paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / SplatBrothers Paintball Field / SplatBrothers Paintball Field / SplatBrothers Paintball Field / SplatBrothers Paintball Field

SplatBrothers Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
39Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 804-452-2566
Address: 13908 James River Drive
Hopewell, Virginia 23860
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
calcm27 Monday, May 23rd, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 22nd, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I was in the area for a month, so I decided to play at this field. Field fee and paint prices seemed average to me. An Interesting variety of fields. But, I have some complaints.

First, what pissed me off the most, when I was at the tailgate of my truck getting ready, I had my gun sitting next to me. A ref walks up to it, picks it up without asking, pulls the barrel plug out, and puts it into the bed of my truck and says "we dont allow barrel plugs here. Go get a barrel sleeve" First of all, never touch another mans gun without permission! Second of all, even if I had to get a barrel sleeve, it would have been safer to leave the barrel plug in until I got! I had to pay $5 to "rent" the dirtiest barrel sleeve they had. At my home field, safety equipment is free to rent if you dont have it.

Next complaint, a group of young kids. When we entered the play area and walked to the field we were going to be using, they carelessly shot at everything. In between games they shot at everything. And Im talking left, right, down at the ground, even up in the air purposely to see if it would come straight back down (which it did almost hitting me) Our one ref did not care.

Lastly, one ref for 30 players.

I played 2 games and left.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

smallpackage Friday, September 24th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 18th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox Brothers, New Kent Paintball, and Command Decisions Wargames
Directions
to the Field:
I wasn't driving, so I really have nothing that would help you find the field. I can warn you that there is very little signage for the field, because we had to turn around since we went past the turn; and the guy driving had been there before!
Review: Just some quick back ground. I have been playing paintball for 10 years. I play in the woods 'outlaw' style, local fields, and 1000 scenarios.

I went up with my 3 brothers to play at the big game called 1st Manassas. 3 of us had never played there before, but 1 brother had been there a few moths ago.

The parking and prep area was nice, with clean buildings, and lots of tables and benches. The air fill stations where close, and they had the full 4500 and 3000 HPA fills. (some places are always running lower then the full fill)

Now for the gripes:
#1
As soon as we bought paint I was disapointed. For $50 a case, I was getting the same extreme rage that I have at home for chrono testing. And I paid $32 per case! The paint was dimpled and lumping. As I was filling my pods, I drop tested it from 6 feet. No breaks. Tossed it at the ground, no breaks. Squeezed it between my thumb and finger, and finally, I could pop the ball. That tough paint! I warned my 3 brothers and freind to be prepaired to shoot the opfor several times to get a break, since the paint was stupid tough.
Once the game started, the paint proved to have horrible accuracy, not to mention that once you hit a guy, it would most likely bounce. Other players were complaing of the same problem. Between my self and brothers, we used a MINI, Tippmann A5, Prolite, Ego10 and Ego9. I always try and get the best paint, since it "works" the best. I can deal $60 a case paint, IF it is wicked good paint. Paying $50 for this stuff was insulting. I have never paid that much for such trashy paint! During a reload session, I had a cluster of 11 balls roll out of the bag all stuck together. I have never had this happen to me personally in 10 years of playing!

#2
During the day I saw over and over again very poor reffing. The ref's were as a group not doing there jobs, and un-responsive to players that raised issues with them.
Examples:

Letting a guy who just got shot yell the F word 5-6 times, even though 2 guys asked/reminded the ref who was 30 feet away that there was supposed to be no cussing.

letting players shoot through the out of bounds to hit players.

calling a player over to them to check his rate of fire, then when he was clear, tell him to walk over to another ref to resume play (3 opfor used the ref to maneuver around the guy) As soon as he stepped away from the ref, he got lit up. Not shot multiple times like it happens at a big games, but lit up. The ref right there didn't say a thing, and the 2nd ref 80" away told him "well, you're out now".

