paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Grand Slam Paintball Field / Grand Slam Paintball Field / Grand Slam Paintball Field / Grand Slam Paintball Field

Grand Slam Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
10Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 607-437-1637
Address: Route 28
Cooperstown, New York 13326
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Sidicas Saturday, May 24th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: August 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Grand Slam - GTF Rentals, Water coolers @ every field.
Vundembar - Tippmann Rentals, same paint as GS but MUCH cheaper.
Directions
to the Field:
Down the gravel path and take a left at the "Open" flag.
Review: My first time playing paintball and this field has got all the equipment you'll ever want available when you pay the flat rental fee. JumpSuits, Gloves, Jackets, Masks, etc. In all sizes imaginable.. I showed up at the field with no equipment what-so-ever and they were able to hook me up with all of the above and a decent CO2 (12oz) rental marker with a viewloader. They had a good ref on staff, really knew what he was doing and even gave us the opportunity to invent our own game. After being first eliminated in two games in a row, the Ref gave me a few pointers as to where to hide in woodsball and I was able to take out more than half of the other team and pull a victory with neither me or my partner being eliminated in a 2v3.

Had a group of 5 players, all fairly inexperienced. 3 of them had equipment from home. There were some pro players who arrived in the afternoon, but didn't play with us.

**EDIT: 2 weeks later **
When I arrived around noon, there was nobody there besides the ref and the shop keeper so I played a couple 1v1 games with the ref and about an hour later, 5 players showed up. All of them used rental gear. It was really hot and humid and they've got free ice cold water with cups and everything set up at every field, which was great. The only awkward part of the day was the change of pricing which made things confusing. I think they switched brands of paintballs mid-day and adjusted their pricing accordingly. The group was sold origins and I was using 32 degrees Competition Paint I had left over from last visit.

**EDIT: 6 months later**
It's been a great summer. I've picked up a lot of paintball gear and I'm not using the rental markers anymore. So now I'm paying about $20 for admission with free all day air and about $65 for each case of Draxxus ProBall or Triumph paint (2000 rounds). They're still filling the air off of the scuba tank as most people in the area are still shooting CO2 and very few show up with HPA. I get roughly 2200 psi fills off of the Scuba tank. Everybody is very light on paint at this field, which means you generally shoot less and get shot less than other fields in the area. I have a pack, but rarely need to take a full pod onto the field with me, usually a hopper full is more than enough for up to 3v3. I've seen people win 4 or 5 games on a single hopper of 200 but also seen a player shoot through 3 or 4 pods and a full hopper in a single 3v3 game and not hit anything except bunker. It really depends on your play style, if you're more mobile and sneaky, you'll generally shoot much less paint, enjoy yourself more, and do better when there are few players.

**EDIT: 6 months + 1 week later **
Vundembar is now the field I play at every weekend. Cheaper prices, they have a compressor, and I don't have to drive an hour to get there.
Last edited on Saturday, August 30th, 2008 at 3:48 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

LukasMandingo Monday, May 28th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: May 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Adrenaline zone i like them both.
Directions
to the Field:
next to the McDonalds in Cooperstown.
Review: I love going to Grand Slam paintball. the speedball couses are very good and the woods course is like your in Vietnam...but on a smaller scale. the owner is very helpful and is knowledgable about paintball stuff. there werent many refs when i last went there but i really didnt care. there is water at each course which is a plus also. i give Grand Slam Paintball a 10 out of 10!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

durka durka Monday, October 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 20th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBmissions...... missing it
AZP good stuff
APE noice setup
Review: skip it, the paint was shoddy last year and can't imagine it getting better this past year or next. Madcow is right, might as well have been rubber balls we were shooting. Overpriced too I might add, the paint was, at $70 a case I expect Origin signature or MidEvil, not poo.

The fields, sadly they have deteriorated over time, the airball was ok, good for a 5 man at most.

Urban was big foam bundles with cars and vending machines, nothing urban about it

The woodsball was small, nice for 1st timers, but that is it.

Rentals were ok, it only took half a decade to get tippmann 98's, but the rebels......not worth the time of day.

admission was fair $10 for what it is I guess isn't horrid

applecrates wasn't bad, biggest field in the park, but again poorly maintained

I'd give it a 2 overall, because it is the only one in that locality (adernaline zone is a MUCH better trip trust me), and I am sure it survives soly by the baseball kids, who are roped into it time and time again
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Madcow Disease Saturday, July 2nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBMissions, Azp
Review: Grand Slam Paintball is not the greatest paintball field around, yet it's not the worst. I've already been there quite a few times since it's opened and im sure by posting this review they probally can figure out who wrote it. The fields are all decent size fields, but compared to pbmissions, this place dwarves it.

