paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Badmoon's Review / Comments on Badmoon's Review / Comments on Badmoon's Review / Comments on Badmoon's Review / Comments on Badmoon's Review

Comments on Badmoon's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Badmoon Tuesday, September 16th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once
Date There: September 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
splat tag, scp, pgi, air assult, mn pro, action pact, all over all better feilds by alot i will never be going back to this feild.
Review: feild : Good feild they cleaned the bunkers every couple games really clean even nice grass feild. Good bunkers always infated. Did not play the woods corse on account of all my guys wanted to leave do to the horrible reffing but it looked cool.

reffs.: All but 2 maby 3 feel like they dont care about the game. Teams got away with what ever they wanted. they ref loose on their "home" teams. I have never been so disapointed in refs in my life. they where good on the safty rules thou. The head ref could take charge more. And their was some very bullsh*t calls and not even just on my guys. I was even upset about a very bad move on the refs part on a team i hate. All in all mostly very very sub par, And i was warned about the poor refing before hand. I dint think it would be as bad as they said. in fact it was worse. It was to the point where i had a freind of mine who is a ref as a carrear, like me, ref for them.

prices: Entry was right it wound up being around 25 a person for the 5 man we where at. Paint sucked for 65 a case. You could use your own stuff for an 20 fee

players: Their home teams dont cheat they just forget to go out when their hit and they are really unpleasent about it after the games.

air set up: one of the better parts of the feild. Never did get a full 45 fill thou.

rules: Where talked about in the morning. Said it was psp rules but some of the rules where never enforced.

facilities: The port o potty was to the point where i wouldnt deficate in it and that means it was bad.

location: Way way off the map for me i drove an hour and a half to get their and got to pay 425 for my team to be shafted over all day.

This was in fact the worst experiance i and a couple of the other teams and my guys have ever had. not worth the money for the amount i was cheated on. I hit 2-3 players a game clean hit i saw crose feild. But my kills wound up being maby one a game, mabey.
 

Review Comments
fredericpaintba Thursday, September 25th, 2008 | 1:24 pm PST
All I can say to this is he is partially right. The Refs where not catching everything it is hard when there are 10 players and only 6 refs. It was a raining crappy weekend, tension where high with all the teams. Especially the ones that went 2-5 in the round robin. The funny thing was yes I let his friend on to ref because of the missed calls and strange how he didn’t have much to say bad about the other refs. And we are talking to him about using him at the next event. As for a location we are located right on the major highway running through this area, to me that is not out of the way at all, just because you live over an hour away doesn’t make it way off the map.

But that is my defense, as for getting stuck with the bill that is what happens when you the captain of the team.
   

eruhn Tuesday, September 30th, 2008 | 7:26 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by fredericpaintba
All I can say to this is he is partially right. The Refs where not catching everything it is hard when there are 10 players and only 6 refs. It was a raining crappy weekend, tension where high with all the teams. Especially the ones that went 2-5 in the round robin. The funny thing was yes I let his friend on to ref because of the missed calls and strange how he didn�t have much to say bad about the other refs. And we are talking to him about using him at the next event. As for a location we are located right on the major highway running through this area, to me that is not out of the way at all, just because you live over an hour away doesn�t make it way off the map.

But that is my defense, as for getting stuck with the bill that is what happens when you the captain of the team.



Above is what I was going to say, but with a few others. I really don't want to get in the details about the original post person, cause I'll just get mad again. Having to deal with him all day at this event plus another event after. Now on here. In my defense as the head ref on this field, I knew it was going to be a rough one going into it. I had my 2 other PSP experienced referees in a wedding that day, definitely wasn't going to make them refs. I had 3 inexperienced refs, who I have trained to the best of my ability with no help, on the field, all of them there first on field experience. I had 1 referee not show, had to recruit the cameraman to ref in his place. Also with this guys request I put a ref on the field from another field, he had a bad ankle. Also my only experienced ref on the field, 3rd tourney, blew out his knee going in on a paint check. 1 of the refs had to leave cause of a personal issue, so yes only 4 refs for the finals. Once again, having to watch 10 players. You know, 1 player gets away for cheating the rest will do it. I don't know what to say but I did the best I could under all of the circumstances, not to mention only 1 break the whole day and it was raining and icky. That is the worst tourney I have ever reffed, and it had nothing to do with the field, only the teams. It wasn't all of the teams, but a nice majority. If I had more sets of eyes on my head, I could of seen everything, but if your good at cheating, your going to do it when no refs can see you. It happens in every sport, and once again, the refs are bad in every sport, we are always the evil guy, no matter what since the beginning of the referee. I had the feeling after all of this pulling my refs off the field and letting the teams play honestly. Since we weren't catching anything, whats the point. Paintball is supposed to be a fun sport, I enjoy reffing it. I wasn't enjoying myself, and have questioned myself many times after this tourney, is it really worth it reffing speedball? Woods and scenario I have fun playing and reffing, but then theres speedball. Well I'm still going to ref speedball for Frederic, cause there is no one else that will do it. Oh by the way, Frederic Paintball did have a referee squad hired on last year, they decided to quit speedball last year, so I had to start my own team this year. Sorry we could keep this person happy, but you can't please everyone. One more thing, I will never ever let myself or any other referee favor any team. I've seen it done at other fields, but it will never happen at this field. Kindof glad we won't see this person again, but sucks that we lose a team. I could say more but about what this individual said in a very not calm manner the whole time, but I'm not to attack or insult anyone, just defending myself and this field. This year is a learning process for the refs and myself, and did learn a lot in this tournament. I am looking for people in this area to would like to be trained as a referee, contact the field if interested, thank you.
   

