paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Sportsland Paintball Field / Paintball Sportsland Paintball Field / Paintball Sportsland Paintball Field / Paintball Sportsland Paintball Field

Paintball Sportsland Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
35Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 301-898-1100
Address: 10418 Old Liberty Rd.
Frederick, Maryland 21701
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Paint_Baller33 Tuesday, May 6th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 27th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None and the only other fields I have ever played at was at a wooded area next to my school ^.^
Directions
to the Field:
I really couldnt give directions but you need to remember Liberty Road
Review: I have fallen in love with this field. Im gonna go on about the whole shabang

Safety:This field makes a strict code of KEEPING YOUR MASKS ON AT ALL TIMES until it is safe (at the staging area after they check barrel sleeves) They keep emphasis on safety because thats what keeps the game safe. They are reasonable about the simple mistakes like a barrel sleeve not on here or there going to the staging area but are no means pushovers when people intentionaly do it to see if they can get away with it. (One day I met a group of people that would NEVER keep their barrel sleeves on their guns the ENTIRE day they were there. Dont know what happened to them but im sure they got the boot.)

Fields:I used to love playing their woods ball field (#4 which is the second best woods field they have IMO.) They have an embassy (basically another fort) and once in a while we get to play fort vs. fort which is really fun and exciting. One airball field but I havent played at it yet. One speedball field which is usually where i spent the entire day playing there. A up hill woods field which is always an exciting match (Germans up top in bunkers and Americans down low trudging up the trenchs) The castle is pretty cool too but when we play it I usually attack it (I find it more fun attacking) All the fields are well maintained and well thought out. 1 airball 1 speedball 3 forts (including the castle) 2 woods

Hours of operations: are usually 10:30-3:30. But there have been days where we would start at 11:00 because no one came.

Prices: Their fees on entrance and air are reasonable ($20 for entrance and all-day air)
Paint is also excellent-$50 for Draxxus Bronze ^.^ Also other good brands are sold at very good prices

Rules: Are pretty much the same everywhere else.

Proshop: They know what they are doing and they are very reasonable when it comes to fixing stuff (even if you go in over 4 times >.<)

Staff:Gotta love them =p they are an excellent group and are helpful and have a sense of humour

Refs: Every ref is great cept for Omar ^.^ (just kidding)

Players: Its nice knowing there are new people coming everytime.

Food: they have a food stand but I usually just get gatorade from them.

Experiences: When I first started I was so horrible but with getting to know the refs and some people at the field I have learned alot. (But I hate when a guy comes up to me and tells me I have to do something when he sits in the back v.v I pay to play not be told what to do. But im more than happy to listen to some suggestions in the game ^.^)

People: This is the same as players but what im talking about are the "People" themselves. The people that come here are really great every Saturday I go I end up getting a friend or talking to a friend for most of the day.

Conclusion: Excellent place, top notch, couldnt be better IMO (but.......since nothing is perfect)
Last edited on Thursday, August 21st, 2008 at 2:02 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ciderbarrel Wednesday, May 23rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 19th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Outdoor Adventure (Bowie, MD), EMR CASTLE CONQUEST(New Medford, PA)
Directions
to the Field:
Check their site. I like to come in from I-70 WB and take 75 north.
Review: NOTE: I am only reviewing their 3 woodsball fields. I refuse to play speed/airball while wearing 1400 rounds of paint. Heavy Gunners aren't known for their "speed" :)

Safety: They still allow barrel plugs, which OA (and other fields, I'm told)has deemed "unsafe" which surprised me. I had a gun go off with plug in right next to me, and it didn't fly off, which made me happy.

They STRICTLY enfore their goggle rules and that is a good thing. Their deadboxes are pretty well protected from their other fields and once the refs confirm that plugs/condoms are in place, masks can come off. That is GREAT on hot days. Their "field #2" has netting and people can de-mask upon exiting the field.

Fields: I don't think field #1 was an option to play on. The refs rotated us woodsballers on fields 2-4

Field 2: A battle of the buldge type field. My fav. VERY wide field. Germans uphill (very steep) with penty of pillboxes and bunkers and there are 2 trenches leading up both sides of the field. My first time on that field, my team of 5 fended off an invasion of 15. It is great for assult/defend games with odd numbers, but if it is even teams, the downhill (american side) is at a severe disadvantage. Most games end due to both sides out of air and/or paint.

Field 3: The Alamo. My least fav of the 3 I played on. A small fort is up a slight hill from the 2 start areas. There is a flag behind the fort. Attackers have to touch the flag, or kill off the defenders. The defenders get one roamer who can leave the fort and hunt down the attackers. Most games, I am killed in friendly fire from a scared rental-kid who thinks I'm the roamer. If defending in a large team, it becomes so bogged down in there, it's like fish in a barrel. People are on top of each other trying to defend.

