paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on chris in va's Review / Comments on chris in va's Review / Comments on chris in va's Review / Comments on chris in va's Review / Comments on chris in va's Review

Comments on chris in va's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

chris in va Monday, January 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Sportsland, Frederick MD
Pev's, Leesburg VA
Review:
I've been to Skyline about 4 times now. Basically the park is set up to be one giant speedball place, even in woodsball. There is nothing natural about the fields. Everything is plywood or some type of bunker. So if you're into that sort of thing, there ya go. The 'helicopter' scenerio is the one with the least manmade bunkers.

The fields are radiused around the shop, so a walk back for an air fill is no big deal. Prices are decent at $10 + $10 for all-day air. BYOP is allowed, but field paint is not horribly priced at about $60/case on average..


However, I have to point out some problems...especially with the last visit. I went to chrono my gun and found out masks aren't needed at the station...after a talk with one of the owners. The main path to a couple fields runs right by the business end of the station and the netting has large holes in it. Also, the parking lot is well within range of paint flying from the 'town' speedball field. In reality is that a problem? Probably not, but still disturbing.

Another issue is length of time between games. At first teams are separated pretty equally, but after a couple games people started walking off for air/paint making sides uneven. Rather than re-band a few people, we had to wait 20 minutes between games so the others could come back. Yes...I did time how long it took. I saw one kid taking a nap.

In conclusion, Skyline has a very laid back 'yeah, whatever' kind of feel to it. No rules are really enforced that I could tell. Masks were off all over the place and no one got sat out. Then again, sitting out means almost an hour wait. If you really enjoy artificial paintballing, this is your place. Just be sure to wear your mask all the friggin time.


Last edited on Thursday, March 4th, 2004 at 8:15 pm PST
 

Review Comments
motherpaintball Friday, March 5th, 2004 | 4:59 pm PST
Chris you obviously have some issues. I would like to know why a person that could give a field such a low rating bothered to come back four times. I am personally OFFENDED at this review because this just proves that no matter how hard you try there is going to be some specific person that just can't be pleased.

The issues with safety do not go without a response. On the day he is speaking about there were several fields being run at the same time. On days that are extra busy there is always a little more time between games than usual. Trying to get all the players back on the field is difficult and some days it is like pulling teeth to get everyone going in the same direction. This is a situation we are aware of and constantly try to deal with it. While some players just need some extra time, it is our policy to have the refs keep on the players to get them back on the field. We run more games than most and are open longer than most. We don't stop for lunch unless a specific group requests it which gives the players more playing time. At Skyline we are constantly trying to be sure our players get in enough games, somedays it is just harder than others but we are definitely aware of it and work to keep on top of it.

At Skyline we spend a lot of time working to keep things safe. The goggle rule is strictly enforced and have had occasions where we have removed players from the field and had them sit out while their friends play. Also on the specific day he is speaking about three players with another private group were sitting out because the referee had a problem with them taking off their masks. To suggest that this isn't dealt with is completely incorrect. You have no idea how we worry and agonize over safety and goggles, we harp on it constantly. To insinuate that this is something we don't deal with and are laid back about is insulting.

I have read every review this player has posted and he doesn't seem to like anywhere that he has been. I am curious as to how he runs his personal business and I can only assume that he has a 100% perfect record with his customers. You are the type of player that needs to open your own field and see how you do cause you obviously have not appreciated the efforts of any field you have been to. Players like this are the downside to what we do, unfortunately when dealing with thousands of players with different personalities and tastes there is always going to be someone you just can't please.

Thankfully we have TONS of loyal and great customers. While I appreciate constructive criticism, I don't appreciate it from someone that isn't happy anywhere. I can't believe a player actually is complaining about the fact that at Skyline the fields were built for the players with lots of bunkers. Scores of people have thanked my husband for the effort he has put into these fields. This player seems to want to go back to the days where you mark off a big section of woods and just play. Good luck! We will continue to develop new fields and improve existing fields, our rate of growth at Skyline has been mind boggling, thankfully the majority of players know a great place when they find one.

