paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hogback Mountain Paintball Field / Hogback Mountain Paintball Field / Hogback Mountain Paintball Field / Hogback Mountain Paintball Field

Hogback Mountain Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
94Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (703) 777 0057
Address: 20261 Hogback Mountain Rd.
Leesburg, Virginia 20175
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
brunjest Saturday, June 11th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: May 29th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: Hogback is great field. We have been going for about 4 years now. The refs are outstanding, they have lots of different fields. We have never tried Pevs, mainly because we have young kids, and Pevs doesn't have a 20 ft rule, and because we started at Hogback and have had a great, safe time, everytime.

Been to multiple big games, best was Santa and the Grinch.

Recently did a walkon in may and our kids had a great time.

Great woods fields, great refs, and competitive prices.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SnowBunny Tuesday, April 5th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 26th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs
Review: For my sixteenth birthday I went with a bunch of my friends to paintball. My parents were paying for everyones rentals so I could only bring so many people meaning our teams were four against four causing them to take forever and the number of outs significantly lower.

My friend suggested Hogback because he hated Pevs. I, personally, avoid Pevs as well due to the fact that I like woods ball more than speed. We got there a little late even though John told us we had to be there at one. He didn't seem to mind though and went through the briefing very quickly. I've heard a lot about the briefing slow and obnoxious, but ours took less then five minutes.

Once my friends got all their gear we waited for our ref and headed straight up to the fields. I have one thing to say about getting up there: Dear Lord, what a hike. I'm in shape and everything, but I'm also a severe asthmatic. I sounded like Darth Vadar on crack. It was ridiculous! When we got up into the actually playing area and dead zone, my asthma was perfectly fine due to the elevation. I was able to run around like crazy when usually running makes me pass out.

Our ref was really cool. With eight obnoxious teenagers you kind of have to be. He set up a tab for us when my friend broke all her balls and let us play were we wanted despite the fact that a lot of the people playing had never done it before. He was patient and helpful and when I go back, I'll be sure to say hi.

Our first game on Castle took forever. We had no outs and despite the flag being captured, it was never brought to the opposing team's side. Our ref then told us we would be playing on the inside walls just because we were a small team which made it a lot better.

Anywho. Moving on. The fields were great. I especially loved Jungle, Valley and Castle. Despite the hike from each field, it was fun and worth the wait.

One problem I did have, was other players. When someone rights a list of names and team on boxes just to say: Hey, this box is mine! No touchy! Don't touch it! Someone stole my friend's broken bag, someone else stole over half our box and someone nearly took my rescue inhaler! If I hadn't caught them in the act it would've been gone! This was with our things being hidden in a little corner too. You'd expect people to be courteous and not touch your things, or at least for the refs to stop them but they didn't! There weren't many refs though where we were playing so I understand that it was difficult to stop people from taking other peoples things.

The safety rule was heavily enforced. They saw you without a mask: You got yelled at and got an X on your wrist band. Barrel cover off, same thing. Closer than 20 ft, same thing. They weren't as strict on profanity as we expected they would be, but if you started swearing like a truck driver, they would mark your band and eventually send you home.

Prices were much better than Pevs, but they don't have a pro shop. Gun breaks? Oh well. Try and fix it or go rent a gun. The players were pretty cool too. They were fair and willing to help if you had a question.

Honestly, I'll be heading back to Hogback before I go to Pevs. :)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

noonehere707 Wednesday, February 16th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 12th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Me and my friends went here to try a different field. we were excited because of the reviews we heard about it. however, when we got there it was just awful. the first match we played was a regular elimination on a valley. both sides were still covered in snow and the only way to get from one side to the other is to cross one bridge right in the middle which is a death sentence. i talked to one of the refs and he said that they usually never play this field. we ended up running out of time for the next four rounds on the same area. then none of the refs have their info together, i went back to get gear from the car and one ref told me they were moving the group to another field however the ref for the game decided to wait another 30 mins before moving on. then we spent 10 mins in between rounds just sitting waiting to start we wasted half the day waiting for rounds to start. we almost left because of how slow everything was going. me and my friends spent $80 for the day and we almost left within 2 hours because we only got to play 4 rounds. but it picked up so we stayed...reluctantly
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Silent Night Saturday, December 4th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 7th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs Paintball about 15 minutes away
Review: Refs are very helpful quite a few of them are avid paintballers themselves, safety is the strictest I have ever seen but it makes you feel like you are taken care of. They read everyone the list of rules before you go up to the fields and their is a 3 strike system (3 and your off the property in 10 minutes or less). The refs are also part of the staff when your in down time in the dead zones or at the bottom of the mountain they [the staff] are helping out everywhere including providing food hot of the grill or drinks.

