paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Caleb98's Review / Comments on Caleb98's Review / Comments on Caleb98's Review / Comments on Caleb98's Review / Comments on Caleb98's Review

Comments on Caleb98's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Caleb98 Monday, April 23rd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: April 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
AAPP- million times better, but I would say AA is one of the best fields on the east coast
Prof. Lumpy's- has nicer fields and refs but not too many players turn out
Intense- Messy indoor, mean staff, lazy refs
Splat- all around better
3 Rivers- better
Review: Me and my friend Elliott had a case of paint left over from a tourney we wanted to shoot and since it's so hard to find BYOP fields and this one was, it wasn't a hard choice to play there.
The directions went to the indoor field, and once we got there and didn't see any cars, we thought it was closed but decided to call just in case and got ahold of the owner and he gave us directions...bits and pieces of directions. It took us 20 minutes to find the outdoor field when the owner said it was 10 minute trip...w/e so we go and find the bathrooms which are porta-crappers which were full...and I mean full. We paid our fees and the refs never made us fill out a waiver or even give us a safety briefing. Anyways we gear up and i get my tank filled up, they only have 3k fills. I saw they had a airball field that wasn't inflated and it being noon didn't think they were gonna fill it up. SO we started the day on a hyperball field. The field was set up like everyone was 3 feet tall. The back cans you could stand in, and a few bunkers at the 30 and 50 you could kneel in but the rest to not get shot in the head you had to lay down in...not a good idea. Then the "ref"(who was a player that decided not to play cause his gun broke) took us to the mounds field which is cool but isn't marked off so I got yelled at for leaving the "boundaries". They do a field rotation type of thing which was 1 game of hyperball, one of mounds, and one of woods, and if you wanna play a game of hyperball and they're playing woods...too bad. You gotta wait for the rotation to get back to hyperball. Cheating was a big issue, with the "ref" being lazy and walked to the paintchecks, and of course by then everyone was clean. In one game i bunkered a well known player at that field and then kept running to shoot another player out and got 4 in my back by the player i just bunkered and when i looked at him there wasn't any paint on his arm or hopper where i saw my paint break. Then my friend was on the same side as that same player and saw him wipe a mask hit, badly wipe and when he came off had smears all over the grill of his mask. The sides were uneven all day, it was me and 6 noobs vs. my buddy, the well known guy and 3 refs that decided to play and a noob. After a while I asked the acting ref to re-assign teams and he said they were "even enough".

Overall the field isn't spectacular, airball wasn't blown up, refs were horrible, cheating was bad, the owner had a foul mouth saying "mother-f#ucker" in front of me a bunch of times while I was waiting on airfills. It was nice getting to shoot my leftover paint but I'll never go again.
 

Review Comments
maniac_baller_2 Thursday, April 26th, 2007 | 10:28 am PST
Dispute:
hyperball is not designed for someone 3 feet tall there are several bunkers you can play standing, also just because you want to play hyperball all day does not mean that there are not others wanting to play the woods. There has to be some rotation to keep all happy in the fields played, The ref that day was lazy, and did a terrible job with teams/paintchecks but usually most players do not cheat and if they do you should talk to other experienced players, owner and ref and i am sure it would be taken care of. As for fills you have to specifically ask to get 45k and this is done for safety. That way no 3k tanks get filled to 45k. I am also wondering about your numbers for teams i know they were not fair but it was 10 on 10 for the hyperball games and may i ask you who was the cheater i will make sure i take care of it next weekend. You just have to describe them i will know. Also airball was not up because the bunkers were being repaired, and they ran out of glue. I would also like to ask your name so i can make sure next time you have a good time, I have been playing here a while and feel that most things are above average plus extremely good deals
   

ericlightfoot Wednesday, May 9th, 2007 | 8:40 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by maniac_baller_2
hyperball is not designed for someone 3 feet tall there are several bunkers you can play standing, also just because you want to play hyperball all day does not mean that there are not others wanting to play the woods. There has to be some rotation to keep all happy in the fields played, The ref that day was lazy, and did a terrible job with teams/paintchecks but usually most players do not cheat and if they do you should talk to other experienced players, owner and ref and i am sure it would be taken care of. As for fills you have to specifically ask to get 45k and this is done for safety. That way no 3k tanks get filled to 45k. I am also wondering about your numbers for teams i know they were not fair but it was 10 on 10 for the hyperball games and may i ask you who was the cheater i will make sure i take care of it next weekend. You just have to describe them i will know. Also airball was not up because the bunkers were being repaired, and they ran out of glue. I would also like to ask your name so i can make sure next time you have a good time, I have been playing here a while and feel that most things are above average plus extremely good deals

