paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on nohbody's Review / Comments on nohbody's Review / Comments on nohbody's Review / Comments on nohbody's Review / Comments on nohbody's Review

Comments on nohbody's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

nohbody Saturday, February 3rd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years
Last There: January 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at Middle Tennessee Paintball at Spring Hill and Bear Claw does not Compare.
Review: This place is horrible. The last time i played there, i had forgotten my barrel cover. Normally any place would have let you borrow one for a time being, but not Bear Claw. I was forced to buy one, leaving me with no money. I left and my friend had told me that some other kid had forgotten his also. the man asked who all else had forgotten theirs and handed them out while saying these exact words "here but don't tell that other guy please." Another time i was working the scenario and they were telling me jobs to do. At the end the woman told em that she would not pay me because she had not told me she would. I put in fourteen hours of work at that place and got nothing. That shows the service that bear claw gives. pitiful. Their prices are outrageous, and their ion was 230 when you could get it anywhere else for 200 even. The only good thing is that they know how to fix guns, but they charge an outrageous price for work on guns. To play there you must pay all of this. The field fee is 12.50. There is TWENTY - FIVE DOLLARS IF YOU WANT TO BRING YOUR OWN PAINT. THEIR PAINT IS SIXTY DOLLARS and its terrible. I got it once and they were flat and shot crooked. They have absolutely no speed ball and their woods ball consists of maybe three good fields. I could go to my grandparents and do better than this place. The pro shop also reaked of cigars. and the Refs were mean and terrible. If you want to spend a lot of money and get ripped off, then go here.
 

Review Comments
Mr. Fatty Friday, February 9th, 2007 | 4:38 pm PST
i totaly agree with this guy. this field does suck
   

Bearclaw_staff Sunday, February 18th, 2007 | 1:49 pm PST
Dispute:
First, Bearclaw does allow you to borrow a barrel condom with collateral (ex: you leave a driver license or something and you get it back on the return of the item you borrowed.) The return of the property to Bearclaw allows you to get your stuff back; you can then choose to buy the barrel condom or item you borrowed (exception: HP tanks). The barrel condom is required to play. The barrel condom is 3.99 brand new. Stop complaining.
Second, on the paint issue. The $25 was 12.50 field fee+12.50 your paint fee. It was not $25 plus 12.50. We no longer allow you to shoot your own paint.

The only time we charge for anything besides parts is when its a major problem with the gun. With minor problems we only charge for parts.
Paint is now $45 and $55 per case respectively.
We have 10 fields of play, and what makes them good is the opinion of the players. We have 2 speed ball fields, a city and a hyper-cube field.
The referees are mean because they make you follow the rules? We make sure that you are kept safe.
The total for a case of the good paint, All day air fill, and field fee is only $73.91 including sales tax. That's a whole day of play for only $73.91. Now if you waste paint, you can but paint by the bag.
On the "high prices", we attempt to place our merchandise cheaper than other places. Sure, if your a n00b paintball player, it may seem expensive, but NEWSFLASH! paintball isn't cheap.
Last edited on Sunday, February 18th, 2007 at 1:49 pm PST
   

Bearclaw_staff Sunday, February 18th, 2007 | 2:37 pm PST
Look at all the good reviews we have.If it is a woods ball person reviewing we got a great review .If it was a speedball player we generally got a really good to good review.thank you
   

nohbody Tuesday, February 20th, 2007 | 6:41 pm PST
Yea see my reason, OH THATS SO CHEAP, ONLY $73.91. I play WEEKLY which means i am not a NOOB and I doubt any people can afford those prices. I played at Middle Tennessee Paintball, which by the way had airball, other speedball, and woodsball, ALWAYS SET UP AND READY FOR USE, and it only cost me about $25. They worked on my friend's gun for about three hours and charged him nothing. They gave him about a hundred dollars worth of upgrades for only a grip. And i want to know why you charged $15 to take my gun apart and put it together again, which i could have done. The barrel condom situation, you told me nothing about it which you should have done. The situation about the barrel condom is not the money issue, but the fact that you charged ONLY ME and not the others. Also why do you go to Wal Mart and buy monster balls, which are $30 and then turn around and sell them for $45 & $50 I AM NOT A NOOB AND I DO PLAY PAINTBALL FREQUENTLY. Paintball is supposed to be a growing sport and with the extreme prices you charge, you are losing business, and the players love for paintball,which i have witnessed. Quit telling people you have speedball when we used to go weekly and you would never set it up.
   

speedetek Tuesday, February 20th, 2007 | 7:07 pm PST
Dispute:
i have to side with the poster of this comment....the last times i went with my friends to the field they would not set up the speedball for us...and the paint thing is true ..according to walmrt staff cause when i asked were all the paint had gone to in one day they told me the owner from bearclaw is buying it all....thats really says something....i also went with att least 3 churches in the past 2 years and after each time of play they all responded the same way...thats WAY to expensive and they wont go back there..now they go to midsouth pb...and im glad to join them....i would like paintball to grow in this part of TN and high prices arent helping in any way...