I would like to say that the ref that was checking the Union insertion point was nice, and would talk with you, The other refs seemed intimidated or ordered not to talk. I searched out a ref since the Rebels where camped right on top of our only respawn point and trapping us there for the final 20 minutes of the game. It was terrible situation, since anyone shot out was "spawn trapped". There where a lot of blue players that just left early since the refs didn't call the point captured, and push the Rebels 100" back like ever other game I've played.


We had some other issues, since out team likes to run the tape line deep into enemy territory. There were several big gaps in the out of bounds marking. Thanks to the freindly Reb's that called out to use that we were out of bounds, and allowed 1 of our guys to confirm that with out being shot. Good sports menship there!

I would conclude this review by saying that bad reffing is damaging to the players experience, as well as the field reputation. I personally didn't have any issues with any refs, since I play *clean*. The bad paint is a HUGE deal to me, since that effected every shot that I made. I do not ever plan on going out there again, unless there is a better paint choice.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

KingInYellow Monday, August 23rd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 21st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Never played in other area fields. I drove from Northern Virginia to play for the day. Usually play Hogback Mountain in Leesberg or Pev's in Aldie. This is more like Hogback than Pev's and I feel that is a good thing.
Directions
to the Field:
Oy...call the field for directions because there are no markings anywhere off of the main road to get there (Route 10).
Review: My buddy and I went to the Guadalcanal scenario this weekend. It was our first time at the field. We will definitely come back.

The field was well laid out and has a really nice, wide variety of terrain. Hills, brush, open area's and lots and lots structures. The tower was especially excellent!! The ref's were all very much on the ball and did a great job of enforcing the rules. The scenario seemed well planned and our general (Leroy Jenkins FTW) did a great job.

The staff was very nice. My X7 broke down and the guys in the rental area let me borrow a rental for free for most of the day. Food was more than adequate and I was pleasantly surprised to see how well stocked the pro-shop was.

I did have a one or two issues though....

1: There should have been air fill stations at each CP. Having to leave the field to get restocked on air was not cool. Especially since you had to tag in at the CP if you got shot out. That would have made sense to me.

2: I realize you cannot take your mask off during play, but there should have been water stations throughout the field as well. I was surprised that there were not. The field near me all have multiple dead zones and water and air fill stations scattered around the paying fields. I would recommend this be something that is considered in the future.

3: Finally the field paint was terrible. Fresh out of the box it was dimpled and out of shape. It was $50 a case for the low end and $60 for the higher end. I have had better luck with the $29.99 stuff from Walmart. Part of this problem could be that the field has a paint trade in program. Old paint can be turned in for credit on new paint. I would not be surprised if the paint that gets turned in gets recycled to players the next week. My buddy and I ended up tossing the 1500 rounds of paint in the dumper when we got home. It was not worth keeping.

Anyway, over all this a great field to play on. The other players were totally cool. I saw no evidence of cheating and like I stated the field itself is really well done. I really do recommend this field and will play there again in the future.


Last edited on Monday, August 23rd, 2010 at 10:53 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

