paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on CQB.Wardog's Review / Comments on CQB.Wardog's Review / Comments on CQB.Wardog's Review / Comments on CQB.Wardog's Review / Comments on CQB.Wardog's Review

Comments on CQB.Wardog's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

CQB.Wardog Thursday, September 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years
Last There: July 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: When you play here, remember that it's a family park and not a paintball park. This is a side business, not their main business.

The refs are a little lazy. Young kids who play tourney ball but aren't really into the working side of the game. They know all the PSP rules but can't enforce "Goggles on" when a kid takes his off. That's a pet peeve of mine. They also chrony guns, but rely a lot on the players to self-police.

The field has changed a lot. I liked playing on the hyperball pipes way back when, but they changed to airball and now currently they have X-ball bunkers. I'm not a fan of x-ball, but the kids seem to like it. The field is small, but not too cramped for 5 on 5. Several people hate the gravel surface, but I like it. It's different, and it's a softer landing than dirt. The staging area is covered, and shaded, a nice touch. And it's a quick walk to the main building for full bathroom facilities, food and drinks, and air conditioning. In mid-summer, a 30 minute lunch break in A/C is a great thing.

Paint is whatever they got, usually blaze, but the price is good. You can't beat the entry fee on walk-on days, or the BYOP rates. For the money, it's a decent deal.

Addition on July 18, 2008. The place has taken a turn for the worse. It's obvious now that the management has no clue what happens in the paintball area, and the paintball staff wishes to keep it that way. The referee staff come back to play when "off duty", still wearing their work shirts with the "action territory" logo, and bash on the new guys. The off duty staff bring their own paint, which is not allowed but thankfully it is the cheapest they can find and not "anti-wiper" tourney paint. Plus when I was there I had to perform basic first aid on a player who took some of the ref's paint in the eye, the staff was nowhere to be seen.

They still have X-ball style bunkers, no HPA fills (going on 3 years of promising it now), but the attitude has taken a very bad turn to the staff believing they're elite and better than the customers. They also have little, if any, respect for the management (who they call "downstairs") who are kept in the dark as to what's happening at the paintball area. I also did not appreciate the referees removing their goggles on a field with live guns so they could check their cell pones and read text messages. I'm a stickler for safety, especially referees leading by example. The place is still good for a "quick fix" for paintball, but it's very much a "locals only" attitude currently.

Rating changed to 5 / 10. It used to be better, now it's just average. Unless management does something soon it'll keep skidding downhill. The place looks like it's run down now, it needs some serious TLC before it can be as good as it used to be.
Last edited on Friday, July 18th, 2008 at 3:36 pm PST
 

Review Comments
ActionTerritory Sunday, July 20th, 2008 | 3:58 am PST
To whom it may concern:

My name is Andrew W. and I am the Paintball Manager at Action Territory. The reason for this message is to address the complaints outlined in the updated review for our paintball field.

On Thursday, July 17, 2008, I received a phone call from the manager on duty detailing a complaint from a customer similar to the updated review above. I was extremely disappointed about the nature of the complaint and have posted this to let others know that action has been taken to address the above issues.

All employees that were working or playing that evening have answered to me and have been reprimanded. The employee who removed his googles and used his cell phone has also been reprimanded and further action will be taken. We stress safety as a priority, and everyone has to follow the rules, staff and customers alike. I would like to assure you that an incident like this will never happen again.

As for High Pressure Air, we have had HPA, up to 3000 PSI, for the past two years. Our system did experience some downtime from early May to mid-June of this year, due to compressor problems. Our HPA system is currently up and running.

You will see an increased presence from myself, other managers, and park security at paintball for the remainder of the season. We are committed to serving our customers, and will work hard to provide the quality service you expect and deserve. If you have any questions or concerns, feel free to give us a call at 262-857-7000. Ask to speak to me, and if I am unavailable, just ask to leave a message and I will get back to you the next time I am in.

-Andrew W, Paintball Manager, Action Territory
Last edited on Sunday, July 20th, 2008 at 2:32 pm PST
   

CQB.Wardog Monday, July 21st, 2008 | 7:15 am PST
Hello Andrew, and thank you for taking the time to read, respond, and take action on my post. I would like to state a few clarifications, however.

There was no HPA the night I went. When I asked I was told directly "We don't fill HPA, we never have." by the staff. There were many other things that they said that I raised an eyebrow at, but this is not the place for that kind of commentary.

I was also more than disheartened when the teams were, routinely, off duty referees VS the other players with rental guns. It got to the point that I had to ask them if they were just there to "bash noobs", which I never got an answer. Looking back, I don't believe they split up at all that night. An off-duty ref rotated out, but they never split up as a "team".

Again, thank you for your interest in this matter. I certainly do hope that this was an isolated incident, but the attitude and actions of the staff led me to believe otherwise. I do wish to state that it is my opinion that this was SOP for a long time, nobody had probably said anything up to my visit. And also that if I had not been directly asked by the manager on duty how things had gone as I was leaving, I would not have said anything. I don't need the headache if / when I get back to there as the scapegoat for them being reprimanded for their actions.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media