paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on hutch1122's Review / Comments on hutch1122's Review / Comments on hutch1122's Review / Comments on hutch1122's Review / Comments on hutch1122's Review

Comments on hutch1122's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

hutch1122 Monday, May 25th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year
Last There: April 10th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PB City - Ok place to play once in a while, gets a bit dirty on they speedball field.
Eastie Boyz - Best place to play indoor sup-air in the city
Defcon Paintball - Very Small, No theme really... Needs alot of work...
Directions
to the Field:
Located Near yorkdale, pretty easy to find, just check out they're website.
Review: Hours and Location:

Sgt Splatter's is very easy to find, quick drive from the major highways in the city. Tons of room for parking, and there are quite a few restaurants and places nearby to go after a day of paintballing. (my friends and I always go and grab some pizza after a fun day).
They're open 24 hours a day 7 days a week, as they advertise. The latest I've been there has been about 1 am on a Friday night, and they still had games going on.. but I have not been there any later than that.

Prices:

They're prices are pretty standard across the board in compared to other fields in the GTA. They have BYOP times, which are sunday morns and wed nights?..(I think, check they're website). They sell cases of paint in the shop pretty cheap... 35-50$/2000 balls depending on the type of paint. They have membership rates for gun owners which give people a pretty good deal too.

Staff:

This is where Sgt Splatter's really sets itself aside from most other paintball places I've been too. The staff has always been super cool with my friends and I, always joking around or helping us out when we have a problem. They even ask us if we want and food when they order in they're supper lol. The proshop staff is just as awesome, as they always price match any items for me as well as take the time to answer my stupid questions. Hats off to the Staff at Sgt Splatters!

Proshop:

The Proshop is pretty decent as well... Prices are competitive, service is fast and there is a wide variety of products always in stock.. Not much more I can say about the store. A++

Field:

Perhaps one of the best indoor places I've ever played at. Yes it is sand on the ground, and sand gets everywhere... But it is alot better that some of the carpet I've played on. They have added a couple of new buildings over the last couple of months, and from what I hear they plan on doing even more renovations. Definitely a pretty awesome field for anyone to play on.


Overall:

9/10 (only because no place is perfect :P, but its pretty close)
For sure the best indoor field I've played at in the GTA, They've been around forever from what I know.. and that doesn't surprise me. Keep it up Splatters!
 

Review Comments
em1sniper Sunday, November 8th, 2009 | 9:01 pm PST
Dispute:
He mention the prices on paint at this particular field.

"They're prices are pretty standard across the board in compared to other fields in the GTA. They have BYOP times, which are sunday morns and wed nights?..(I think, check they're website). They sell cases of paint in the shop pretty cheap... 35-50$/2000 balls depending on the type of paint. They have membership rates for gun owners which give people a pretty good deal too."

I went to the website and they mention for a case of 2000 its going to cost around $240.00 Canadian. That is not cheap. I've been playing for over 10 years and that is ridiculous. I am from the states but come on that is way too expensive. I heard that they play paintball in Canada but for that amount is way too much.
   

hutch1122 Monday, November 16th, 2009 | 7:35 am PST
"You heard that they play paintball in Canada.."? lol... we yes we do have paintball in Canada..

http://www.eastieboyz.com/rates.htm
http://www.paintball-city.com/rentals.shtml
http://www.nextpaintball.com/indexnext.htm
http://www.c-q-b.ca/prices.html
http://www.defconpaintball.ca/#/rates/

Here are 5 other fields located in or around toronto... and they all sell paint for $15.00 / 100 for renters... so yes it is a standard fee..

If your a gun owner you can buy paintballs from the shop and use them on byop at splatters, and the paint is as cheap as $25.00/case... Maybe you should do a bit more research before you comment.
   

em1sniper Saturday, March 6th, 2010 | 4:31 pm PST
This is posted on the Sgt Splatters Website for paint.

Paintball Prices

* 100 Paintballs - $15.00.
* 2000 Paintballs - $240.00 (only $12.00 per hundred!).
* 6000 Paintballs - $600.00 (the cheapest rate, only $10.00 per hundred!)

