paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Kojack2208's Review / Comments on Kojack2208's Review / Comments on Kojack2208's Review / Comments on Kojack2208's Review / Comments on Kojack2208's Review

Comments on Kojack2208's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Kojack2208 Sunday, June 10th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: June 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Carnage Paintball 6 out of 10, Gorilla Warfare 8.5 out of 10
Review: Read for another point of view.

I was told that this place was a big place but many players are very advanced. With uncertainty I decided to go with a few friends. For the most part I have enjoy playing with friends on private property where we can expect how to be treated among one another. Nitro has 7 different fields for play and more than enough room for a large group. We went in a group of about 10 and wanted to play on our own without others. This is where the day started to go wrong.

I am a well educated person with a degree in business so I expect a lot for what I pay for. However, being a consumer I realize there are many people in the state with their own business that do not know how to properly treat customers and address their concerns or complaints.

We as a group have had less than acceptable customer service at another field. That is why we have been looking for a good place to bring out the entire clan of about 30. When we asked to play within our own group we were told flat out “No”. The reason for this was because the regulars wanted to play and we where the only others there. We reluctantly accepted the situation. After a couple of games and more people had arrived we asked again to play our own game and once again denied. This was beginning to really agitate some of our players. When some unmentioned comments from unspecified staff members where made it was no longer acceptable to many in our group.

After no resolution we decided to leave. The main problem here was a huge lack of CUSTOMER service. Needless to say our group of 10 and our larger crew of 30+ will not be returning since we have a better place to go where we are treated better. It is too bad it had to cost me my money, time, and GAS to find out about the conditions at Nitro.

This review is posted merely to address this issue and bring attention to it so that others may not but surprised and in the hopes in could become a better place to play.
Last edited on Monday, June 11th, 2007 at 5:47 pm PST
 

Review Comments
nickmaresco Sunday, June 10th, 2007 | 7:54 pm PST
Dispute:
This is Nick Maresco, Mario's (the owner of Nitro) son. I apologise if it's tacky or unprofessional to dispute your own reviews on pbreview, but I feel that I need to say something; Nitro is my second home.

If you read any of the other 58 (at this time) reviews of our field you'll see there is only one other negative review. Please read it, it's down there somewhere. We are not about turning people away and this is the first instance in five years in which a group of customers has left our field unhappy.

The reviewer made a fuss at his group being called "amateurs," and regardless of whether or not it was said (I didn't hear it, at least), I would refer to myself and most of the guys I play with as "amateur." The word should not be equated with "bad" or "unskilled."

I'd also like to correct Kojack2208 and let him know that we are (Mario, Helene, my whole family) from New York. We've lived here for a good 14 years, however, and I personally take offense to Kojack's suggestion that Georgians as a whole "do not know how to properly treat customers." This is uncouth, forgive me, but please, get over yourself.

To anyone questioning the integrity of myself or Kojack, I again encourage you to read the other 57 reviews on this site.
   

plinko Monday, June 11th, 2007 | 1:54 pm PST
I, personally, don't like being target practice for your friends and tournament players. We asked on more than one occasion to have ourselves removed from the regulars so we could play some 5 on 5 on whatever fields were available. On each occasion we were told there were enough refs, but were told no.

Its not about what words were used to describe our group, its the fact that when we tried to address what was happening, we were scoffed at and no explanation was offered. Upon leaving, no refunds were offered (my all day air fee went 100% unused, and we got less than half a day out of our field fee), and no regrets were expressed.

You had the potential to see our group of 30 on a regular basis, but based on how we were treated and how you've chosen to respond to the situation in your above post, I guarantee you won't have to worry about bothering with us again, and I'll do my best to make sure other players in the area know how you feel.
   

africo Monday, June 11th, 2007 | 3:36 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by nickmaresco
This is uncouth, forgive me, but please, get over yourself.

To anyone questioning the integrity of myself or Kojack, I again encourage you to read the other 57 reviews on this site.