Field 4: Speedball in the woods. There is a slight incline from the start box and I only played 2 games here. Both times, the team starting on the "far" side up the small him have won. The bunkers are setup more evenly on the far side and a person on my team told me how last year that the "near" side has almost no cover on the right side. So, if you have to play there, do a strong-side left attack.

I have watched a few speedball games while taking a gatorade break and they all look like they're having fun. It's downhill from the parkinglot and looks huge, even from 50 yards or so away.


Hours: 10a-4p. I love their approach to running the games, compared to OA. OA will send out a group to play 3 7-min games and then head back for a 3-5 min break. Here, they send out the group and players can come and go as they need for breaks/air/paint/whatever. There is a 30 min break for lunch at 1p or so and then it's back out for more games. I basically had the same refs all day and they were great.

Prices: $10 at the door and $10 for all day air. I use my free Pev's air fills before I head up there and only had to fill my 68/4500 twice. They charge $1/1000 psi and they only charge me $4 for my 4500. Price for me for the day $14 (at most). Not to shabby. I don't use CO2 so I don't know their prices. Check their site.

Services: They sell drinks, but not food. If you leave them money, they will order pizza for you and hold it at the desk until you get back. They have 1 port-a-john.

Proshop: N/A. I only walked in to get HPA.

Staff/Refs: Very friendly/helpful. Maybe it is because they are in "Fredneck" but there is a good "small town" vibe to the place. My first time there everyone was introducing themselves and shook my hand. Players too. I felt very welcome there.

Players: It's a family friendly place, so expect about 4-8 rental kids (7-10 years old) playing. Some of them are pretty good marksmen. Average age skews towards 17ish but my last time there in my last game of the day, my team had no one under 30 (myself included). There are parents, kids, and people of all ages there. Rookies and Pros alike.

A good alternative to OA if you want some different fields/players. And, if you fill your air before arriving, you can cut your costs in half ($10 vs $20).

8 out of 10 for me. They have great variety of fields, just not enough of them. Only 3 woodsball fields and I hate playing on one of them. Just 2 or 3 more woodsball fields (or enlarging the fort by area or rebuilding the rickety towers or just adding a 2nd floor) would up it to a 9.

(Note, I never give out 10's or whatever the max rating is. That means it is perfection and IMO there is no such thing, at least in a permanent basis.)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mixfevers Friday, October 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Delmarva paintball
Review: It was my first time playing at paintball sportsland and same for my friend that whent with me. When we first got there we had to listen to the safety briefing and we started playing.

Price: The price to play was great and so was the prices for items in the shop including food and drinks. And only $1.00 for magazines! Oh and you can bring your own paint.

Fields: the fields are great, I ended up only playing on the speedball fields becasue it was so great to play on and the players are also great to play with and give great tips and help with stuff.

Staff: The staff was great, one of my friends guns ended up not working and one of the staff lended his gun for him to use till we left. The refs are great and also give pointers and tips to help you out..

location: it's in a great area away and has a great set up.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mr.skuz911 Tuesday, October 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: October 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Adventure park (it sucked)
Directions
to the Field:
NEW FIELD called the batel for the arden.this is the newest field we have biult it has to trenches a super bunker pill boxes wods stick bunkers the works realy fun and chalenging to play especaily if your on the american side
Review: First of i am a ref there and i have been insulted by the ref reviews that i have seen yes a few refs are lazy but evy one els works there frekin @$$ off and the reason we dont do paint checks is if u dont tell us who to check. the hill is a pain i no but it dose help keep the feild sepert from evrything else.I love woods and this defenatly the place for it the air ball feilds have recently been redone and fixed along with the other fields.the teching is great bring ur gun broken and walk with it fixed all i payed for was the part no tech fee they also can install upgrades if u cant do it.we refs a very stict on saftey and now if we catch u cheating u set out a game.the stafe is very relaxed and dont mind peopel hagin out late if there ride dosent come.i highly recomend this field to new players because of the relax setting and strict safety. paint cost have came waaaay down and its better paint.we break for lunch at 1:00 for a half hour so players can rest and the refs can eat.iv played here for 3 yeas and refed here for 2 years and the staff and regular walk ons fell like a family to me i love place there is never a dual moment and as for the staff goofing off it helps keep us ref alive and breaks the tesion between the staff and players.If u think i rated this to high come see for youself
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

UV Halo Sunday, October 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in area, I'm usually in Northern VA.
Review: I went with a large private group (Approx 40 people)

Safety: The morning safety briefing given by a ref went well and without a hitch. We started the day with two of their youngest refs (minimal working age I'd guess) who did a good job of enforcing goggle and barrel blocking rules in between games. At game setup though, while people were heading to the start points, very little attention was paid there. Eventually we ended up with some of the older refs and they did a good job of safety enforcement. EDIT: Something I forgot to highlight- this field still allows barrel plugs- minor hit as I see them as outdated with electro's with hair triggers and high rates of fire. Additionally, they have no means of identifying who has been chrono'd and who has not- no tape, stickers, zip ties, etc. Sure most people are honest but, with no capability to spot-check out on the fields and no tracking, I can assure you that some folks are cranking it up without getting caught.

