paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Da Fish's Review / Comments on Da Fish's Review / Comments on Da Fish's Review / Comments on Da Fish's Review / Comments on Da Fish's Review

Comments on Da Fish's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Da Fish Sunday, August 17th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: August 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: We used this pbReview.com forum to determine the best fields in our local area to visit. The reviews we read about Sgt. Splatters were glowing. But when we visited Sgt. Splatters today for our first paintball experience - it was a very painful and costly learning experience and one that I do not want other people to encounter.

So, first to the financial pain:

As first time paintballers I brought a group of four 14 year old boys to celebrate my son's birthday. I brought along a couple of "two for one" coupons that were available from the Sgt. Splatters website, hoping to save a few bucks. When we arrived we were charged $38 per person for the gear to play for 4 hours - $158 bucks total. We received 100 balls each and went through them in the first 10 minute game. Ouch! I explained that we were new to the Sgt. Splatters staff, he said "too bad," and proceeded to purchase another 800 balls at a cost of $135. Afterwards, I found out from the gift shop staff person that balls could be purchased cheaper in bulk... thanks a lot (sarcasm there!) to the Sgt. Splatters staff who knew we were first time users and failed to inform us and help us to save money.

Next to the ignorance of the staff:

Then, to add further insult, when the guns were getting low on CO2, after playing 3 rounds for about 15 minutes over the span of an hour and a half, the boys asked the Sgt. Splatters staff to have their CO2 checked. The guns were confiscated from two of the boys and the balls removed from a third boy because they had found an external ball in one of the chambers. Since we have never been paintballing before, I cannot fathom how we could be accused of bringing in outside balls. The balls we used were the ones they sold us.

The discussion I had with the Sgt. Splatters staff member showed him to be both rude and ignorant. I asked him to please return the 300 balls that he had taken so that we could finish our gaming. He accused me and the boys of bringing in outside balls and threatened to have us ejected from the facility. I explained that we had purchased all of the balls from him and he refused to discuss this with me. When I suggested that he could lose us as customers he said "fine" and pointed to the door.

We left. We will not return. We will encourage all of the people we know to avoid this facility. Please be mindful of this ignorant type of behavior and be careful when visiting Sgt. Splatters.
Last edited on Sunday, August 17th, 2008 at 2:02 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Paint Salad Thursday, August 21st, 2008 | 4:09 am PST
That sounds just like the Sgt. Splatters I know and hate I've been tempted to write my own review but I'm not a good enough writer to adequately express just how much I hate this field. Don't let this one field put you off paintball Sgt. Splatters is about the worst example of a field possible the glowing reviews are all written by new players or the brain damaged because I can't think of any fields that are as dirty, poorly staffed and as overpriced as Sgt.Splatters.
   

Feyd Monday, November 3rd, 2008 | 1:01 pm PST
Dispute:
2 for 1 coupon on the website? There is a coupon there, but its not a 2 for 1 of any kind, and it clearly states that 'paintballs Co2 and Insurance" are not included... maybe read the coupon before you use it?

Going through 100 paintballs in 10minutes is hardly the fields fault at all.

There are signs all over Sgt Splatters, and on the waiver you sign, stating that outside paintballs are not permitted.... They use a different color every day, so its easy to spot if your bringing your own paintballs, or picking them up off the ground too ( which is not permittted)

Staff at any paintball field can seem very harsh especially since its peoples safety on the line... Seeing as you brought a group of 14 year old boys, for your son's birthday, you probably should be thankful that they are so strict when it comes to the rules.
   

Marcman Wednesday, November 12th, 2008 | 3:39 pm PST
heh i dont doubt the first guys comment at all.. ive been there a couple of time (well 4 times to be exact) and 2 times out of the 4 times they tried to scam us. we usually go in groups of 20 or more and both those times i was late and one of the guys (who is an absolute ass hole) tried ripping my entry fee off me. Apparently he said that my friend never paid for me and we had a 10 minute arguement going back and forth. and finally my friend came up and asked him are u sure i didnt pay for him and the guy said yes. Then my friend threw the receipt down on the counter and counted the ppl we had. the guy was speechless and he tried this twice
   

BISKEYJ Tuesday, December 9th, 2008 | 12:57 pm PST
Don't listen to Feyd he's either mental or is friends with one of the staff or is one of the staff which I presume because his review on Sgt Splatters is extremely short, uninformative, complete lies and somehow knows that the field is cleaned daily.
Splatters is by far the worst place I`ve been with the worst staff I`ve experienced.
Last edited on Friday, December 12th, 2008 at 7:04 pm PST
   

McEd Monday, December 22nd, 2008 | 12:22 am PST
Feyd IS mental 100 paintballs in ten minutes is there fault? Hell i go through that in about 10 seconds (playin xball). And there paint prices are absolutely retarded who the hell would pay that much to play paintball? I'd go play in a parking lot and pay the fine for shooting up shet before i'd go there.
   

Feyd Tuesday, February 10th, 2009 | 2:07 pm PST
Most other paintball places charge 15$/100 in the GTA, for example NEXT, PB City or eastie boyz... so realy its a standard rate
   

sammynacpb Monday, April 20th, 2009 | 4:19 pm PST
when do they check ur gun chamber when ur changing ur CO2 with them, i mean, they dont need to uncock the gun to change the CO2 or anything but u make no sense.
   

buckles Saturday, April 3rd, 2010 | 10:08 pm PST
This review and all the comments except Feyd's are spot on. Sgt Splatters is the worst field of all time. I have been paintballing since 2002 and Sgt Splatters was one of the first fields I played on. It was dirty and disgusting, the staff were rude, not helpful, and scam artists as mentioned. I soon found other places to play (paintball city, area 51 etc) After a period of inactivity I recently I decided to give them another chance, big mistake. Nothing has changed, avoid this place at all costs.
Last edited on Saturday, April 3rd, 2010 at 10:08 pm PST
   

'Ol Paintless Monday, January 3rd, 2011 | 2:54 am PST
I wouldn't go so far as to say that splatters is the worst field of all time. I can guess at who was behind the counter when that happened. I tell them they are ripping me off and I argue their prices. They usually concede to a deal. You have to be prepared to minimize contact with certain staff members and walk away when they start saying inappropriate things. If they found one paintball that was different from the others it is BS that they kicked you out. If you were bringing your own paint there would have been more than one.

I still like splatters. Mostly because it is convenient and I can deal with the staff. That said, I dont think I would take my kids there.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media