paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Matt Doc Martin's Review / Comments on Matt Doc Martin's Review / Comments on Matt Doc Martin's Review / Comments on Matt Doc Martin's Review / Comments on Matt Doc Martin's Review

Comments on Matt Doc Martin's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Matt Doc Martin Monday, March 8th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year
Last There: February 6th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cypress Gardens Adventure Sports, in Lake Wales
BattleZone, in Thonosassa FL
Review: Safety: Reasonably well handled, but not strict enforcement of barrel covers. C+

Fields: Small and not very well kept. There are claims of 6 Air Ball fields. I have only ever seen 2 set up, and usually not when we actually start playing. Their Fort is rickety as hell and their woods fields need some upkeep desperately. C-

Prices: Fairly good, in range of most other places. $10 for groups for all day air. Paint has usual markup. B+

Proshop/Staff: Weak, weak, weak. As far as supplies/merchandise goes, their selection is grim. As far as staff and service goes, see below: F
(To be fair, the refs were better when we first started playing, but have gone downhill since)


My group has played there several times, with anywhere between 12-20 people each time. One of the great difficulties/annoyances is the fact that it is nigh-impossible to get anyone at the field to answer a phone or return a call. Their website is also sadly out of date, with no information on upcoming games/scenarios. (Last updated June 2009)

We attempted to play on 3/6/10. One of our members (Joe) finally got a hold of someone to confirm our time for our group (we had arranged it the last time we played, 2/6/10) At that time on 3/5/10, Joe was told that they were running a scenario, but that they were keeping to the woods and the air ball fields would be open for use. We decided we were fine with that and made our plans.

3/6/10 my GF and I show up first at 9:00 to sign in/pay. The manager/owner looks at me like I have 2 heads when I mention I am there for “Joe’s group” I let him know that Joe spoke with him YESTERDAY and he has blank expression on his face. I get Joe on the phone and pass it on to the manager. When he gets off the phone, I speak with Joe who tells me we will play there still, but that the manager is clueless.

I head out to my car to wait for others to show up so we can discuss whether we want to play or not. While I am waiting, Manager comes out and asks me what is up The following is a verbatim recreation of the conversation:

Manager; “So what is going on?”

Me: We (my GF and I) are waiting for everyone to show and then will decide whether we will play here or not.

Manager: But Joe said you would play here!

Me: That’s fine, but we are waiting until everyone is here to decide.

Manager: But Joe said you would play here!

Me: That’s fine, but we are waiting until everyone is here to decide.

Manager: But Joe said you would play here!

Me: That’s fine, but we are waiting until everyone is here to decide.


I wish the above were a joke, but it is not. I called Joe, told him to scrub game and that we would try Orbital out instead. I then went in and told the manager that, thanks to HIM, we were not playing there again. Not sure they will notice, but hopefully he will miss the cash of 15 people worth of fees and paint every 4-6 weeks. (average)

I cannot recommend this field, which saddens me, as it is 5 minutes from my house. With luck, they will have a change of ownership and bring decent customer service back to their game.
Last edited on Monday, March 8th, 2010 at 7:43 am PST
 

Review Comments
DownTheSnake Monday, March 8th, 2010 | 8:39 am PST
I agree with Matt, this field has shafted us multiple times. Each time it gets worst, from reffs lifting their masks when on the field during play to players from other games leaking on to our field of play and trying to shoot out our players.

This field needs a reboot in how they do business. Update their fields a bit, fix them stairs in the fort, and make sure your reffs understand the rules, too.

Last time i was there, we were told by the reffs that they were taking lunch, and we couldn’t play when they were eating. Great, i know everyone needs to eat, but each of the reffs were eating at the same time. Have one or two reffs eat, send a couple out with groups and when they come back, switch them up.

They do have potential, they just need to re-evaluate who they have, why they’re in business, and who their first priority is. It all comes down to customer service.
   

Mark-CFP Sunday, March 14th, 2010 | 2:17 pm PST
Matt,

I got to honestly say that this whole incident haunted me for the rest of that weekend and beyond. I sure wish I chose better words, and wished I fully understood the situation before my facial expression got this whole thing started on the wrong foot.

I wear my emotions on my sleeve and that morning was a stressful one for me, which is of course no excuse at all.

I love this game and I genuinely want everyone to have as enjoyable a time as humanly possible in all aspects of it, I sadly failed in the case of your group.

I would like nothing better than to make it up to all those of your group I inconvenienced that morning. I will understand if you choose not to accept my offer as Orbital is a fine field and will treat you well.

Mark
Last edited on Sunday, March 14th, 2010 at 2:53 pm PST
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media