paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on TheUnkown's Review / Comments on TheUnkown's Review / Comments on TheUnkown's Review / Comments on TheUnkown's Review / Comments on TheUnkown's Review

Comments on TheUnkown's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

TheUnkown Sunday, November 11th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years
Last There: November 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
bunch.
Directions
to the Field:
map quest.
Review: Ok, first off, this field is great.

First, the refs. The veteran refs at Liberty are excellent. The guys on walk ons every week like mcnulty, james, parks, sully, big john, joe, and a few others are the best in the game. These guys work their butts off to do their job correctly. They are always focused on safety and do their best to take into account and correct any complaints that you might have in the day. They try to make the teams as even as possible, and they aren't afraid to split up the regulars. I know all these guys on a personal level, and they are all good guys. Now the new refs, are complete opposite. They are slow, lazy, and just plain dumb. Before every game, the veterans tell the new guys where they need to be when the game starts, ad the new guys always go to the wrong spot. When they actually do paint check, they take forever, and it takes you twenty minutes to get them to check the right spot. They are not vocal, and do not move around much on the field. The guys who have been there for a little while know what do, as long as the veteran guys are pointing them in the right direction. When the veteran guys all go off to college or get new jobs that pay them what they deserve, this place is in trouble. I've been playing here for a long time, and the veterans they have now are some of the best they've had up here. They've already lost shaggy, and rumor is james, mcnulty, sully, big john, and a few others are going to be leaving real soon.

The guys who work inside full time are all good guys who are on top of their game. They are fast, friendly, and know what they are doing. These guys are all veteran liberty guys, and are also god refs.

The fields here are excellent. The variety of the fields are huge, and they are well-maintained. There is the problem of the regular guys always sticking together, but the good refs are always good about making teams even.

Wiping can be a problem, but its just like at every other field. The best part about guys who get caught wiping here is that all the refs will point him out to everyone and call him a cheater and make him look like an idiot. Mcnulty and james are loud, and it is funny to watch them.

The prices here a good. Its 70 for a case, and 25 to get in, but with free air, and the large amount of fields, its worth the money.

Ok, my biggest problems with the field are this: The owner and manager. The manager is just plain incompetent, and always pins his mistakes on the other guys working there. He will stand there eating, telling other people to do his work, and will just watch as the counter is swamped. The owner used to be a great guy. He used to treat his workers well, but word on the block now, is that he is a greedy, greedy man. Now for the sake of the refs, they do not discuss their wages or things like that with customers. They are professional and keep that information between themselves. That doesn't mean that I haven't overheard them talking about things, and rumor is is that they get paid crappy wages and raises are rare, even for guys who have been working there for a long time. The owner has had the busiest year yet, and hasn't helped any of his workers out. The reason these guys pick this job up is so that they can play for a real cheap price, its no secret. But now, the refs rarely get to play like they used to. Here and there they get to play, but not that frequently. If your not going to let them play, at least pay them more. These guys work hard to make you money, and most of them do a decent job at this, and you return the favor by giving them the shaft; that's just poor leadership on your part. You do not treat your workers with respect, and that is why more and more guys are planning to quit or find other jobs.

But i'm not grading the owners, I'm grading the field, and while the good refs are still around, this field is excellent. Go here before the better guys go to college.
 

Review Comments
Fighting54th Monday, November 12th, 2007 | 12:37 pm PST
wwowwwwow, personal attacks, thats real mature
   

hobokid101 Monday, November 12th, 2007 | 6:49 pm PST
i dont no who this is but who ever told you i wanted to quit is a liar - james
   

Fighting54th Tuesday, November 13th, 2007 | 12:41 pm PST
ya and im not quiting because i dont like it, i'm leaving because I have things to do for college, and i wont have a lot of time to work. - McNulty
   