Injuries are common on big game day events, and the field is very responsive to them, if it is severe they even stop game play, the first aid is exceptional. If you are injured and can't get up refs will help you if the active field and their ATV will pick you up if it is severe enough.

The on-site shop is equipped with all the things that you would forget to bring like squeegees, anti-fog, batteries. They also have equipment for rent like hoppers, guns, tanks. They sell C- quality paint for $45 but and extra $10 will get you some B+ quality paint, they sell CO2 and Compressed air, no nitrogen. Cost can vary depending on when you go to what you are using (gun/paint/propellant/food/etc.) from $50 to over $100. My average is $80 a day.

Players range in age from 10 which is their minimum (9 years old will lie in order to play so don't be surprised if you see some their with their dad's, the oldest are probably mid-50s. They are generally nice people with the occasion bad butt (site forbids foul language). Experience will range from noobs to multi-year veterans.

Fields are only woodsball so they have no level of quality other than they have good natural and man-made cover in the fields. It is 70+ acres so you are not on a small field but it isn't to big to the point that you are walking 20 minutes to the dead zone and back to the battle. But these are big hills and long distance so don't be surprise that you are out of breath even if you are physically fit. But you will lose a couple lbs of fat in a day's game.

Depending on when you go their are numbers ranging from 20-40 people on normal weekends, well over 100 on hopper day's and easily over 200 on big game days.
Last edited on Saturday, December 4th, 2010 at 1:59 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

IMHit Saturday, June 12th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 6th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This was my first time playing on the east coast.
Directions
to the Field:
you'll go up a gravel road for about 1/4 mile, then a paved road the rest of the way.
Review: I attended their annual Normandy Landing big game and it was fantastic. There were 200+ ppl who played and enough refs to keep it safe. The refs are really good about safety such as keeping your barrel sock on in the safe zone, making sure your mask is on while out in the field, quick with filling up CO2 or air, etc. If you asked them to check somebody for a hit, they will do it no problem.

Prices were cheap. I have my own gun so it was $10 for the ticket +$45/case + $8 for all day air. I ended up buying another 500 rnds for $15 so $78 in total lasted me 6 hours of play and that's a really good deal.

I sit at a desk all day when I'm at work and the walk up the path was no big deal. If the "hike" bothers you, it means you need to get in better shape.

As for getting in shape, I would recommend the spartacus workout. check it out on youtube because it will help your game!



Last edited on Saturday, June 12th, 2010 at 1:39 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

fla3fi Friday, June 4th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 24th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Powerline Paintball
PAP Taneytown
Directions
to the Field:
Take 15 Turn on a gravel road and follow signs
Review: If you go to hogback Be Prepared to walk. You have to walk up a mountain with you gear. Your exhausted before you play the first game on a hot day.
Be Prepared to see lots of little kids.
Be Prepared to see 50 on 50 games of capture the flag (this turns into Elimination
Be Prepared to see Scared players that will camp in the back of the field sitting back roasting marshmallows haha
Overall This was the first field I went to in the area and I'll probably never go back even with free entry For me there are better and closer fields.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

dpownerforlife Sunday, November 8th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 7th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None. I played in Illinois up til now.
Review: This field is absolutly great. Staff is professional. Refs are great. The fields are set up really nicely, are clean, and they have fill stations/dead zones along the way to get air, paint, and water.

Expect to walk a little to get to the fields.