Fields: A decent mix of woodsball and speedball fields. Boundaries were well marked but, none of them were terribly large.

Refs: They were excellent in getting in there and making calls! There was an incident where a dead player was coaching on the air ball field that a ref didn't catch until I pointed it out from across field but, this was /the/ only slipup in my opinion on their ability to ref.

Staff: Friendly and they got our group sorted out (tickets, waivers, etc) in a rapid manner. Now, I don't know if this is a staff policy or, a ref issue but, even though I requested due to the large numbers of our group, for tape or other arm band identification, the ref's only said: "You're starting at opposite ends of the field". Further complicating the issue, after the second game, they mixed our private group with the walk-ons, or other private groups, without discussing it with our group or, or groups coordinator. We suddenly ended up with more than 70 people of mixed experience and equipment levels and, no readily available way of identifying others on our team. Then, maybe after they realized that the group was too large to manage, they split into groups by whoever wanted to play speedball and, whoever wanted to play on the wood fields. So, our group was split after the first couple games on. For the last hour of the day, they separated our group away from the others, and only allowed us to play airball at that point. They did however, allow us to play until the absolute very last minute of the day (and a few beyond).

Prices: Admission and air fills were priced very well. I can't speak for paint or rental charges. I didn't hear the rest of the group complain that is for certain.

Services: They had a decent pro-shop as far as equipment selections, etc but, I didn't have any problems so, I couldn't evaluate their tech-level.

I would definitely go back as a walk-on at least to experience it from that point of view.
Last edited on Sunday, October 1st, 2006 at 1:57 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mrperfect Thursday, July 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: This place is awsome. You can play from 10:30 to 4:30 all day for $10 the fields are kept neat and updated and are a joy to play on. The staff is very nice and will ansewer any questions u may have about the fields or ur gun. They are very fair for judging and dont look down at u if ur new to the sport. The players range from first timers to advaced paintballers. They hav airball, speedball, and small woodsball courses so all types of players are welcome. I love this field and try to make a regular trip to it with my buddies
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

goggs Monday, May 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: I organized a outing for some co-workers at paintball sportsland. This was a first time for many people and the rest of us hand only played a handful of times.

This fields were great. We had a wonderful time. The staff was very helpful and nice, the fields were varied (much more so then other fields I have played) with plenty of cover and strategy options. make sure you play the fortress. If there were any problems with our rental guns they were taken care of immediately and the prices were better then any other field I have played. All in all it was a great experience and I plan on having another event planned there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Evilpaintball13 Tuesday, March 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 4th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have gone to Fort Detrick paintball, Pev's Paintball, and some more fields. This one is second to all of the one I have gone too.
Review: Paintball Sportsland is probably one of the greatest places to go to. It's fortress field is great and is unbelivably huge to the other places I have gone to. This place has at least half a dozen fields. The refs are cool and the prices are just the same as any other I have gone to, 10 dollars field fee, 20 dollars rental package, and etc.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

swpbion13 Wednesday, January 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
taney town alot more comepetive
Review: this is a very good field for people who wants to have a good time like beginners and good players but if u are a very good and experienced player and u want a challenge go to Taney town if you want some slack stick with sports land

pros
good techs very friendly players good fields anda high number of people every weekend

cons
kinda expensive fields spread out[long walk] and there is a huge hill to walk up when you are playing woods speed ball ect
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

LuffDaddy Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: July 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Taneytown - Lots of airball fields, woods, village, and hill as well
Fort Detrick - Just one xball, speedball, and a woods
Directions
to the Field:
off of 26, check website
Review: ****** AS OF 2008 THEY DON'T DO AIRBALL :[ ********************
Woods and the rest:

They have very very good woods fields. A two castle field, and two straight up woods. Better than Taneytown. They have a speedball field that is big and decent. There are always a lot of woodsballers and lots of action.

Refs and Staff

All are very good, and knowledgeable. The most friendly of all fields.

Conclusion

If you're looking for airball don't go here. The place is friendly and laid back and good for woods and speedball. They players are not very experienced. Go to Taney if you want better players, but the staff is not as friendly.

Last edited on Monday, February 25th, 2008 at 4:19 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media