paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on spurserh's Review / Comments on spurserh's Review / Comments on spurserh's Review / Comments on spurserh's Review / Comments on spurserh's Review

Comments on spurserh's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

spurserh Saturday, August 16th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: August 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I live in Massachusetts and this is the only field on which I've played in New Jersey. I like to play at Monster Paintball in Woburn, MA.
Directions
to the Field:
Look for the tiny sign over the door that says "All Star Paintball". It's as if they don't want anyone else coming, which makes good sense considering their behavior.
Review: My experience is that this place is filthy, there are no competent refs, and they are disrespectful to the players; they even went as far as changing their "suggested" paint depending on who was buying (for the same price).

I would not recommend this field to anyone who isn't a "professional" paintball player, and even then it's a crappy facility. I have been playing recreationally for 5+ years, so I'm not terrible, but the people running this field gave absolutely no respect to any of the players other than their friends. For most of the day the refs were almost completely absent, and often I had to talk to the person in charge to locate a ref to play a game.

I don't understand the great reviews this place has gotten facility wise. The floor is torn up carpet, which they claimed is being replaced soon. This makes it impossible to slide effectively. You can slide a few feet, but you're bound to hit a bunched up piece of carpet and stop. On multiple occasions I got strands of thread from the carpet or dead box tied around my foot and had to stop play to get it off. Several times I saw players' feet slide out of under them in the game and in the staging area because there were exposed patches of cement that were extremely slick.

The best reason never to go there is the snide attitude of the owners and their "professional" friends, who appear to lack any semblance of sportsmanship. On multiple occasions I saw players with no masks on on the field and people without barrel bags in the staging area, and no one said anything (other than me).


Last edited on Saturday, August 16th, 2008 at 10:07 am PST
 

Review Comments
goodlife Wednesday, September 10th, 2008 | 5:29 pm PST
Dispute:
I can attest to the field being in bad shape at the end. That problem has been rectified and we once again have the finest playing surface of any indoor facility. So... I'll give you that, the field was kinda shabby when you were here. However, the remainder of your commentary was absolutely inaccurate and slanderous. We pride ourselves in having the nicest, friendliest staff around and you needn't look any further then the rest of the posts in pbreview to back that up. I'm not sure what kind of vendetta your trying to solve by making these erroneous claims but objectively your just flat out wrong in your "observations".
   

awesomeballer Thursday, September 11th, 2008 | 12:30 pm PST
you sir must be on crack. this facility was the cleanest indoor place i have ever been to, not to mention im from NY. The staff was amazing and the greatest group of guys.
   

teakballers Friday, September 12th, 2008 | 9:15 am PST
i dunno....perhaps people from massachusetts are just a little slow in the head? You sir have played this at this field just ONCE. For someone that has over 5 years of pb experience, why so much hate?

I play at all star at least once a week. Personally, it is the best indoor field that i have ever played at. The staff is courteous, proffesional, and def on top of things. True, sometimes the field is in bad shape but thats due to the fact that there are hundreds of people playing EVERY DAY!!

For anyone to be as uptight as you makes no sense. You have only been there once so your "opinion" is nothing. Maybe you were just having a bad day, OR maybe your skills weren't up to par with the rest of the ballers there. Please, don't use your inexperience/bad day and sourpuss attitude as a catalyst to slander such a great place.

Allstar has something for everyone. Begginers, novices, and pros frequent the field which allows players such as myself want to go even more. All of the people that i have brought to the field whether they are begginers or not, love it.

I will def be going back and bringing anyone and everyone that i know.

p.s. spurserh... i recommend a little therapy maybe some "herbal" therapy. i heard it works wonders.
   

RU_Baller Tuesday, September 16th, 2008 | 3:27 pm PST
I don't need to say much about the inaccuracy of Spurserh's comment. I think that the simple fact that there are so many positive reviews about All Star paintball and that the one bad review has numerous disputes, says enough.

That being said, my MULTIPLE experiences at All Star have been nothing less than fantastic.