vader12 Tuesday, April 28th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 25th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox Brothers- Good and closer to me.
Review: This was my first experience at this field and I was very satisfied. The field is pretty far away from me, which sucks, but it wasn't too difficult to find. The staging area is covered and had fans running the whole time, which was nice cause it was 90 degrees that day. They also have power outlets set up there which was cool too. The prices were pretty fair and their house paint, I was surprised, worked especially well for me. I used my 09 SLG UL and didn't have one break the entire day. I used my CP 2 piece, .689 back and had a perfect bore to paint match. The staff were all really cool and the local players were as well. Safety was always a priority and one kid who took his mask off in the field was quickly corrected. Also, because it was a hot day, the staff continuously stressed the importance of staying hydrated. The amount of time in between games was perfect. You would play one game on a field, wait till the game was done, switch sides and play again. And even after you left the field, you didn't have long to wait for the next one. The air fill station was really cool too. HPA was self serve fill. NO WAITS for air. All in all, I will continue to go to this field as often as I can, the only down side I can say is it is too far from me, which can't be helped.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tristanot Tuesday, December 23rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 4th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hmm, in NC I have played at:
Vital Paintball
NC Tactical
Dickens Farm Paintball
Review: It is an amazing field. I loved it. Best field for a Scenario out of the ones I have went to. The Tower of Power was epically amazing. I loved the trenches and such. The people who worked there are some of the friendliest and most organized too.
I went for the Day of the Immortals with some of my friends from NC. The way the field was setup was amazing. They kept the safety on the # 1 priority. FPS Checks at entry, lots of refs to make sure there was a fair game, Paint checks, two nice air fill stations, netting, the works. I have never been to a field since which had such a cool on field setup either, the town was awesome, the spool fields, and much more.
All in all, I will be attending the next 26 hour scenario, for another amazing experience.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wanda Sunday, December 7th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 7th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
Very hard to find, Directions from website not clear.
Review: After searching
the internet for a paintball location in or near Chesterfield area I chose Splat brothers to take my 15 year old daughter to for a birthday gift
she had been looking forward to for weeks.

I will have to say I was very disappointed in the entire experience. This was not the place for newcomers. The referee provided no help. After missing the first game, and having faulty equipment soon on our way to missing the second game we decided it was time to leave. We were treated poorly by the staff and would NEVER go back or advise anyone else to go either. Word of mouth is such a powerful form of advertisement.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Ruane 11 Monday, March 31st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 8th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
War Play Paintball
Total Eclipse
Powerline
O A Paintball
Review: The fields were some of the bests in the area. I went with my church, and we played on all of the fields at least once. The refs also came up with many different scenarios ranging from capture the flag to escort the president. They were well run and very enjoyable.

I have only two complaints.

1) There were only 2 refs for 25 on 25 games. It was very hard to paint check or escort dead players out of firefights.

2) It took awhile to begin. Their shack took some time to open up. We had to wait for half an hour to get our paint and any rental equipment.

Overall it was a great experience. However, they can improve to appeal to more experienced players.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

faaiish Saturday, March 8th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hogback in Leesburg, Va
Review: I just played the scenerio Operation Market Garden,
It was a joke for a scenerio game. I was on the American side and got hammered all day. Reading the rules of the scenerio I felt this would be a professional well run paintball field with missions, special operations and a command structure for each team.
First issue: I got my player pass and issued them to my 7 man team. You receive punch cards to get punched with mission completions and when you are chronographed. I then went to the chronograph, chrono'd my gun and the employee goes "I don't have a punch, but if someone askes tell them ____ says your ok".

Second issue: Got on the field and you have to see the general to be taped up and get your mission. I got taped by a ref who said he didn't know where the general was and my card was never checked or was I questioned why my card had never been punched. At times I was amazed how the oposition was shooting much farther myself and my teamates although we were using FlatLine and Appex barrels. I wonder if they even went to the Chrono.

Third issue: I was on the American side of the battle. I wish I could tell you about mission's I was assigned but I can't. All I was continually told to do was go take the spools. The spools was at the top of the hill in between our insertion point and our command tent. All we did was walk down a hill from the spools getting shot (going to be inserted by the commander) and then walked back up to get shot again.
The other side would take the spools and never advance from them just containing them so they had high ground and we couldn't take the spools and hold them due to the fact that to many people would be killed taken the ground. They should have given the blue side some hot insertions to try and equalize the team situation.

Fourth Issue: Should have had a better command structure, according to rules you were to have radio traffic with the general. None was given. Our General although trying I felt had no idea what was happening on the field or what missions to assign due to the fact they didn't assign squads to walk on's or teams.

