paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / High Velocity II Outdoor Paintball Field / High Velocity II Outdoor Paintball Field / High Velocity II Outdoor Paintball Field / High Velocity II Outdoor Paintball Field

High Velocity II Outdoor Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
46Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (631) 242-2096
Address: 426 Mill Road
Coram, New York 11727
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
seriouslysilly Wednesday, October 27th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 23rd, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Liberty Paintball, NY; Cousin's Paintball, Staten Island' Skirmish USA, PA; Fireball mountain, NJ
Directions
to the Field:
Google
Review: Fields: I was fairly satisfied with most of the fields. Although there are only 7, each one has its own flavor. The trenches field is just a haven for head shots, the props were awesome for WWII & Air Force which included airplanes, jeeps, etc you can use for cover. The Castle field is humongous with many dead ends and alleys to ambush or infiltrate. Be careful going down to the pits after the rain though is it gets really muddy there. I played capture the flag and was allowed to respawn and that was extremely tiring! Nothing too special about the fields with the exception of the props. I quite enjoyed being able to go inside the plane and shoot from the windows.
The woods field was probably the least favored as it was too narrow. Having a battle and being sneaky was tough. It was basically a shoot out and winning was 50/50.

Rules: Hopper and marker shots do not count. Didn't really know about parts beyond knees or elbow though. Surrender rule was quoted at 15ft but I didn't even yell surrender. I just shot 1-2 from 10ft away as some of the members of the group were fond of turning and shooting.


Paint Quality: I found the paint to be mediocre for the price ($82 per case). If one bought the paint on-site it would be $100. We decided to stop by the off-site store (1-2 miles away) and bought it for $82 case. They were RPS premiums I believe.
Fortunately, no breaks in the bags but I didn't closely inspect the paint for any dimples.
I was using a .685 bore barrel with a Prophecy loader and I did not experience any barrel breaks. The paintballs shot fairly straight as I was able to get kills from 20-40 ft away. I was pleased by the fill as it was on the thicker side.


Price: I paid $25 for admission and air as I had my own gear. $82 for the case so the total hovered around $100. It is definitely one of the more expensive fields out there.



Safety: Emphasized often. "goggles on" and "barrel plugs" were heard many times after each game. Chrono was not reinforced but who could miss the bright pink tags on the markers.

Services & Facilities: I pack a light lunch (water/granola bars) because I'm there to play. I would rather just eat a little something than miss 30-60mins of play time for lunch. I was glad that our group felt the same way and kept playing throughout the day.

The fill station is a JOKE! One line for compressed air and CO2. At least designate which line is which so it could go a bit faster. At times it was extremely long to get air.
Another that was ridiculous was the fact that tanks had to be around 1000psi to be refilled! So if I had 2,000 left in my 45000 tank I had to play a few more games and risk running out of air in the middle of the game! The attendants gave some BS that filling that early is not good for their lines.

Parking What a small parking lot! We were fortunate to find one of the last spots. I don't know how the other cars were able to park. For the amount of people that were there, there must have been many cars out on the street.


Staff/Refs: Staff was OK. They were friendly and enforced the rules but many were unexperienced in the game or have not played at all. They responded fairly quickly to paint checks but being at the correct spots during critical times were so/so.

During the capture the flag game at the castle field, I was hit on the right side of my lens. I ran to the respawn area and told the ref I would wipe the lens with my own rag instead of his dirty one. I purposely wiped the area with the paint so I could still have good vision on the left side. I asked the ref to be rechecked and he took his rag to wipe the few splatter marks (2-3 drops)on the remaining good side of my lens!!! It basically left me with very limited vision.

