paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on p8ntspunge04's Review / Comments on p8ntspunge04's Review / Comments on p8ntspunge04's Review / Comments on p8ntspunge04's Review / Comments on p8ntspunge04's Review

Comments on p8ntspunge04's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

p8ntspunge04 Sunday, January 14th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: January 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Going to check them out for sure
Review: Ok, so where do I begin?

DSG, definitely is a nice site for the rec-ball or airsoft community. Definitely what I would expect for lower Alabama. I've been playing tournament paintball for almost 5 years now and was hoping to play some speedball since I heard so much about this place. Well upon arriving at the field a little before opening time (pretty standard at most fields), I found I was the only one there to play. I was also shocked to find that the sup-air field that they have as the main page of their site wasn't even put up. They apparently only put it up 2 times a month. So I venture inside to check out prices and come to find average paint at somewhat high prices. Not exactly highway robbery, but it's hard knowing what the paint costs for dealers and then seeing what they charged. Anyway, I digress. So I fill out the paperwork and am told to be ready for an orientation. After I sit through this 10 minute long rant from the owner, I realize that I just lost 10 I.Q. points in listening to him explain that a paintball to the eye is a bad thing. Thanks for the scientific breakthrough, genius. Well after the hour and a half I wait to get on the field, we finally have a group ready to play. I ask to go to the hyperball field and am told that we have to do dodge city first, and it's a 2 game rotation. Well I sit through the first 2 at dodge city (approx 20 minutes total) and finally we get to the hyperball field. So we play the first game and after walking off the field, the reffs have us raise our barrels and I take off my mask. Big mistake apparently. The 15 year old with the whistle says that I had a "head-gear violation". Excuse me for seeing that everyone is in the staging area has their barrel plugs in and having the initiative to take my mask off. Oh, and it's a mask, kid. So now after 2 hours and 1 game, I'm told "sorry but you have to it out the next one". Well, alright. Your field, your rules. I decide to walk the 1/4 mile back to the staging area and refill air. It was at this point I realized how pointless it was to even try to play here.

Sure. Reff staff talked way too much trash for guys never having played anything but local 3 man tournaments, were unwilling to check for hits, and generally annoying. I'm there to play, not have you oogle my equipment and have you ask retarded questions. Definitely won't be returning here.

So if you've played any kind of national event involving speed-ball, this is not the place for you. Rec-ball?
I gave it a 2 because they sold gatorade.. I couldn't find much else to my liking.
 

Review Comments
dothan survival Monday, January 15th, 2007 | 9:24 pm PST
Dispute:
This player couldn't keep his head gear on and follow the field rules. His view of the required safety orientation is statement enough of his "vast" experience yet he hasn't even got the basics down. DSG or any other field would do well to avoid this type of player and his attitude.
   

ShooterATC Monday, January 15th, 2007 | 10:19 pm PST
Bah.

Paintspunge has simply failed to understand the concept of the beginner paintball player. Or the fact that most fields, regaurdless of their safety record, are in fact very unsafe places to be.

The origional post was clearly constructed by a very selfish mind that fails to understand that the tournament scene only represents approximatly 10% of the paintball playing community. For the rest of the paintball players DSG would be considered a haven from poorly run and dangerous fields. They also cater to a large number of newer players, people who may not understand that paintball guns can be dangerous, hence the ten minute lecture about the importance of safety goggles and the enforced rules while on the field.
   

p8ntspunge04 Tuesday, January 16th, 2007 | 9:51 am PST
If you'd go back and read the very first line of my paragraph you'd see that I complimented DSG in being a very nice place for rec-ball/ air soft. Ahh, yes I did. Selfish mind? Haha, I won't even address that. And yes, the tournanment scene is a very small portion of the paintball community. Since I am from that 10%, that is what I wanted to play, and couldn't. The home page on DSG's website has the airball field set-up. Catering to our demographic? No. Rather, putting that there because it's on ESPN. So why not address the other 90% of paintball on your home page.

Oh well, I digress. Like I said, DSG isn't for me. This is an open forum and I know other players out there would have the same views as myself. If they don't, that's their perrogative. Either way, don't get all hurt because someone has said something besides DSG is the greatest field ever.
   

ShooterATC Tuesday, January 16th, 2007 | 3:37 pm PST
Yeah but then you go and rate a perfectly good field as a 2 out of 10 just because it wasn't the type of field you wanted it to be. Rate it for what it is, if you think it should be something less than perfect so be it but don't hold it to the standards set by fields that aren't even in the same demographic. You wanted it to be a tourny players field when thats not what is in demand in that area, there isn't enough of a consistent player base to sustain a PBC or SC Village type atmosphere.

You're complaining about a bad apple when what you're eating is an orange.

BTW, the competition you were looking for had already played for the day and were either reffing or had gone home. Some of those kids actaully are good enough to talk some trash, but I'd be surprised to find out that anyone actually had.

You'd have to ask the owner about scheduling a time for the airball field to be set up, I think it's available for group play. There just isn't enough demand in the area to justify setting it up all the time.
   

p8ntspunge04 Tuesday, January 16th, 2007 | 7:44 pm PST
Why should I rate something on the same scale as you? We have different back grounds, playing experiences, and general outlooks. This rating system is purely subjective. My opinion vs. yours. My opinion was based on the fact that I had to be herded from field to field like cattle, where many fields have partitioned player and spectator areas that you don't have to wear a mask at all times. 2nd, the "competition" was given the choice to play or ref and all chose to ref. Trust me, I've worked at fields for the last 4 years to help pay my team dues. I know what it's all about. Trash talking? Let's just say one of them out there had enough trash talking for them all, but conveniently didn't want to play when I asked. 3rd, the fields themselves, while they weren't bad. They just weren't to my liking. So what are you going to say about that? Selfish mind again? I think not. Once again, my opinion. Once again, why I rated it what I did. Thats what this site is here for kids. A REVIEW.

