paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Smoky Mountain Paintball Field / Smoky Mountain Paintball Field / Smoky Mountain Paintball Field / Smoky Mountain Paintball Field

Smoky Mountain Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
19Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 865-577-7074
Address: 12240 Chapman Hwy (Hwy441)
Seymour, Tennessee 37865
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
themarmoset Thursday, January 14th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 9th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: The day we played there, a big game we were going to at another field had been cancelled. When we called SMP, they said they didn't have anyone playing and were thinking about closing early. They CALLED US 30 minutes later, and said that another group that had come down from KY for the same game was looking for somewhere to play also, and that if we wanted to come on out they'd stay open for us. They're FPO, but they agreed to allow us all to BYOP since we all had purchased it for the game that was cancelled, and made a reasonable exception for us to pay $5 extra for our own paint. They let us play all day, and facilitated any types of games we wanted to play, kept our air filled, and even loaned my buddy a spare part when he broke his feed neck. That's what I call good business and looking our for their customers. They were really good on safety...chrono, masks on, barrel socks/plugs, reffing, etc. We will definitely be playing there again. If you're gonna be in E TN, i recommend you give them a visit. The field is exceptionally built, almose seamlessly morphing from speedball to woodsball and making any type of scenario or game possible, a very versatile field with plenty of variety of cover and tactical options. The only reason they get less than 10 is not really their fault, there had been a pretty good snow storm come through our area just days before, and it had messed up their netting, so we couldn't use the speedball portion of the field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

powersclan97 Tuesday, January 13th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 4th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Players club and Sir gooney's aka GhettoBall
Directions
to the Field:
Just north of Seymour on the right about 5 or 6 miles.
Review: Sundays $5.00 fee

tactical and woodsball field. Unsure about there gun safety since there chrono is broke.
Credit card machine is down quite often.Recommend bring cash.
Refs are good guys. Went just after raining once again. Talk about some serious mud,
Have played at sir goony's after rain. No comparrison there. The field paint is white breaking paint. Better off BYOP and pay fee to use your own. I recommend this field over Playersclub and sir goony's as far as fields go. Quite a few peaple played more woods ball then tactical. No upset here.I prefer woods my self. For some reason, No field weighs there bottles. If possible Knoxville Paintball Sports is the only place that actually weighs. For safety fill before going. 7 score is for no Chrono and no weighing of bottles. Will defentally play on this field agian. Happy Paintballing. :)
Last edited on Tuesday, January 13th, 2009 at 12:17 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

taylin Saturday, May 17th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i've played many field's and this is by far the best field i've ever been to.
Directions
to the Field:
go to this web site http://smokymountainpaintball.com/
Review: i've never been to such a great field and the people were very nice and they saved my life my tank on my gun was outdated and it could have blown my head off so they fixed it for free but there all around great people and the field was great the grass was green the bunkers where in great spots so please if your ever in tennessee visit smokey Mountain paintball.
Last edited on Sunday, May 18th, 2008 at 11:52 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