I've been paintballing for over 11 years and have played in the best and the worst fields in the area. All Star is not a big facility and those who are looking for the opportunity to play 10 different games in 10 different fields should go elsewhere. However, if your looking for a fun experience (whether a pro or a beginner) with a friendly and accepting atmosphere than All Star is the place for you.

From personal experience i can say that the staff and owners of All Star have been exceptionally helpful and courteous, from giving me pointers on advanced speed ball strategies to showing my little brother how to properly load and fire his marker. They are exceptionally knowledgeable when it comes to all things paintball.

The facilities are as clean as to be expected from a one field facility as popular as All Star. At the end of the day, after 100 games and 200,000 rounds of paint i'd like to see how clean anybody could keep their field.

All in all, spursehr's review does not accurately describe the experience that I or any of my many friends who have been to All Star, have had. A fluke, a bad day, or perhaps just an annoying forum troll who got bored with his World of Warcraft forums is the only way to explain his/her horribly inaccurate review.





   

doyouhaveanego8 Thursday, September 18th, 2008 | 7:11 am PST
you must not know very much in your "5 years of experience" becaus in my one year i saw that this place is by far one of the best fields around new jersey. as far as the refs go i thought they were very "competent" and you probably took their joking around as disrespectful but i can almost gurantee that they ment nothing by anything they said as they are probably the coolest group of guys around. as far as the owner goes he is by far the coolest guy around. it almost looks like you are just trying to bring down the place and after reading the reviews about monster it seems like you are just trying to push business there. but honestly we are from new jersey and we like to play in new jersey. you can say up in Mass. it doesnt really harm us and that is why your review will be disreguarded after anybody comes to this field to play.
   

snakeplayer17 Wednesday, November 26th, 2008 | 7:37 am PST
Ive played and reffed here on multiple occasions, the field has been fixed up since you were there last. The staff is great they have never given anyone a problem on the occasions i was there, they have peple reffing, granted not on the field, but they are there. The owner is great, really nice guy, he offered to give lessons to me and my buddy if we wanted them and also said I can ref there if i wanted. I agree that your comments are slanderous and wrong. 5 years of experience doesnt lend itself to anything if you only play at one field over and over, and especially if you dont even live in the state of the field your complaining about. You may be use to one style of field and anything different puts up a red flag to you. Give this place another try next time your down here and then say your peace.
   

Light Reverence Friday, January 16th, 2009 | 3:55 pm PST
I am not going to even address the issues of have with the original post here, as I feel they have been well identified.

What matters is I was at All Star LAST NIGHT, 1-15-09.

The field set up = great, demands smart moves, and good bunker skills, and snap shooting.

The turf = nice and sleek turf. no snags, no tripping, great for sliding. And trust me, I suck at head first sliding, so it was nice to have a good field to help me out there. I will say that good cleats are a must. EDIT: no metal cleats allowed, just a reminder.

Staff = awesome. Good at the game, quickly identified a problem on my stubby (in about 3 secs) and taught me how to fix it.

Pro shop = good size, nice stuff, good prices. I bought some dye pants, great deal. $60.

Staging area = benches that you are not afraid will crumble beneath you, video games like Time Crisis 2, and others. *random thought* they have a vending machine that has an american flag cover... pretty cool*

Bathrooms = male and female, nice sized, and clean.

Safety = they were cool about it, but dont mistake kindness for weakness.... I left my mask up after a one on one.... and they Let me know... I deserved it lol.

I def respect this field, and definitely their staff. I am bringing my team down there, and meeting up with some teams from NYC in the near future.

BTW - GREAT paint prices. I got red legion for 54 including tax.
Last edited on Friday, January 16th, 2009 at 4:00 pm PST
   

Light Reverence Friday, January 16th, 2009 | 3:57 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by RU_Baller
............ or perhaps just an annoying forum troll who got bored with his World of Warcraft forums is the only way to explain his/her horribly inaccurate review.


ps- I thought this was mad funny, RU_Baller.
   

x-ploitation Friday, August 7th, 2009 | 8:18 am PST
Dispute:
If your review is truly how u feel about all star than sorry. Every time I go there they are extremely strict about safety. The workers are nice to everyone thats nice to them. The prices are great and the field is amazing although a little small.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media