Overall: It was a decent day. I had fun because the fields were good with great props. It was definitely something to experience ONCE. For the price and distance (tolls) I would recommend other fields like Liberty paintball. I had fun, but I don't think I will go there again. There are other places that are comparable and with more decent prices/accomodations.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ozalicious Monday, September 27th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 25th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Liberty Paintball, Patterson NY, and it is a far more economic, organized, honest, and facilitating venue. I would not waste my time with High Velocity.
Directions
to the Field:
I don't recommend it so i will not waste my time with directions.
Review: FIELDS: I start with this cause its about the ONLY thing its got going for it, and its about the only thing that convinced us to try the place out to begin with. There is ultimately only 7 fields. Some were pretty darn fun and well laid out. I personally enjoyed western, airforce and castle. The castle is pretty big, and it has a lot of angles to attack from. Western is very short distance between teams but is wide, Its literally set up like a mini western town and both teams are spread across each side of the street. WW II was pretty big, it can be fun if you have like 20 v 20 min. I didn't care for the woods one too much, I felt the layout forced a gridlock.. We didn't get a chance to play the trenches so i can't comment on that.

RULES & SAFETY: most of the rules were generic and same as most. Also as a private group allows for modifications of hit rules, like chest and helmet and above knees and elbows, and no gun. etc. Safety rules are standard, chrono is done but no true enforcement. Their version of the SURRENDER rule was awful, and inconsistent, and confusing to even the refs at times. ( i.e. when players approached with the other team having knowledge of their presense and there was NO element of surprise, the players should not have to be eliminated on the notion of calling out surrender.

HOURS: standard 8-5 on a SAT.

SERVICES, FACILITIES, STAFF, SHOP: what services exactly, an air station with one hose per air type with juvenile operators, Main desk, horrible and/or felt like a scam, We had guest that came with us, first time players, and they were told that they ran out of jump suits and tube harness to rent, so they were forced to buy them at $25 & $35 respectfully. With a group reservation of 20+ how do you run of gear and force to charge your guest ? average rental is 5-10 dollars at most in other places. That kind of treatment really turned me off. As far as the paintballs. HORRIBLE, both in quality and cost. especial if you bought them on site ($90+) instead of the PRO SHOP which is not located there. Its a few miles away, and the paint was advertised for 75 and when you arrive you find out its taxed and paying 82. Also the paint was also sweating, dented, and or broken in the bag, in a brand new box/case. In addition, the paint during play did not even break on most hits, thus making it for a very questionable and unbalanced games. It also consistently and frequently cause jams in majority of our players makers that brought their own when we never have any problems with halfway decent field paint at other venues.

Bathrooms ? you wish, two potter potties... The facility is big enough where it should have arranged for some kind of plumbing and restrooms for the amount of guest that go thru in a day. Even the sinks near the semi covered picnic/staging areas were constantly clogged and flooded and dirty. This also goes for parking, no where near enough parking space. A teammate mentioned that there was a whole lot barely being used but it was saved for employees, where half our team had to double park in front of our other teammates cars.

STAFF/REFs, Too young, lack of knowledge about the sport, or even their own rules, can't tell the difference between basic things like impact or splatter hits. Not conscience about things like blind shooters or positioning them selves evenly and equally to be able to help call the game effectively or assist players with checks etc.

Improperly equiped as well, most places has the head ref, with a bucket with some paper towels and windex or spray bottle, and all communicate via basic 2 way radios. Half the time one side couldn't here the other ref, or the commencement of the game giving one side an unfair advantage.

Food, ehh, best option for these places is to always pack a lunch and a cooler.
Drinks are over priced and food choice are limited, distasteful and handled questionably.

Overall i give it a very low, below average rating, and i DO NOT RECOMMEND IT.
the fields were fun, however the poor paint quality took away from the games flowed by poor staff/refs managing the games. followed ultimately by how our novice rookie friends that came out the first time were improperly treated by the staff and having been forced to spend expenses that should not have been required of them. (see above). I will never return to this venue, nor would i ever recommend it.

If you do your home work there are far more better fields in the area or that are worth the little extra trip to get a better experience.

