paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Franklin Hotsprings Paintball Field / Franklin Hotsprings Paintball Field / Franklin Hotsprings Paintball Field / Franklin Hotsprings Paintball Field

Franklin Hotsprings Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
30Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 805-712-5373
Address: 3085 Creston Road
Paso Robles, California 93446
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
magic265 Thursday, May 31st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gladiator Paintball field just opened up at Camp San Luis, i will have to check it out.
No others really in the immediate area.
Review: Ok, i wasn't very happy with my experience there.

I usually play with my friends at either my grandmothers farm, or on a field in Los Osos, so I am used to some fairly ghetto and probably unsafe conditions. But when i was at Franklin Hotsprings it was easily as unsafe or worse.

First we get there (on a Saturday morning) and it is slightly raining, which obviously would keep the crowds down, and no one was there. So we went into Atascadero to fill up our tanks then headed back around noon. When we got back to the park, we waited for a few minutes with still no one there, then about three cars came up. All these kids piled out and we learned that it was a birthday party. Right about this time some random old dude wandered up called us over to the shed, took our money, distributed the rentals to the kids, told us to have at it and left.

My friends and I already knew what we were doing since we have been paintballing together for years, but the kids had no idea. When i pay to play paintball i expect at least some safety measures taken and probably refs. The kids were shooting at things all over, and taking off their masks in games, it was horrible. So my friends and I had to take charge and teach them everything and run the whole thing. After that we got in a few good games, one in which my friends and I (about 6 of us) took on 15 of them in team elimination and won two times in a row, at that point they refused to play us anymore.

Later some little girl came up to "supervise" us, I guess she was the old guys granddaughter? All she did was watch us and was really shy... then she left...

Overall we managed to have fun, but when paying to use facilities I expect stricter safety rules and more service.


Would I go back? Yes. But I am experienced and am aware of all the safety requirements with out being reminded.

NOTE: The man who came up did not appear to be drunk or high. I will not make any accusations like many others have.


Thus i believe the whole thing is/was kinda shady. I would like to go back and try again, considering i was there about a year ago (I forget the exact date, so i wasn't literally there on the date 6/14/06, around then).

Hopefully I helped, and that park definitely has a lot of potential.

NOTE: One of my friends goes there regularly and doesn't seem to think the experience I had was usual, anyone else want to comment on that?
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mwslo93 Sunday, April 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
gorilla but its alot nicer (astro turf, indoor, air conditioning, good pro shop
Directions
to the Field:
read it at the top
Review: The owner and employees do not smoke weed or anything else. its all lies!!!!! ive never seen them smoking, drunk or high. the refferees joke around alittle but they're just having fun so pull the corn cob out of ur butt and stop being so anal about every little rule. the price is decent 15 for entry and 5 for all day air. its expensive to rent though 30 bucks per setup but the prices are flexible if u bring 3 other people he'll let you get air for free or something lik that. every thing is alittle broken though like tables and stuff in the staging area. safety is good although they could enforce the "wear ur mask at the chrono" rule alittle more. unfortunantely they dont have a pro shop. they only have 2 fields one scenario and one speedball. the scenario isnt that extravegant, its like playing in a junk yard, just a bunch of crap laying around that u hide behind.(cars, port-o-potties, barrels, televisions etc.) the speedball is decent, its played on dirt though and
is barely big enough fo 5 on 5 so its kind of small.(inflateable bunkers)

they are also getting an x-ball field with grass so that will be cool =)
Last edited on Monday, May 28th, 2007 at 10:18 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SnapDaddy Wednesday, April 4th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I'm an older player getting back in to painball, so Franklin is a new field for me. After reading some of these reviews about drug and alcohol use at Franklin's, I wanted to see first hand what was going on. It is the closest organized field to my house so I played on two different Saturdays.

One visit wouldn't be enough for me to draw any reasonable conclusions.

The first thing I did was ask the operator straight up, what was all of the drug talk about. He replied with a very sincere and straight forward answer, which I agreed with. Just a few disgruntaled younger players flaming the field.

Bottom line, your experience will be directly related to your attitude and who shows up to play. I found most of the locals harmless to friendly. The operators were helpful.

As far as the fields. I've played at better, but then again, I've played at worse! Both fields could use a face lift.

Attendance, I would not count on going solo and finding more then a few people there. Both times I was there, we didn't have enough people to start our first game until about 11:30am, but played until 3:30pm.