goins Tuesday, April 1st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 29th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
private woods
Directions
to the Field:
follow the map
Review: 3,$113.82,Well? These 3 statements sum up my visit to Smokey Mountain Paintball. I found it easily{Its on the side of the road}.I then had to leave to go to a ATM machine as SMPBs credit card machine was not working.Staff was helpful w/ this although I felt like they were expecting me to pull the cash from my pocket.After visiting 2 stores I was back w/ cash in hand.15$ each field fees,10$ each all day air ,tax, and box of paint.Yes this is a trailer/office ,The toilet is a porta potty outside,no selection of paint avail,And in my or most anyones opinion the place was very dirty/unkept. Parts/accesories were haphazardly thrown about or stapled here or there on various parts of the wall.Outside in the staging area was also sub par.it had rained the day before.the is no covered area to sit/work w/ gear. Now let the games begin>first I most thank "blackbeard" for placing teflon tape on a gun and his using wrenches to tighten a part.Next to the course. 8 guys there wanted to play woodsball.Are there 2 wball courses?I only saw 1.And is really a wball course?There is a place on the left and a place on the right, you face the other side ,,count down 3...2...1 go. There are a few trees to the left and scant small ones to the right .the is a small "fort" in the middle...a few small bridges over creeks.But since paintballls can reach each others starting place and the majority of the "cover" is the same hard plastic 3 foot by 3foot squares that are used in the speedball area. I would have to describe this also as a speedball area. Here we go game 1..I walk to the left Staging area{actually a 10 foot square roped off w/ caution tape} Game 1.My gun not shooting{my used once unmodified /just purchased. Tippmann 98 Custom is makining the ppppppppppfffffttttttttt sound.Yes its full of air.Game 1 over ..return to shop. staff asked to look at gun,the "Not Blackbeard employee" said initially it needed oil,next velocity screw in too far,next too much oil,next too much oil ruined a o ring,"we will take it apart and fix it its very simple" I believed and thanked them I was also given a rental gun to use.Now game 2 I again trekked up the mud ,took my position again on the left side..3 2...1...Their Gun doesnt work..again back to the shop 2nd game over. By now the Tippman experts and a "regular customer" have done God knows what to my gun...bring it to me "Its all fixed" No IT wasnt Fixed..... Same problem as before..I loaded my half a hopper{I only had a half a hopper as the staff had spent the other half playing with my and ther guns} back into there gun and was assigned to the right hill,.. Game 3 here we go ! 3 2 1 go. I was hit in three steps/seconds. No place to hide and I am not running in the wet mud Game 3 over ..Gun in air people still shooting at me{ref not doing his job}I again treked to the wet tables and wait,. My partner played these 3 games lasting 10 or minutes and played 1 more that I sat out.It started to rain I approached the staff about playing?not playing 3 games and his quote to me was "WELL" I know some might say They tried to fix your gun . I say tried and failed with no explanation.If I were a Doctor and stopped for a wreck and didnt render care then I failed.This Gun Of Mine is the same gun they rent.What part do I need? They dont know!!! Did there less than steller performance further damage my gun? Were screws stripped? Were the cases damaged???Were internal parts lost/damaged or incorrectly reinstalled??? When my gun is seen by a competant mechanic then I Will Know..!!! Others might say they loaned you a gun. Yes they did a broken one at first and then another that I shot 3 times.Also let it be known that after there failure to fix my gun the and there failure to provide any explanation. The staff just went off/locked the door and played paintball. Also note that during the rules explaination the ref is smoking,,I know it doesnt bother some folks But it greatly bothers me and my asthmatic partner.. Well there you have it...3 paintballs shot .....113.82$ spent. "WELL" ....Its raining Im leaving Im very unhappy!!! I my partner and the other 16 guys that I know Will Never Visit this place again!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bluestang65 Sunday, January 20th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 19th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Charleston in Charleston, SC(will always love that field)
Review: First time I got the play in over a year or so. Got to the field right as it opened, but unfortunately there wasn't any one else there. Probably normal for 11 am in the middle of January on a 34 degree day.

Field: Has two woodsball and one speedball course. It had recently rained and the field had not dried yet, so slop and slide were abundant. Nothing you could do but play through. The speedball used solid bunkers instead of inflatable ones which I prefer. The woodsball course was nice, but it is built into the side of a mountain. Set provides interesting tactics, unless it is muddy like it was, then attempting to scale the mountain proves both futile and somewhat interesting(I spend 20 minutes on my butt trying to get traction just to be able to stand up).

Shop: Shop is a lot smaller than some that I have been to. John the owner is working on building a bigger one. Rentals are a mix of 98C and Pro-Carbines. It is a field paint only field unless you want to pay $10 to bring your own. The field paint is Proball which I must say doesn't play well in cold weather(got shot almost point blank and no break) All day air was $10 and the field fee was $15 so about what I have seen at other fields.

Staff: This was a first for me. There was a large church group there when we went, and when they were playing speedball, a couple of the participants went out without filling up on CO2. When their guns starting phmpmphmphmphmphm'ing they ran fresh CO2 to the player so they could keep playing. Very impressive. The refs are good guys and most of the players are a mix of talent.