Fifth Issue: Ref's, They had there hands full but....., I watched someone on the blue team barrel tag three players and then was shot at point blank range. The three players did not leave the playing field but continued to fight on. Even though the player yelled to the ref about it nothing was done. One of my teamates called paint check on the other team atleast 10 times but no one was ever checked. One Ref told me and other players to step outside of the boundary ribbon to exit the playing field (we were out) only to be yelled at by a ref at the top of the hill. I explained to the Ref that the other Ref had instructed us to do this he said which ref told you that. I pointed to the Ref who was holding up the rope and letting people under it and the Ref who just had been yelling at me says "That guy don't listen to him ".

I am not saying the experience was bad, I had fun but there are things that could be changed to make them better. But as the fields I spent 8 hours and only saw the spools so I will have to go back and check out the rest.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Tombstone (NC) Tuesday, March 4th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Boss
Review: I had looked forward to my first trip to Splatbrothers for a long time...... and I wish I could say it lived up to everything I had hoped it would. But that would be a lie..... but to be honest..... Not sure any field could have lived up to it. Part of that was Splatbrothers fault, and the other mine....... But if you build yourself up to be the MECCA of paintball, then you best be able to deliver

Problem #1. If you say you can fill to 4,500 PSI , then be able to do so. I got up to 4,000 PSI once.....then 2,800 to 3,100 the rest of the day

Problem #2. If you have been around since the 1990's.....then you know how important paint is. The Mid Grade paint provided was Killer Bee..... and if you liked it (and nobody did) you would picked up a million paintballs at Market Garden because people were giving it away. At the end of the day you could see 1/2 full boxes sitting in the camping area. I did learn a lesson.... Flatlines love cheap paint.......

Problem #3. Some of us are lucky enough to have wives that support our paintball playing. All they ask in return is to be able to walk around and take some pictures. And to charge them the same fee as the players was lame.

Problem #4. Don't exaggerate the number of players there..... 350 paintballers is good enough......no need to blow up the numbers and say it was close to 500 when everyone there can see and count.

Problem #5. NOT everyone Pre-registers....... yes, they should. But they don't. And to see walk ons still in line and signing up over an hour after the battle has started was sad....... Open up at 7:30..... get those guys on the field.

Problem #6. Have experienced Generals.......Not attacking the young man (17 years old) that was the BLUE General, but maybe a battle of this size was not the right time for someone to be a Gerneral for the 1st time...... a 520 point to 160 game is boring......

Problem #7. When you think of Splatbrothers you think about the Towers and Trenches..... both of which saw about 30 mins. of action all day.

All in all I can see why people like Splatbrothers...... If the battle had been a little more even, and the paint better...... I think I would have really enjoyed myself. But the paint was terrible and the fight was one sided...... So that is a 3 hour drive I am not sure I will make again. And some of that is not Splatbrothers fault...... and some is.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shado4 Thursday, February 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: January 26th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
New Kent
The Swamp
Directions
to the Field:
Hopewell VA -Moody Rd off of VA10
Review: As a big fan of scenario/woodsball paintball this field is an absolute must play. It offers a huge playing area and the best refs I have seen at any of the many parks I have played. The full park (92 acres) is in play for the many planned "big" scenario themed games they play. The Battle for Inchon Was the last big game that according to the owner drew 347 players so plenty of targets! and in that game I met many folks from out of state who make the trip just to play here. On non themed weekends there are usually around 30-50 players all day long and sometimes more depending on weather. I cannot say enough good things about the the guys who run the park Don and Ron they are very approachable and all round nice guys interested in your safety and making sure you are having fun and want to come back. I love the fact it is self serve HPA air fills to 3000psi there is never a long line. If you use co2 you are out of luck here or you can rent an HPA tank (better for your marker anyway) I was also impressed with the raffle that ended the day for the Inchon battle as they gave away probably 1500.00 worth of markers and paintball related stuff, very cool! They also have a good snackbar in the staging area with monster Peavey speakers playing classic rock. My son and I will continue to play here, we are season pass holders and love it!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media