paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Xstasy_3's Review / Comments on Xstasy_3's Review / Comments on Xstasy_3's Review / Comments on Xstasy_3's Review / Comments on Xstasy_3's Review

Comments on Xstasy_3's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Xstasy_3 Saturday, April 14th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: April 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I recently moved to Jacksonville and have been busy with college. No other field.

For Credibility's sake: I was the Head Ref at the Field where I live in Fort Walton Beach for about 3 years.
Review: To start off- I was extremely, extremely disappointed.
I have been a paintball referee for 3-4 years prior to coming to Jacksonville and Paintball Adventure's safety was unacceptable.
The story:
Trinity Baptist Church held a youth conference for over 1000 teens all over Florida, Alabama, and Georgia on the Dates of April 4-6. Our biggest day was on the 6th when we had a campus game day. Trinity rented out many different types of rides etc. for the kids to do.
Trinity decided to get the guys from Paintball Adventures to come out on campus and set up a paintball field on the back acreage of the property. These teenagers ranged in age from 12-18.
Disappointment #1: ~~There were three guys present to run the "field": One older gentlemen and two guys about 20 years old. The older gentlemen left not long after leaving the 2 younger guys to run the entire field for the remainder of the day.
#2: ~~They had **one** injury waiver posted and everyone signed a piece of notebook paper saying they had read it. THESE WERE KIDS! MOST OF WHICH WERE UNDER THE AGE OF 16~ You cant allow kids of this age to sign their own wavers! If anything it was the youth pastor's job because he was responsible for them. Nonetheless the kids just filed by and signed the piece of paper regardless of reading the posted waiver.
#3:~~ They used the normal Tippman 98 Customs as rental guns but I immediately noticed they had 2-3 Barrel plugs among about 30 rental guns. These kids were walking around with no barrel plugs and no masks on just waiting for an injury (that may have been covered by the piece of notebook paper with about 50 names on it). I never heard the ref say to turn your guns on safety..not even once.
#4~~ The field was horribly small with NO SAFETY NETTING OF ANY KIND! The field was composed of the cheap bunkers made of springs that were lazily planted in the ground. After the first game all the standups were laying down and everything was just kinda moving around except the doritos.
#5: I must repeat once again there was NO SAFETY NET. This is extremely dangerous knowing that there were only 2-3 barrell plugs on hand. The guys set up their tent behind their van but the van was constantly pelted by paintballs causing the bystanders with no equipment to move.
#6: I had to take it upon myself to yell at the kids when they took their masks off during a game. The ref actually said something maybe 3 times in the four hours I was there. When someone got shot he would tell them to get off the field rather than announcing it to the field (i.e. "PLAYERS HIT! LET HIM OUT!!").
Overall it was very poorly set up by PB Adventures and Im writing this so they will correct this. It was by pure luck or miracle that no one was seriously injured.
I have pictures of the field and van for credibility.
I do give the ref some respect for kicking two guys out that had premium smaller bore size paint. That kind of paint would have gone all the way to the parking lot.
Last edited on Saturday, April 14th, 2007 at 11:50 am PST
 

Review Comments
Pbaman Tuesday, April 17th, 2007 | 7:31 pm PST
Dispute:
This is not a review of my field. For more than 17 years I have donated equipment, time, labor, paint, and resources to churches, boy/girl scouts, military, fund raisers, and charities. My business has adopted nine military units serving in war zones. We send hundreds of back issues of paintball magazines and scores of CARE packages. We allow kids of deployed military to play at discounted prices or free. We donate field passes to charities and fund raising auctions. I loan equipment to various churches and sometimes my staff will coordinate the event exclusively and sometimes volunteers will assist. After all, on most of these functions I don't make a dime. Most of the time any income is donated to the church or organization hosting the event. My field is very busy and we try to give back to the community that supports us. This is the fourth time I have done an event for Trinity. Never has there been a complaint, injury, or mishap.
I remember the writer of this 'review' because he approached me at the beginning of the event and informed me that he had been a 'head ref' for 3 years at a field in south Florida. He offered to help if we needed any. I thanked him and explained that this was a function run by Trinity Church so I wasn't really the one to ask. Our scheduled time was 2pm until 4pm. We started at 2pm and I did leave the area at 3:20pm. I also saw the writer of the 'review' play at least five games. Why didn't the ex-"head ref" come to me and express his concerns? Probably because he was having too much fun playing. If the ex-"head ref" witnessed such abhorrent safety violations why didn't he go to an adult (there were scores of them around) and voice his concerns. If the ex-"head ref" was so concerned why didn't he take time to read what the posted 'waiver' as he calls it said. Had he read the 'waiver' he would have found that it said: "No one shall remove any equipment from this area and all players must use equipment provided." Some waiver. Thr church wanted players to sign in only as an indication of who played..sort of a marketing sample. The church assumed total responsibility of this event and was insured.
He is right, we used Tippmann 98C. Chrono'ed at 240fps. He is right, the church did not put up a safety net.That is why we had a 300 foot buffer zone between any foot traffic and the closest part of the field. He is correct, the church used our Stanj field. Certainly not one of our Ultimate Airball Fields that we rent. I believe the choice was made for a amateur field because the entire event was only 2 hours. He is wrong about the barrel plugs as every gun had one. Yes there were some goggle violations. This is fairly routine with young kids. I'm sure mister 'head ref' has experienced goggle violations before as there is little one can do if some people don't listen to the rules. My refs and the church volunteers did correct these violations when they occurred. Overall we got twenty or so compliments and one bad review...a review against my field for a donated event. Goes to show you can't please everyone. I still am not sure of the reviewer's motivation...he claims he wrote the 'review' so we would make changes. Why not stop playing, come directly to me (or my staff or a church volunteer or an adult), and voice your concerns right then and there? Why not e-mail me directly after the event? Why not call me and express your concerns? After all, safety to an ex-'head ref' should be primary, not relegated to a review post seven days later.
   

