paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on luvpaints' Review / Comments on luvpaints' Review / Comments on luvpaints' Review / Comments on luvpaints' Review / Comments on luvpaints' Review

Comments on luvpaints' Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

luvpaints Sunday, July 5th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Field Use:
3 years
Last There: July 3rd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CPP Sc village and Action Paintball Park. The later was horrible. I went there twice and twice was so bad and I am never going back and I am telling all my friends. As for CPP and Sc, they have great customer service and very professional. HSP too and I go there more because I live close to it.
Review: Hollywood sports feels like disneyland, I mean it is just great. I love playing there. the staff is great. When I first started playing I was still new to paintball and they taught me everything from what paint to have to guns and how to play. They are friendly and knowledgeable. The fields lay out is nice because they are close to each other and we can finish one game and change field without having to go on long walks and waste time...itss boom finish from one and to the other. I Like that. The paint overthere is actually not expensive its 36 for 1600 rds . try to buy a case from outside..it cost more. Plus they have restaurant on the premises which is nice after a long day....drink and pizza..mmmmmmmmmmm!!
I can't wait to play next weekend...
Happy 4th of july!!!!
 

Review Comments
p8ntballerX Sunday, July 5th, 2009 | 10:32 pm PST
Dispute:
Give me a freakin' break luvpants! Are we to believe you aren't in the tank with HSP or work for them?! I'm LMAO right now. That was the lamest and most biased review I've ever heard.

First of all, you begin your review by trashing a competitor's field! (A field NOT owned by the power's that be at SC). Then you say how horrible the field was and not justify the statement with any examples. Then in the following sentence, you immediately praise CPP and SC! Whatever. You hadn't even started your actual 'review' yet and it already totally smelled fishy! Then you finally get to your shill of a review by writing a rather thin and unconvincing commercial for HSP using fuzzy math to convince us how cheap 1600 rds are for $36. "Try to buy a case from the outside...it cost more." Says who??? (We can buy a full-case of 2000 equivalent rds for around $25!) What?! Do you think we are idiots here?!
I have a lot of standing respect for SC and the history attached to that field. But although HSP has great looking scenario fields, I hate to say that it's horribly run and a bloody mess over there. (As previous reviews have already stated).

More importantly, bashing another field in a totally different part of LA County is not the way to go about reviewing HSP.

I dispute that this review is totally bogus. You don't need to be a detective to smell this fabricated falsehood out! It's an immature (and amateur) attempt at flaming another field while glorifying 3 others!...Barely.
Happy 4th of July to you!!!!
   

cockerrocker Tuesday, July 28th, 2009 | 3:07 pm PST
Hey p8ntballerx, c'mon you know it's funny when someone writes a review a day or two after they join this site! lol

They could have at least had someone not so obviously planted write a review that at the very least touched on some of the things that EVERYONE doesn't like about this park.
I mean seriously "we can finish one game and change field without having to go on long walks and waste time...itss boom finish from one and to the other." When have you ever played more than one game there and then didn't have to go back to the parking lot and wait 25-30 minutes for the next ONE game to start?
And the paint...let's not waste time writing about that.
I'm glad you noticed how he bullcrapped his way around to hyping hsp and then brought up cpp and trashed app which is like 65 miles away.

Too freaking funny...
   

luvpaints Thursday, July 30th, 2009 | 11:55 am PST
I used to play there long before I started working and I have played at app and I didn't like it. So I don't see what's wrong with that. I am entitle to say whatever I want.. just like you guys.
Have a great day and I hope to see you at hsp someday...
   

paintballer lbc Saturday, August 22nd, 2009 | 9:02 pm PST
Lets get one thing clear about HSP. Nobody can honestly say with any sincerity that the paint you are forced to use there is anything more than cr*p the only saving grace in this aspect is that everyone else is shooting the same cr*p as well (not that this makes it any better). The reffing is also a subject that is beyond dispute, it just plain sucks, there is no way of getting around the fact that if you hire a bunch of kiids to reff that have never even played the game you can't really expect any real level of competence. The Pro shop.... ridiculously overpriced is a gross understatement, this is not opinion it is fact. Don't believe me try walking in to any paintball store and see for yourself. As far as field upkeep there is none, paint build up in the containers is on average over a 1/2 inch thick, and bunkers that see heavy action will on average have paint sludge over 4 inches deep behind them. This will seriously ruin your day if you kneel or step in one of these.

