paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on nyyfranchise's Review / Comments on nyyfranchise's Review / Comments on nyyfranchise's Review / Comments on nyyfranchise's Review / Comments on nyyfranchise's Review

Comments on nyyfranchise's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

nyyfranchise Monday, June 4th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years
Last There: June 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pev's - The fields are a little nicer, but the crew is terrible
Warplay - The fields are awesome, the crew is more experianced
Directions
to the Field:
Its right off of Route 15 south of Leesburg. Take Hogback mountain road then follow the signs.
Review: Safety - They do have a 20 foot rule which is good for protecting people, but bad for actually trying to maneuver around the field. They do a good job of keeping the kids safe.

Fields - Their fields have not improved since the day they opened. They haven't repaired anything or taken any time to improve the quality of their structures.

Prices - Fair

Services - I do like how they have scuba tanks in their Dead Zones for quick filling between games.

Staff - Absolutely terribly unless you are sponsored by, or work for Hogback. There are two standards. Their people are tier 1, then the paying customers are lower. One of their players CLEARLY had his DM6 set for full auto (not allowed by their rules) and their staff wouldn't even look into it. When confronted, the ref just stood their and looked oblivious. I have also seen several accounts of obvious wiping go uncalled. I feel like at times we are playing against the refs as well as their players. They are very disorganized at times. This past weekend we played at Hogback for their D-Day scenario game. It was raining which did not bother me at all. It was the standing around, waiting for them to start things up that did. After an hour long lunch, we spent another 45 minutes sitting in the Dead Zone waiting for the crew to get things together to play. All while getting poured on.

Players - Unless they are sponsored by Hogback, there aren't many real players there. Mostly rentals and A-5's. You are lucky to see an ego or someone who really knows how to play the game.

Food - Two hot dogs, chips and a soda for 5 bucks.

I will never go back to Hogback paintball
 

Review Comments
Vicious49 Tuesday, June 5th, 2007 | 1:59 pm PST
Dispute:
I've been to Hogback at least a dozen times and am not sponsored or employed by them in any capacity. I have never felt like I was second tier to anyone there. Jon (the GM there) and the refs do a good job of treating everyone the same and try helping out new players if they can. I've never seen a ref look the other way and let anyone wipe. Are you sure you weren't at Pevs/AG?

I take my Egos up there quite a bit. So there are some experienced players there. But it is true that there aren't as many as you'd find at Pevs. But there's also not as many cheaters as you'd find at Pevs/AG.
   

nyyfranchise Tuesday, June 5th, 2007 | 2:49 pm PST
I will agree that it is not AS BAD as Pev's. But I can still recall several account including this past weekend. And yes, I am sure I was at Hogback.
   

Monkman Tuesday, June 5th, 2007 | 3:16 pm PST
Can you dispute a dispute?

Vicious49
You are not there every weekend. I have to agree with franchise to a small degree. In the chrono station the refs were laughing at one of the HB team guys who was using his DM/PM6 on full atuo. They asked if he was going to switch it to semi and without blinking he told them hell no. Later that day I ran into him and his 15-20bps of full auto.

Franchise
Pev's is much much worse. Not everyday at HB is like that and normally you can avoid their team players during walkon play. But I have seen two carrying shockers that wiped the whole day, their shirts, pods, guns, etc. The other team complained and they were asked to stop playing, but not until after lunch.

All in all, if you tell the GM, he will get on them. He knows that their are other places to play and he doesn't want to lose any players.
   

nyyfranchise Tuesday, June 5th, 2007 | 3:58 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Monkman
I have to agree with franchise to a small degree. In the chrono station the refs were laughing at one of the HB team guys who was using his DM/PM6 on full atuo. They asked if he was going to switch it to semi and without blinking he told them hell no. Later that day I ran into him and his 15-20bps of full auto.


Was that Sunday? Because I was in the chrono range and that occured this weekend. Thats how I first noticed he was on auto. Then while playing, I saw the fact he wasnt moving any fingers.
   

Monkman Tuesday, June 5th, 2007 | 4:22 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by nyyfranchise


Was that Sunday? Because I was in the chrono range and that occured this weekend. Thats how I first noticed he was on auto. Then while playing, I saw the fact he wasnt moving any fingers.