Lastly, you might want to check the owner's blood pressure. I mean threatening bodily harm in a private message? Not the smartest thing to do, but hey, whatever floats his boat. If he feels tough, then more power to him. He runs his field and noone is here to dispute that.. Split my skull? Haha classic.
Last edited on Tuesday, January 16th, 2007 at 7:47 pm PST
   

p8ntspunge04 Tuesday, January 16th, 2007 | 7:50 pm PST
I accidentally posted this in another area, but I figured I'd post it here. Why not? I dig this stuff

If you take anything from this thread, note how the field owners got people to get on here and argue my point. Last I checked, this was an open forum for everyone to base their OPINION's about a field. I post mine, and get threats of violence. Funny to me, but beside the point. It's not about money spent on equipment (because I don't pay for most of mine). It's not about thinking one person is better than the other, etc. I'm just saying that I've played at probably 35+ fields around the country and found this one to be way different from what I liked. I posted my feelings on said field, and thought that would be then end of it. Oh no. My favorite was the phone call asking me to meet the owner "behind closed doors" and things of that sort. We won't go there, because I'm a little too mature for that. Tempting? Sure, but I won't stoop to this level. I also think it's funny that I got 2 PM's asking what I thought about the reffs because people had issues with them being real stand-offish to people. One in particular, but I won't put his name in a public forum.

So, DSG's faithful, I ask you this. If your reputation is so untarnished, and upstanding, then what difference does it make that an out of state baller comes in, says his 2 cents and leaves? My point is that it shouldn't. Yet, you take so much offense and stoop to these levels, it makes me glad I didn't drop more cash into your establishment.

In summary, I want you to go back to my first statement. DSG is a good field for rec-ball and airsoft. Anyone that's played a major tournament will tell you that you don't have that set-up. I reference SC Village, PB Central, etc. That's the caliber I compare EVERY field to. Not just yours.

Spend more time practicing your gun skills, than worrying about what people say on an internet forum, and maybe I'll see you down the road somewhere.
   

ShooterATC Wednesday, January 17th, 2007 | 5:54 am PST
Offense was taken because alot of people put in alot of time and effort to keep that place running the way it does. They provide a very safe environment, have an incredible safety record 13-14 years running, and have outlasted all other fields in that area.

In your comments you were belittling and rude and everybody who's ever spent a day working at that field would have a problem with what you said.

Most of what you complained about are things done because insurance requires it. You just haven't experienced any of it because no other fields put out that kind of effort.
   

butters at DSG Wednesday, January 17th, 2007 | 7:49 pm PST
dude for u 2 say some crap like that after we (THE DSG REFS) WERE DOING ALL WE COULD TO PROTECT YOUR VISION THAT DAY!!!! yes im 13 years old and i was on the field with you refing at hyperball u played good but than popped your headgear. well if u would have been listening to the rules through the whole 10min orientation maybe u wouldve understude u retard were just doing our job so that u can have fun
   

baller1280 Sunday, February 3rd, 2008 | 8:46 pm PST
first off the dead box on dodge city is pretty much on the field and ive gotten hit several times while standing there thats why you keep your head-gear/mask on till the games over and all barrel plugs
and your just an idiot for not following rules
yes the refs get annoying but its for your safety and others and so they dont get sued
ive played awol, DSG's team (there 5 man not three) in several tournaments outside of south alabama so idk what your talking about there
none of the refs that i have met or been reffed by has talked smack and theyre not afraid to chech for hits
btw im in the minority too b/c i much rather play tournament style than scenario/woods ball but i still have fun every time i go
   

chipperzc Wednesday, January 14th, 2009 | 7:17 pm PST
Dispute:
I checked out Hotshot's today and have to say I am really disappointed... Disappointed that I don't have a field near me that is as nice as this place.

Let's start with the field. The turf is a great surface to play on, but can be a bit slippery at times. I actually liked it though because you could get some good slides into bunkers. The bunkers were all placed with good angles on the rest of the field and it was very balanced. I enjoyed the set up.

Next, the reffing staff was definitely not afraid to get in and check you. I called a paint check on myself during a 4 on 1 (me being the 1) and he got right in to call me clean. Props to those guys. Also they were very good about checking barrel plugs/masks. Noone seemed to have a problem as the boundary zone is clearly marked and it's pretty hard to get through the net without a mask. Well thought out.

The facility itself was well thought out and the set up allowed for easy play with the air and staging areas right next to the field. It was about a minute turn around between games, so if you wanted to keep playing you could. The players were friendly and talkative as well.

Lastly the staff in general was more than helpful with anything that I might have needed. They were more than willing to cater to the needs of players and adjust the teams to the best of their ability so that families and friends could stay together. They also didn't let it get too off balance either. Good job on their part. They also ensured that games flowed properly and there was never a real down time. I was impressed.

I gave it a 9 out of 10 because there is always room for improvement. In this case, not too much, because they are definitely running a great field over here. It almost saddens me to go back to my home field soon.

I'll definitely play here whenever I'm in town.



thats what this guy wrote on the go kart place review.
maybe some connections here? and i wonder y the go kart place wasnt running saturday?
   

Theman420 Thursday, July 22nd, 2010 | 2:34 pm PST
Dispute:
I think this is a case of wounded pride and frustation. He was put down because a 13 year old called him out for a mask violation and punished him for it after a (10 minute lecure on how a paintball is bad for the eye.) Get over it buddy. And there not that strict. You get a warning first. At least as of now.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media