She will take the chance of letting moister inside of the tanks there off over time the tanks will rust from the inside out.

This is why I Always leave at least 100psi of pressure in the scuba tanks at the end of my dives. During Paintball I try to do the same-thing, so no moisture can get in them either.

Final Comment and personal opinion, I believe that is lack of knowledge the contributes to accidents. Knowledge is power. This is why I teach my son this little tips and I try to educated my self in everything I do and learn from my mistakes.
Last edited on Tuesday, October 31st, 2006 at 12:47 pm PST
   

SplatActionSpor Monday, October 30th, 2006 | 1:02 pm PST
The City and insurance company sets the rules, not the vendor, and the park has never allowed outside air sources. There have been accidents and even deaths related to filling air tanks, most of the problems have been with CO2 however, insurance companies just say no outside air sources. You can write APL to confirm the fact that insurance companies prohibit it not to mention that the City has posted signs even clearly stating as such. The main goal for the park has always been safty and although some people wont appreciate the fact, I think the majority of us will.

From a business perspective, the fees are set by the City, paying $5 to $10 to enter a park like Hurricane is very reasonable and $10 for all day air is pretty much industry standered. The City earns money from the vending that is used to pay for the refs, electricity, nets, maintenance, bunkers, etc and if everyone brought there own paint and air then they would have to increase the admissions price or close the park down and none of us want to see that happen.

Speedball fields will be open after the third week of November.

Again keep in mind that it was not the vendor that made the rules or asked you to stop, it was left to the discresion of the City refs. In addition, as an avid diver too I can appreciate your oppinions on tank safty but its still the insurance companies that set the rules and the park still has to earn money in order to remain open.
Last edited on Thursday, November 2nd, 2006 at 6:55 pm PST
   

bigrooster1 Sunday, January 28th, 2007 | 2:33 pm PST
This is in response to cguzman:

First of all, lets get real for a moment. Hurricane paintball park is a place of business they aren't called " our lady of paintball" . Of course the reason you can't bring your own air tanks is that they want you to buy their air. I am sure there are some safety and insurance reasons as well. Everybody seems to want a nice facility to play at, but nobody seems to want to pay for it. Do you go into McDonalds and eat your own food you brought from home, or do you buy theirs? You can byop to hurricane which is more than alot of higher end fields allow. I'm glad you have a scuba certification, and I am sure you can competently fill your own tanks, but they don't allow it so get over it.
   

bigrooster1 Sunday, January 28th, 2007 | 6:43 pm PST
This is in response to cguzman:

First of all, lets get real for a moment. Hurricane paintball park is a place of business they aren't called " our lady of paintball" . Of course the reason you can't bring your own air tanks is that they want you to buy their air. I am sure there are some safety and insurance reasons as well. Everybody seems to want a nice facility to play at, but nobody seems to want to pay for it. Do you go into McDonalds and eat your own food you brought from home, or do you buy theirs? You can byop to hurricane which is more than alot of higher end fields allow. I'm glad you have a scuba certification, and I am sure you can competently fill your own tanks, but they don't allow it so get over it.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media