Again Just Go Away
   

maniac_baller_2 Thursday, May 10th, 2007 | 5:25 pm PST
just go away eric, hmm if i were phil i would i am just an honest customer who thinks the field was well built go away, hmm i think i will do what i want and that maybe you have no authority over me. Oh no what now gonna come down on me and talk tough, lets be serious, phil can post adds as spike8 or what not and yeah you can try to say he is stupid for doing it and that it is not allowed but, as for me, i can do and say what i please. If you need to talk down on other owners to make yourself feel like more of a man then you really are thats ok, i understand, if i was in your boat, old, washed up, and had nothing better to do with my time then get on here and harass people about what they are doing wrong, well i still wouldnt go that low. Man you get real angry about stuff that really shouldnt concern you. I mean maybe you are jealous or something i dont know but what i do know is that i really dont like you telling me to get out and you dont even have an idea of who i am.
   

ericlightfoot Thursday, May 10th, 2007 | 7:38 pm PST
Ask ANYONE KID! And you must be a kid , The guy is a drug dealing crook and my Paintball Life is doing just fine , Come to hopewell and see a real field , if ya got the stones to do so.



quote:
Originally posted by maniac_baller_2
just go away eric, hmm if i were phil i would i am just an honest customer who thinks the field was well built go away, hmm i think i will do what i want and that maybe you have no authority over me. Oh no what now gonna come down on me and talk tough, lets be serious, phil can post adds as spike8 or what not and yeah you can try to say he is stupid for doing it and that it is not allowed but, as for me, i can do and say what i please. If you need to talk down on other owners to make yourself feel like more of a man then you really are thats ok, i understand, if i was in your boat, old, washed up, and had nothing better to do with my time then get on here and harass people about what they are doing wrong, well i still wouldnt go that low. Man you get real angry about stuff that really shouldnt concern you. I mean maybe you are jealous or something i dont know but what i do know is that i really dont like you telling me to get out and you dont even have an idea of who i am.
   

maniac_baller_2 Friday, May 11th, 2007 | 3:09 pm PST
haha funny, kid maybe in consideration to your age, phil is no longer on drugs and has really cleaned up his act. Why would i drive to pay more, for the same quality that is now at urban. I have no reason to come up there, i went to three rivers when you told me to come up there and it was crappy, i had more fun at urban, why would i listen to your bad advice twice. Good luck and what reason do you have to attack phil he has really changed, and maybe you should put your differences aside and look at the way urban is now.
   

maniac_baller_2 Tuesday, May 29th, 2007 | 5:38 pm PST
The air ball was up this memorial day weekend, they have created 3 new woodsball fields this year and that is why the air ball has not been set up, but from now on airball will be open, the field is level and the set up is sweet, anyhow hope to see you there, ask for john if your there cause i am there every weekend on sundays.
   

maniac_baller_2 Tuesday, June 5th, 2007 | 4:44 pm PST
well they have been blow up now for 2 weekends, and the indoor was shut down this year to do repairs being completed on the sup air field, airball may be down this week because the x ball needs more repairs, also 3 times for the summer is not enough to say that you " have played there pretty regular". Moreover, there are so many fields to choose from that if air happens to be down there is still a huge selection, like hyperball. Over the past year, i can see them only being blown up once, but the year before last they were blown up every weekend, regardless, airball is up at the outdoor for the summer. It was set up sweet for the past two weekends and hope to see you up there this sunday i ll be there.
   