My RATING 3 out of 10
Last edited on Monday, September 27th, 2010 at 8:19 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

A5-Baby-A5 Monday, September 27th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 27th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, Liberty Paintball, SplatterZone (indoors)
Directions
to the Field:
Don't need to give directions because I would NEVER recommend this as a paintball field/outing.
Review: Fields - 7 of them. Some were VERY small (trenches), some were very nice (castle). The fields were okay and decent enough to get some pleasure out of playing on them. However, some came with the STUPIDEST rules I have ever heard of (like step on a ramp and say surrender and EVERYONE in the castle is out - ridiculous). Never got to play the same field from the other side. It was always one and done back to the staging area to waste more time in between games.

Safety - Standard nowadays everywhere you go so that gets a passing grade as will most every site.

Rules - See comments above in fields section

Prices - SMDH - $90 a case for paint that wouldn't break when I squeezed it in my hand (I assumed the shape of being squeezed - so imagine it trying to break when shot at an opponent 20 feet away... The paint had me thinking everyone was Superman because they simply bounced off and very seldom broke during a shot. I personally shot someone at about 15 feet and unloaded on him... EVERY daggone paintball BOUNCED off. The person called themselves out ONLY because they were getting stiched mercilessly (A5 baby A5)... Food prices insane, I would spend $8 for a small wedge if I had just been freed from a year in captivity by freedom fighters - Ridiculous, but then again for those that know no better...they got you on-site and hungry... I'd rather starve...

Facilities - What facilities??? Air station - move fairly well, but only ONE working line during rush hour... WOW talk out low budget B movie ratings... This is it in paintball fields... Restrooms... WHERE??? two (count em 2) Port A Pissers (cause all you wanna do there is take a leak) On-site pro shop - HA!!!! Once again... Where, They "had" rental gear, but conveniently ran out and "made" people buy $25 camo jumpers, pods and holders for those in our group that didn't have their own - Once again "ran out"... HOW can you RUN OUT??? Smacks of RINKY DINK operation to me...

Knowledge of the staff/refs - Hold on.. lemme stop laughing... Ok I'm back... The place was rampant with kids as refs. Our group had kids who had NO CLUE of their own rules, didn't know the rules our group was playing under (customizable to some extent). Twice I was call out by a ref for SPLATTER, not a direct hit, because the direct hits were BOUNCING off due to horrible paint quality). I'm telling the ref its splatter because I was hidden totally behind a hill to no avail. Next ref back at staging area concurred refs screw up... Oh and the kicker... How the heck can you possibly do anything on a field in FIVE (5) minutes - totally insane, moronic, ludicrous,and pointless of even beginning the round. It takes time to flank, cover and move systematically... Guess their (the site/refs/management) aren't used to people who work as teams and cover fire, move, cover fire, move, etc...)

While on the subject of staff... Food staff needs to learn to WASH their hands when handling food. I observed some nasty, unsanitary stuff... No thanks.. I'll starve or go to the deli down the street.

You know the place is in cahoots when they start giving you bags of paint when a group of knowledgeable paintballers start barking foul play... The staff actually have the balls to tell me to bring back the leftover bags of "bouncing paint" so they could exchange them with more bags OF THE SAME STUFF!! SMH, WTF, ROFLMAO at the staff. I started screaming on them and that"s when they decided to "give me paint to make up for the sweaty paint... Since WHEN does paint in the case come already WET INSIDE the bag... Horrible, Horrible, Horrible... Speaks volumes and Pops always said... "Just don't ever go back if you've had a bad experience somewhere"

Parking: Not enough. We had people in our groups having to double park in front of some of our cars, even though there was an empty lot (for staff???) right off the main lot... Talk about customers first... Guess they never heard of that either....

HEED THE WARNING: If you can go somewhere else do so. - DO NOT WASTE your time or money here.. Travel a little further to a place where you get nothing but 9's or 10's in every area...In essence, go to Liberty Paintball or Skirmish...