Last edited on Saturday, March 6th, 2004 at 1:01 pm PST
   

peaspot Monday, March 8th, 2004 | 7:34 pm PST
CHRIS!!!!!!! you only been playin' for 3 months?You sure sound like a Pro.If you can be that objective, then you must have more experience than 3 months.I think you're a liar.Come on out to my "rogue" field one time.In fact, that invitation is open to, anyone at anytime.Please call for appointment,540-877-3182. teamXS 06
   

peaspot Monday, March 8th, 2004 | 7:35 pm PST
CHRIS!!!!!!! you only been playin' for 3 months?You sure sound like a Pro.If you can be that objective, then you must have more experience than 3 months.I think you're a liar.Come on out to my "rogue" field one time.In fact, that invitation is open to, anyone at anytime.Please call for appointment,540-877-3182. teamXS 06
   

chris in va Saturday, March 20th, 2004 | 3:59 pm PST
Alright, well...I see I'm being flamed for an objective issue I saw with a field. I understand EXTREME effort was put into making the bunkers/fort etc. That is great! Many people/kids really enjoy that kind of field and being self-employed I can really appreciate how much effort can go into something like that. It definitely took a LOT of time and energy offering that to the public.

My only real issue was with safety and play continuity. What is dealt with inside the shop and what is actually going on in the fields are totally different things. It's basic safety to have a mask on when chrono'ing. Having the downrange-end of the station facing a path isn't great either...then to have gaps in the netting on top of that is just flat dangerous. No one was told to have their masks on in that area.

As for game play, why we had to wait for everyone to refill paint/air is beyond me. Usually sides are evened out again and another game is done. That is why I made the comment 'yeah whatever'. That whole afternoon only saw about 4 games.

Sorry about your feelings being hurt, I just consider safety #1 priority...regardless of what sport or job is being done. Everything else is built on that foundation.

PS...how am I a liar? I started playing paintball early January. I don't really understand that statement...

Also, yes...I went there 4 times just to be sure it wasn't a 'one-time only' situation. I try to be objective. The first two times were pretty fun!

Last edited on Saturday, March 20th, 2004 at 4:03 pm PST
   

motherpaintball Saturday, March 20th, 2004 | 8:06 pm PST
While I appreciate your right to express your opinion, to insinuate that safety isn't a concern at Skyline and mention it in other reviews as far as I am concerned is slander. You have no idea of the time we spend trying to keep things safe. We have been operating a field for over 13 years, if we were unsafe, we would be gone.

I also realize you are speaking from your PERSONAL viewpoint, which suits me because if I catered to you specifically I would alienate the hundreds of other people that play at Skyline because of the way we DO run it. We have to handle hundreds of players with different equipment, personalities, ages and experiences. It is overwhelming at times but if I make a person unhappy (you) I know I am still doing the right thing by the Majority.

Again, we work hard to keep things safe, I know the type of player that you are and you are definitely entitled to your opinion. I just personally think your opinion is flawed.

Sue
   

madpaintmonkey Sunday, April 11th, 2004 | 11:28 am PST
Yes, you dont have to waar masks when croning, and paint wiil hit cars every bluemoon. BUT, masks and barrel condoms are the most enforced rules at skyline. i have never seen player walk around with out his/her mask on. if they dont have it on, the refs quickly tell them to put it on, same with plugs/condoms.



also, diddent understand what u ment by "artificial paintballing". Is a pball field just supposed to naturaly form?
Last edited on Monday, May 3rd, 2004 at 1:28 pm PST
   

usangi Tuesday, July 6th, 2004 | 8:10 pm PST
"You only have one pair of eyes" - I hear this at every saftey brief at Skyline.

Masks are required when chronoing now, I never knew there was a time they weren't. Seems like common sense to me.

The waiting is fixed imo. Play 2 games, then walk back. New rule.

In the two years I have played there off and on, Masks are required in the field until a Ref says it is safe to remove them. That means you are no where close to another group playing, and it is still common sense. Leave it on if you want, I do.

I agree with the "built up" fields. I also like it, especially town. If you want a real speedball experience try the Mini Bunkers at Hogsback. It's all natural woods on a 40 yard field with a 20 on 20 typically. It's the only field there I don't play anymore.

Just to be different, I thought your post was rather objective. I can see how one might misconceive a lack of saftey when you are allowed to remove your mask after a Ref says it is ok. Again, that's optional.

Wayne
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media