Overall: Having played only at Paintball Charleston, any other field is going to pale by comparrison, but I must say that Smokey Mountain paintball is a solid playing field. The setup offers a range of challenges(even more when muddy) but all in all worth the drive.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dkeeler Sunday, December 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: December 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat 1: nicer, larger, and more fields; however more expensive.
Riptide: indoor, can't really compare.
My buddy's woods: always my favorite cuz its FREE!!!
Directions
to the Field:
Its on Chapman HWY just outside Sevierville around the Seymour - ish area. Really easy to find, if you miss it or have trouble finding it, then you probably suck at life.
Review: I've only played there a few times, but I really enjoy playing on this field. There is always a BIG game on the first saturday of every month, and sometimes you can go up on any other weekend and have a pretty large game. The big 50 man games usually have prizes and stuff to win. I just got done playing in the 50 man santa hat game, and I won JT jersey. John, the owner, is a really great guy, he gave me a free field pass to come back the first time I went because nobody showed up to play on that particular day. He gave me the pass and said to comeback the following weekend because he knew of a large group that was expected to show up and play. The fields are nice and well maintained complete with bridges, creeks, and all kinds of bunkers and fort structures to hide in. The speedball field is nice too. And, I HATE FIELDS THAT MAKE YOU USE THEIR PAINT!!!! Unfornately that is standard nowadays; however, Smoky Mountain will let you use your own paint (out of your own gun of course, not a rental) if you pay a 10$ fee. I'm very very very picky about what paint I use, so this helps me out alot (please keep offering this option John!!!) I think other field owners should adopt this policy, or offer paint at cheaper prices. For example, another local field sells Draxxus Rec-Sport for 45$ a case and I can buy that same case on AVI for $32, its retarded. I'd rather pay more expensive field fees and use my own paint.

Conclusion: Smoky Mountain Paintball is a great place to play. There are players of all skill levels present. The fields are nice and well maintained and the owner and field operators are nice people who love the sport. My buddies and myself will continue to play there, especially during the 50 man + games. If a 5/10 is average and 10/10 is perfect, I give this field a solid 8/10!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mr_angel_speed Tuesday, November 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
KPS
Dream Tactics (closed)
Directions
to the Field:
From I-75 Take I-275 to US-441/Downtown Knoxville (also Henley st.) Stay on 441 for 20 miles and the field is on your right

From I-40 going East you can take US-441/Downtown Knoxville then follow the directions above.

From I-40 West Take exit 407 Sevierville you will be on rt 66 follow that until you come to 441 in downtown Sevierville then go right 4 miles and you will see the store and field on the left.

From Gatlinburg or Pigeon forge: Follow 441 back into down town Sevierville, Go Left on 441-N for 4 miles towards Knoxville and the store and field is on the left

Smoky Mountain Paintball
1999 Chapman Hwy 441/411
Sevierville TN, 37876
Review: I've been playing at Smoky Mountain Paintball for about two years now. I've played there many more times than the guy that posted below me, so, my many accounts of playing will be more the norm than his one bad one.

It's true their pro shop is a trailer. It's one that was biult for a business to be run out of though, and not one that's to be lived in. You now, the kind that has one big room and a bathroom, not a living room, kitchen, and bedrooms. Just wanted to clear that up because I thought the word trailer alone would paint the wrong picture. Furthermore the fact that they didn't have his, "random screw''" might take away from the fact that they do have parts for many popular guns. I've even seen a few times were they would lend a marker to people without charge if they failed to have what they needed. They've never boasted having every part for every gun, but, what they don't have they can usually get.

They do have three fields, one of which is very rarely used. Thats why there wasn't a sign marking the way They're steadily adding and changing the fields. There's even talk of them getting an Xball field! . It's really hard to judge how many people will show up from one weekend to the next. On most days I find that they have as many refs as they need to have. Every once in a while they'll be a few of the regular players that will lend a hand.

Furthermore, a 5 year palyer like the guy below me should know to fill up before a game., that's your responsiblity. If you're in a tournament and run out of air what happens? They don't run you out a fresh tank. You play as well as you can without a gun! The fact that they tried to hook you up with free CO2 should have been a plus! Same with paint, if you don't bring enough to finish a game, your loss. It's not their fault if you're not prepared. Plus, they might have held the briefing while they were waiting on the guy. Usually the safety guidlines and rules of play are told right after the gear is dispersed.

They do have a staging area and a target range! They just decided to put it next to the fields they use regulaly . It's right next to their FLAT speedball field. As far as bunkers go, their two main fields have pretty large stationary bunkers. The woods field even has a small fort. Maybe you would prefer to hide in one of the two creeks that run through the course. They make excellent bunkers. The top course is a bit of a walk and might need to be straightened up, but thats why they don't use it as much.


