paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Theunseen's Review / Comments on Theunseen's Review / Comments on Theunseen's Review / Comments on Theunseen's Review / Comments on Theunseen's Review

Comments on Theunseen's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Theunseen Thursday, September 11th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: September 7th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Niceville Rec center, Hurlburt Field
Directions
to the Field:
Its best to take HWY 20 east directly to hwy 77, avoiding HWY98 saves alot of time.
Review: Well, im from FWB, so this field was a pretty long drive, I had a friend who had played there multiple times and loved it so I made the trek. It was worth it for sure. This used to be a Zoo, so you still have the lion den, and Islands for the gorillas ect, really neat!

This venue has 4 playable configurations, two of which have islands that are hills. They are also putting together an airbunker speedball field.

The larger island is used for attack and defend type games, or as a central strategic position in the middle of a much larger config. This island has bunkers built in, looking out on all 3 bridges to the hill. Defending this can be very easy with a good team, but dangerous if you have a few apex/flatlines keeping fire on the hill. Attacking this island can be done from 3 bridges, these bridges are so spread out, the defenders are not able to watch more than 1 bridge per person. Barrels allow careful approach from the front, and trenches on either side.

The "Urban" config consists of two trailers about 50 yards apart. The middle of the field has cars, and old boats that allow for tactful advancement on the opposing side. The windows are dark and snipers inside the trailers can be VERY deadly here. Fun setup

The "Jungle" field is crescent shaped, with a smaller island/hill in the middle. One side starts off under light woods with barrels for cover, and the other starts in a lightly bunkered area with the lions den(castle) at the very back. The team that takes the hill, usually has the upper hand, but the barreled starting area has many great shooting positions to nullify the hill if played properly. The castle in the back is a great spot to fall back to if your team becomes over run, snipers can do very well in there.


The field is run by very nice people, they are paintball players themselves, and watch how tactics evolve and constantly rebalance the fields as they continue to expand them. You wont find another field in this area with this much attention to detail, and careful placement of bunkers. Paint prices are fair. They fill co2 and HPA to 3k, and are an authorized Tippman dealer.

My one and only gripe about this field is the 280fps chrono cap. Most of the fields you will be shooting at people at ranges exceeding 100ft, that extra 20fps would make all the difference between hitting someone, and getting a kill. I had many many many no-break hits, frustrating to say the least.

All and all, I will be back asap, and cant wait to hit the place up every weekend in the fall/winter season.
 

Review Comments
jarhead 13 Monday, October 6th, 2008 | 5:58 am PST
Two thumbs up to HWY 77 extreme paintball! I've played on quite a few fields across the country, and I must say that this one is undoubtedly the best by far. The playing area is huge...plenty of cover, bunkers, and close quarter combat scenarios. The property was once a zoo, so the original animal habitats are still in place making for very interesting battles. In addition, a great deal of time and effort went into constructing trenches, platforms, and bridges than span creeks as well as moats linking various elements on the playing field.
Also equally impressive, are the staff, the pro-shop, and the adjoining cafe with an arcade. Everyone there was hospitable, knowledgable, and eager to help with whatever you needed help with. To me, this took the whole paintball experience to a different level, and I plan to play here again and again. There is definately something for everyone here, and I just wish there were more places like it. This is the kind of place that the whole family can enjoy, and just make a day of it. I urge all players to make an effort to visit this field... scenario players, woodsball enthusiasts, and speed ball players alike. You won't find anything out there quite like this. I wish you the best HWY 77 Extreme Paintball, and keep up the good work!!!
   

apryls0105 Monday, October 6th, 2008 | 11:25 am PST
I have never played paint ball before but me and my girlfriends saw the commercial on TV and it looked like alot of fun, so we went to try it out. We all went and also my 8 year old daughter. When we got their we had no idea what we were getting into and kinna scared to do it. The people that work their were very nice and made us feel comfortable about playing. The had camouflage for sale for $9.50 each, the top and bottoms, so we all bought some to play in for that price. While we were playing my 8 year old daughter did not want to play so she watched from the other side of the netting and when she wasn't watching she could stay indoors air conditing , watch TV, play games, or stay outside and play with the bunnys, baby pigs, or chickens. Me and my girlfriends had a blast. The feilds were so neat. They keep everthing well clean and the landscape is very pretty. It is a very big place to play. It used to be a zoo so they have islands you can get on and shoot from their, and hide behind alot of greenery.
After we were done playing we stayed their for about an hour and had lunch at their deli. They have great food and drinks and it is very good priced. I had chicken wings with pasta salad, and my friends had fried shrimp, chicken nuggets and grilled chicken strips. The food was awesome.
It was only $39 for each of us to play and that came with everthing we needed. Compared to other paintball fields that was the best price I found.
This was alot of fun and we will be going back again. There is something for the whole family to do even if they are not playing they have a great indoor office with kitchen , TV, clean restrooms, sitting tables, ECT....
This place is awesome.
Last edited on Monday, October 6th, 2008 at 11:39 am PST
   

cerberus511 Friday, October 10th, 2008 | 10:22 am PST
I've played at fields all over the United States and this one by far is one of the best fields I have played at. The attention to detail, adherence to safety, amenities, and professional staff make it what it is.