Their was one player other then myself, the two refs in yellow uniforms, and 4-5 refs. You must have been the one with the Ego. I noticed you are also a fan of Warplay, shoot me a pm and we can meet up.
Last edited on Tuesday, June 5th, 2007 at 4:22 pm PST
   

Vicious49 Wednesday, June 6th, 2007 | 8:56 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Monkman
Vicious49
You are not there every weekend. I have to agree with franchise to a small degree. In the chrono station the refs were laughing at one of the HB team guys who was using his DM/PM6 on full atuo. They asked if he was going to switch it to semi and without blinking he told them hell no. Later that day I ran into him and his 15-20bps of full auto.

All in all, if you tell the GM, he will get on them. He knows that their are other places to play and he doesn't want to lose any players.

I've never seen that there before. Usually they're really good about not letting anyone have any type of ramping going on. You're right - Jon or the head ref (Drew) wouldn't allow it had they seen it. Are you sure the team guy wasn't joking and his fingers are just that fast? I have a friend of mine who plays up there with his Ego sometimes and he's way faster on semi than my gun is on PSP.

I go to Warplay quite a bit as well. Maybe I've seen you guys at either field before.
   

Monkman Wednesday, June 6th, 2007 | 10:55 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Vicious49


I've never seen that there before. Usually they're really good about not letting anyone have any type of ramping going on. You're right - Jon or the head ref (Drew) wouldn't allow it had they seen it. Are you sure the team guy wasn't joking and his fingers are just that fast? I have a friend of mine who plays up there with his Ego sometimes and he's way faster on semi than my gun is on PSP.

I go to Warplay quite a bit as well. Maybe I've seen you guys at either field before.


Not to turn this into a forum, but he pulled the trigger twice. He pulled to start the cycle, and the second pull was to keep the full auto going. His fingers were not moving. This was at the chrono, in the field I was unable to get a good look due to the rain. The ramp/full auto is no issue to me. I can cap my Viking or Ego without much effort. The wiping is more of an issue with me. Most of the people at HB have mid to low end, or rentals. If they hit you, they earned it. Call yourself out and wait for the next game. HB needs to wake up and figure out a way to have respawns. Until they do this, I will be going to warplay.
Last edited on Wednesday, June 6th, 2007 at 10:57 am PST
   

whatthe131313 Monday, June 11th, 2007 | 2:13 pm PST
Staff - Absolutely terribly unless you are sponsored by, or work for Hogback. There are two standards. Their people are tier 1, then the paying customers are lower.

sure you are nuts this is the only field i play at because they dont act like this... you must be lieing there is just know way.... and sure there is only one real sponsored hb team. and they can only play air ball infact any one who is a regular or a ref has to play on airball unless the walkon numbers are huge. i know this because i asked the manager John. G

Fields - Their fields have not improved since the day they opened. They haven't repaired anything or taken any time to improve the quality of their structures.

thats not true.. just this past spring they fixed up fort and made a brand new dead zone and about 4 weeks ago the replaced a few rotted planks on castle....

as for the D-day event i didnt go but my friend that did go told me they had to wait to play because of people walking up the hill still!!!! how would you like it if they started a game when you were walking up.

as for the wiping on big games like that you have to live with it there are only so many refs they cant do everything!
   

Vicious49 Wednesday, June 20th, 2007 | 10:54 am PST
I wish I knew who these guys in yellow were that you're referring to. I go there a lot and don't recall them at all.

You're right - not much has been changed/improved field/bunker wise at HB since I started going there last summer. You're also right about castle basically being a race to see who can outflank who on the outside first.

I go to Warplay a lot and like both fields. So I'm not defending one and putting the other one down. They are both set up differently and I enjoy playing at each one. Respawn at HB would be cool, but it would be bad for my wallet since I would waste so much more paint. But I do agree that with respawn, people are less likely to cheat since they will only have to sit out a maximum of 3-5 minutes.
Last edited on Wednesday, June 20th, 2007 at 10:54 am PST
   

azndragon2222 Saturday, June 30th, 2007 | 3:49 pm PST
me and my team was at D-Day as a personal invitation from the owner. i could be wrong, but i think my friend who has a DM6 with a brand new Trauma Tadao board was goin Full Auto for a little bit just to mess with the settings. (btw, we are NOT sponsored by Hogback, we are Hogback regulars)
   

Lopez17 Monday, July 16th, 2007 | 4:53 am PST
Watch the flaming and trolling people.
Last edited on Monday, July 16th, 2007 at 5:07 am PST
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media