Thanks,

ETEk;)
   

Mr. Fatty Wednesday, February 21st, 2007 | 4:39 pm PST
when bearclaw says they have speedball fields their full of it. when i went there they told me they had a speedball feild and when i drove 2 freakin hours there was NO speedball field
   

speedetek Wednesday, April 4th, 2007 | 8:55 pm PST
haha aww harold aint got nothing else to say....CAUSED WHAT WE SAY IS TRUE!....so go hide in a trench with your walmart gun!..no body cares about your opinion on fuking...die
   

bearclawsusie Friday, April 13th, 2007 | 3:35 pm PST
Interesting comments all gentlemen...I noticed that very few of the folks posting these "words" have not given any information to say who you are...however I know "nohbody". Now you know why I sold the airball field. And no I do not pay people I have not hired to do a job... Bear Claw will bring the hypercube field back out of the woods as soon as we have completed the upcoming event with 800 people attending...
I am glad you all have somewhere to play ...everyone needs to play where they feel most at home. Some of our youth groups drive over 4 hours to play weekend ball in a family environment and we are proud of that. We invite you all to watch us on Paintball World Tv News every Saturday night on Men's Outdoor Recreation channel on both Directv and Dish Network. By the way...if you haven't figured it out from my username I am Susan Juengel and my family owns Bear Claw.
   

mpp4life Sunday, June 17th, 2007 | 2:58 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by bearclawsusie
Interesting comments all gentlemen...I noticed that very few of the folks posting these "words" have not given any information to say who you are...however I know "nohbody". Now you know why I sold the airball field. And no I do not pay people I have not hired to do a job... Bear Claw will bring the hypercube field back out of the woods as soon as we have completed the upcoming event with 800 people attending...
I am glad you all have somewhere to play ...everyone needs to play where they feel most at home. Some of our youth groups drive over 4 hours to play weekend ball in a family environment and we are proud of that. We invite you all to watch us on Paintball World Tv News every Saturday night on Men's Outdoor Recreation channel on both Directv and Dish Network. By the way...if you haven't figured it out from my username I am Susan Juengel and my family owns Bear Claw.


i liked bearclaw when i went me being a rec baller i would play anything but yall need an airball feild
   

nohbody Tuesday, July 10th, 2007 | 3:55 pm PST
Too bad only like 400 people showed up suzie and i hope you know who i am because we supported you people for so long and you kept ripping another hole in our butts. Thats why we bought our own field and are telling everybody bear claw suks. Yall are losing business fast suzie and everybody is leaving you. We actually had one of the workers tell us the other day that if we came back then we wopuld get sponsored but we refused because you just ripped us off the whole time i played there.
   

Sledfang Wednesday, July 18th, 2007 | 12:28 pm PST
Only 400 people? If you have never been to a 400 person event at a field our size, I guess I could understand how the word "only" would apply, but since I think you HAVE been to a scenario event here, you should definitely understand that 400 people is not a joke here. I'm not sure which event we are talking about, but if it is the most recent summer game, that's actually quite an accomplishment. Among other things, we have never had an event that size in the summer before. I have worked at Bear Claw for 2.5 years and can remember my first summer there, we had to cancel the scenario because of too few preregisters, and the next summer we housed roughly 100 to 150. For this one to reach 400 only a year later (there were several conflicting factors, including the fact the we were operating in the shadow of D-Day in Oklahoma, which I have been told there is no competing with) is quite incredible to me. The game was sponsored by Paintball News TV, and we had received a bit of misinformation from what I heard about how large the event would be, so we had to prepare under the assumption that there could be anywhere from 200 to 1200 players at the field (for anyone with a brain, that is a massive margin).

As for your comment on paint, I honestly have no idea what you are talking about. Monster Ball? I have never seen us one time stock up on Monster Ball like you claim (especially from Wal-Mart), so I'm just going to assume that you are talking out of your rear. Also, you should have checked your paint before you took a case (I personally have never turned down a customer who has asked for a replacement bag if there are smashed or broken balls, however, I cannot replace any bag that has been opened obviously). It's very common for people to ask to cut open a box before they buy it and all of the staff here is supposed to allow it. As for brands of paint, we have carried nothing but RecSport ("low grade") and X-Ball Bronze ("premium") for players to choose between for well over a year now. So even if we had a bad batch of paint at one time that is not the case now, and for prospective players, that is all that matters. I shoot RecSport through my 98 Custom quite regularly and have no problems at all, and at scenarios we receive almost nothing but compliments for both brands. Obviously, there will always be the odd case which probably got roughed up in transportation (the fact the we regularly have Semi's deliver paint here straight from the companies is also further proof to me that we certainly do not get our paint from Wal-Mart), and to believe otherwise is naive. If you got a bad case and didn't bring it back that is purely your fault. I have talked to numerous scenario regulars who travel all around the country (people who have played much longer than you have) and from what I gather this is a standard procedure. I'm sure MidTenn does it as well.

