paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on PILMAN's Review / Comments on PILMAN's Review / Comments on PILMAN's Review / Comments on PILMAN's Review / Comments on PILMAN's Review

Comments on PILMAN's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

PILMAN Saturday, August 23rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
navarre
Review: A decent field. When I first started I played here and it was really the first major field I had played at but I realized after going to a few other fields that hurlburt really isn't worth it. First lets start with the downsides, have to have military ID or know someone in the military to play here, they have 2 fields, 1 is the speedball field which is really sandy with a ton of metal bunkers and it's a very hilly area, not very good for running, lets not forget the chronograph, they have one but does anyone actually use it? Probably not. I've been hit before with very painful bloody welts from being shot and I know for a fact that most of those people probably shoot hot as all their rental guns are custom 98's being previously rebuilt and most likely not chronoed after being rebuilt probably well over 300 fps. Theres also 2 woods fields, large woods and small woods. The kids do not obey safety rules, I never saw anyones barrel plug in and a ton of black kids were shooting in the safety area after being told not too, they don't enforce their rules. They do fill co2 but at 5 dollars a refill, they don't fill compressed air. I also left my gun here to be fixed and it was stolen, one of the workers personally paid me 250 bucks for it and I came back like 2 months later to find out they recovered the gun yet told me no details as to who stole it and the guy was expecting his money back. I can't really recommend this field, I give it a 6 because I started here therefore it's not the worst but it's not very great either. Go to navarre if you want something with more challenge.

*Edit* review was a bit harsh, I balanced things out a little review is a 6 now.
Last edited on Tuesday, December 30th, 2003 at 4:35 pm PST
 

Review Comments
leanderxo Monday, December 29th, 2003 | 2:56 pm PST
Just as a follow up. I know exactly who you are. I am the guy who paid you 250 bucks for your tippmann flatline. Lets start with that. The reason I paid you 250 dollars for your gun is I felt responsible for it; being that I took it in my possesion. I had mentioned to you that no one had broken in to the building before. I felt completely responisble, and on top of that I trusted you. Now you have this to say about me? The reason I did not tell you any details about who took the marker was because we do not know. The security police was taking care of the situation. I told you straight up it was fine if you didn't want to pay me the money back I would just sell the gun and that is what I am doing. I know I lost money on the deal, and I hope it weighs heavy on your mind about it. Now lets get to the field. You "never" saw anyones barrel plugs in? I think that is alittle bit of a exaggeration. There are 2 people who actually "work" at the field. The rest of the people that ref are all volenteers. All the guns that I have rebuild I crono. We try to offer the best service we can to the customer. and atempt to make the paintball experience enjoyable for all. Now for the prices on air. it is true that the price for a 20 ounce co2 fill is 5 dollars, but what you failed to mention is that with you field fee your first fill is free, and you also failed to mention that not all air fills are 5 dollars. The amount varies depending on the size of the tank. We are currently working on getting compressed air out at the field. Being that it is on a government facility compressed air must be approved. Also the field is located on "protected land" so it is extremely difficult for us to alter or modify the field in anyway. I do not remember the last time you were at our field, but just to let you and the rest of the world know that on our speed ball field there are not "metal bunkers" in the playing area. there may be on the sidelines or in the woods but they have been done away with on the speedball field. The field now consists of hyper tubes, 55 gal plastic barrels and a few pallets in the back. Now lets talk about your experience. How many diffrent fields have you been to? Ours and Navarre? Maybe PPS? You speak as though you have been to many fields. look around at others. go to a few tournments, and compare prices also. I am not going to say that our field is better than Navarre. That is for the players to decide. But our field and Navarre are remarkably diffrent. Navarre focuses more on the tournement style player, where as our field is focused on being well rounded so that it will be enjoyable to all players Recreationally. I would not rate the feild the highest either but it does deserve above a 2. The field has some problems but many I will not say most (because we could do to be alittle more strict about the rules, but its diffcult to enforce w/ 2 people) are out of our control.
   

PILMAN Monday, December 29th, 2003 | 4:11 pm PST
You did pay me 250 dollars for my gun that is true and you weren't responsible for the gun being stolen but you had told me you recovered the gun after a month and a half and I expected it to be long gone, I just had expected you to sell it right away. I rated based on the people there, the field, how the refs and all acted, pricing, etc. I stopped coming to hurlburt because I got tired of all the people and the newbies that abused the rules and would never listen. Perhaps I was a little hard on the rating but after comparing hurlburt and navarre I realize that with hurlburt being a military base wouldn't it be more strict on saftey? I've seen people with barrel plugs but near the area where you buy the paintballs there are always people shooting into the woods in the safety area and you guys never do anything about it. I can't tell you how many times no one makes the player check their chrono there, nothing like getting shot in the chest leaving a large bloody spot, shooting hot is not safe. I'm not sorry for the review I gave as it was for the best on my personal opinion. Buy smart parts.
   

leanderxo Monday, December 29th, 2003 | 6:22 pm PST
I have been to Navarre, they do not crono every single person either. and I know that they shoot just as "hot", but its your opinion and you have the right to it. But no matter how you rate we will stay in business. It is just I want to make the field the best I can. Like I said there is only 2 of us there. so its hard to watch everything, and you know when I saw someone disobeying the rules I said somthing. I tried as much as I could to make people put their barrel plugs in. but what else can you do besides tell them? kick them out? I made another post about what we are doing to try and improve the field. It is difficult to change things with it being on the military installation. we can only do so much. I am not going to argue which field is better. Navarre vs. Hurlburt. there are things I don't like about both. But there are alot of things that I have seen that are the same. dispite what ricky says. such as not being big on the crono, cheating, and the refs. Its is difficult to get good help refing. I guess that is the problem with paintball in general. there is a large "gray" spot. where it takes honesty from all of the players. the only way to keep a field completely safe and fair is for everyone to be honest. other than that what are some of your suggestions for a better field?
   

PILMAN Monday, December 29th, 2003 | 7:30 pm PST
Respect aside for you as I have no problem with you, only the field, all I am stating is the faults of this field, maybe some things about the field that bother me bother other people, if the things I stated don't bother people then that's fine, once again just think that people should be aware of the problems etc. of the field, sure no field is perfect, I just think that the things I listed should be approved upon, perhaps I will come back to hurlburt and if things are different I'll raise the rating, it's just like any business, just because you list the business bad doesn't mean all the employees are bad, just things you don't agree with that need to be fixed is all.
   

leanderxo Monday, December 29th, 2003 | 8:00 pm PST
I really appriciate the compliment. Maybe we can fix some things. make the field better. Better suited to please everyone. thanks for the input. I just take the product of my job as a reflection on myself. Even though some of the variables are out of my control. such as when we are getting compressed air.
   

impulse_pbman Thursday, February 26th, 2004 | 5:02 pm PST
ALL HAIL BILLY AND JJ! Hey PILMAN they do the best they can on safety and refing and field maintaining, becouse there is only two people that work there, its immpossible to call everyone down for barrel plugs, and I have to commend billy for being strict when it comes to barrel plugs "in", he means bussiness, and JJ is always ready to help when any problems with markers comes about, the refing is a little bit hard to maintain becouse the volenteers wanna play more than they want to ref, I know that becouse I ref at times there, and yes the field could use a little work on it but there doing the best they can, I really do not think that it is a bad field at all the only thing that I dont like about it is the ditch, but thats becouse I cant get the the 50 all the time, besouse we start in the ditch and Im too out of shape and fat to make it every time, but as far as the field goes its nice, as you can see on my review.

Ben!
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media