Overall - My recommendation to anyone looking for a REAL paintball site with good facilities, good cost effectiveness, Knowledgeable staff and good fields...

STAY AWAY FROM HERE!!! DO NOT DO IT!!!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

jawshoouh Monday, September 27th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 25th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousin's. This is my first time playing in Long Island.
Directions
to the Field:
www.hivipaintball.com/pages/contact.html
Review: Fields: Nice (small) variety. Didn't like The Woods too much (mainly because I was dead tired by the time we got to that field), that and WWII were the largest. Wild West was probably my favorite...close quarters combat on a smaller field. The Castle was pretty fun, too, this was what actually drew me to go to play at HiVi. Some people complained that it's a waste of paint, but if you move through in small squads and communicate, taking down their flag first and then getting your teammates to raise your flag in the other tower is fun. 9/10

Game Customization: If you go with a private group (which is what I normally do, I played with walk-on's elsewhere a handful of times and prefer my own crew if possible), they let you make your own playing rules (like no gun-shots, elbows-to-knees only, etc.). Their field surrender rule is asinine though, ESPECIALLY when you play with a private group (I can totally understand it when you're playing with walk-on's). If a private group agrees to no surrender or "optional" surrender, then do what we ask; we're paying you to play how we want to play. 7/10

Paint Quality: Absolutely horrible. Most of the people in my group and their friends who join us who have their own gear, the paint was either breaking in the hopper-to-feed neck or jamming their markers. The paintballs that came in the bags they sold was poor quality...my group of four bought three cases at the pro shop and I bought another half-case on-site (4-500 count balls per bag per case) and of the 14 bags, 13 had paint smeared all over the inside of said bags. There were a lot of paintballs that were already dimpled, as well. And as for the paintballs actually working (as in breaking when they contacted another person), forget about it. I let loose on an opponent from 40 yards and none of paint that hit him broke. When we complained about the quality, we were told it was due to the humidity. It wasn't humid out...it was warm (low-80's), but definitely NOT humid. I've played elsewhere in the 90's with higher humidity and had ZERO problems with their paintballs. A few friends also felt they deserved a free bag of crappy paintballs to off-set the numerous bags of crappy paintballs they bought but the staff wanted them to exchange any existing crappy bags for new bags (I assume to re-sell back to other not-as-discerning players). $300 pissed away on crappy paintballs. This by itself prevents me from playing at HiVi again. 1/10

Price: $25 registration ($10 per person for 20+ people, requires reservation); $15 all-day air; $20 to rent (includes marker, goggles, compressed air tank, and unlimited air fills); $10 camo jumpsuit; paint is $30 for 500, $55 for 1,000, and $90 for 2,000 on-site, but you can get it for $75 at their pro shop (it's actually $82 with the sales tax, their website advertises it as $75). I normally go through a case to a case-and-a-half, so for a single day, it cost me $162 (we had over 20 people); it cost my girlfriend and another friend, who both had to rent, $96 (they split the cost of an $82 case at the pro shop).

Paintball is an expensive enough sport as it is. $90/case (even $80/case) is just ridiculous. My girlfriend and another friend came along, and they both had to rent. The jumpsuits they rent out on-site were no longer available, they both had to buy a one-size-fits-all jumpsuit for $25 (rental was supposed to be $10). And they apparently ran out of harnesses + tubes combo's they rent out, and were charging $30 for a set of those. 4/10

Safety: Emphasized often. "Goggles on, barrel plugs in" is pretty standard nowadays. Also made sure people with their own gear were chrono'd properly and the markers were clearly marked with a yellow piece of cloth/string (but not enforced after the fact, you could just crank up your FPS afterwards anyway, which can be said about pretty much any place). 10/10

Services & Facilities: Small concession stand with over-priced food and drinks (to be expected). I brought my own lunch so didn't eat anything there so I cannot comment on the quality of their food. You can eat at tables alongside your lockers with slight cover. There are no changing rooms. There is no indoor plumbing (two port-a-potties). There were two sinks in the eating area but they were clogged up with paint and debris most of the time. 7/10

