paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on dirtyrust's Review / Comments on dirtyrust's Review / Comments on dirtyrust's Review / Comments on dirtyrust's Review / Comments on dirtyrust's Review

Comments on dirtyrust's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

dirtyrust Sunday, September 28th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
6 months
Last There: September 27th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in this area
Review: I really enjoyed fox the first few times I played here you have a good mixture of exp. and non exp. players so its good for the casual player.
They are not without fault though, they sponsor a team called seek and destroy who also work as refs who are partial to each other on the field and I have had several problems with the players on that team not playing fair, ie. wiping or not getting off the field when they get hit.
aside from that the refs arent very creative with the scenarios they use. Great place to go to but it gets old after a while.

field: 6.0/10
Price: more than fair.
Scenarios: 4.5/10
Refs: 7.0/10
players: 9.0/10

on another note they also do speed ball there, mostly ran by the people playing no refs but people who like speed ball seem to enjoy it.
overall its a fun place to play and I would sugest going to judge for yourself.
 

Review Comments
codythinman Monday, September 29th, 2008 | 6:49 am PST
Dispute:
This is Cody Brown, I played at fox for 2 years now, and have played the sport for 13 years. i reffed the first year there. i am on seek and destroy. seek and destroy DOES NOT REF! We have not for at least a year. SSK refs. South Side Killas, and are outstanding refs. I appreciate your opinion but Fox is family oriented and is the safest park here. our refs make it that way. Also SSK is not partial to SAD and they do not allow wiping. The family or regulars and teams that are sponsored at Fox play highly aggressive and very skilled paintball. for walk-ons and people new to the sport and Fox field itself, it comes as bit of a culture shock. and new people tend to have bad days. but what i do not appreciate is people hinding behind a screen name and saying we are a sub par field and we allow cheaters, and then possibly ruining someone elses chance to have fun when reading this. If you have a problem GO TO THE HEAD REF.
   

sarge48 Monday, September 29th, 2008 | 11:13 am PST
Dispute:
This is Brian from Seek and Destroy (SAD), and dirtyrust should know by the jerseys that the ref's wear at Fox that they play for South Side Killaz (SSK), and not SAD. I play at Fox almost every Saturday and Sunday, and I can say that SSK does an excellent job at refereeing, they are extremely fair and always balance out SAD players by dividing them evenly on both sides.

I know for a fact that SAD players have been called out by each other, as well as by ref's on paint checks. Let's make sure that what you are seeing is splatter, not a direct hit being cleaned off, after a paint check.

On the few occasions when we ask to play on the same side as a team, the ref's do so only by giving the other side many more players, or when there are an equal number of SSK players on the other side. We ask this only to improve our team skills for scenario events, and have only done this 2-3 times in the last several months. The last time we did this, the SAD side was outnumbered by 15 players.

When a member of SSK is not the head ref, Nick is, he also does an excellent job and is not on Seek and Destroy.

The refs on the field are safety first, DOC from SSK is an EMS Paramedic and does a great job to make certain the safety rules are followed. When someone lifts his mask or strolls off the field without a barrel cover on you can hear shots of "keep your mask down" or "put your barrel cover on", it seems to me that the safety message is getting out to all.

My experience is that if you address any field issues with the head ref it will be resolved. This is a great family field and Fox is continually making improvements, we should be very thankful to have a field like this in Virginia Beach.
   

SSKROCKSTAR Thursday, March 5th, 2009 | 8:54 am PST
Rockstar here, Capt. of SSK. This posting is ignorant and should be replaced with the comments of Thinman, Brian, and myself.
Fox is the most stand-up park you're going to find. It's the perfect size to be effectively reffed and managed. SSK is the majority of the referee staff along with Robbie and Nick S. and we do a great job. Nothing more can be said than what has been posted above so good show, guys!
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media