paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on USMC_V1.0's Review / Comments on USMC_V1.0's Review / Comments on USMC_V1.0's Review / Comments on USMC_V1.0's Review / Comments on USMC_V1.0's Review

Comments on USMC_V1.0's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

USMC_V1.0 Tuesday, March 23rd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month
Last There: March 20th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
Metro Airport Area
Review: I am extremely new to paintballing but would like to share my thoughts in regards to my initial impression of Killer Paintballs facilities and employees. As with any new hobby, I was flying blind on where and how, to become immersed into the sport. I sought out advice from the shop where I purchased my equipment and they would not speak negatively about Killer Paintball, but didn’t have anything good to say about it either. I chose to go the since it was close to home and was indoors. Upon entering the facility, I was disgusted by the smell and conditions of the building. There was what seemed to be an oil slick on the carpeting from the front door to the lobby area. As I waited for over 20 minutes for someone to help me at the front counter, I could not help but realize that this operation was being run by a group of people who didn’t care about customer service or my patronage. As I tried to ask questions about fees, rules and general advice I was given the shortest and rudest answers I’ve ever received. I was actually more confused about the rules after asking, than when I had arrived. I proceeded to pay the entry fee and geared up to join my first game. The first game consisted of about 12 people who ran, slipped and slid around the “barrel grounds” trying to shoot at one another. I had absolutely no idea who was on my team and what the objective was. To say that it was anarchy is an understatement. A simple explanation and tour of the field by the referee (14 years old at most) would have prevented me from being shot by my own team. I have been involved in what I consider “high risk” hobbies most of my life, but this was the worst event I have been involved in by far. Taking into consideration that I am new to the sport and have nothing to compare it to, I would still give Killer Paintball a rating of 2/10. The facilities, employees and referees were the worst greeting into the sport that I could have imagined. I can only hope that there are other fields in Michigan that treat their CUSTOMERS with respect and admiration. I hope continue my paintball hobby at those establishments, as I will never go back to Killer Paintball again.
 

Review Comments
gows2dkw Wednesday, March 24th, 2010 | 9:18 am PST
well the hobby consists of several tight-nit groups, so if your new to the sport, you should have avoided killer..... i might recommend playing an outdoor field such as futureball or hell survivors... way more accomodating to newer players..... keep in mind that killer is suppose to be a field where experianced players go to keep their skills up between seasons.....
   

USMC_V1.0 Wednesday, March 24th, 2010 | 2:21 pm PST
I understand that there are better places than others to start playing painball and I should have avoided that place to begin with, but I disagree that Killer is a place where experienced players go to keep their skills up between seasons. I made sure that they would accomodate new players by looking at their website before going there. Its says "So even if you have never played or have been playing for a long tme we offer free rentals to everyone for the best paintball experience at Killer Paintball indoor park."
That was the reason I went there to begin with. I assumed they would assist me to some extent. Just to summarize my main complaint with the facility, it's the staff and their rudeness, to be absolutely blunt. I've never had worse service in my life. I wouldn't recommend anyone going there regardless of experience level.
   

gows2dkw Monday, March 29th, 2010 | 9:28 am PST
well, this is a paintball field---- not a home-improvement store..... don't expect to be treated like a high-roller when your playing base price..... by that i mean the pb field's bread and butter are private parties, rentals, and big games.... that being said, don't come in there expecting them to wipe your ass, when you aren't really shelling out that much cash to them.... (this is if you have your own gear) I admit that other fields can and may provide a better experiance for you, but don't come on to any field paying 15$ and then expect a sense of entitlement, when there are at least a dozen other pb players who did the same...... and fyi it is a patchwork indoor field with a heavy emphasis on speedball, not newer player's needs, which are most accomodated through woodsball, or big wide open fields with forgiving angles.... so yes you are wrong, this field is a hang-out for regular teamed players to practice at.... i know, because i've been playing the game quite a long time, and found myself struggling through nearly every game, (except for those where luck was on my side)...... if you feel this way about killer, than i suggest just playing private paintball games with friends and family on someones private property (maybe in the woods)---- alot cheaper, and an easy way to get the family or friends together to play a fun sport-------because i think you wont like any paintball field, because they have overall monetary priorities, over the individual customer.
   

FNG Greymask Friday, May 14th, 2010 | 11:40 pm PST
First of all, sorry to hear you had a bad first experience, being new to the sport i imagine a lot of things are probably confusing about the game and style of play. One thing i found is that you always want to pay attention to the kind of crowd you may potentially be playing with. If the officiating or player roster seems not to your taste, consider if you REALLY want to play that bad that day, because, if not, there is always other times and places to go play paintball, its not going to be leaving soon. Yeah, kids are an unfortunate element of anarchy in every mixed group public venue, but i could hardly blame the field for that. Now as far as service is concerned, its understandable to have an issue with a ref or a set up, but a latter tip that may prove useful is instead of getting angry or frustrated when ignored by the ref about rules or playing areas, is to simple start talking to some of the regulars. Most of the guys wouldn't mind answering your questions as long as you act reasonable. Getting a tour of the field might seem like a reasonable request if the staff isn't doing anything and business is pretty slow, but if it was as you described it, the staff was probably busy answering phone calls, doing repairs and re-inflating bunkers on the speed ball field (which they need to after every match). As far as uncertainty with the rules at killer, i have a hard time believing that you were left confused and still didn't take the initiative to start asking questions when the staff goes through the pre-game briefing. They always end with "Any Questions?"(that's normally a good time to ask questions, in case you didn't know). I've heard that statement always uttered the loudest and clearest, probably intentionally, so things like what happened to you, simply don't happen. I'm not trying to say that you weren't given a bad experience due to staffing issues and fellow players, but it seems some of your problems were more personal than professional, so the score appears undeservingly critical and the review kind of harsh and spiteful.
Last edited on Friday, May 14th, 2010 at 11:43 pm PST
   

gows2dkw Thursday, September 9th, 2010 | 8:03 am PST
I definatly agree with FNG Greymask...... They do ask "Any questions?" at the end of briefing, and even pause and wait for someone to ask..... like I stated in the above replies; If you can't really do these things---- then paintball isn't probably the sport/hobby you should be playing.... In order to have an ideal PB experiance, you would have needed to show up early, talk to the players, get to know the staff ETC... Its a very close-knit sport and isn't as anynomous as say---- golf for example.... PB players are friendly and love to talk about themselves--- striking up a convo is as easy as saying, "So have you been playing long? or how long have you been playing" hell even ask about their gear...... like what FNG said, likely its more of a personal issue then a PB field's one......
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media