Staff/Refs: Staff was OK, and the refs tried. Oh they tried. Someone else said, though, what do you expect from minimum wage kids working a weekend job. They're not pro's. They're not even amateurs. There was bad communication (for instance, say give them a pair of walkie-talkies so the refs can coordinate start times). They didn't seem the know the differences between a paint splatter from a ricochet versus a full-on hit. Overall just seemed a bit on the disorganized side. 5/10

Total: 43/70 (61%)

To sum it all up: I'll never play at HiVi again. The general consensus among my group of regular players all agreed, and it all can be attributed to the paintball quality (75% of the complaints), the price (20% of the complaints, but this ties in quite a bit on the return on investment, we didn't get what we paid for), and the refs.
Last edited on Monday, September 27th, 2010 at 3:34 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bonesontherocks Monday, February 15th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 21st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i have played at the indoor high velocity and the outdoor cousins field.
Review: Well this field could be fun. The fields that they have in the facility are "ify"i mean you could have great maps that u play on but then you have really bad maps. For the last 3 times ive played at high velocity outdoor i noticed with the walkons is that the teams were uneven. They uneven because one team would have guns updated and players who are very experienced. Me well i have my own gun and have upgraded it and i do very well at high velocity. But my teamates mostly have rental equipment. So lets say its 22 vs 22 on the walk ons. One team ill have about 15 to 19 players with there own equipment and then the other team you will have 7 or 8 with there own equipment and when you have large maps in this outdoor facility and the paintballs are droping at a much shorter range ,between the teams with there own equipment verses the team with rental eqquipment it gets very uneven. The last time i played i played with the team with mostly rental equipment we only won one game the 4 hours we played. But another reason why we may have lost is because of the maps. Most of the maps have diadvantages of being on one side. For example being on one side of a certain map may be easier to play on then the other. For example the map world war two one side of the map where you begin in a large metal crate is the uneven side. I have played world war 2 at least over 15 or 20 times. out of the 20 i only won once which was at a birthday party and most of the paintball players i was versing had no idea of stratagey. So the maps are ............okay there are great maps like woods and castle then you have other not so great and uneven maps. Ok high velocity has also another very negative side to it and its the pricing. The pricing for high velocity to me is a costly. If i go with a group of friends i alone paying for addmission and ammo nothing else can lead up to a 80 dollar day for me and with my 1 or 2 friends that dont have equipment has to spend over 110 dollars. So i would love to play at high velocity ecery weekend but its just to expensive. Now with the referees they are generally good but not if ur picking out people at long distances. Wth the bigger maps the referees dont have a great eye for seeing paint on people. I cant really discuss the referees performance that well being that i dont look at them a lot i look at the players that im trying to shoot at. If you go to highvelocity for a birthday party its great cause there welcoming to you probably because your paying almost 1500$ for the party.Also one thing that angered me is that wehn my gun jammed really badly they asked me where i purchased my gun and i resonded by telling me i got it from cousins. I got it from cousins because the store is near me and the employees are great there and will walk you through any questions you have. But the employee at high velocity became snoody with me and kept going on about how cousins is a horrible shop and it just irritated me and smothered me in a way to pursuede me not to go to cousins because of their competition. But with all the negative things i said its a fun place to be at but everything above is true if they could work out the teams better and lower thee prices the experience would be more competitive in the matches and wont burn as much money out of your wallet.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

laxfreak25 Wednesday, December 30th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 30th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins-All wooded
New Breed
Review: Good fields

7 Fields

Staff- Staff is helpful and experianced

Fields- large and full of cover

Service- small snack shack and school bus air refill station no self- fill though