maniac_baller_2 Saturday, June 9th, 2007 | 10:49 am PST
ok thats fine but i am letting you know that air ball has been up the past two weekends and doubt you really play as much as you say considering i have been playing at urban for 12 years now and know most of the regulars. What are the fields near you just out of curiosity. Also, i think i covered why the indoor was down this year, as far as past years they are always up. Good luck to the knew fields in your area. Urban has changed from when you have been there.
   

maniac_baller_2 Monday, June 11th, 2007 | 5:13 pm PST
The airball will be up this year i am positive of that an i understand i wouldnt drive from ohio to play anywhere around here, so what are the fields, and my guns are in my profile, so saying guns defeats proof of you playing alot, regardless airball will be up at indoor as soon as outdoor is done, and the caps thing is not really that intimidating, kinda makes me laugh thinking of you yelling. All i want people to know is that urban is a completely different atmosphere now and you have not been there recently so you can not comment on it. So i wish ya luck at your new fields, but realize that urban is different from the past and phil has added new fields and revamped the old fields. I understand there is a negative view of urban, but sometimes you just have to look past the little things to see the good. If you look anywhere you can find problems, and things that are not advertised correctly. I see you might be angry but air ball will be up and i know cause i patched the bunkers so advertising it now is not a problem.
   

maniac_baller_2 Wednesday, June 13th, 2007 | 5:22 pm PST
really man phil has changed and i understand that you havent had a good experience at urban, i can understand you think that urban shouldnt advertise airball at indoor, but like i said it will be up this year. I know i would be pissed two if it wasnt up for an entire year, and i dont have a problem with you in general its just that not one soul has given phil a chance, and he is really different. I mean yeah he still got lazy employees but its hard to find good help these days. Also, there are alot of people coming to urban and stopping by that are actually decent players. Urban is not focused on airball, and to me that seems like what you really want. Might wanna try splatterzone on 70 if you are heading to all american. And as for coming up to straighten things up i dont understand why everyone wants to settle things with fists. I mean lets think about this i am 20 actually and i imagine you are somewhat older i am in my prime of physical strength especially being a college athlete. I mean i think odds are in my favor, but fact is everyone brings up the negative in phils life, but everyone has made mistakes in life, and i for one believe in giving some people a second chance. Maybe you have given him enough, for you i just want people to know that he has changed. Also as for fouch, haha if you think he is good your dreaming, i blew him away and will do it any day of the week. Coco i can not say a bad thing about, he is probably the nicest person i have met plus one of the best baller and tech guys to live. as a whole phil has changed, and i understand your anger for the past, he was a real wreck before, but urban is definitely on the rise again to all who read you may want to check out urban for its new woodsball, d day field, black hawk down field, and soon to be nam field. Also hyperball gets a new bunker everyweek, changing the past field. Also EMR is a sweet park, but i like the people at urban, there a blast. So like i said gl and i wish you luck at the tournaments you said you an your buddies were gonna attend, and you know where i am at, i still dont understand why you want to straighten things out, ... kinda confused there, but like i said urban is really changing i understand that you dont trust urban but sundays are awsome now, so if you want to have fun come ball at urban.
   

maniac_baller_2 Thursday, June 14th, 2007 | 3:19 pm PST
The kid was dishonest i think i established that in my initial post. And good luck again at intense, and maybe fouch is one of the best on tuesdays, but as for sunday there are plenty of ballers above his skill. We play on different days, and i think that is the biggest reason for the disagreement between us, I am sure if i was only playing indoor i would be frustrated there was no airball, but for me it is outdoor season, so i have a lack of interest in the indoor, and i do want people to know phil has changed and the kids who wrote the review were dishonest. thanks for the luck and maybe i will see you at local tourneys plus i play at all a's sometimes to get good work, i like to travel to other fields as well i have played all around here, and like i said if you are ever heading towards all a's stop at splatterzone it is some where off the smithton exit on I70, they are supposed to have a new set up there everyweekend, and i thought there outdoor airball was set up pretty well. but i think its only weekends. Also do you know if the nxl or psp are going to stop by pa this year, and i heard iao got canceled this year do you know? i dont follow the tourneys as much with me playing football and everything. to All who read this check out urban get there early before 9 30 on sundays and get all day air free byop. Plus check out new woods ball fields and xball plus new hyperball.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media