On the positive side the props are very cool and the location doesn't hurt either. In the end these two pro's do not outweigh the long list of con's. A player can do much better for far less money.

Food for thought, I have always been very happy with Conquest paintball fields. The newest location is in Santa Clarita, it is a haul to go all the way out there for me ( I live less than 10 min from HSP) but I have a much better day there and after all isnt that why we all play this sport "to have fun and enjoy ourselves"
   

paintballer lbc Saturday, August 22nd, 2009 | 9:09 pm PST
Lets get one thing clear about HSP. Nobody can honestly say with any sincerity that the paint you are forced to use there is anything more than cr*p the only saving grace in this aspect is that everyone else is shooting the same cr*p as well (not that this makes it any better). The reffing is also a subject that is beyond dispute, it just plain sucks, there is no way of getting around the fact that if you hire a bunch of kiids to reff that have never even played the game you can't really expect any real level of competence. The Pro shop.... ridiculously overpriced is a gross understatement, this is not opinion it is fact. Don't believe me try walking in to any paintball store and see for yourself. As far as field upkeep there is none, paint build up in the containers is on average over a 1/2 inch thick, and bunkers that see heavy action will on average have paint sludge over 4 inches deep behind them. This will seriously ruin your day if you kneel or step in one of these.

On the positive side the props are very cool and the location doesn't hurt either. In the end these two pro's do not outweigh the long list of con's. A player can do much better for far less money.

Food for thought, I have always been very happy with Conquest paintball fields. The newest location is in Santa Clarita, it is a haul to go all the way out there for me ( I live less than 10 min from HSP) but I have a much better day there and after all isnt that why we all play this sport "to have fun and enjoy ourselves"
   

shmiley Sunday, August 30th, 2009 | 2:26 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by paintballer lbc
Lets get one thing clear about HSP. Nobody can honestly say with any sincerity that the paint you are forced to use there is anything more than cr*p the only saving grace in this aspect is that everyone else is shooting the same cr*p as well (not that this makes it any better). The reffing is also a subject that is beyond dispute, it just plain sucks, there is no way of getting around the fact that if you hire a bunch of kiids to reff that have never even played the game you can't really expect any real level of competence. The Pro shop.... ridiculously overpriced is a gross understatement, this is not opinion it is fact. Don't believe me try walking in to any paintball store and see for yourself. As far as field upkeep there is none, paint build up in the containers is on average over a 1/2 inch thick, and bunkers that see heavy action will on average have paint sludge over 4 inches deep behind them. This will seriously ruin your day if you kneel or step in one of these.

On the positive side the props are very cool and the location doesn't hurt either. In the end these two pro's do not outweigh the long list of con's. A player can do much better for far less money.

Food for thought, I have always been very happy with Conquest paintball fields. The newest location is in Santa Clarita, it is a haul to go all the way out there for me ( I live less than 10 min from HSP) but I have a much better day there and after all isnt that why we all play this sport "to have fun and enjoy ourselves"


I am guessing you were not at Decay of Nations III. FYI, there were 800 players at that event. if HSP is a rip off,paint is bad and they provide bad customer service how come so many people showed up to that event that took place at SC village and was organized by GIANT which owns HSP SC and all giant parks?
   

paintballer lbc Monday, March 1st, 2010 | 2:48 pm PST
I have not played scenario ball in many years (just not my thing). I have nothing against scenario games at all. In fact I would argue that there is nobody better at marketing these type events than Gio (one of the owners of Giant). What I was discussing was regular event walk-on, if you play at hsp enough and I get the feeling you do. Don't you agree that with as much money they rake in there they would be wise to put a little of it into field maintenance.

Also, are you trying to say the quality of the paint there is not questionable? The only decent stuff they sell is $10 a box more and has 500 rounds less have you picked up on the math yet.

Yes, Giant runs a very profitable operation. But for the premium prices they charge I would like to see better customer appreciation and product quality.

Respectfully,
Lbc
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media