Xstasy_3 Thursday, May 10th, 2007 | 9:39 pm PST
I am absolutely aware that Trinity is responsible for what happens on the campus. I agree with you that I did play several games (which I have already pointed out I was spending most of my time in the games making sure these kids were keeping their equipment in check.)

I let your refs know about most of the safety rules they weren't following but that will forever be a pointless "their word against mine".

I guarantee upon every inch of my being that their were no more than 4-5 barrel plugs on the field (2 of which I found on the field as you guys started to clean up)

I am not an idiot when it comes to psychology and giving me the name "head ref" and constantly repeating in a condescending manner is a way of getting people to become biased for you in the end and is also a direct attack on me. I dont appreciate that.

Im also aware that your dispute began with a lot of "We give so much to the community" propaganda to get all to realize you are actually a good person, I am not questioning that at all but it isn't necessary for this dispute besides more psychological positivity in your favor.

*****Im very familiar with Trinity and no more than a handful their had played paintball enough to know any better concerning the rules and safety regulations.

I really dont care whether you say it was completely my responsibility because I did know the rules concerning holding a paintball event and I deliberately played making me a somewhat accomplice to the "crime" for lack of better words.
____________________________________________________________
______
The bottom line is that you run a field of your own and you know the rules and yet you still went against them and ran an event that was completely unsafe whether or not I was there. Forget the fact that it's Trinity picking up the ball if someone gets hurt, it is common courtesy to the paintball sport as a whole to enforce the rules no matter what. No matter who takes the fall in case of an injury. No matter who ends up making money off of it. With great power comes great responsibility.


X3

Final Note: When I said I hoped you would make changes, I meant it...as a fellow paintballer. I would hope you would tell Trinity or any other company or organization a definitive "NO" the next time they want to host a paintball adventure without complete paintball precautions and safety.


   

PVBMisfit Wednesday, February 20th, 2008 | 7:53 pm PST
this doesnt sound like PBA at all! they were the best PB field id been to since MI
   

MISFIT1313 Monday, June 2nd, 2008 | 9:35 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by PVBMisfit
this doesnt sound like PBA at all! they were the best PB field id been to since MI

i agree with PVB

I go to paint ball adventures almost every 2 weeks and i know the owner, he knows what he's doing and would not allow this to hapen he knows a lot about paintbal and the rules and the equipment learn what you're saying and think about who you're attacking beore you post that review. it was TRINITY'S FAULT
   

txz187 Sunday, October 4th, 2009 | 11:33 pm PST
WOW reading this really just makes me want to go down there and play haha..
   

paterus Thursday, March 4th, 2010 | 6:25 am PST
I will say I have only been here one time so far and did NOT play. However, walking around, everyone that had a co2/compressed air tanks hooked up to their gun also had barrel plugs. It seemed very safe off the field, and I will be going there every weekend starting this coming one to play. I would NOT go there if I did not feel safe, but that is definately not the case at PBA.

Another plus note, I had 2 guns not working. One Tippman 68 Carbine where I had been told it could not be fixed, and Pbaman fixed it in about 2 minutes. The other was the original Shocker 4x4. Now I had called dozens and dozens of paintball stores, repair shops, etc. and no one could tell me where to find a battery pack without modding the original 4x4 battery pack to a 9-cell battery. Pbaman gave me a number to a guy who custom made two of them overnight, and I now can use my gun. So I thought I had 2 broken guns, and now they both work as if they were new.

In other words, go here to play. Not only are they EXTREMELY helpful, but I felt as safe (or actually even more safe) here than any/every other paintball field I have been to. They had multiple chronograph machines and I made a point to watch people testing their guns before going on the field, and it appeared they all did. They offer what appeared to be hundreds of rentals of just about anything you could ever need on the field. I did not see ANYONE shoot a gun at/around the safe area. In fact, I couldn't even hear people shooting from the field itself, which makes me think it would be impossible for a paintball to reach this area from the field.
Last edited on Thursday, March 4th, 2010 at 6:28 am PST
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media