Pro shop- none at the field but one a couple of miles away

Price- Rental is $20 all day air is $15 paint is about $90 a case and thats with free admission

overall good field
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Walt_Bizzle Thursday, July 9th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 8th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
New Breed- that field had more shade and the price was much better. It was BYOP
Directions
to the Field:
Exit 64 off Lie
Review: I had a small problem with the website and store (5 minutes away) for this field. The hours on the website are not right. Call ahead if you can. They had to keep the store closed an extra 4 hours on the day i went. So instead of 12-close, it was 4-close. The store, however, is having a sale in the outdoor field paint, and sells it for $75. Yes, $75 is a bargain for this field. =0 I understand that sometimes, things happen. They had to call the store people and have them work the field. That's all good, but in that case, put a sign up or something. I waited 30 minutes for the store to open before just going to the field. They are having a special. FREE ADMISSION ON WEDNESDAY! Beyond the small issue above, my experience at the field was great.

Safety- The way it should be. They end every match saying "Game over, put your barrel plugs in and keep your masks down!" And they enforce this too! They gave a fully informed safety speech.

Field- A couple of different fields. I went the day after a major storm, so it was a little muddy, but other then that. Very well maintained.

Hours- 8:30 - 4:30 Sat, Sun, Wed.

Price- This is where it hurts. I went with free adm, and still dropped $105 with all my own gear.

Rules- What do you expect? This is pretty much the same everywhere. Here, at least they are enforced.

Services- Had a small snack stand, and a school bus air fill station. No self-fill.

Proshop- None on site, and I never got to see the one a mile away.

Staff/Refs- Almost all perfect. One staffer wasn't pleasant, but other then that, they are on top of their game.

Players- This is going to vary day to day. Not too bad. hit and miss really. Had a few bonus ballers. =[

Facilities- Port-a-potties.

I gave this field a 8. It has weekday hours, something that is hard to find. That alone will keep me coming back. The prices are really hard though.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

P90Fan Sunday, May 31st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 25th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
New Breed - BYOP (!), a few fields
Cousins (NJ) - Straightup Woodsball (Dark Ops 03/09)
Island Paintball - Indoor, 1 field, dimly lit, BYOP (white fill only)
Directions
to the Field:
check website
Review: Safety: 5/5 Strictly enforced. No dry firing in areas outside of fields, including parking lot and sitting tables. Refs ensure masks are on prior to entering the field, and ensure barrel sleeves are on markers prior to walking through the netting when exiting the field. Blind firing was not allowed and enforced during the games. "Surrender" and "Bunkering" rule were enforced. All the staff enforced the rules, from the refs to the guys running the field.

Fields: 4.5/5 Seven fields to play on. On the day I went, the refs rotated through the fields one at a time, so that I got to play on each field at least twice. I enjoyed all the fields, Old Western the most, The Woods the least. Each field had plenty of coverage, trenches, hills, old machinery, etc. And the Castle is just awesome to look at and play in. Only complaint is that sides were not switched for each field. Meaning, we would play one game, and then go to another field. It would be nice to switch starting sides, and try both sides of each field. Also, only one field was open at a time for walk-ons.

Games 4/5Downtime between each game was 15-20 minutes. I was able to play 2 games per hour; I prefer to play more than that. Refs differentiated the teams by distributing armbands, which is just plastic tape tied around your arm. Often times the number of players on one team outnumbered the other team. But I found out sheer numbers does not always a victory make.

Refs: 5/5 All the refs I encountered acted in a professional and mature manner. They enforced their rules. Called people out. Did paint checks. If someone broke the "surrender" rule, shooter was taken out of game. I saw at least 4 refs for each game.

Prices: 3/5 This is where it hurts. Entrance is $25, all day air $15, case of paint $90. So one day of play can cost $130. Paint is two-toned and not hard, but $90 is a lot. I attended before their special ended. Buy 2 cases get 1 free; and the day I went admission was free. Nice deal if you can catch it.

Food 4/5 Concession stand. I saw them selling cold drinks, hotdogs, pretzels, chips and ice cream. Not sure what else. Prices were above average as expected. But nice variety, and a cold drink is a plus on a hot sweltering day.

