paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on frank herbst's Review / Comments on frank herbst's Review / Comments on frank herbst's Review / Comments on frank herbst's Review / Comments on frank herbst's Review

Comments on frank herbst's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

frank herbst Monday, November 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: November 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
TOO MANY TO LIST
Review: I took some guys to Tanks this past weeekend and overall was not what I thought it would be. Only two of the four airfields were really playable. The two NPPL fiels were half up, half flat.

If you are a serious balla like myself...this is not the place to be. The whole day there was only one ref per field and that ref stood by the entrance and never even checked players. I have never seen so much wiping going on since I started playing this great game called paintball. I witnessed wiping watching on the sides and had every single guy I brought, come up to me and say the same thing.

People all around warned us about personal stuff coming up missing, but you can't really blame staff can you...or can you?!?!

The price was fair, the atmosphere was good and even met some cool ballaz (holla out to Jordan & Spencer)

I will only go back if I can bring my own refs & the airfields get repaired.

Overall I give it a 6.5
 

Review Comments
tankspaintball Tuesday, November 21st, 2006 | 6:59 am PST
Frank, sorry you had a bad experience at my place. I would like to address these issues but I have a few questions if you do not mind?

I am curious to know what two NPPL fields were half up? I have only one. I understand we had a kid slide in and tear the corners on the spike, so it was not as secure as we like it.

We were short handed this past Sunday due to some refs not showing to work, our fault. But we had more later in the morning, if I understand my managers handwriting.

You state the wiping issue. I do not condone this but we can only control what is seen and by being short handed it was probably rampant. I believe this also falls on the player himself lack of skill and wants to continue play.

You state a issue with items missing. This happens at all fields in the world. I can tell you this. Most of the missing equipment stories all have happy endings due to the players friend picked up the equipment or it was grabbed by mistake by a friend or team mate.


"People all around warned us about personal stuff coming up missing, but you can't really blame staff can you...or can you?!?!"

I take the above post offensive! You insinuate that my staff steals! If you know this as a fact, please let me know so I may deal with this.

I do not tolerate thieves.

Thanks for the review no matter how painful it may be. It only makes me better when I know what issues customers have.
Hope to see you back someday.
Last edited on Tuesday, November 21st, 2006 at 7:19 am PST
   

frank herbst Tuesday, November 21st, 2006 | 7:57 am PST
I apologize for the "stuff missing" thing...no, that is not your fault at all. It does happen. No harm meant by that and definitely didn't insinuate that your guys are thieves.
I have to tell you though, it hasn't happened out at my place, YET.
I know how hard it is to keep up with everything going on when busy...I run a paintball field myself. I can't do it all myself either & good help is so hard to find.
The two airfields in the back were not properly inflated and yes Tank, there was about 35 to 45% of the bunkers were either completely down or sagging terrible. I did ask if they could be aired up and one of your guys said they already had blown them up once.
I would come back for a tournament if you could promise me that you have at least 4 or 5 refs during games (and actually interacting and doing paint checks)
Again, I was just really pumped about going to your place because I have heard soooooo much good things about your place. It wasn't what I expected at all that's all.
You do have a nice setup there. Probably one of the better fields in Central and South Texas (when properly aired up), I give you that Tank. Yes, I would give this place another try....serious ballers never give up.
Last edited on Tuesday, November 21st, 2006 at 8:00 am PST
   

tankspaintball Wednesday, November 22nd, 2006 | 3:23 pm PST
Thanks for taking the time to reply. Since I wrote my first response I spoke with the rest of the staff on duty that day and it seems that we were operating on a skeleton crew. 7 refs did not show so one of the teams stepped in to assist. I apologize for a poor day and I can assure you it was a off day and we DO NOT have many of those.

Thanks again for replying and stop by again. By the way the events are excellent. Do not let 1 time deter you away from a visit soon.
   

KPBJason Saturday, November 25th, 2006 | 3:19 pm PST
I am extremelly blown away by this. Let me just give you my thoughts.

I know how important it is to have a field aired up and 100%. I have flown to other states just to practice for a tournament and have played on crappy bunkers. Thats why we try to put so much emphasis on keeping our bunkers up and running. We have had teams fly in from all over the world just to practice at our field for a professional tournaments. Including the Russian Legion, who still give us stunning reviews.

I totally apologize for your experience. You had some serious bad luck, because that was about the only bad day that we have had all year (staff and all).

For anyone who reads these reviews, I strongly encourage you to never take this lying down. THE REFS WORK FOR YOU. Anytime you are not happy, pull a ref and demand results. If that doesnt work, the staff behind the counter are managers, let them know asap. I promise they will get the job done.

YOU are more important to us than our staff. I know Tank and I will personally drive to the field and air up bunkers or ref your group if you are not satisified with what our management are doing.

Again, sorry for the problems, and if you ever want to get serious practice in, come by anytime and hollar at Tank or I and we will make sure you have a fantastic time.

Jason.

P.s.
1. Just so you know we dont have a theft problem, security on the property and cameras. We have recovered all but one gun that has come up missing in the past few years.

2. I hate people who wipe. Its almost impossible to catch em all. If you think they are wiping, shoot in the goggles until the get out :)
Last edited on Saturday, November 25th, 2006 at 3:20 pm PST
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media