paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Destination Earth Paintball Field / Destination Earth Paintball Field / Destination Earth Paintball Field / Destination Earth Paintball Field

Destination Earth Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
9Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 1-888-FERNWOOD
Address: Fernwood Resort, Route 209
Bushkill, Pennsylvania 18324
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Masterminds Wednesday, January 5th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Stonemak(incredible), jack frost, skirmish, rexplex
Review: Destination earth is too much for too little. You play on a field bunkered by post office pallets a.k.a the speedball field. To note it tells you something that when playing with skill and running to a bunker and sliding in and the bunker falls down, is'nt too fun and cannot be taken serious. The wooded field is one big wooded opening bunkered again by post office pallets and fallen down trees. I have played at this field for alittle over 3 years and i have come to notice things about the regulars who would turn any paintball enthusiast away. The regulars are intimidated by anygun rather then the tippman model 98. If you have an angel, autococker, intimidator then dont plan on playing that day. Field prices are out the roof with $80 case of white box paint that is stored outside improperly in a mobile shop. (ha) entry is $15 and there are never any people there to play other then the regulars who like said, will not play if you bought your gun from a real shop and are over 12 years of age. Business made here, i have no idea due to the lack of fun you can really have at this place and i suggest to anyone in the area to hit up stonemak indoor paintball in berwick pa, whish is DEFINATELY worth the drive. www.stonemakpaintball.com or skirmish paintball in jim thorpe(pricey as well due to a mainstream atmosphere). Overall i give destination eath a 1 out of a 10. Happy paintballing. Mary "ray romano", henry "mustache", liam "pump master", and unknown player the phantom
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

Rfeely Tuesday, December 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish
Paintball Depot
Review: Destination Earth

Visited on 12-19-2004

Played at this field for the first time on Sunday. They have been doing a lot of updating to the fields lately. Including an overhang in the staging area new netting.

At this time they have 3 fields but they are working on a 4th.

Speed-ball Field - Nice field would be a little small for 10 people but hey that's the whole
idea of speed ball isn't it.

Woods field - Nice large field with a small fort in the middle (they are thinking about
adding a second. Real nice field for larger groups. A lot of places for
cover. Nice large trees and bunkers some a little smaller than you
realize when you get behind them. The fort is nice and has some spaces
that you can get hit in from far away so it gives everybody a fair shot.
Just a good all around field.

Capture the hill - I didn't get to play on this on but we did get a pretty good look at it.
another nice large field. Again I didn't play it so I can't make to many
Judgments.

Woods/capture the flag - This is the one that they are going to be building. After talking
with them for a little while they are planning on using the
larger drainage pipes and things along those lines. It should
be a very nice addition for them and a blessing for the future.

All in all we had a very good time at this field. Mario is great and very helpful. My son was having trouble with his marker due to the cold weather and he helped him out letting him barrow a rental. Rentals are Tippman 98 customs which seemed to be very accurate at the time. ( just ask my son, and my legs )

Paint is $80 a case of 2000 or $20 a bag of 500
Not sure what the entry fee was but it's anything compared to some of the other fields.

One thing I would like to see is them start expanding into maybe some tournaments so I don't have to travel an hour for the closest field.

Also at this time you need to call and make a reservation but you only need to call about 1 hour in advance or so. A major plus is that they will open the field even if you only bring 2 people!! Which is great for teams just wanting to get some practice in or work on teamwork in general.

Again Mario was great. He has a lot of ideas for the fields. It was my sons first time playing on an actual field and he gave him a lot of pointers/suggestions. Mario was very patient with him being new even paused the game when he ate a paintball. ( yes it was me but he will breathing through his mouth from now on)

So in ending I would recommend this field to anybody. It is great for everybody from veteran players to newbies. Great for teams to get some work in or new teams to practice. Field is very easy to get to right in the middle of the Poconos and just into Pennsylvania over the New Jersey border.

I give it an 8 out of 10 but will be going up with the future field.

Any questions feel free to contact me.

At this time I am not associated with this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Crossfire426 Wednesday, October 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: I liked this field very much. There were alot of nice people there and i visit the place everytime i visit Fernwood. It is one of the cheapest places ive ever been to. I ussually come with friends so everytime i visit i bring around 6-10 people. The place gets filled up easily but there are never any lines. If you want to play you can, anytime.

This field is getting bigger everytime. Last time i visited there were 2-3 fields and some were being repaired and/or made. Although it maynot be a 5 star paintball place it will surely be one some day. Assistance is great, people are nice, place is cheap, people come and go sometimes, gives good challenge, always be remade, etc. I can go on and on. If you are a first time pballer this is really a great place to start. You can have your own gun or you can rent. Either way this place is very cheap.

People do complain about the dirt road leading up to the place but i really dont mind.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballer50 Thursday, July 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Triage
Review: This field is in the depths of Fernwood Resort up a dirt road. My mom's van almost didn't make it up the hill. I play a lot with my friends and i thought we were bad but the people here were HORRIBLE! The guy at the pro shop (if you want to call it that) is really nice. Normally you would have to pay for camo but he gave it to me for free! Game experience was ok considering there are only 2 fields. One is a speed ball field and the other has a fort and logs stacked up to make walls. I played for three hours on 200 rounds! you can hit people from one side of the field to the other. The age to play is 5 and up which is ridiculous. I would not let my 5 year old sister play. The only thing they could do is pave the rode and hope for more people! Maybe some more fields if they have the time but i'm not complaining! If your in the area check it out but don't expect a lot of action.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