Shop 4/5 Small shop with basic needs on-site, selling swabs, sleeves, bandanas, neck protectors, small stuff. All priced slightly above average as expected. My friend's marker was not shooting, so they called their main store 2 miles away and asked for the part. Friend brought it to the store, bought the needed part, and they fixed it. Friendly and courteous.

Players On the day I went, it was about 85% rentals.

Rental equipement I can't say anything about rental equipment. I didn't rent. But it looks like they have a large stock of rental equipment.

Parking Lot Large paved parking lot

Facilities Several porta-potties. Two wash sinks. A counter for refilling paint, which was always staffed by at least one person. There are lots of white tables and benches to sit at. Each table has a black box to lock your equipment. Remember to bring a lock; or you can purchase one for $5 at the field.

Other remarks When you walk through the main entrance point, your pods, hoppers and bags will be checked for paint. This is a field paint only place. Once, after a game, refs checked the players' loaders as they were exiting the field for non field paint. Field limit is 300 fps.

Final impression I will definitely make a trip back to High Velocity and highly recommend the place. The fields are great to play and the staff is respectable. Safety is a high priority. The only major turnoff is the price of paint.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

fineous Friday, March 27th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 7th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins
Review: I usually go to Cousins but I have gone to HV a couple of times in the last few months mainly because they offered free admission and a slight discount on paint.

The fields are nice. There are seven of them each which a different theme (woods, army, castle, etc).

The only field I don't go on is Castle as they play regeneration and so I find it to be a waste of paint more than anything. I tried it once or twice and that was more than enough for me.

When they take you to a field you only play on it once before returning to the staging area. I would prefer playing on a field a second time after switching sides before going back. As is, it took a couple of visits before I actually got to play on all fields from both sides.

They don't count gun hits which is in my opinion is a good thing.

The parking lot is not too big put paved which is a plus.

The staging area facilities are good. Plenty of tables and lockers (just remember to bring a lock - I am sure they either rent or sell locks but why pay if you have one already). They have a couple of tables will running water. A respectable stand for food (though I never eat when I play). One stand for equipment and another for air fills.

The refs are hit or miss. I guess it all depends on who's working. There were days when the downtime between games was only 10 or 15 minutes and others when it was as long as 30 or so minutes.

They do check your paint when you go through the gate but as I leave my bag in the car it's only a minor annoyance as they just give my pods a quick check.

The paint they sell is of questionable quality. I've bought a few a cases and with every one I've seen dimples and flat spots. As I did buy all of the cases with a few months of each other perhaps they were all part of the same batch.

The field is pricey. There is no denying it. I don't rent so it is 25 for admission which is ok. You have no choice in paying 15 for all day air which for me it a waste as I can usually go a whole day on one tank (~1200 shots). And the paint is expensive. 100 a case. That's almost twice what I pay for paint elsewhere.

They have some nice fields to play on and I personally would become more of a 'regular' if not for the total cost. Because of that I will more than likely only go when they run some sort of special.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mohamtagcad Monday, February 9th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 8th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cousins fields, paintball arenas great fields and indoors
worst is high velocity
Directions
to the Field:
navigation
Review: here's what i've experience....
safety is fair.... most referees and paintballers are thinking of your safety.
fields are good and some places are stinks.
Hours.....wow, you have to wait 15 to 30 minutes each games.
Referee's are strict with rule, checking paintballs, marker plugs....etc.
Parking are small, probably they are expecting few players always.
Facilities and food are good.
Prices....F***** this is the worst paintball field that i played because of the price.
i would recommend it to any people who is really a rich person or who got a lot of assets,
I WOULD NOT recommend this to any parents because you are just going to waste your money .
Parents: if you have two children and planning to go at high velocity, think twice or alot!!! you might thinking buying your children a new PS3 80gb rather than going to high velocity.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media