paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on The Desacrator's Review / Comments on The Desacrator's Review / Comments on The Desacrator's Review / Comments on The Desacrator's Review / Comments on The Desacrator's Review

Comments on The Desacrator's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

The Desacrator Sunday, May 27th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: May 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Directions
to the Field:
get directions from the site
Review: Ok, this place was really terrible.

Chrono - its pointed at the field so even if ur in a game, there is a possibility you might get shot. That happened to me and my friend.

Safety - they give you a safety warning, but only if you rent a markers from them. if my friend went by himself with his friend's gear, he would have been running around with 308 psi and they would no idea.they don't care if you check the chrono of your gun. all they said was "somewhere behind those nets". also, they don't have any sort of barricade to prevent cars from getting shot. 1 field is next to the drive way of the parking lot

Refs - laziest people ever. all the refs did was literally stand there and say "1,2,3 go!". they didn't even pay attention to the game. They talked to their friends the whole game, every game. they didn't do paint checks or anything.

Staff - he gave me crap for not bringing a ful tool box. all i needed was a screwdriver a. and he almost didn't give me and my friends the tools to tighten/loosen the valves for the air/CO2.

Players - i didn't meet anyone that was actually a jerk, save one(surprising since almost all of them were sponsored). I got crap from some idiot who told me not to buy paint from Wal Mart, even though its about half price for the same brand of paint......

prices - for marker rentals it isn't bad, but paint is expensive .

for some odd reason, everyone left at around noon to 1 pm. i have no idea why. even 1 of the refs left. so we had 1 ref for 2 fields(not like it mattered he didn't do anything anyways, buts the concept)

on their site they are supposed to have about seven fields, they had three...... we couldn't play on the air ball field because of some particular reason only a specific 10 guys could play. the other field, 4 corners was constantly being used and the games last forever so we only got 1 game of that. we played on the 3rd remaining field, i don't remember what its called.

They had 4 positive things
1)good field(the unnamed one)
2)everything is close by so you don't have to use pod packs. you have enough time to get more paint before each game starts
3) they had tents to cover your gear
4)self-serve air refills

Negative
- crappy refs
expensive paint
- danger with the chronograph
- danger if people don't check their guns(going rebound mode with 320-330 psi doesn't not sound fun for the other persons mask or 400)

-didn't even tell use to safely chrono guns or where it is
-

Conclusion - It sucked what happened

ima gonna redo this at the endo of the month
Last edited on Friday, September 7th, 2007 at 9:55 pm PST
 

Review Comments
kam74 Thursday, May 31st, 2007 | 5:15 pm PST
Dispute:
I'm gonna go through each ridiculous complaint this guy makes so bear with me....

1) The chrono station - yea, some idiot can potentially hit you (it happened to me), but it's far enough away where it doesnt pose a safety risk. Get over it.

2) Safety - if you need a safety lesson, ask for one. this field is oriented for people who know the ropes. the chrono station is right in front of you as you enter the field, if you miss it, get your eyes checked. also, i've never seen a car get hit by a paintball. nets protect cars parked on the property, and cars driving up are far enough away from the field that they will not be hit.

3) Refs - they dont chrono your gun every time. again, this is an adult sport, so act like an adult. chrono your gun (it's that concept of responsibility). the refs do conduct paint checks but are not militiant about it all the time unless you call one out (once again, we figure people will call themselves out...honor system). i suppose some refs are lazy, but you'll find that everywhere.

4) Staff - I've never had a problem with the staff. On the contrary, they have gone out of their way to be helpful anytime i needed assistance. I think this persons experience was either exaggerated or he was just an ass and was treated accordingly.

5) Players - wal mart paint is crap, dont buy it (you got good advice from whoever told you that).

6) Fields - there are seven fields, some are not in use all the time due to lack of players. deal with it.

7) Expensive paint - what?? a box of 2000 for $45 is pretty standard. buy your own paint if that's too steep for you.

8) "Extreme danger" of people not chronoing their guns - please....if you think someone is shooting hot, tell the ref and they will check it out. otherwise, get over it.

That's all i got to say. People like this rater are better off not coming to Davis. It's a great field oriented towards adult and/or mature players.
Last edited on Thursday, May 31st, 2007 at 5:18 pm PST
   

TimeSpaceCntm Monday, July 30th, 2007 | 11:21 am PST
wal mart paint works fine. they carry plenty of good brands. just becuase the guy didnt spend 60 bucks for a thousand balls doesnt make him a [reported].
   

The Desacrator Friday, September 7th, 2007 | 9:30 pm PST
Yeah I guess i was harsh, but the staff were jerks to me and my friends for no reason 2 times in a row. Maybe they were having 2 bad saturdays in a row, i dont know. I would consider it a safety issue when my friend clocked at 400 and nobody cared. yeah, its really hard to expect everyone on the field to use the honor system. i just did the hand chrono thing becasue of my friend clocking at 400. other than that yeah dont need baby sitting. its ok there now, but i still get atitude every once in a while. 45 for a case ? thats not what i was talking about. the 20 for 500 is what bothered me
Last edited on Friday, September 7th, 2007 at 9:45 pm PST
   

NiletheGreat Tuesday, May 6th, 2008 | 1:32 pm PST
i actually haven't been out there in awhile but im a davis local and back when i till went (late 06, maybe early 07 i cant remember) most of the refs were local kids, and most of them would get off there butts if someone told them too, but they were ill motivated on their own.

what sparked my interest here was that i distinctly remember telling someone not to buy walmart paint because half of the time i would get it there'd be broken balls in the bags, which ruined all the paint. idk was they guy who told u this a 270lbs black dude in a oddly sized blue and yellow kapp jersey? if so, i didn't mean to offend, only to warn of walmart's poor handling of the paintball cases (you could ceck the boxes but be sneaky cuz one time some old walmart employee yelled at me, assuming i was trying to steal the contents, and after trying to explain myself she remained stubborn and i eventually just walked away).
Last edited on Tuesday, May 6th, 2008 at 1:34 pm PST
   

The Desacrator Friday, August 15th, 2008 | 11:01 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by NiletheGreat
i actually haven't been out there in awhile but im a davis local and back when i till went (late 06, maybe early 07 i cant remember) most of the refs were local kids, and most of them would get off there butts if someone told them too, but they were ill motivated on their own.

what sparked my interest here was that i distinctly remember telling someone not to buy walmart paint because half of the time i would get it there'd be broken balls in the bags, which ruined all the paint. idk was they guy who told u this a 270lbs black dude in a oddly sized blue and yellow kapp jersey? if so, i didn't mean to offend, only to warn of walmart's poor handling of the paintball cases (you could ceck the boxes but be sneaky cuz one time some old walmart employee yelled at me, assuming i was trying to steal the contents, and after trying to explain myself she remained stubborn and i eventually just walked away).


It was some huge dude on the Hood Ratz.I've never had broken ball from using WalMart paint(back in the day)I've used Draxxus paint and had broken...
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media