paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on purelycanadian's Review / Comments on purelycanadian's Review / Comments on purelycanadian's Review / Comments on purelycanadian's Review / Comments on purelycanadian's Review

Comments on purelycanadian's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

purelycanadian Friday, December 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: August 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I haven't played at any other fields in this area, but there are quite a few in and around here. Uhm.. Quest Paintball in Ivanhoe and Pro Advantage Paintball in Belleville...
Directions
to the Field:
Use Mapquest, I could explain but they do it better.
Review: I typed this up before, but my computer crashed half way through and I didn't want to retype it all, so sorry if I don't go in-depth in some areas. There is one thing I'd like to say however, their website is horrible. It is hard to find any good information on their website, and it is done very amateurish. Don't let the lack of quality on their site deter you from playing here though, because it's still fun.

Safety

Shooting Range: As other reviews have stated, there was no netting between the shooting range and the parking lot. This was never a problem for me, because nobody was idiotic enough to shoot that direction. I have read that they did, in fact, put netting up, but I'm not sure.

Masks: Masks were always required. One reviewer said you could run around without a mask on during a game. That's completely untrue compared to when I played here. Masks were required on in-game, and if you wished to remain near the field to observe the remainder of the game after you were eliminated, they had to remain on. You could go some distance from the field to an area where you could take the mask of, however there was no netting around it.

Barrel Condoms: Always on when not in a match. No exceptions. If you got eliminated you had to put it on immediately, else the referees were yelling at you.

Fields

The fields are all amazing, at least the ones I played at. By far the western town was the most fun and had the most action within it. It was very enjoyable having a wide variety of objects to take cover behind, not just trees and slabs of wood. Very, very well thought out and designed. As most people said, the walks to the field were long, and sometimes unnecessarily out of the way in which we had to go.

For the most party, they play Attack and Defend and Team Elimination. Some of the fields were slanted heavily towards the Defenders, like the Firebase and the Alamo, but they were still interesting. In Attack and Defend, we were never once able to capture the Firebase, but we did manage to fight out way up to the walls of the Alamo and capture it twice.

Hours of Operation

The hours of operation are about 8:30-4:00. Really, they'll go until dark if enough people are left, but most people left around 4:00. So they'll operate as long as you want, but if there are very few people they'll tend to stop doing rounds.

Prices

The prices are high, but they have to make money somehow I suppose. You can walk-on on Thursdays, Saturdays, and Sundays. We played on a Thursday, which is their cheap day, and the prices work like this:

$2.00 Entry - Regardless of if you own equipment or require a rental.
$120.00 for 2000 Rounds

On other days, the prices are:

$15.00 Entry - If you have your own equipment.
$25.00 Entry - If you require a rental (rental Piranah, 9oz. CO2 supplied)

Services

The services you'll find here are great. Aside from the paintball fields and set-up area themselves, you have many other things to do. I believe they have a driving range for golf, and they have a wonderful restaurant. The food is great there, and it's relatively cheap. You can also get your CO2 and HPA filled up easily and free if you're playing there.

Proshop

To be fair, the proshop is lacking. They do have a small variety of equipment available for purchase, but nothing major. If you're in the area, just go to Pro Advantage down in Belleville (http://www.proadvantagepaintball.com). They have much more variety and better prices and services.

Staff

The staff here is mostly young. I don't mind, because they're all about my age then. They know what they're doing, and they're friendly, helpful, and fair doing it. The referee's were getting on my nerves at some points, and they honestly seemed disinterested in the matches at some points, but they aren't payed to be interested they're paid to keep the game fair.

Players

When I played the majority of the crowd was young guys, there were two middle aged people, and three or four girls around too. Everyone that was playing there was alright, most of the people were quite friendly and nobody was putting anything down. There was good sportsmanship, no cheating that I noticed, and anybody who wanted some help would get it from somebody. Also, and it is rather important, we played as a team. Everyone that day was a walk-on, and I figured it would be an unorganized mess. It was quite the opposite, everybody was fairly organized and there was quite a bit of teamplay.

Facilities

The facilities were alright. The lockers were messy though. Two of them had hornet nests in them, which one of the refs shot out before we started going around them. There were a lot of hornets whizzing around the lockers, but there were no problems... nobody got stung. The lockers were clean on the inside, but a little messy on the outside. Uhm.. that's about it for facililties. Oh, washrooms used salt water for washing hands... I don't get it either...

Food

I probably misunderstood them, I thought when you walked on you got free lunch. Well we didn't. We actually didn't even eat lunch because nobody wanted to stop playing. I stayed afterwards though and ate dinner there, and it was good. They've got a restaurant and bar there which open later on, and the food is very good. It's not too pricy, but it isn't cheap either. Trust me when I say this, the poutine is the best I've ever had.

Rentals

Forgot to include this when I wrote the review. The rentals at Bunkers are not very good from what I was hearing. I brought my own gear of course, but most people there that day rented. They have 98 Customs out there and some sort of Piranah, sorry not sure what. The 98 Customs ran fine, no problems for the renters. The Piranah's on the other hand, I'd guess that 50% of them were malfunctioning at some point. They were all eventually fixed up, but it did cause slight delays in some of the games.

Overall

Overall, this is a great place to play. The fields are well thought out and organized, and the staff is helpful, fair, and friendly. Refs are good, they'll do paint checks for you if you want, and they make sure that nobody shoots you after you're already out and leaving the play area. Very good, very fun, highly recommended.

Go try it out, and have fun.

9/10
Last edited on Monday, January 22nd, 2007 at 7:38 am PST
 

Review Comments
IONized_baller' Saturday, February 3rd, 2007 | 12:46 pm PST
when are u going back to play there. and what gun do u use cuz i probaly know u but don't know for sure. I use an ION, A-5, and a camoflauge gun.
   

purelycanadian Sunday, February 11th, 2007 | 9:17 am PST
I'll be going back there sometime either this spring or summer, definately sometime between May and September. I've only been here once, which was last summer. The only person that had an Ion there that I saw was a friend of mine. There was an A-5 and I think a Recon that was camouflaged.

I use a 98 Custom, with red-dot, raised rail, folding stock, 14" black (and wrapped in camouflage tape) progressive barrel, double trigger, and it also has the camouflage sticker set applyed. I was also the only person using a remote line when I played there. Don't know, maybe you were there, there were about 30 people at peak I'd gather so I'm not sure.
   

IONized_baller' Sunday, February 18th, 2007 | 1:05 pm PST
did you play on a specail day. Do u rember the reffs name. just wondering because to was lots on reffs there and i may have seen one time. Ws was there a guy with an impulse there acully i that was prpaly you seen with the impulse because my buddie and i swithced guns sometimes
   

IONized_baller' Sunday, February 18th, 2007 | 1:07 pm PST
was there 2 female reffs ( one around 18 and the other around 16) there.
   

purelycanadian Tuesday, March 20th, 2007 | 8:33 am PST
No, not a special day, it was just a regular low-cost thursday. I was with a couple friends, one had an orange Ion and other had a blue Pilot. Yes, both refs were female but I'm not sure how old.
   

IONized_baller' Thursday, August 2nd, 2007 | 6:03 pm PST
when are u going back there????????
   

purelycanadian Tuesday, August 7th, 2007 | 4:58 am PST
Going back on August 9th and possibly the 16th (both are Thursdays).
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media