This is quoted directly from Sgt. Splatters Website. This is my research. Why don't you open your eyes in Canada and search the internet for a little bit more before you make comments about prices. I've attached a link for you to see how much prices are. Now check out the United States. The prices at SGT Splatters are $240.00 for a case of 2000 balls. The case of 2000 balls is $50.00 at Tombstone Paintball. Believe me, if you want to talk about prices its cheaper in the states and paintball is a lot better. There is no comparison. Maybe that is why there are so many Canadians traveling to the U.S. when its cold in Toronto. They know they can get sun out there compared to the cold in Toronto. HUTCH1122, please compare prices before you comment on cost. Yes you can bring your own paint but your only limited to white or yellow fill. I've gone to so many stores who still sell other colored paint. Your very limited to what you can bring.

* 100 balls • $7
* 500 balls • $15
* 1000 balls • $30
* case of 2000 balls • $50


http://www.tombstonepaintballpark.com/pricing.htm
   

hutch1122 Tuesday, April 27th, 2010 | 1:19 pm PST
Wow.... Em1sniper...

You disputed my review... yet you have failed to do your RESEARCH like I said, and take a look at the prices of the other indoor fields in the toronto area. IF YOU HAD done so, you would have noticed that the prices are all similar.

Secondly, they do not limit fill colors at Sgt Splatter's, so once again you've done absolutely no research there either.

Thirdly, Prices will always be cheaper at an outdoor field compared to indoor fields. Don't have to pay for rent, hydro etc etc, cheaper to run. You can't compare prices at an outdoor field to an indoor field.

I'm not even sure how you try and compare pricing from one country to the next.

Once again I'll say, DO YOUR RESEARCH, and see what other INDOOR fields in toronto charge.
   

GunfighterSB Monday, June 21st, 2010 | 12:26 pm PST
As of June 20th, 2010 (as as far as I know it hasn't changed)

http://www.defconpaintball.ca/#/rates/
The Paintball Prices at Defconpaintball(Indoors) for Rental Owners are:
$14.99 /100 Paintballs
$59.99 /500 Paintballs
$99.99 /1000 Paintballs
$149.99 /2000 Paintballs (1 Case)
$269.99 /4000 Paintballs (2 Cases)

http://www.c-q-b.ca/?page_id=3
The Paintball Prices at CQB Paintball (Indoors) for Rental Owners are:
$15.00/100
$50.00/500
$130.00 Case (2000)

http://nextpaintball.com/nextbrochureh.jpg
The Rental Paintball Prices at Next Paintball (Indoor) are:
100 Balls $10
500 Balls $45
1000 Balls $80
2000 Balls $120

http://www.eastieboyz.com/rates.htm
The Paintball Prices at Eastie Boyz (Indoor) Rentals is:
2000 Balls - $200

Summary, Sgt Splatters is more expensive than Defcon, CQB and Eastie Boyz by a margin of at least 20%(eastieboyz) at most of 50%(CQB).

hutch1122, I think you owe Em1sniper an apology.
Last edited on Monday, June 21st, 2010 at 12:27 pm PST
   

hutch1122 Friday, July 9th, 2010 | 8:43 am PST
As of July 9th, 2010

http://www.defconpaintball.ca/#/rates/
Bring your own paint days FOR GUN OWNERS ONLY every wednesdays and sunday mornings - Opening hour till noon
Admission $24.99
Admission with a case of paint $64.99/Person

http://www.c-q-b.ca/?page_id=3
No BYOP from what I can see

http://nextpaintball.com/nextbrochureh.jpg
No BYOP from what I can see, but $50.00 entry and case on sunday nights only.

http://www.eastieboyz.com/rates.htm
$25 BYOP from what I can tell, $140 for a case of paint?

http://www.sgtsplatters.com/play/uncategorized/49/gun-owners
-bring-your-own-paint-sundays
$25.00 BYOP
http://store.sgtsplatters.com/collections/paintballs
$29.99 for a case of paint


Summary, Sgt Splatters has the cheapest BYOP rates, as well as selling cases of paint for much cheaper than anyone else.

Oh and Sgt Splatters is $1.00 cheaper on its coverall rentals it seems, than anyone else too :P




   

GunfighterSB Monday, July 19th, 2010 | 1:00 pm PST
The Dispute from em1sniper was not BYOP, but the standard pricing you mentioned.