The difference in our paint and Wal-Mart paint is deeper than brand though. Our paint is kept in a humidified, air-conditioned room, and is flipped regularly in order to keep for the longest possible amount of time without spoiling. So there are no misunderstandings, when I say "flipped," I literally mean that every single case in our storage room is taken and flipped upside down, in order to keep the paintballs from settling and flattening into each other. This is performed roughly every 3 to 4 weeks.

All in all, I would say that the reason you had such an awful time has more to do with yourself not asking to be helped properly. If someone doesn't ask us for help we don't generally just give it away. We aren't going to assume that you need your hand held if you claim to be such a great player (I could be wrong, but you sound like one of those kids from Highland Rim who were usually a bunch of know-nothings that pretended to be hardcore), so if you don't ask us, don't come complain about it later on the internet. I promise you'd be much better off actually complaining here and giving us suggestions as to what you think we should do to improve; I see no reason why anyone here would simply refuse to listen - and we might even take you seriously after that.

As for your comment about everyone "leaving" Bear Claw, that just seems to be your little bout at making it look like there is an open rebellion just because most of the little 7th graders from Highland Rim decided they wanted to be professional skateboarders instead of paintball players (hint: both of those aspirations are unlikely and for the most part completely retarded) and left one day. Truth be told, I am used to summers where I just come and sit around in the shop all day, but that has not been the case this year. More people are showing up this summer than I've ever seen before (this is my third summer working here), and our last Fall scenario was the biggest we have EVER had. So not only is your comment about everyone leaving over exaggerated, it is completely untrue. I sure hope that makes you feel smart. And you can't give a retort to that because facts are facts, and there are DEFINITELY more players on average this summer, of that I am 100% positive and you cannot tell me otherwise.

Sorry I wrote a book for you people to read... bad habit I guess. Anyway, I can certainly understand that Bear Claw is not the best field for speedball players (however we have recently set back up the hypercube field, which was my personal favorite), but for woodsball there is little comparison anywhere around here. I have played the scenarios and worked at them, so I have seen them from both angles and can certainly say that it is a blast. When I work a huge event like that I get to meet all sorts of interesting people, most of whom are scenario regulars (they have to be regulars for a reason, man, so it can't be all bad like you say), and when I play the events it's always fun. All of more than 100 acres becomes one field, with teams often reaching over 300 players a side, and the game lasts 24 total hours over the course of a weekend, breaking only for sleep and dinner. Does Middle Tennessee Paintball do that?
Last edited on Wednesday, July 18th, 2007 at 12:35 pm PST
   

Jusuchinu Wednesday, July 18th, 2007 | 12:35 pm PST
BAM!
   

nohbody Sunday, August 5th, 2007 | 12:49 pm PST
Ha HA Highland Rim my ass. highland rim team sucked except for one good player. and i am a speedball player. so bearclaw sucks for me. Anyways... i am tired of leaving comments and discussing this matter because this was a very old review and i am trired of arguing with people. sorry to piss off your days people. later.
   

bearclawsusie Saturday, August 11th, 2007 | 12:25 pm PST
Scott honey does your daddy know what you're posting?
   

nohbody Sunday, August 12th, 2007 | 5:42 am PST
I am sorry for everything i have posted here... i just had a couple of bad experiances here at bear claw. i like speedball but bear claw does not really have it. so it suks for me. others might like it. tis my opinion. one more thing suzie... i will probably getting air there so honestly i dont care about any of this. This first comment about bearclaw was a very long time ago and i really don't care anymore. so anyways i saw you at wal mart suzie the other day.
   

bearclawsusie Friday, August 17th, 2007 | 8:38 am PST
Scott you will probably see me in Wal Mart as often as 3 times a day depending on what is going on...I usually purchase food, clothes and hardward in the local store. Bear Claw has purchased paint in Wal Mart 3 times in 10 years of business...on a Sunday when we have run completely out of Pro Caps. Our last Pro Caps order was for 8 skids....which unlike your local retailers we keep in a climate controlled room and turn the cases periodically so they remain round. Your insinuations that Bear Claw is loosing players is an interesting one...if that were true who would shoot all that paint???????? I must admit I am tired of only 2 or 3 church groups on a Saturday and am looking forward to cooler weather and bigger turnouts for walk on play. See ya'll in the woods (where it's cooler!)

   

nohbody Sunday, August 19th, 2007 | 1:35 pm PST
Actually you misunderstood me Suzie. i wanst sayin you bought paint in wal-mart i was just sayin i saw you in wal mart. i am tired of arguing about bear claw. it really isnt a bad place at all and the only reason i wrote this review was because you guys pissed me off once. later
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media