Podshot Saturday, October 18th, 2008 | 6:29 pm PST
I'm sorry but the original post was completely true. I've been to this field a couple of times and I have not seen reffing get any better with each time. I have given up on Frederic paintball because of it.
   

luckydog Monday, November 17th, 2008 | 3:22 pm PST
I'm in agreement with Badmoon and Podshot.
You don't allow teams to play in jerseys that match the paint color. You don't punish teams telling you you mesed up a call by putting 3/4 of the refs watching them. When a paint check is called, get in there, don't sit there picking your nose and wait until the guy wipes it off or look from 20 feet away. Also, get that damn M&M off the field, it's not as cool as you think! When you say you're going to take a 10min break, don't take 45min and still take another 15min to get the next round going. When you are going to call the ttourney early, don't change up the game order! We were prepared for a different team, only to be told while "on deck" that we were playing someone else! When you are expecting one team, and have their breakout and usual plan ffigured out, you are not ready to play "team X" instead!
My final and most important piece of advice, get some real refs, the kind that actually PLAY speeedball/tournaments, so they understand the game. PSP certification or not, the refs are not able to do the job without actual working knowledge of the sport. Your reffing staff have shown this fact working many tournaments at this field, and when they used to ref Combat's tournaments!
We've given up on this field also!
Last edited on Monday, November 17th, 2008 at 4:03 pm PST
   

eruhn Monday, December 8th, 2008 | 8:23 pm PST
These aren't the refs from combat paintball, they're all brand new. Sorry, you wanna ref? I'll play.
   

luckydog Tuesday, December 9th, 2008 | 9:02 pm PST
I remember at least 2 of you from being at Combat in the past(I know you were, and at least one more looks familiar from there). I was pointing it out to show a trend of reffing problems associated with this field when it comes to tournaments, and that this is not an isolated case. Funny how you couldn't argue any of the points I made about the "talent" on your reffing staff.
As for your comment about wanting to ref, been there done that got the commemorative t-shirt. You always use that come back, but really, do you think that you're the only crew that reffs events in this area? Our whole team has reffed our fair share of local tournaments, and I know how it is to be on the field in the thick of it, with 13bps flying your way, and trying to keep things sorted out. Yes, you're right, it's a thankless job, but even more so when you make bad calls on a regular basis. When we ran a tournament, we never took breaks for longer than we said we would. We didn't punish a player for pleading their case on a questionable call. We didn't change the order of games at the last minute. We didn't hessitate to get in on a paint check because (fill in excuse here). Finally, we didn't allow players on the field in jerseys that matched the paint fill! These are just a few examples of a reffing crew showing professionalism towards the sport, and respect towards the players.
You can obviously see that attendance has went down at your events, and by the comments made by players on this site and other forums, it's plain to see that the reffing is a major factor for teams not traveling to play at Frederic. It seems the person complaining of the reffing is always labled a sore loser, a whiner, or a cheater that got caught, but is that always the case, or are you just trying to save face? In closing, if you're so gung ho to make the statement, I will make sure you are notified well in advance so you can put a team together when we host our next tourney! Put up or shut up as I always say.....
Last edited on Thursday, December 11th, 2008 at 8:56 am PST
   

JJohnsonPM6 Tuesday, March 24th, 2009 | 2:58 pm PST
You can see my review of the field right above badmoon's. And while I wasn't entirely happy with the reffing, I still had a good time, even with the rain. All of the points brought up by the posters are valid points, but some people are going a little far and just starting to rip on the field.
Now before anyone says anything, I am in NO way affiliated with the field. I have only played there twice. The 5 man everyone is talking about, and the Border Battle. Our team that went up there saw the problems with the reffing, but since there was little we could do about it (our captain talked to the refs after our first two games) we just decided to not whine about it and just play. I'm happy to say that we ended up narrowly getting second place, which is good for a having only 2 people on the team who had played in 4+ tourneys.

In closing, the event could have been better yes, and I'm guessing Fredric Paintball has figured that out by now, so it's not necessary for everyone to keep slamming the field because of that event. Either quit whining, and come to a tourney this year to see if it's any different, or never go to the field again.
As for our team, we are planning on attending all three of Fredric's 3 man tourneys this year and hope that they will throw in another 5 man this year = )

EDIT: In response to badmoon's comment about Fredric's home teams cheating. I was under the impression that they had no home teams at that tourney. We recognized several from other fields in the area, but I don't know of any that were their "home teams."
Last edited on Friday, March 27th, 2009 at 10:32 pm PST
   

ericfreakyv Friday, March 27th, 2009 | 12:19 pm PST
I agree that the refs need some work. it is disappointing when refs dont catch the hits, i was at that 5 man and i seen it going on. At the same time I feel bad that there are so many cheaters out there that this has to be something that makes or breaks the day. We all know we dont want to get cheated out of the game, but it makes me more disappointed than mad when something like this happens. Hopefully with time Frederic will have a couple days to train these newer refs and bring us better reffing in the future where such mistakes and slip ups dont happen as much. This is a nice little field and its a shame cheaters are giving them a bad rep. We all know reffing has to improve, hopefully frederic looks at their field and sees this as their biggest weakness and fixes it in the future. The refs can always improve, and i hope that they do.

As far as combat refs go, Combat has not actually had a speedball tournament for 2 years now. Some of the frederic guys have reffed with them in the past, but almost none of the refs that were at this 5 man have ever reffed at combat, just an FYI. Combat is working on training more refs this year to bring you quality reffing in their future events! I know ill hopefully be out there reffing.

Ps: No one should be getting worked up over these reviews. Just keep it civil and we should all respect what each other saw and that we all have a right to say what we want. Dont any one get to angry at each other ; ) See you all out on the fields this year!
Last edited on Friday, March 27th, 2009 at 12:20 pm PST
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media