paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Kato_Lee's Review / Comments on Kato_Lee's Review / Comments on Kato_Lee's Review / Comments on Kato_Lee's Review / Comments on Kato_Lee's Review

Comments on Kato_Lee's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Kato_Lee Sunday, December 2nd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year
Last There: December 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Warplay 10 out of 10 - Most Realistic Play with Real Bunkers-Best field in Virginia.
Pevs (Leesburg, Va) 8 out of 10. Best fields are Compound and Dodge City.
Skyline Paintball (Strasburg, Va) 8.5 out of 10. A Great Town scenario field.
Gotcha Paintball (North Carolina) 8.5 out of 10. Awesome X-Ball and Hyper ball play!

Directions
to the Field:
See website.
Review: Review: Staff – Always friendly and helpful. Lil Nick is always able to get my marker working quickly and for a reasonable fee.


Fields:

Scenario Fields:
Castle: Offers a lot of fun and diverse play.
Fort: Offers and intense action whether your attacking or defending.

Speedball Fields:
Air Ball 1 & 2: Seem to be mostly used for team practice, but I think that walk-on players can join in.

Shapes and Diamond: I haven’t played these fields, but they don’t seem well maintained. More like and afterthought than a field that is actively played.

Mini Bunkers: Yes they are Mini, be ready to crawl. This field offers a fast pace action and with lots of angles. Honestly I would love to see a hyper ball field (made with giant tubes) in its place instead of mini-bunkers.

Wood fields:
Mountain, Valley and Alley are great woods ball fields that offer a variety of natural bunkers as well as man made. These fields all offer a challenging fast pace game that will not disappoint you.


Fee: $15 admin is fair for this area. $8 all day air is cheaper than the other fields I have played.

Bonus: Most of the dead zones offer filling stations Air and C02. The scuba tanks fill to 3000 sometimes a little less. Anything is better than a hike back down the mountain to the primary fill station.

Safety: They are really safety conscience. They actually shut everything down, no air and no chrono to give the safety briefing speech. Refs are good about enforcing the rules during play and in the dead zones. I never had any problems with players with hot marker, but the refs should carry hand held chrono to allow for on the spot monitoring.


Conclusion: This field is great for walk-on play and awesome scenarios. My friends and I always have fun at Hogback.

However, after visiting Warplay, all of the the local Northern Virginia fields should step up and reward their loyal customer base with premier fields with real bunkers. I hope the Hogback owners/managers really consider making the necessary upgades. Even some basic improves would be appreciated.
Last edited on Wednesday, December 5th, 2007 at 1:06 pm PST
 

Review Comments
whatthe131313 Monday, January 14th, 2008 | 4:28 pm PST
Dispute:
"However, after visiting Warplay, all of the the local Northern Virginia fields should step up and reward their loyal customer base with premier fields with real bunkers. I hope the Hogback owners/managers really consider making the necessary upgades. Even some basic improves would be appreciated."


so you think that hogback does not have premier field with real bunkers what the heck are you smoking.... they have real bunkers they are EVERYWERE they call them pallets and mounds of down trees.. that is the way it should be giving me the feeling that i am really playing a war type game!! that is as real as it gets!!!! as for premier fields what about castle it is amazing i love it and it seems to be everyone favorite. i also love there new field pines that field is great also. another great one is valley!

i dont think you understand what real bunkers and premier fields are.. btw airball is open to everyone when it is up..
   

Kato_Lee Tuesday, January 15th, 2008 | 6:02 pm PST
Let me make myself very clear:

I am in anyway attempting to slam Hogback.

Hogback is a great field The STAFF is always friendly. The Refs are always consistant and do a great job moving the games along.

Castle and Fort offer great scenario play!!! Airball field offers nice layout!!!
They have some of the best scenario games.

The owner(s)/manager(s) of Hogback isn't UNLEASHING it's full potential in field designs; excluding castle and fort.

Never settle...you will only sell yourself short.
Last edited on Thursday, January 17th, 2008 at 4:10 pm PST
   

Lopez17 Sunday, January 27th, 2008 | 8:36 pm PST
Pallates and downed trees are not real bunkers. They're the lazy field owner's way of simulating a natural field. Go to warplay and see what field construction is about. They built their bunkers to construction grade standards including the use of concrete, 2x4's instead of plywood, etc. There aren't pallates laying around in odd configurations...the field layout and design there is top notch. Hogback and Pevs both have nice fields but lack the execution that Warplay has. The poster is right on the money.
   

tompain Tuesday, February 26th, 2008 | 8:14 pm PST
Yep, the poster is right, I've played both Warplay and Hogback extensively, more than 20 times for each field. And although Hogback has larger fields and a "castle" (really a series of walls with ramps going up to towers over a square acre) has a great variety of play and traditional bunkers typical to most fields - -- -

Warplay has a real castle, concrete bunkers, a couple of bridges, sandbags, peep holes and one ramp up to a small flag room, versus anything Hogback has. Hogback becomes an elimination game, but Warplay respawns for reinforcements. And nothing Hogback has compares to Warplay's "Halo" / King of Hill. Nothing. Comes. Close.
In fact, some refs from other fields go to Warplay to play.
   

DeathWaits4U Wednesday, March 26th, 2008 | 5:16 pm PST
Whatthe,

Uh, there's no comparison between Brokeback Mountain and WarPlay. Sure, Brokeback doesn't totally suck, but WarPlay has now become the premier field in NOVA and MD. It's really not even fair to compare the fields. Wake up and taste the paint, dude.
   

PlayedSun Monday, May 26th, 2008 | 1:05 pm PST
Brokeback? dont you mean hogback?
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media