paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Valley Paintball Field / Valley Paintball Field / Valley Paintball Field / Valley Paintball Field

Valley Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
11Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 701-306-6365
Address: Sabin MN
Fargo, North Dakota 58103
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
searchman058 Sunday, May 30th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 29th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: This field is a great place for woodsballers; huge field, lots of trees and tall vegetation for cover and concealment. There's even a decent building in the middle of the field where defenders put up a good fight with attackers. You can even try room take down maneuvers since there is pretty much no limit to how close you can be to a person when you shoot them (in my case, it was about 20 shots fired at my stomach, hand, and pistol from two players from less than ten feet as i charged through the doorway). Even coming from a five hour trip from Minot, the experience in this field made the trip worth it.

From the main road to the field, there is a very rough road and there is no parking at the rest area, so players have to park their vehicles along the main road and walk down about 150 yards to the rest area, so make sure that whatever you carry can be made in one trip. Also, there is no food sold by the establishment, so bring your own food and plenty of water. There is also no portapotties here, so try to really play hard so you don't have to go.

The staff here are very friendly. They do a great job instructing players and stress safety and fair play. The hours of operation is also sufficient for plenty of games. At first, I thought six hours was little time compared to what I was used to, but the staff were always keeping the pace up, so we played many different kinds of games for fairly long durations, such as capture the flag, zombies, VIP, and trailer.

I highly recommend this field for any serious woodsballers and people who are new to the sport and are leaning towards woodsball. There are just two personal pieces of advice: bring tweezers for ticks and make sure you don't leave anything on the field that could get lost, especially camouflaged itens (i ditched my gun when it ran out of air and left it on a log while I ran for the building with my pistol; i couldn't find it for two games because it was camoflauged too well :P)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Syrup49 Thursday, May 20th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 15th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Closest other field is Northside Sports in Ramsey MN
Review: Overall I felt this field was really good. The ref's are all really fair and help the younger players or those that unsure of playing. The field prices are very cheap! The only thing that could be improved upon is the amount of room in the staging area. It is very limited so first come first serve.

All the staff and regulars are glad to help out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

krotchmander Tuesday, November 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Just about every field within 250 miles including Canada--they all have their own unique +'s and -'s.
Review: Valley Paintball is, hands-down, one of the best fields I've ever played at. BYOP and cheap field fee (all day HPA or CO2 INCLUDED) combines with the extremely helpful, friendly, and (in some cases...) good looking staff to guarantee a great time.

A great mix of newer and experienced players of every age ensures everyone "fits in" somewhere.

Don't miss their advertised "Big Games" for some truly hardcore woodsbrawl action.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tyybo Tuesday, September 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None that I know of
Directions
to the Field:
Pretty easy to find. Coming from fargo just get on the Interstate (i94) go east into Minnesota. Take the exit to Sabin. Go past the Drag Strip. follow the signs.
Review: This place is really nice. I was relieved when i moved to Fargo to see that we have a good course. On the big games they get a really nice turn out. The guys who run it are really helpful if you have any problems with equipment. The price isnt to bad eaither. for 10 dollars you get unlimited Gas and green fee covered. I havent rented a gun there so i cant give any accurate info there exept that i think most of the rentals are 98s. The course has a pretty cool lay out. There is a river that winds through it and its almostdivided into a speedball type course and a woodsball type. There is also a trailer house out there that gives pretty good service to numerous games. The refs are fair and most of the people out there are really friendly. The staging area is a little small and could use a few more tables and other areas to set things up. All in all, i would say its a good course and its really close to fargo so give it a shot if you are in the area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

draglax65 Monday, July 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area 13 (now closed) & D's
Review: Great field fargo could use more like it, Sean does a great job of upkeep and draws a good mixed group of new and exp. players out to the field. It is no longer FPO so you can bring your own paint. With and active league setup and open games on saterday this field has everything a woodsballer dreams about. The long time players will help and guide a new player not to mention Sean seems to be able to answer just about any paintball ? you can come up with, and if he does not know it he will find it for you. highly recomended to players of all ages and skill levels.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BBQ Warrior Tuesday, January 18th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
havent played anywhere around here, played at acouple fields down in South Dakota about 6 to 8 years ago (old pump days)
Review: Well I must say Sean does a great job, The field is big at 23 acres, bordered on one side by the Buffalo River, and the other by a service road boardering the cornfield. Sean runs it out of a trailer where he has rentals, CO2 refill service, HPA fills (I believe only to 3000PSI) he has beverages, and limited parts.
VP is Field Paint Only, some dont like it, but with a $5 field fee VP needs the money to keep the field alive in Fargo. Plus with FPO, you will have quality paint, old paint hurts, and really stinks when your gogs get a permanant stail from cheap dyes. So I am in support of FPO.
They mixthe games up, so it is the same all the time, all in all i would rate the field 7 of 10 but I would rate Sean, (the owner) 9 of 10. He does one heck of a job with what he has, But unfortunately the field could use a second porta potty, and parking can be tough but you do what you cam with what you have.