What is available? First off you have two ultra-clean restrooms for those needed b-room breaks in between games. You have a top-rate deli that has a variety of items available on their menu from the customary hot dogs and hamburgers (with cheese, if you please) to grilled chicken sandwiches, lobster poppers (you are in Florida), and hot wings. They have water, soda, and Gatorade (multiple flavors) available to help you rehydrate and quench your thirst. They have several tables set up inside in the AC so you can take a welcome break from the brutal Florida heat and humidity. The inside also offers TV and games to occupy those that are not there to play. All in all...it is good place to bring the family for some clean wholesome fun...there are even little furry critters for the kids to interact with.

From the players' perspective this place is top notch. I come from a long background of playing woodsball-type paintball and even I like this place! There are several fields available to play on and the staff usually rotate play throughout the day amongst the different fields and even throw in some variations to add a little extra spice. The staff has bunker placement down to a science and rotate obstacles and bunkers on a regular basis...paying attention to the average tactics used throughout the day.

The fields are well manicured and kept up...not much need for full camo out there. The field was previously a zoo so you can imagine that there are several features that would appeal to the rec player and stimulate the imagination. One being the two islands and creeks present at the field. Both are interesting and add a whole new level to the average, boring playing field you might find elsewhere.

Another feature is the Trailers and Boats. A playing field consisting of several boats and other smaller watercraft, interspersed with a few cars, and flanked by an intact single-wide trailer on one side and a double-wide trailer on the other offer a unique playing experience and endless possibilities of scenarios to an enterprising mind and accomodating ref, which they are for the most part.

I could go on with the fine details of all of the playing fields but really it comes down th that this is an outstanding place to play.

Field paint prices are extremely reasonable and they offer a variety of choices...both regular and premium...Evil being my favorite! Field paint only...sorry.

Also reasonable are air/CO2 fills...all-day air offers the best value. Most experienced players using HPA are going to go through at least 2-3 tanks per day so the all-day option will save you some bucks at the end of the day. The field handles CO2 and HPA rated at 3000 PSI.

The field uses Tippman 98s and 10/16 oz CO2 tanks for rentals. The equipment is excellent and well-maintained. Even the googles are in excellent shape. The staff closely monitors the equipment in the interest of safety.

Safety...this is easily the safest field I have ever played at. The staff monitors players and game play closely and are quick to correct any safety or rule infraction...in a firm and polite manner. Cheating is not tolerated and offenders are dealt with harshly...usually taken to the back 40 and shot...just kidding! But seriously...anyone caught cheating or displaying unsportsmans-like behavior will receive a stern lecture from the staff and may be asked to depart and not come back. Ultimately this field is set up as a family-oriented place so anything that degrades and detracts from that impression will be handled by the staff. Steps are taken to ensure the safety and enjoyment for younger and newer players...something I have not seen done at a lot of places. Players with electropneumatic guns capable of insane rates of fire and reactive triggers firing more than one shot per trigger pull are asked to tone it down...semi-auto only is allowed. Also...a surrender or no-shoot rule is exercised to prevent extremely close in shots on the younger, newer folks. Many times a seperate game is run if a large group of children and newer players is present to prevent interaction between them and the more experienced crowd. That fact was a high point with me since I have rarely seen it done like that before.

The real deal breaking factor at any paintball field is the regulars. You have bad ones...people coming in the first time are going to have a bad time. You have good ones...then you will consistently generate additional regulars because those people will come back. All in all...the folks that regularly show up on the weekend here are a pretty good group of individuals. Most of them want nothing more but to have a good time and are quick to offer help, advice, or assistance to those in need.

If you live in the panhandle area of Florida and are dedicated to a clean day of fun paintball, then you really need to come out and see it for yourself. You will have a good time! If you are in the Southport/Panama City-area and play paintball...even those of you that play at Tyndall...come out and play with us for a weekend. We have had Tyndall guys play here and comment that this field was more fun than the one they were used to playing at Tyndall.

Come out and join us...see you there!!
   

r0y7h31n4n3 Saturday, March 27th, 2010 | 11:17 am PST
There are reviews. Post reviews, not comments.
   

cerberus511 Tuesday, March 30th, 2010 | 6:07 am PST
I pretty much call the first three postings "reviews"...providing expanded feedback about the field.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media