paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on HellcatCommando's Review / Comments on HellcatCommando's Review / Comments on HellcatCommando's Review / Comments on HellcatCommando's Review / Comments on HellcatCommando's Review

Comments on HellcatCommando's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

HellcatCommando Tuesday, March 13th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years
Last There: March 2nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation - Hayward (Better, good indoor/outdoor)
Venture Games - Clayton (Best for Scenario)
Sherwood Forest-Vallejo (Awesome Woodsball)
The Jungle - American Canyon (Even better Woodsball)
Bear Creek - Milpitas (good indoor)
Fairgrounds - Santa Clara (Gets hot, but plenty of fields)
Directions
to the Field:
Off Valecitos Rd on Highway 84
Review: Until a year or two ago I looked to the field as an alternative. They are safety devils, and I don't blame them, thats good. THeir policy though, is very unforgiving. The field layouts aren't too bad. But if there are more than 20 people, the fields are WAY too small. And they don't allow more than one game to be going on at a time. The hours are typical. 9 AM to 3 PM. That annoys me. Open at 10 or 11 and close at dusk. That makes sense to me. Prices are ridiculous for rentals. They charge $60 for 2000 rounds, which are some crappy Brass Eagle paintballs. Rules are agian typical. Proshop, non-exsistant. They offer VERY little to help the player. Definately no upgrades availible, but cheaply manufactured parts that they sell at prices to that will end your day early. Refs are biased as heck! They may be funny sometimes, but they carry a gun on field and start shooting people and say that they are out. And as others have said, they have been promoting their paved parking lot. What BS, its a crappy gravel road with potholes everywhere. It has improved cosmetically over the years. Management has gotten worse. They have added more shade and started cleaning up the bunkers. The No sliding rule is bad but makes sense. Its rocky, and if it rains your diving into water and a mixture of cow...uh....waste? Food is provided, not that bad, usually barbecue. I would still suggest your own food, or bring your own BBQ and make some good buregers, thats what I alwasys did. Recently added outhouses and dressing rooms. A nice change. More spools and tables. You can tell they are trying to make it more appealing, but I don't plan on going until its under new management. Thank yo "Thizz" Paintball for doing so much damage to a field with so much potential. Yes, they have a store and it is called Thizz Paintball, explains a lot about them. I believe that my rating is very generous, and I would advise somebody to go only if they wish to go to every paintball park around. Other than that, certainly not worth my time. Make the extra drive to Milpitas, Hayward, Vallejo, Santa Clara, or Clayton.
 

Review Comments
Vietfooh Sunday, March 18th, 2007 | 9:15 pm PST
Dispute:
First off, I would have to dispute this post. THIZZ PAINTBALL IS NOT AFFILIATED WITH SUNOL PAINTBALL IN ANY WAY SHAPE OR FORM. And please do not state things that you do not know about. The field opinion that's pretty much accurate, but the owner of Thizz is not the owner of Sunol.

Oh but sorry, if you would have come in to Thizz, you would notice right away.

Thanks.
   

HellcatCommando Wednesday, March 21st, 2007 | 8:56 pm PST
Okay, I apologize. All I know is that I have had bad service at every paintball store 50 miles around Livermore. There is nothing wrong with the staff at the Old Atlas or the new Thizz. I was told by an old Atlas Employee at mylast adventure to Sunol that they were affiliated with Thizz, so I took his word (an honest paintballers mistake). I apologize. All I know is that the Sunol Management has gotten worse over the years but mild field improvements have been made. The field is still no good for more than 14 people at a time to play.
   

HellcatCommando Wednesday, March 21st, 2007 | 9:00 pm PST
Oh, but again, other readers looking for info on Sunol. Please note that this dispute is because I affiliated a store. Nobody else has ever started a dispute about anybody elses comments. This is a good one day play, and it stops there.
   

Vietfooh Friday, April 13th, 2007 | 6:40 pm PST
Oh its fine. I just dont want Thizz, a pretty good store, to be linked with a field that is not up to par. I am sorry that you were mislead on the affiliations. But your assessment of the field is basically accurate until that "affiliation" quote.

Thanks. Have fun playing paintball.
   

crazyfrontman Wednesday, April 25th, 2007 | 2:32 pm PST
Dispute:
the refs dont bring guns onto the field and shoot people.Thats just stupid they wouldnt do that.
   

HellcatCommando Thursday, April 26th, 2007 | 4:24 pm PST
well, I suggest you go there. They do it frequently. Its only fun when they are shooting their freinds (who are practically the best guys there), but they do shoot people at random as well. Sunol just doesn't offer as great a day as they used to.
   

crazyfrontman Tuesday, May 1st, 2007 | 9:38 pm PST
actually i have bean there a lot and iv never seen a ref even bring a gun to the field. But i do agree with you that they have disappointed me over time of how they changed.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media