So averageing the two I give it a 8
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

DustinSobolik Friday, January 7th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Combat Ranch
Review: This is a great field Sean really does give 110%, he is even trying to get an indoor field going, the field owner before him wasn't that great, but Sean is a much better person, I had no trouble they embrace all players, Paint is good and cheap, this is the best place for big games their have been over 300 people on this field at one time and it is still huge it's 23 acres of pure adrenaline, you just can't live without their scenario and big games, Scenario games are setup well in advance, this is a great place to play
Last edited on Saturday, January 8th, 2005 at 10:07 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lanthantos Sunday, October 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Combat Ranch - Good field also, little more speedballish and not quite as thick of cover as Valley Paintball, but also great guys and a shreddin place to play. Know them also and played there for DBGC7. All firing modes allowed/grenades etc.

FSL , Minneapolis - Professional field, strict speedball indoor arena, good proshop, but lacks the character of Valley. Limited to Semi Auto only.
Review: Great field, i play there a lot and am fairly new to paintball but find the staff and helpers friendly and encouraging of newer players as well as the regulars.

Seans doing his best to see that Fargo paintball stays alive and really DOES have his heart in it 110 percent.

Mainly a recball field, with elements of speedball/woodsball both present focusing more on the woodsball aspect of the sport. All firing modes/grenades/whatever allowed.

The trailer games are da bomb. Nothing like the rush of attacking and going in that door, you KNOW its gonna be close range and it really gets the blood pumping in your head.

Prices are cheap, $5 for field fee if you have your own gear and 8 bucks for all day air/CO2. Balls are 15 bucks for 500 or 50 bucks a case (field paint only rules, he has to to stay in biz, and thats how it seems fields make thier money anymore)

Safety is a big concern here, masks on at all times, and people are good about chroning now, most using CO2 will stop frequently to make sure there guns are turned to correct setting (300 fps or less) or others playing generally help enforce this, as well as the volunteers/Sean (owner). There is little problem with newer players not knowing to do this, as the regulars tell them to if not Sean.

Rental prices are good, I never have had to rent but he rents out Tippman 98's and uses CO2 on them. Durable marker.

My favorite field so far .... plus is close to home :).

Hope this helps, if you like a mixture of both kinds of paintball and attacking a mobile home with guys in it, this is your ball o wax.



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Goat Master Saturday, August 28th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none... really...
Review: Well, this field is great, speedballers and woodsballers together can compete on the same field. The sweetest things of all, is that 200 people can play on this field, without crowding problems!! The brushier areas are great for those sneaky types, and there's plenty of cover if you wanna play like a speedballer. This field is definitely the best of both worlds!

The trailer games are hella fun, and by hella fun I mean HELLA FUN. Imagine 20
'ballers taking on 140 of their fellows set on a time limit the armada must assault and take out all defenders residing in their nice homely little trailer... The result? An insane tour de friggin' CHAOS ensues!! At the last big game's trailer assault, over 50,000 paintballs were shot. :)

Field paint, sigh* one of the biggest problems of today, and one of the most common ones too. But look at it this way, it makes sure you're not getting any friggin' marbles shot at you, and no matter how you look at it that's definitely an advantage O_O. But, the paint is good, and relatively cheap, plus CO2 and air are practically free :) $3 for a 20 oz and $8 for all day air/CO2 is a hella sweet deal.

If you're into paintball and within 200 miles of Sabin you'd best come to the big-games, they rock, and there's not even the slightest cramping problems, even with 200 people on the field. And games with as few as ten people are really fun.

The people behind it are awesome, props to Sean and Jeremy for keepin' FM paintball alive!!

I give this field a perfect ten, even though it DOES use field paint, (which isn't really a problem, depends on how you look at it) it does rock, alot.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Bassimastprime Thursday, June 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Just other friends' houses
Review: Field
The field is set up in some dark woods which provide cover from the wind and rain. On the far side of the field their is an old trailer house with the windows and doors taken out. They have some sandbag bunkers, steel barrels, a dugout bunker like in 'NAM at the nearbase, and the other bunkers are made of old plastic water containers (or something like that), I guess that they've got some old cars in their now. I'm going back this weekend and can't wait.

Games
The review below me pretty much lists all the games, so just look down. But just so you know, the trailer games are awesome.

Staff/Referees
The games usually go smoothly, and for the most part people play by the rules. The referees are mainly just thier to watch out for cheaters, and control gameplay (like all refs do) The other people that work there are nice and can really help you out if you are having any trouble with your marker, they really enforce safety in the staging area which is a good thing. One thing thats a little odd is that they don't force you to chrono before the game, but most people have the common sense to.

Big Games
The big games are a blast, they have anyware from 100-250 players, and sometimes more! Theirs nothing more intense than hearing the sounds of 100 people charging at you and your team, screaming and throwing paint all around you. Trailer games can get intense when it ends up being 24 vs. 83, like Flyboy mentioned, its not uncommon for the trailer team to win. They give away alot of prizes, I won a really REALLY sweet vest and a Q-Loader their, at the end of the year last year one guy walked away with $1000 in quarters, and he got his head shaved.

Public Games
When big games get to crowded for you, the public games are a nice change of pace. With a lot more room to move and easier communication, planning your strategy is much simpler. Entry fee is just like $5.

Consessions
They sell pop and candy, you can order pizzas on big game days. And they don't rip you off on this stuff.

Game Waits
On the days of big games, the waits can get pretty long when thier choosing teams for big games. The teams are usually fair, but sometimes they get a little lop-sided.

In all this is a really good field so I'm gonna give it a 9
Last edited on Friday, July 16th, 2004 at 10:52 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media