Unfortunately we had a young lady pass away there. Just as the field was closing down she stood up and passed out. We tried cpr but it wasn't working. It took the ambulance about 10 minutes to get there and the EMT's did their best. I believe it was either an anourism or a heart attack, although she didn't play. She was there for her son's 16th birthday. The staff responded quickly and pretty well so they weren't to blame, they had cpr equipment on hand.
Last edited on Sunday, November 8th, 2009 at 5:21 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

militar3rd Sunday, September 6th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 10th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
- Pev's Paintball (Just Down The Same Road)
Focuses so much in speedball type of scenario fields
- OA Adventure
Similar to Hogback

Directions
to the Field:
You would probably pass the road leading towards the place because it doesn't have any signs in the highway. But if you look closely and look for Hogback Road and turn in there, you would be just fine.
Review: Safety: The refs are very pushy on being safe outside the safe zone and that's the way it should be handled. Period.

Fields: A Lot! I think I there's around 20 fields (exaggerating) around the course. I know there couldn't be 20 fields, but it seems like it had 20 fields because the area is ginormous. They have a huge Castle Field (My Favorite). 2 small speedball fields. A Valley. A Tower and a couple more.

Hours of Operation: Normal - 10-5 I think.

Prices: Real Cheap, If you have your own gun. I ended up paying $23 because the Entrance Fee is $15 and the All-Day Air ($8) is seperate the Entrance Fee. However, if you are renting it could get a little pricey. Their rate is around $50, plus if you want a pod holder ($8), plus plus plus.

Rules: Regular If-you-get-hit-ask-for-a-paint-check recball rule.

Staff: Amazing Staff. Bunch of Hard Working kids. One asian girl was cute though :)

Refs: Probably the most hardworking bunch of referees in the whole area. Talk about running everywhere, these guys would run everywhere looking for paintchecks. If you ask for paintcheck in your gear or others, they wouldn't hesitate.

Players: A whole bunch of groups were there when I came in. However, the walk-ons are very good. It could get exciting sometime because some of the best scenario teams around the area would practice here. All in all, novices would also enjoy the experience - my brother did.

Facilities: Not Much. No Bathrooms, Just Porta-Johnies (Portable Bathrooms). Small Shack for the employees. Small area for the chronos. Couple of large tables can accomomdate probably up to 100 peeps during lunch.

Food: the Blue-Plate Special is $5 which you can get 2 Hotdogs, Small Bag of chips and a soda.

Do I recommend it to anyone? Hell Yeah! This place is one of those places that you make something out of somebody's home because of the passion of doing it. This place ended up being a nice bonafide woodsball place. If you are one of those rich kids that would pay $2000 for an Ego, HPA and Dye Rotor, then this place might not be for you but you might enjoy it like most of us did.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

bmcconnell Friday, March 20th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 15th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: My son and I were on a trip to Washington to see the sites and decided to take a day out to play some paintball. Hogback is an easy 45 minute drive from down town D.C. We both thought that Hogback was a great place to play. They have a variety of fields from hilly woods terrain to a big field with a huge castle like structure. The refs were really on us about masks and barrel blockers but that's the way they should be. On the field they were right on top of the game and really helped everyone have a fun day. After each game you would often find them coaching some of the younger kids or helping folks fix their guns. They were a real professional bunch. Over lunch we locked our keys in our car and the folks at the main shop called around to get a tow truck while we continued to play. Overall the fields were great, the refs were great, and the overall service was outstanding.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xTUPACx Monday, August 18th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pev's
Directions
to the Field:
15S from Leesburg. Take a right onto Hogback Mountain Rd. Follow the signs. You're going to go through some horse pastures and pass some houses. Once you turn back onto the dirt road, you're very close. Then you will see it on you're left.
Review: This is the single best paintball field i have ever played at! The guys at the front desk are friendly, the refs enforce all rules, prices are cheaper than Pev's, and the courses are amazingly fun. My friends and i have been 3 times so far and enjoyed playing there every time. $15 dollars if u have your own gun and equipment, $45 for a rental gun, 500 paintballs, a mask, and all-day air. They also allow you to rent a field for a private group. They are open from 10 am-5 pm on Saturdays and Sundays all year long. They are also open 10 am-5 pm on Wednesdays during the Summer. I give it a 10, for greatest all-around everything. Keep up the great work fellas!!!

Last edited on Monday, August 18th, 2008 at 1:08 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media