The "urban" field which is a bunch of foam wrapped (boxes?) and cars is a pretty nice field, it give lots of cover but also keeps the game fast. There's plenty of different ways to move on that field. It does not contain any buildings, nor do I think it will by the end of this summer. Some of what the "gunsmith/sponsered player" said below is a tad bit overblown. Don't get me wrong I do belive he know's his stuff, and can fix a marker. From what I hear he's very good with Cockers. I would go on and say more but then it would become a flame, go to the field you will understand.

The "Airball" field - This field is one of the most open, and probally one of the fastest fields there, it's probally only got like 12 pieces. This field is too open, and if you had a few decent players, you could win off the start on by shooting the lanes, or the big open gaps... I myself do not like this field, but I was "told" there is to be more bunkers comming.

The "Apple Crate" field- This field *IS* the best field there, it's the best for CTF, best for almost any type of game, of course except for woodsball.<which i'll get on that soon enough>. It seem's much bigger compared to the other fields, and has less open area. Lots of bunkers, and a nice "T" setup on both sides, makes for some good action. There's a snake on the left side, with larger pillars in it so you can crawl but also stand in the snake. Thus said, if you were to go there dont ignore this field, it's great.

The "Woodsball" Field - I strongly dislike this field, i've been down there twice so far to see the differences, I guess if you had more than 4 people on each team it would be semi exciting, but i'd rather go play in real woods. It's very narrow, and small. You can walk through the brush on both sides almost to the middle from the top, and also then again from the middle to the bottom. But it's very narrow. There's a path down the middle, which I like to choose, because it's worthless to even hide in there. Games here could last all day if nobody moved because if you walk into the "middle" of the field...there's no cover, yet if you stay on the outside you could stay in cover all day.
All in all this field needs to be lengthened width wise.

Ok onto "Air/paint/entry"

10 dollars entry- I dont think that is a bad price at all, but everytime i've been up there. There's no refs at all, and the last time I got a ref he was a little fat kid who didnt even move, he picked his nose, and when we were told to ask for paintchecks he still didnt move. I assume there was a little debbies pie around his area, because he stayed in one spot every game. Other than that, the owner does have a if you play 10 times you get a free entry or somthing like that. It's a good idea I guess.

Co2/air - Well he has Co2, and suposed to be working on getting air? I myself run on Co2 but at 5 dollars a fill, or 10 dollars all day, it burns a hole in my pocket, especially if im not getting fullly filled. I dunno if it's because of the weather, or because of bad filling, I am not gonna point fingers yet. But I do know I played up at PBmissions, and after a fill there I was able to play about 6 hrs <but at a slower pace on my co2 where as I can only play in GSP for about 2 hours, and not being a paintwhore. But then again it could just be my marker leaking air..or maybe somthing else..who knows!

PAINT!- This is the worst paint in the world, sure it tastes good, but it breaks as much as...oh wait it dont! Last time I went up I was able to re-load my hopper with about 6 balls out of 8 **This is just an estimate** that bounced back off a apple crate! Wouldnt you think that if I hit a solid surface dead on it would break? I'm suprised that games even end sometimes, you get maybe 1 break out of 3? Paint on the otherhand is great tasting, or least im told by everyone and friends. I myself dont eat the paint, but im glad everyone is going back to their childhood of eating paintchips.
At 70 dollars a case, least you could do is get some Draxuss <40 dollars a case vender> or maybe even upgrade to some Marbs? Offer Byop? I dunno, im not in the business I only go out to play, but that's my opinion.

From what I saw below, from others I just pretty much restated some points, but I do give some props to them, it's comming together. It could be much worse... I know some people have some strong distaste for this place, but i've had no wrong doing to me, so I cant really flame only tell what I think.

Last edited on Saturday, July 16th, 2005 at 12:53 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mr.PB Friday, June 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
AZP(adranalinezonepaintball), first prize, Chanango paintball
Review: TO MAKE THING FAST DONT PLAY HERE THE FIELDS, REFS, PRICES, AND RENTALS ARE TERRIBLE. iF UR IN THIS AREA DONT WASTE UR TIME HERE JUST GO TO ADRENALINZONEPAINTBALL INSTEAD U WILL BE GLAD U DID. i WILL GIVE THIS FIELD A 2 JUST BECAUSE I MADE MONEY PLAYING THERE. I GAVE THE GUY $20 FOR A BAG OF 500 PAINTBALLS AND GOT $25 BACK.