""They're prices are pretty standard across the board in compared to other fields in the GTA. They have BYOP times, which are sunday morns and wed nights?..(I think, check they're website). They sell cases of paint in the shop pretty cheap... 35-50$/2000 balls depending on the type of paint. They have membership rates for gun owners which give people a pretty good deal too."

I went to the website and they mention for a case of 2000 its going to cost around $240.00 Canadian. That is not cheap. I've been playing for over 10 years and that is ridiculous. I am from the states but come on that is way too expensive. I heard that they play paintball in Canada but for that amount is way too much. "

It was your comment of "They're prices are pretty standard across the board in compared to other fields in the GTA." which clearly IS not standard. Splatters is the most expensive in terms of standard pricing. BYOP is not standard (hence places like CQB.ca not offering this promotion."

-- Just went in on Wednesday BYOP. You have to pay $10 for all day Air. Or pay $2 for every 1K PSI for your HPA tank . (This is NOT advertised on their Web Site)

So it is $25(Entrance) + $10(Air) + Ammo = NOT the cheapest in Toronto.
Last edited on Wednesday, July 21st, 2010 at 8:56 pm PST
   

Lancegdthrst Saturday, August 14th, 2010 | 6:13 am PST
I will say that when I compare my experience at sgt splatters with this review I strongly suspect the author is employed by said organization. I pay 5/100, free hpa, and free walk on at ultimate with my anual $100 fee. I think that the author may want to do a little research and maybe visit a few more fields in ontario to get a proper comparison of prices, customer service, and cleanliness. I had a horiffic time with the pro shop from an online purchase, and Justin, who the author mentioned, overtly lied to me three times about the product I purchased. I suggest the author write a new review after he discontinues to be employed at sgt splatters.
   

'Ol Paintless Sunday, July 24th, 2011 | 8:10 pm PST
I think what is confusing the guy who disputed this is HOW they sell their paint.

Splatters caters to the rich people in richmond hill (The area they are in) who dont know anything about paintball and want to unload their kids for the day. They really rail the parents hard. They dont sell 'cases' in most instances. Instead, they sell ziplock bags that have been prepacked with 100 paintballs. Most of the people who buy these bags don't even know what a 'case' of paint is. This is how Splatters makes it money. Rich parents that dont even blink when asked to spend $600 to get rid of their kid and his friends for the day.

That said, they do give gun owners a break if you are smart. I am a member. each one of those 100 paintball bags (which must be purchased on non BYOP days) cost me $5. Also, as a member, I get free admission and free air. That means, as a member, I can play with 500 paintballs for $25. Mix in some of my own paint without letting anyone know and if I am selective with my shots using my RT, I can play for a good 3 hours. Not bad for $25 bucks. Keep in mind - on days like the ones I have just mentioned, I am probably one of 3 gun owners on the field with 10 to 25 renters. That basically means I am a god among mice. If it was easy for me to get cheap paint, I would ruin everybodys day even worse than I already do. They do, after all, want the renters to have a good time too.

Sometimes, I use my pistol on non BYOP days. I spend $5 for 100 paintballs and I can play for hours if I pick my shots. $5 for up to 4 hours of paintball is a great deal. The trick is to measure your paintballing trip in terms of time played on the field, NOT paintballs shot. Spray and Pray tactics are over rated. The real fun is tracking your hapless victim and getting him out like a ninja.

BYOP day as a member is basically the same as a non member. I pay $25 for admission (Instead of $28) but I can use whatever paint I want. In fact, anybody can use whatever paint they want. Even Renters (although they don't advertise this..) can rent their gun, pay their admission and then go buy a case of 2000 paintballs for $35. There is no restriction on shell or fill. So long as your paint isn't frozen or fossilized, they won't care what you use.

I think the prices (as a member) are balanced and give everyone a fair chance. If you want to play at splatters ONCE and ONLY ONCE - then you will probably feel the burn in your wallet. However - if you want to paintball in downtown toronto on a regular basis, then get yourself a membership here. I sometimes play here more than once a week for months at a time. You just have to be smart about it.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media