paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on davidlanzi's Review / Comments on davidlanzi's Review / Comments on davidlanzi's Review / Comments on davidlanzi's Review / Comments on davidlanzi's Review

Comments on davidlanzi's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

davidlanzi Tuesday, March 6th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: March 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tactical - Actually offers something other than speedball / hyperball.

Other Fields - Offer just about the EXACT same thing that Petty's offers. Can someone make something original please?
Review: I've read a lot of reviews about this field and have hear a lot of talk about it from other players. I guess it just didn't live up to the hype for me. I was thinking that since players talked it up so much, maybe it offered something that other fields in the area didn't already have. I was wrong.

I'm from Northern Virginia, and we have a lot of woodsball here. In fact Pev's field is only about 5 miles from my house (they are a large nationally known brand and field that offers several different types of games like capture the flag, football, and attack and defend. All Petty's offered was side-on-side elimination). I guess I expected something other than 5 or 6 variations of the same game of speedball / hyperball from just about every field between Austin and San Antonio.

And that is exactly what you get at Petty. Yes, they have several different fields... if your definition of different is having one speedball field made of black hyperball tubes and another made of blue 55 gallon drums.

Sure, they have a castle that they are building, but it's definitely NOT ready for play.

Maybe I'm just out of my element in Texas. I come from the land of the $500,000 townhouse and land is VERY expensive (20 acres is going to run in the millions). I shouldn't have assumed that since land is in such abundance in Texas that the fields would actually incorporate large, tree-filled areas. Instead, all you get is field after field of the same thing. Your choice of black or blue plastic bunkers.

I'm sure someone will dispute this review, but every word is the truth.

I was disappointed with my experience at Petty's and other fields in the area for only offering slightly different scenery while playing the same type of game over and over again.

I would give my experience a 5 out of 10 because that's what it was. Average, average, average.
Last edited on Monday, March 12th, 2007 at 12:35 pm PST
 

Review Comments
arnoldez Sunday, March 25th, 2007 | 1:08 pm PST
Dispute:
Yeah, you're right, I am going to dispute it. Petty is by far the best field in the area, and you apparently didn't bother to scope out the entire area. They are currently building a castle (should be done sometime this spring), but they already have two forts built on a large plot of land next to the new castle, on which I personally HAVE played BOTH capture the flag AND attack and defend. And while you consider it a negative, I think it's awesome that they actually offer more than one smaller elimination course. I'm just not a big fan of sitting around and waiting for other teams to finish playing. Everyone at Petty is easy-going. Sometimes they can be a bit lazy, but all you have to do is say you're ready to play and they'll be right on their way. They'll set up any kind of game you want, and they have plenty of fields to do it. They certainly offer a lot more than side-on-side elimination, you apparently just didn't bother to ask.

On top of all of this, I really like the grade of player that you can find out at Petty. For the most part, you don't really run into too many whiny rich 12 year-olds with $1000 guns that their parents bought them (they tend to stick with their Texas Paintball, where it's $30-$40 for four hours of play). Everyone out at Petty is helpful, they know what they're doing, and they're good sports. Every now and then of course there's a random douchebag thrown in, but we usually just own his face.
   

OzWolf Tuesday, May 6th, 2008 | 10:51 pm PST
Dispute:
Yeah if you ask they do capture the flag, and assult the fort, and now attack the castle. There is soon to be a woodsball area.
   

Locust_09 Wednesday, November 26th, 2008 | 12:56 pm PST
you must not kno much about paintball at all bc petty is one of the best fields in texas, i may have only been to petty once but it was the best field i've been too and i hav been to xtreme, challenge, outlaw, texaspaintabll and much more. yeah of course there out there in bateman but there nice and for once they actually kno what there doing. unlike most fields u just find ppl trying to take your money away. my score for petty would be a 9/10
   

Lobo25 Saturday, March 21st, 2009 | 9:35 am PST
Dispute:
What does ...." I come from the land of the $500,000 townhouse and land is VERY expensive (20 acres is going to run in the millions)." ....have to do Anything with paintball or Petty? You just let everyone know what type of player you are. In the military do you hear guys in Iraq complaining that there is TOO much sand in the desert. Or how about this one...I trained at Fort Jackson so I can't go to Iraq because there is too much sand and I trainied in the woods. Come on really?! All fields in the US and in the world are different and if you really want to post nonsense that is your right but at least comment on things relevant to the forum. How much your house or land is where you come from has nothing to do with paintball. It is players like you that make it hard to build up this sport.
Last edited on Saturday, March 21st, 2009 at 9:57 am PST
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media