Safety, most of the time where it counts. I didn't notice any safety issues in the rest area. However, I would like to see more mask enforcement in the chrono area and chrono before every game.

The locals tend to do a bit of goof and tease shooting at each other. Unfortunately, it is usually across the field during game play.

I wouldn't sit around and wait for the Ref to motivate players to get ready for a game. I just yell, lets go and get our game on. We walk over to the chrono area and say we need a Ref. Then the game is on!

Would I bring my 12yr to play there, yes. Would I recommend the field to noobs, yes if accompanied by an experience player.

Will I keep playing at Franklin's, yes.

Well, that's my 2 cents worth!
Last edited on Wednesday, April 4th, 2007 at 10:13 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jfro/buffalo Tuesday, March 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 4th, 2004
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
JUST OFF CRESTON RD ON THE EAST SIDE OFF PASO ROBLES
GREAT PLACE!
Review: the Franklin mind field is a great place to play paintball. the owner is really nice and is always willing to help with anything he can. And by the way he never got arrested that it a LIE!!!!! every time that i have ever been there(witch is about every weekend) there is a great vibe between all of the players. the refs are also doing much better to keep the games as fair as possible! YOU SHOULD CHECK THIS PLACE OUT LOTS OF FUN!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballheadsho Sunday, February 4th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: February 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
N/A
Directions
to the Field:
DO NOT EVEN GO HERE
Review: Field has lost all that it was. no one cares about it and fights break out regularly. Takes 3 hours to fill the fields, paint way to expensive, and thanks an hour between games. i was just out there today, i showed up at 9:30 and played my first game around 11. i sat and waited for over an hour then just said i'm not coming back and left. i use to work there under the first owner and it was great lots of games but i would not work ther with the new owner mostly for the reason of him being high most the time and now i hear going to jail. for the little guys that want to go for your first time DO NOT GO HERE find some where else. if u need help finding a safe field call Breakout Paintball at (805) 237-9882. i'm 17 and have always played here and now i'm not going to play here at all. they take no respect for the players trying to make this place what it could and should be. I hope this really helps you all. thanks.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Daveycrockett Saturday, November 11th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paranoid Paintball!!! Way better field, and only hour drive!
Review: Staff is not helpful, don't know much, expensive, and ran by younger kids. There are some cool players that come out, however I am not sure why! Everything that is done is half arsed. Just look around next time you are out there. Drive to Paranoid, more fun, actual competition, reasonable pricing!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

wontoncraka Monday, October 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: October 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: this is a great field and has great owners. Everyone is friends and its a lot of fun
The reffing isn't the greatest but it is fair. I dont know what everyone is talking about
i never see the staff smoking/high or drinking,


This is a great fun field so come out and play
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

peej Monday, October 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Directions
to the Field:
Creston Road Then Go Franklin Hot springs
Review: Entrance: 15
Air:5
Paint: 40 or 50

Great Field, I dont know what these guys are talkin about i go to breakout/franklin ponds every weekend and i have never seen them smoking/high or drunk even when people smoke cigarettes the owner gets angry!

This is a great field and you should come out ...!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

NexusEgoPimp Friday, September 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
N/A
Directions
to the Field:
N/A
Review: Wat the guy below said. I have seen the owner even ask kids if they are sellin u kno what. You cant run a paintball feild like this.

There is sum good players once and a whil. You can get sum good play and the scenario is pretty cool, other than this, aint worth it! BTW- why is this place still called breakout? Isn't it Franklin sumthing, I sure know it is not breakout anymroe.
Last edited on Friday, September 15th, 2006 at 1:27 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

martymatheson Wednesday, September 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paranoid, Bakersfield, andwhere is better than here!
Review: I cannot believe this joke of a field. I have been playing ball for a long time. I have infact been to this field atleast 2 years ago and it had a pretty nice setup and ran well.

I decided since I moved back that i would go out for some play, and was highly dissappointed. The paint is horible, high priced, idiotic staff, etc. etc. The field owner or whatever is always high and smoking on the field, there are no refs, the chrono is never watched, they don't have real insurance. This place is an accident waiting to happen. I understand there is nowhere else to play in this area and they are trying to do this, but come on. My biggest complaint since i now have kids is how the owner is smoking/getting high while there are kids present or drunk. What you do with your free time is great, don't do that infront of kids!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media