paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Zaskar108's Review / Comments on Zaskar108's Review / Comments on Zaskar108's Review / Comments on Zaskar108's Review / Comments on Zaskar108's Review

Comments on Zaskar108's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Zaskar108 Thursday, April 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: July 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
EMR/Strategy/Fox 4/West Point/ and all the other big ones
Directions
to the Field:
GPS/map quest
Review: $100 bucks a case of paint???????? The place has no overhead practically and had 4,000 people who show up at an event. Ok do the math, someone is getting rich. Out of all the scenarios I have played cases of paint are usually between the prices of $40 to $70 bucks max. I agree with that fact the field is awesome, and there are a lot cool places to go, and work strategic scenarios during a huge event. However I think they have absolute nerve for charging so much for paint, lets face it, we aren’t shooting gold out of our guns.
 

Review Comments
pez9512 Friday, April 11th, 2008 | 12:03 pm PST
Practically no overhead? Are you on drugs? They have 750 acres of land... can you say property taxes! They have a couple hundred people that work for them... can you say salaries! They have thousands of people who play there each year... can you say business insurance! With hundreds of employees in a harsh terrain... can you say worker's compensation insurance! Their fields are pretty clean - all 750 acres... can you say the cost of trash removal! Let's not even mention the cost of filling that giant CO2 bulk tank, the cost of lawyers (all businesses have them), etc., etc. But what do I know, I'm sure that all the things I just mentioned only cost Skirmish a mere few pennies!
   

predator23 Thursday, May 1st, 2008 | 11:02 am PST
Pez, since you are obviously an employee of skirmish, why don't you just give us the financial statements that you have access to so we can all see what 100 bucks a case nets the company?
   

Soul06 Thursday, May 8th, 2008 | 1:46 pm PST
I agree with Pez. Anyone with any sort of education, or even common sense, knows that a place that size has alot of overhead. Everything he mention plus more I would imagine. You trying to insult him for speaking the truth just shows how stupid you are.
What do you think you just open a field and never have to pay a penny again? How stupid does that make you?
   

pez9512 Monday, May 12th, 2008 | 7:14 am PST
Predator, this isn't the first time you've accused me of being an employee at Skirmish. But let's take a look at the things I mentioned - it's not rocket science. Any bafoon should be able to reasonably deduct these expenses - even you.

Property taxes: every person in the Unites States (including business owners) has to pay property taxes. I own a home on less than 1 acre of land and pay over $4,000 per year in property taxes. Skirmish advertises that they have about 750 acres of land. So yeah, I'm sure they're property taxes are significantly higher than what I'm paying.

Salaries: They have hundreds of people that work for them - refs, office staff, management, the people who fix their support vehicles, the people who build the castles and villages, the poeple who repair bunkers, the people who clean the fields, and there's got to be alot more that I'm not thinking of. How many others can you think of? And with salaries, let's go ahead and lump in the cost of insuring each of those employees under Workman's Compensation, benefits, medical expenditures, Unemployment Compensation Insurance, etc.

Business insurance: Pennsylvania law requires that all business merchants insure their patrons while their patrons are on the business owner's property. This is the law, so Skirmish has no choice but to ensure everyone. That's got to be a hell of an annual expense. Fortune 500 regularly has articles about the cost of insurance being the single most expensive overhead for any buisiness.

Trash removal: we've already placed collecting the trash under salaries, because I'm sure the people who collect the trash want to be paid... but what about trash REMOVAL. The cost of those big 'ol dumpsters you see at Skirmish has to be a pretty penny.

As far as wanting to see the financial statements from Skirmish so that you can see what a hundred bucks a case nets the company - then look no farther than Skirmish's castles, villages, and fields - that's what a hundred bucks a case nets the company! Trying to make the argument that I work for Skirmish would be as petty as me trying to argue that you work for a rival paintball field. Here's the bottom line... If you don't like Skirmish or their prices, then don't go there!
   

SIpbgod94 Thursday, July 3rd, 2008 | 11:38 pm PST
If you look at castle assualt or whatever the name of the field is that blue is running with the bunkhouses and all they have a whole explanation on why they charge $80 for a case of paint that in being because of all the overhaead now skirmish is justified to recieve a decent profit of their paint but I do see how $100 is outrageous. To finish my point skirmish should probably explain why the high paint price like blue did.

*****BUT if you check their calender on the website their are alot of discounted days such as half price december weekends and bring your own gun days. Now im only 14 and I cant afford to pay 100 bucks on a mere case of paint let alone entry and everthing else so when I go to skirmish I do so on a bring your own gun day when you get 1,000 paintballs for bringing your own gun so all I pay is the 30 bucks for entry and Im good all day you should try it
   

pez9512 Friday, July 25th, 2008 | 1:50 pm PST
What's a "blue?"
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media