Iseeall Thursday, November 15th, 2007 | 3:48 pm PST
Dispute:
I am rather confused as to the source of your information. certainley we have new staff constantly, and not all of them make the cut as you will see soon. I am disappointed that you choose to involve yourself in a part of our field operation which is no bussiness of yours or any customers. Our staffs pay and working conditions are none of your bussiness. I believe they are treated fairly and if they have a complaint it is always addressed. obviously you are a regular and know our staff. I am certainely glad you posted your opinions, but for me to improve any customers experience I need to be able to have a two way dialog which is not possibile here. I invite you the next time you come by to stop at the counter and tell me in more detail what is wrong. as a final comment, as far as the manager making mistakes and blaming it on others, well I have to state clearly that does not happen. as in any bussiness this size there are always miscomunications and mistakes. My job is to make sure that the games are played efficntly and that all players have a great experience. essentially I have no preconcived job description, so when you call me lazy and not doing my job, that is just plain wrong. I am sorry you had some bad experiences, but whatever personal views you may have, we keep growing. Maybe we are experiencing growing pains, or maybe there is nothing wrong, either way, thank you for your review, I will investigate your complaints.

PS: FYI a new staff orientation and testing program is in the works.
   

TheUnkown Thursday, November 15th, 2007 | 8:00 pm PST
I can understand if you hold up a game an extra few minutes to get a few kids who haven't played yet into the game, but what about when you stick 3 or 4 or even 5 new refs on walk ons with maybe one or two refs that know what they are doing? That is not an efficient game to me. Now, I don't think it is a great experience when you load a walk on game up with new refs, and I am not a guy who runs around with 1800 dollar gun either. I play with a tippmann and I don't scream for a paint check every ten seconds like some other players do if their balls are traveling in the general direction of the person they are shooting at. And I do think it is my business to see how the people who are supervising me and making sure that I am safe, are taken care of, because if they are in a negative working environment, then how do you think that is going to effect their work ethic? If they are getting screamed at all day long because the small amount of competent people who are there can't make up for the guys who don't have a clue, how is that going to make them a better ref who wakes up and says that they can't go to work in the morning?
Last edited on Thursday, November 15th, 2007 at 8:02 pm PST
   

mercenary42 Tuesday, November 20th, 2007 | 1:24 pm PST
The last time I went to Liberty, I had a great time. I am going back this Sunady the 25th for their next big game. I hope to see you there.
   

TheUnkown Wednesday, November 21st, 2007 | 11:00 am PST
I'm not saying I don't have a good time, it's just a few underlying things that concern me.
   

TheUnkown Thursday, November 22nd, 2007 | 7:37 pm PST
And how can you dispute my review of the field, if you agree with me?
   

mercenary42 Tuesday, November 27th, 2007 | 6:44 am PST
To TheUnknown,

I don’t know if you went on a bad day, but me and hundreds of players went to Liberty’s big game on 11/25 and we had a blast. The paint was very good, the air was always 4,000 lbs or higher. The only two issues I saw were the lines to register around 9:30 am and the lines for food at lunch. Morel to that story is to come before 9:00 am to register and bring your own food. The owner did mention that he will be expanding his cooking capabilities.

The refs did an overall good job, but I was very impressed that all of the players I saw were I was playing would simply take themselves out when they were hit. When you have honest players, it makes the game much fun. My hats goes off to the players of Patterson, New York and the sounding areas.
Last edited on Saturday, December 22nd, 2007 at 5:30 am PST
   

NoelyDeezNutz Friday, December 21st, 2007 | 5:33 am PST
ive been to liberty quite a few times... and ive never witnessed any yelling or screaming by anyone besides refs (at people who arent following the rules)

it sounds like you are just an upset little kid... grow up please?
   

Murmer Monday, February 16th, 2009 | 10:07 am PST
Dispute:
i go to liberty every few weekends and every time i go i really enjoy myself. the refs are EXTREMELY helpful. one time i ran out of paint and i had none in my tubes and a ref actually ran over and escorted me safely off the field. and regarding ur attack on the managers abilities, its his job to keep his company in line, who ses that he didnt have a good reason to discipline his employees. paintball is a sport that has to be managed properly. last time i went i used up my last few 12grams for my Pirahna USP and a ref gave me detailed directions to the nearest supplyer of the cartridges. i love liberty and TheUnknown obviously does not even enjoy paintball if hes posting reviews like this. who do u think you are? some kind of field critic? paintball is supposed to be fun, not an excuse to point out everything wrong with the area around you.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media