paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on chubs18's Review / Comments on chubs18's Review / Comments on chubs18's Review / Comments on chubs18's Review / Comments on chubs18's Review

Comments on chubs18's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

chubs18 Saturday, March 15th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: March 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Outerlimits- outdoor(memberships are good for both places)
Maverick- indoor
Woodlands-closed
flagraiders- indoor/outdoor
All the ones in and around London
Review: I will admit before I start that I much prefer outdoor over indoor....

Well, since this winter just won't go away, I had to get out and play. After looking at the prices a buddy and I decided to go there. When we first got ther the service was pretty good. We were taken care of right away and they gave us the breifing. We found a table and started to gear up. The staging area is huge which is good but the lighting is terrible!!! There is no way I would strip a gun in that lighting. After taking our money they then told us they had no HPA fill station, so we had to run over to flagraiders and fill up then come back. There were lots of people there and only one ref in the games. The chrony area was manned by the only ref (part time) so it took us awhile to actually get chrony'd in. The games were fun and veried greatly so you wouldn't get bored.

The field was medium size and lots of buildings and bunker areas. The flooring is concrete with outdoor carpet on top.(not very forgiving on feet, knees, or elbows when going down.) Most indoor fields I have played on pressure wash or atleast squeegee the floor periodically. This place did not look like it had been cleaned ever!!! You have no footing in this place and can not run full out for fear of slipping.

Games were quick and veried as I mentioned and there was not much down time between games. This was the best part of the night. With only one ref, who stood at the entrance only, there was no paintchecks so it is pretty much the honour system when you are hit. I was disappointed with the members of this field too. I have been to several different fields for 18 years and try to help newbies out and promote the game safely and fairly. They did not do this. The ref pretty much let them control the field and let them run wild on the newbies. They chronied in at the 250 limit and then went back to staging area and I saw atleast one of them up his vel. There was a group of people there that had obviously not played much and these so called members just lit them up. They got discouraged and left fairly early in the night. My buddy and I left shortly later aswell.

Out of a possible 10
-1 for lighting
-2 for only one ref
-1 for no HPA(or atleast not telling us before)
-1 for the members
-1 for no food
-1 for no proshop
-1 for cleanliness
-1 for staffing

+1 for the cost
+1 for the game variation

=3


I did get my paintball fix for the week though.
 

Review Comments
mth78 Tuesday, March 25th, 2008 | 6:53 pm PST
was it a fridaynight?
   

Tony #1 BUCS Tuesday, April 1st, 2008 | 12:27 pm PST
u give this field a 3 lol
Wow I can tell u do not play at indoor fields to often because I have been to everyindoor rec field in the arena . I have never seen a member shoot over the capped fps of 250 on a friday night and yes members there go HARD on who ever is there we have 1 night a week to play if a non member / new player decieds to go out on a friday night witch is !!hosefest!! They better be ready to get shoot at because the members know the field and practice hard on each other its the only way we can inprove each others skills I agree some arenas of the field are a little dark but its not pitched black u can still see players from across the field theres only 1 small shack room at side of castle thats windows are black when u look at them from across the arena 1 building thats it. And when u compair it to other fields for how dirty it gets lol u know how busy this place is they do a great job keeping it clean for the numbers of people that go there !!!! Once agian to let people know if u are a experienced player and love compitition go on a friday only!!!!!!! If not and u are new to the sport go any other day there and play with the newer players!!
Last edited on Tuesday, April 1st, 2008 at 1:15 pm PST
   

chubs18 Monday, February 16th, 2009 | 12:21 pm PST
OMG!!!!!!!!! what a difference a year makes... My buddy and I went back to the arena and had a blast!(Yes both times were friday nights). I have been playing since 1989(probably before most of you were out of diapers) I have seen them all(fields that is). This field did not impress me much when we first went. BUT!!!! The lighting has been improved on and off field. I blew a ring and could actually fix it and find the broken one on the floor to throw out. The reffing was fabulous this time and the members were terrific. I will admit again that I was biased because I play and prefer outdoor, but we will be back again. I like the changes that have occurred and so does my buddy. The only problem I have now is talking the wife into letting me play more in winter instead of saving up for summer. And Tony#1 I think we had a chat Friday night. If it was you I gotta let you know I had a great time playing with ya. Can't wait till the next time. Arena or Blairs I will be there.
   

chubs18 Monday, February 16th, 2009 | 12:51 pm PST
Almost forgot...... They now have HPA fills!!!!!!!!!! did not have to go across town half way through night!!! AND they now have a proshop/store!!! I bought new elbow pads(cuz the floor is still unforgiving) at a great price. The store was closed but they opened it for us!!! KUDOS. I now give it a 9/10. Nothing is perfect. There is always room for improvement. Keep it up arena!!!!! Question for members or owners. Why not BYOP on Fridays??? it was busy and I realize overhead, wages, insurence,etc. but I seen a lot of people come for an hour or two and leave. I would have stayed longer but went through my "budget". Any plans for BYOP on FRI? I spent $90. Just a quik calc. but........ $15 entry, $5 unlimited air, $30-45 BYOP... That way I still spend $65 -75 that night plus paint that you can but in bulk. not sure but with not having to buy the paint you may make more money???
   

Tony #1 BUCS Tuesday, February 17th, 2009 | 2:20 am PST
Yes soon theres goin to be a second layer of carpet on the speedball field I also here theres soon to be byop mondays / wensdays for the speedball field only that may change things are always changeing around there a lot of things are changeing on the field its like a tottaly new field to me at lest compaired to last year. I agree the paintball arena is a good place to play at but its not outdoor only out door and u really snipe long distance well and crawl around in mud/dirt well springs comeing soon and outer limits it changeing a lot of things and building new things there as well its goin to be a great session. :) cant wait to play with everyone!!!!
   

Pendralion Thursday, September 15th, 2011 | 4:20 pm PST
Dispute:
this guys full of CR@P. this field is cleaned constantly and this entire post is an attempt by someone who has banned from our facility to discredit it.
We have a zero tolerance to unsportsmanlike conduct and anyone attempting to use newer players for targets would be shut down immediately.

i suggest the reader take this into account. The paintball Arena has been in business for 17 years and has a very devoted following.
We have banned many people over the years who have a very distasteful attitude and do not play well with others.

Keep this in mind. Those very same arrogant, immature and inconsiderate persons are the very people who keep writing the false, misleading posts.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media