paintballshot Saturday, May 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
skirmish, cobra command,ocean city paintball
Review: This is the first field i played at after I bought my gun. the people there are very nice and always look out for the kids. mario and the locals are changing the fields every once in a while so you are not always playin the same old thing. the place is cheap and a good way to spend a saturday or sunday. all the locals are very nice and are always giving pointers. i played there once with my friends and mario would always stand next to my friends sister and move the bunker so she wouldn't get shot. i shot her once so he took her gun and came around my bunker and shot me. this is a good place to learn or to practice. it has a good atmosphere and you can play alot in a day. so head down to destination earth for a day and have alittle fun.
Last edited on Monday, August 2nd, 2004 at 8:20 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

markedmany Wednesday, March 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, EMR, Paintball Depot, lot of outlaw ball
Review: Been playing for a while and this is a great, inexpensive field to play at. You get a lot of individual help. Regulars give pointers and act as the ref's. No it isn't the biggest field, but if you have two players and want to play they will open for you. The younger players are watched after very well. Either a ref or experienced player stays close. Regular will even act as targets for the young ones. Watched a regular run around like a moving target ones for a young player just so he could shot at him. The smile on that kids face after was great. Great for the first time player, or the experienced player who plays for the fun of it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball dad1 Wednesday, March 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
E.M.R. Skirmish Jack Frrost
Review: Destination Earth is a nice family orientated field. I have played there about 7 times with my 5 year old son. Yes a 5 year old. He loves the sport and this facility caters to the younger children when they are present. As for it being ridiculous for a young child to play is an uniformed statement. The refs are excellent in insuring the safety of the guests young and old. I would love to see the last reviewer to tell my son he is too young to play. I would get the best laugh when a 5 year old Marks him. Every time I have played there the Refs and regulars have been friendly and professional in handling the onslaught of players this field receives.
As for a pro shop Mario the owner has been servicing my and my son's markers on the field or at his off site shop.
Destination Earth Paintball is not a huge place with 25+fields. It has a large wooded field would could easily handle 40+ players (I speak with experience on that) And a smaller speed-ball field which can accommodate 14 players (7 on7 speed-ball games) I go there because its is smaller. You get more of a family feel and special attention there that doesn't come with the larger fields.
I would recommend this field for the newer players/young players and the advanced players to play against the regulars.(those guys are good)
Also one of the inexpensive fields I have ever been to $25.00 for the day what could be better?
I just got a nitro tank and have found Destination Earth has 10 scuba tanks set up and have been very happy with the 3000psi fills Ive been getting.
Give Mario a call and try his fields Im sure you will have a great time.
Last edited on Wednesday, March 17th, 2004 at 12:06 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

incynr8 Thursday, March 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I'm in the process of playing every single fields in a 3 hour radious from the Lehigh Valley, PA. My primary concerns are how a facility is run, the services offer, safety, and use of space vs. size. I am always seeking unmolested woodsball, as well as airball you get to actually use.
Review: Destination Earth is the smallest outdoor I know of. It is not cheaper than your favorite BYOP field, but is so small you can easily have a sub 500 round day.
The regulars are a good bunch of players that posess integrity.
The field exists off of these few and the tourists stationed at Fernwood that pay to bascially play a few rounds. If a large group ove say 20-25 people show, the field is overcrowded instantly.
Safety is farily good, since regulars volunteer to keep it going well. The rentals need better chronoing, as almost all fields I encounter. I have no idea why the common beleif a tippman maintains correct velocity overnight even, but that's another diversion. I have found only 4 feilds so far that mark the player or marker, and chrno the rentals the same as the personal markers.
there is no pro-shop, there are no parts. HPA fills are simply a single scube rig, so bring that 88, and be happy with 2250psi. Co2 fills are available.

The speedball fields was developing when I discontinued visiting here (which I did about 6 times), and show some promise as a practice field. It is made of big-pack plastic pallet bottoms. It was almost even my last visit, maintained by the great group of regulars.

Except for the possibilty of tourists with attitudes, this place has nice people.

The field itself is limited from growing and will need to rely on structure building to faciliate more players on the field simulatneously.

Overall, this is a small field with a unique buiness environment, since it relys on toursit groups and a small core group for survival. It is a tight, friendly place, that I would have no problem going back to anytime. It is simply limited in facilites, which could slightly change over time to be a nice little hot spot. Better HPA fills, a small trailer for a rental/pro shop, improved field structures, perhaps hyperpipe or air ball, a portapotty, and some more parking could allow this place to accomodate more players and grow some.

The age limit is ridiculous, however, 5! You should not play paintball if you are under 12, at least be accompanied by an adult responsible for you. I had to sneak on fields when I was 13-14, as back in 87-88 the limit was 16-18+, 5 is just absurd.

I'm giving this feild a six, it highly suffers due to circumstances, but the people and effort alone make the other important 50%.

The place needs cheaper case prices for the regulars, and maybe a somewhat cheap season's pass for some extra profit.

The toursits often just shot 100 balls and left for 25.00$ or so. they need to be encouraged to try more gaming.

If you are close, or like to travel around like myself, stop and visit here for a short, inexpensive day, and hope the regular guys are there to hang with.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

commando1 Saturday, January 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, Jack frost, EMR
Review: I would definatly reccomend this field to anyone, both new players and experienced ones alike will enjoy it. The owner is a very nice guy, and so is everyone else there including the regulars.
Admission is $25 which includes EVERYTHING (100rnds, marker, hopper, free CO2 fills, Camo, mask, chrono...) you need to play ,and admission is less if you use your own equipment. THIS IS THE LEAST EXPENSIVE FIELD TO PLAY AT!!!! There is a big woods field and there is a speed ball field. Both of which are fun and challenging.

The phone of the shop is 1(570)588-7930

You should call and make reservations if you would like to come. The field is only open/opened when there are 2 or more players there/ or coming.

The field is worth the drive!
If you decide to come tell Mario, Roger sent you.

*OPEN YEAR ROUND*
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media