paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on headshothoncho's Review / Comments on headshothoncho's Review / Comments on headshothoncho's Review / Comments on headshothoncho's Review / Comments on headshothoncho's Review

Comments on headshothoncho's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

headshothoncho Friday, February 27th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months
Last There: February 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
#1- about the same
Tanks- better
Command Post- Same-ish
Directions
to the Field:
googlemaps
Review: I've only been to this field twice, and overall they were good experieces. The first time I came was on a Saturday and I found a couple of ballers there and now we're starting our own team- so that's good. As for the actual playing- not bad. There are 5 fields on a regular day- Tires(good), hyperball(awseome), bank(horrible), Desert Storm(bad), and fort(good for woosballers- not me). I only like tires and hyperball because they have snakes and I play snake. But, once a month, they have xball day- amazing. They have surprisingly good bunkers on a surprisingly good field (probably due to the fact that they only inflate the bunkers and let people play on it once a month). It is much better than Tanks in that regard, because tanks is just a muddy puddle with dirty bunkers on some fields- no offense to Tanks, I love Tanks. The owner of Twisted is really nice, and she helped me out with alot. One big problem- they have stupid rules there like:

1.) offer surrender if you're closer than 20 feet- psssht
2.) semi only (not that bad but they won't even let you PSP 10 bps)
3.) hits below the knees, elbows and on the gun and hopper DO NOT count- OMG!

Another problem is one of they're refs- Nick. I went up to bunker two people and I shot them in the upper back so it wouldn't hurt- but I was 17 feet away instead of 20 and Nick freaked out and started screaming at me in the middle of the game which was extremely annoying. He yelled until the end of the game and effectively pulled me out. Overall I'll give this field a 7, but if it's not xball day- about a 5.
 

Review Comments
TGTI Monday, March 2nd, 2009 | 6:02 pm PST
Thanks so much for taking the time to review Twisted. I always appreciate feedback as it gives me the opportunity to review and revise (if needed) my policies which in turn contribute to the goal of providing a fun and safe paintball environment for everyone.

Glad that you have enjoyed your days at Twisted and that you were able to meet like minded players to start a team with! However, I would like to take this opportunity to clarify a few things for you and others who may read your review.

Twisted is a rec-ball field that caters primarily to new players and those who enjoy playing paintball from a recreational stand point. Obviously, you are more accustomed to playing the "sport" of paintball which is traditionally played on an airball field (versus rec-ball/woods ball fields), has different rules and a different style of play. Because of the experience levels of our guests, the following rules were implemented:

1.) offer surrender if you're closer than 20 feet. Most new players do not enjoy being shot at close range. This rule was implemented to make sure that players are given the opportunity to surrender rather than being "bunkered" by overzealous players.

2.) semi only (not that bad but they won't even let you PSP 10 bps) Implemented in order to level the playing field between private equipment owners and those playing with rental equipment. The only other option would be to restrict all players to the use of gravity fed hoppers only.

3.) hits below the knees, elbows and on the gun and hopper DO NOT count Again, Twisted is a rec-ball field and we apply rec-ball rules on all fields except for the airball field where tourney rules do apply. Use of this hit rule allows less experienced players stay in the game longer and have more FUN rather than going out minutes into each game.

Regarding your "bunkering" incident. I stand behind Nick 100% in his response to your behavior. Despite being warned to offer surrender, you chose to disregard the directions of our head ref and to disregard our rules of play. The unfortunate outcome to this incident is that the two players you shot at less than 20 feet were a father and son who were playing paintball for the first time. After being advised of the incident, I personally extended my apologies to the both of them for what happened. The sad result of this is the possibility they will never play paintball again. And that would be a shame.

Best wishes to you and your new team and hope to see you at the next X-Ball Fun Day on Sunday, March 8th!


Last edited on Monday, March 2nd, 2009 at 6:05 pm PST
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media