Anyway, I was just looking at the reviews of places I play at and thought that the last guys review didn't do it justice. I wanted to address the issues he had and hoped to convey the message that he came on a bad day and walked away with I believe is an expirence that isn't an everyday occurance. Everyone is entitled to their own opinions and I hope he gives them another chance on a dry day. Well as a player of this field I give it a 10 because it's the best field I've played at to date.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Skunk Friday, May 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Just visited while staying in the Gatlinburg area...
Review: We arrived at this field and at first we didnt believe anybody was there. We went into their proshop, which is a trailer, and we began talking to the owners. They were both very nice and wanted to help me as much as possible, but they didnt have the part I needed (random screw). So, I had to rent (sucks going from an Excalibur to a Pro-Carbine).

We bought a case and went up to the field to play. Since it had just rained, their speedball field and lower field was closed, so we needed to find the other field at the top of the hill. That was a little confusing to find. Try putting a sign there. Once we found it though, we saw everyone waiting.

We d idnt sign a waiver, even though I knew that was standard everywhere. I believe the rest of the players did, however. The 2 refs were good, but 1 was better than the other. 1 of them was on his cell phone most of the time and hid behind a bunker behind me when he was trying to tell me that gun hits dont count. That should have been covered in the briefing. I also forgot to fill CO2 at the bottom of the hill, so they lent me theirs. It was half empty and didnt last me long at all, and I ran out in the middle of a game. My girlfriend first ran out of air, then out of paint. When you're lending out CO2, make sure they are FULL! Players dont like to run out of CO2 in the middle of a game.

There was no staging area, but its ok because we had this huge van that we used as the table. The trip to the field is uphill. The field we were on was too small and sloped down on both sides (top of a hill). There was a dip in the middle, so it was, well...different. Im not going to say I didnt like it because it did add a little different style to the game, but I prefer flat fields. In this area though, thats impossible.

The bunkers on the field are not good. They need to be held in place with nails or screws. Leaning a board against a tree does not constitute a bunker. When I hit one, it fell over leaving me exposed.

Difficult to get to the bunkers. You would either slide downhill or have to work your ass to get to the other one before you were hit.

Anyway, overall, this field gets a 7/10. You need to get that 1 ref in shape, check your safety measures, and possibly get a sign to point up the path that we should take, since there are 3 choices.
Last edited on Friday, September 29th, 2006 at 3:15 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

cabrown Sunday, January 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Foothills Paintball (No longer in business)
Woods
Review: My friends have been going to Smoky Mountain for a while now and have like it. THey have told me about it and told me i should go. I am a speedball player, and i heard it is mostly woods. They told me that it has a speedball course but it is not any good. This is not true. THey are not speedball players so they dont know what makes a good field. I never got a chance to play the speedball frield but i could tell it was a pretty good one. They had nice bunkers that were varied in size and shape. ANyways, we only played to woodsball field. I had only played woods twice before, and didntr like it very much. But when i started plyein here i found out i loved it. It is kind of a mix between woodsball and speedball, in that at the bottom there is sore of a speedball course, with a creek on the side, with bridges connecting them. Then up the hill there is woods with bunkers, and all around there is a road that connects everything. This course i very well put together and ther is so many playing options that it never gets old. If you are in the area i highly suggest you try this field out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

impybackman939 Saturday, October 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tsunami, Kps, Backwoods
Review: It was my first games at smokey mountain paintball and it was a 50 man game. It was huge. This is the 2nd large game they have run before and it was spectacular. Everything ran very smoothly and was overall a very worth while time. I would defiantly recommend this field to anyone. We even has some people from Elizabethan come down to the field and they were very impressed so it is definitely worth your time. I don't know why everyone is saying it is overpriced because it isn't. The prices are very competitive with other field in the area. The proshop is awesome if you need to buy something or sell something this is definitely the way to go. They put an Impulse up on the wall to be sold and it was gone the next day. Hey they even gave us free pizza (donations accepted). Again I would recommend this to anybody that wants to have a fun time playing paintball. Oh yes the staff there are very helpful. The refs know what they are doing and have a plan laid out before the day starts. The proshop is also well run and all I can say about John is that he is one of the best people I have meet through paintball and especially a excellent field owner.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media