Oh yea and the review below this is the biggest load of bull**** i have ever read. I think the owner has finnaly lost his mind.
Last edited on Saturday, June 25th, 2005 at 4:48 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

amazin_paintbal Wednesday, May 4th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
friendly fire, first prize (Power Surge), HEADRUSH Xtreme (Headrush factory Team), GRC, NVP, Hyper son, War Club.
Review: This year 2005 a brand new year and paintball is bigger and better than ever. This year GrandSlam is making drastic changes in order to change peoples opinions on the field. As of right now we have 2 speedball courses being set up with on being an ultimate air field and the other is going to be one made out of ruff material but looks great and is fun to play on. The 3rd speedball field is being turned into a town field w/ cars, buildings, and a urban atmosphere to play in. The fourth field is all woods and brush which is being extended even bigger this year for more room for tons of people. In all there will be total of 4 fields each one of the tourney fileds is regulation nppl, psp size. (150' / 120' ). No more small fields!
Other big changes are that we now have a certified airsmith on duty 7 days a week, Trained by the Paintball Training Institute in Tennessee. (Awesome)! NO MORE little KIDS work here either. All the staff is going to be fully trained to be as professional as possible to P>T>I standards.
The paint is going to be better than ever this year and always fresh. We are getting new rentals that won't break anymore (Over a hundred rentals WOW) and the velocity is going to be turned up to 280fps. Which makes for more fun. We are also getting a compressor so we will never run out of HPA.
We are looking into the future to turn GrandSlam into an Xtreme Park . Which will consist of INDOOR paintball (of course so we can stay open year round), as well as a full Proshop for all your paintball needs, indoor skate park, and BMX. We are also looking at getting an X-ball field an a nppl super 7, So we can host some major regional events for this area. This will be a project that will span for the next 3 years. This is going to be the only Xtreme park in this area.
I've played at so many places and with so many good friendly people over the span of my 10 years of playing ranging from the HEADRUSH CREW (my sponsors) to tippmann effect (Rhythm), and some of the guys left over from Lockout, and a few guys from DYNASTY (T$, Skinny, BC, and Johnny P.). I want to make everyone feel welcome and appreciated for coming out and playing the sport of the century which i have grown to love so much.
Come check us out and see for yourself. This year should be the turning point for this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

yankeesuck Thursday, March 3rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: Ive been playing paitnabll for a while now and this was the first place i played. I was at a baseball tournament and saw this place and the prices.......Cheap!. But everything else about the place sucked. The rentals sucked, they r some cheap pirannahas which couldn't shoot straight. The fields were awful but me and my friends found something fun to do. The refs who were little fat kids would never pay attention to the game so i would sneak up on him and shoot him. I must have shot 5 times before he realized it was me. I got asked to leave but it was worth it. BOTTOM LINE........Don't waste the very little money they charge, go somewhere else.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Chattertooth Friday, August 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire (Amsterdam,N.Y.) better prepared and more professional.
Review: The only bad thing i can say about the whole experience was that it was run by 3 little kids that could barely see over the counter. I wont rip on it because they just started out and I know it will get better. The 6 playing fields they have are well set up but only have 1 field that can be used for more than 6 people(total) at a time. The other fields are very small but nicely set up.
Paint was $50 for a case of 2000. Very cheaply priced! air isn't too bad. $5 for field fees. Again, very cheap.
There was an older kid there reffing(the only one there for all 6 fields) but he was awful. I don't think he knew anything that was going on. Needed a couple more refs(over the age of 13).
Overall 4(this high because of the cheap paint).
Lots of room to grow. I will try it again in a year or so and give another review.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jcrazyjj Saturday, July 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: I thought that the fields were a decient size though there was one really small field that was about 80x90 as stated above. I was only there on vacation so i didnt have my own gun the rentals were only shooting like 125 fps w/ a full tank you were literally lobbing the paintball across the field. the fields were actually a pretty good size and the woodsball field is awsomr the way the have it set up is one team goes in and hides and the other goes in and tries to find and kill the other team and yes both teams do have guns they have water at every field if your thirsty. the owner is a really cool guy he actually knows something about paintball unlike all the staff. overall the field gets a 8
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MCC Monday, October 27th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 15th, 2004
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
No other fields in my area besides the Albany one which i haven't been at yet. I usually play in the woods.
Review: Well the first thing i noticed when going to this field is that the fields were very small. First off they made me set my velocity to 220fps!!!! I haven't been to any other fields but isn't it usually 280-270 fps? What made me mad is the little 10 year old kid working there forcibly took the gun out of my hands to test the velocity. Then they made me use one of they're springs because mine wouldn't bring down the velocity enough(that was nice of them). So most of the fields were pretty small- I'm talking the smallest one was probably like 90 ft by 80 ft. But i played on the big field there most of the time on a 6 vs. 6 with some friends i met up with there. The big field was pretty good with various plywood bunkers and boxes. But they told me in the next year(June 04 to be exact) they would have a couple woods ball fields and a city type one. I think they were just beginning to play paintball themselves and didn't know much, but i think the field might get better in the next year.
Last edited on Tuesday, November 1st, 2005 at 3:19 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media