paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Maudarazy's Review / Comments on Maudarazy's Review / Comments on Maudarazy's Review / Comments on Maudarazy's Review / Comments on Maudarazy's Review

Comments on Maudarazy's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Maudarazy Friday, December 29th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
6 months
Last There: August 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
FSL(closed), SYO(closed), Air Assualt(Best undisputed indoor field in MN), Tommy Guns(not as good as), Crossfire(more woodsball oriented), Annandale Paintball(better tournament setup but lack of woodsball), MNPro(decent), and the Field of Streams(like playing in the saharra).
Directions
to the Field:
Check the website, fairly easy to understand
Review: As a competetive tournament player I visit alot of fields in my area. This one was not great or bad for a tournament player. Jim (the owner) is a great guy and extremely friendly. I did find the pricing a bit steep compared to other outdoor fields. Jim had a great proshop set up and, although smaller than I'm used to, a decent staging area. As far as safety goes, I thought the lack of a decent amount of reffs, no netting seperating fields, lack of dead boxes, and lack of a "real" chrono station were a bit of a concern. The reffs themselves were just kids who stood on the imaginary sidelines helping out their friends. The fields were way too big for anything smaller than a 10 on 10. The grass on the fields and the fact that they have both an X-ball and Super 7 field is nice though. I have been told that the woodsball is great and I have to take what I have been told as I didn't play woodsball any of the times I was there.

Summary-If your a woodsballer or 1st timer hit this place up if its close and give paintball a try. For those of you who are looking for a good speedball experience or are trying to step up your game, consider somewhere else where the prices are more decent, the fields are setup better for tournament play, and you'll find an overall better experience.
Last edited on Friday, December 29th, 2006 at 12:27 pm PST
 

Review Comments
pbforu2 Tuesday, January 2nd, 2007 | 11:12 am PST
Dispute:
I am also a competitive (spelled right) paintball player and I have played at many paintball fields within Minnesota and the surrounding tri-state area. The pricing is comparable to many local fields for the things that the owner offers. Jim has a great proshop, and good set up area. He has an enclosed set up station, or if you wish you can set up in one of his outdoor stations. (Basically there is plenty of room to get ready). Jim has an enclosed chrono area and netted dead boxes, which makes me wonder the last time the person who originally reviewed this field was there. The refs at this field let the players actually play paintball, as apposed to interfering and making paintball a refís sport instead of a playerís sport. The bigger speedball fields are great for any size play,(we usually play 3 on 3). The field really makes you move and be very aggressive. Action Packed Paintball does have great grass and great bunkers. This field is good for woodsballers, but even better for speedballers if you want to play on some actual grass that is thick and isnít patchy. If you really want to have an enjoyable day come out to Action Packed and youíll have a great experience.
   

theconstipation Friday, January 5th, 2007 | 11:40 am PST
Dispute:
Ok, I have to dispute the whole 'reffs don't do anything' part. Compared to everywhere else I've been (splatball, airassault, alamo) the reffing is top notch. THEY DON'T JUST SIT ON THE SIDELINES WHEN YOU CALL FOR A PAINTCHECK!!!! THEY ACTUALLY DO THEIR JOB!!!
   

Paintball_Doc Tuesday, February 13th, 2007 | 4:19 pm PST
Air Assault is the "best" indoor field in Minnesota only because it is one of two, and it's beyond me how Splatball in Minneapolis survives.

Believe me, I have plenty more complaints with AA than I do with Action Packed.
   

Maudarazy Sunday, February 25th, 2007 | 9:02 pm PST
If Jim has placed actual netted chrono areas and netted dead boxes they must have been a recent addition prior to the end of the summer of '06. Maybe the reffs were better when you were there, but they were terrible when I was there. I'm not saying that Air Assualt has great reffs though, some of those reffs are worthless. It really is hard to find a field with GOOD UNBIASED reffs. Most reffs tend to help out the regulars or first timers. Every time I go to a competeing field I get the cold shoulder from the house team and the reffs, but that is to be expected. As far as my opinion based on the speedball fields...Compared to actually tournaments, the fields are to big. If my memory serves me correctly, the fields are something like 200 feet long. that is more than 50 feet longer than any national tournament field. Its great that they got Super 7 and X ball bunkers, but those are becoming more common. I believe Air Assualt and Annandale have both sets as well, I don't know if I'm missing anyone else but I wouldn't be surprised if they have them. I will agree, the grass is nice, but I would rather play on a regulation size field over an oversized field. To put it into perspective, would you practice football on a field that was 30 yards longer than regulation, or baseball that is 100ft longer with bases 10 feet futher apart? I wouldn't, whats the point? Open play should always be a learning experience for those serious in the sport, so a regulation or close to regulation size field would be nice. To stress one more thing...again correct me if I'm wrong or the circumstances are different, I believe that APPG has only hosted pump gun tournaments. The Polar Bear, the AYT's, the MWPPA (if you want to even count that, since it seems like it is breaking away from Air Assualt and becoming something much like a smaller PSP in MN, and not siding with any fields), or even the NPUC's have not hosted an event there. I don't know if its Jim's unwillingness to host an event there or not. I do know that Greg of the Polar Bear, JT of the AYT, and Brad of the League (when it was forming and before it fell apart) tried to get an event to run there. I don't know if Jim turned it down, or there was a falling apart on any agreements or anything like that...I'm not a promoter or field owner so I have no idea what goes on with those dealings. The point however is, to my knowledge there has been no decent tournaments held at APPG.
   

This Guy Thursday, March 8th, 2007 | 11:22 am PST
I am a ref at APPG so i'll try and set some of this straight:

- APPG is not a Competitive paintball field nor does it intend to be. APPG's main focus are rec ball players.
- Yes our fields are big. But at fields like Air Assault its hard to play a 10 v. 10, or more in the case of some of our groups. This design is for our rec ball players.
- We have only hosted pump tournaments. Why? That's the business of the field owner, but its not that hard to understand why if you look at it from the business side.
- The new crono station was installed fall '06, so you likely did not know about it.

I am not going to actively advertise this field on a public forum but i will defend it if i find it necessary. Dustin, I know who you are and your relationship with the field/refs. I like you but you have butt-heads with some our refs off the field and outside of a paintball setting prior to this review. I don't think you are providing an unbiased view of our field as far as refs go. Also comparing us to Annandale and Air Assault is not fair. You are sponsored by both from what i understand.

Please don't view this as an attack on you, I'm simply defending APPG.

-John Thomason
Last edited on Thursday, March 8th, 2007 at 11:28 am PST
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media