I would rather see the "pro" team get over themselves. It's interesting that we were being called amateurs based on our markers (mostly c98's). I guess that blowing 2 grand on an automatic weapon that anyone could spray makes you a pro. I'd imagine that our group beating your endorsement a few times with our single shots vs their automatics probably hurt their pride a bit, and that's when the insults started. There's one thing I've noticed since I started playing paintball. There's 2 types of players. People who go to have fun, and people who go to "be the best". As long as most people are aspiring to be the best, and as long as the "pros" keep proclaiming "we're the best", I suppose you'll have your clientele.

For us, however, we'll go to Gorilla, where we're treated like customers instead of filler for your "pro" team's practice.
   

MATT HUSH Tuesday, June 12th, 2007 | 7:38 am PST
THIS IS MATT HUSH. IVE BEEN PLAYING PAINTBALL OFF AND ON FOR ABOUT 14 YEARS NOW AND IVE ONLY FOUND ONE OTHER PLACE THAT EVEN COMPARES TO NITRO. THAT PALCE IS WOODSTOCK PAINTBALL AND THEY HAVE BEEN CLOSED FOR ABOUT 8 YEARS NOW. SINCE I HAVE BEEN PLAYING AT NITRO I HAVE NEVER BEEN TREATED SO NICELY. I AM ALSO A VERY WELL EDUCATED INDIVIDUAL WHO IS VERY INSULTED BY THE LIES THAT WERE POSTED ON PBREVIEW BY YOU. I THINK THAT EVERYONE IS INTILTED TO THERE OWN OPINION BUT WHEN YOU HAVE TO MAKE THINGS UP TO TRY TO HURT SOMEONE THAT IS JUST CHILDISH. SO I ENCOURAGE ANYONE THAT HAS READ WHAT THIS GUY HAS WROTE TO COME PLAY AT NITRO ATLEAST ONCE. YOU HAVE MY PERSONAL GUARANTEE THAT YOU WILL HAVE A GOOD TIME
   

africo Tuesday, June 12th, 2007 | 10:55 am PST
No one's trying to run anyone off. These review forums are sharing experiences, good or bad. I'm not sure why everyone thinks that disputing negative reviews are the best way to handle things, ESPECIALLY when you're the owner (or owner's son). You failed to please a customer or customers, big deal. They'll never go back, big deal. You have all the MATT HUSHes out there to pay your rent.

Also, because I can't help but point it out, well-educated persons probably are able to spell things like "entitled" and are able to provide a rebuttal that is, for one, not all capital letters, and for two, not a vague, broad attack on people who had a negative experience.

And in case anyone's wondering, players like MATT HUSH are precisely the reason we didn't enjoy our experience at Nitro. He's a great example of the attitudes we found there.

   

RedRocketRod Wednesday, June 13th, 2007 | 8:59 pm PST
I think that most people can see when a person is attacked for having a legitimate opinion. As far as the MATT guy I am on the same page as africo.
   

Gravesend Friday, October 19th, 2007 | 12:58 pm PST
I have been going to Nitro every chance I get and every time I have been there I have been treated very well by Mario and all the staff there. They have always been considerate and they have never brushed me or my friends off for any reason. And it has always been this way for as long as I can remember. I too am well educated and own several businesses of my own and I can tell you that their customer service is the best that I have ever seen.
Maybe you are used to getting things your way on other fields but you have to consider that if Mario indeed said no to you, it is for a good reason. He does have a business to run and have to be responsible for everyone there playing and you are going to have to respect that. He tries very hard to cater to everyone to make sure they have a good time and I have always enjoyed playing there.
   

Chipshot Sunday, November 23rd, 2008 | 4:24 pm PST
I agree with you Gravesend. Having been in the retail industry for 34 years, I think I can spot good service, and I have to say that the folks at Nitro do a wonderful job of taking care of the customer. I think most of the folks that are regulars at Nitro realize that it isn't the marker that makes the player; it's the player. I've always found the entire Nitro family to be very helpful, trying to make sure that the new players have fun and don't get over matched. From what I have observed, Mario trys to be accomodating to groups requests; but sometimes it just might not be practical. I hate that you had a less than desirable experience Kojack2208, but I can honestly say that everytime I have been to Nitro, I had a blast. And trust me, at 56 years of age, if I don't have fun at something that is supposed to be entertaining, I'll move on to something else.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media