paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Bob's Paintball Field / Bob's Paintball Field / Bob's Paintball Field / Bob's Paintball Field

Bob's Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
19Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (251) 639-8245
Address: 3428 Dawes Road
Mobile, Alabama 36695
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
noonagon Thursday, February 11th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: February 6th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
eXtreme paintball - Owner is rude there and not helpful. You are playing next to a target and it just seems sketchy to me. Great Pro-Shop though, but the owner is pushy and rude.
Directions
to the Field:
On dawes road, Take exit 17 on I-10 and then a left on highway 90, then a right onto Three Notch, follow Three notch till it ends, take a right and go till you see a shell station, Bob's will be across the road.
Review: Refs are great, prices are good, field is awesome (new one going up) Bob is funny and works to resolve any problems. Refs try to help newer players out and ensure everyone is safe. Can't say enough about this field to do it justice. GO THERE! Food is coming soon and the air and CO2 is cheap compared to most fields.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Outlaw565 Tuesday, July 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 19th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: This place is great good people, great prices, much better thas xtrme. If your lookin to go have a good time paintballing this is the place to go you cant find a better place anywhere near. Bobs has 2 fields 1 airball and the other a hybrid mix of woodball and speed. Also every friday the field fey and all day air is only 5$ for both awsome place go there
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bubbabighouse Friday, July 18th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: July 19th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
extreme paintball, Counter addiction, Swat, LAX
Review: Bob's has a great field. Every wekend during the year there is allways someone to go play, reguardless of the summer heat. The reffs there are amazing. The head ref Nathan is great, and he's allways there to help. They have a woodsball/hyperball field, and a regulation 5-man xball field. Overall bob's is a great place to play and tops all the other fields in the area in my opinion.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Seppalini Wednesday, April 9th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 6th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xtreme, swat in MS
Review: This is a great place. The fields are the best by far. Lots of green grass and woods. Plus they have a tournament field (which I don't play on -- I prefer woodsball) The field fees include "unlimited" time which means you can get there when they open and stay until they close. You are also allowed to bring your own paint for an upcharge of $10. This is cool compared to the other fields that don't let you do that - plus you only have two hours to play at the other fields -- that's not long enough.

Everyone is friendly and helpful. Bob's gets most of the church groups from all over the place plus birthday parties. I'm a girl -- but they didn't look down on me --- they were a great bunch of people to be around. I plan on going back again and again.. Thanks!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

homeSqueez98 Thursday, January 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sports Extreme or whatever their name is now...
Directions
to the Field:
its on the website duh, dawes rd i believe
Review: last time i played there must have been 300 people there, it was awesome!!! i was part of a national guard tournament ---- it rocked. very well organized field and owner extremely cool guy. my friends and I have recommended this field to everyone at the university i go to. Bobs is a decent place to have a party or walk on like i do --- the staff is friendly and everyone tries to help. I noticed that they are expanding their shop or renovating or something ---- I would say that it's one of the best fields i've ever played on around the gulf coast. i wish they were open during the week
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

suntzu_baller Monday, December 10th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the only one I've played at in Alabama, but played a few in LA, MS.
Review: Hours: Sat, Sun are 10am-dark

Fields: one new psp 50+ bunkers w/ stand up X
one woodsball / hyperball field w/ pond in the middle

Prices: 15$-field fee, all day air, own equipment
10$-b.y.o.p., or 55$ a case for stinger
20$-rental package (tippmans), special rate for church groups (15$)

I love to play but I live in New Orleans and work in Moss Point, MS on the weekends, I never have time! But I found this place and decided to take several friends and my church group on a Sat. and it was great. I had guys who played PSP, woodsballers, and first timers that all enjoyed themselves.

Bob is the most understanding field manager I've ever met. He was very patient and helpful even when there were four groups going at once. He always had time to help out anyone with a question. His refs are pretty good. There were several who play and some who don't. For the most part they did a great job goin in there and makin calls. There was only one or two times that some just stood to the side but that's everywhere you go.

There isn't much of a proshop, a little bit of evil gear. But the fields are very well kept. The psp field was great, all my players enjoyed it, even the new players. The woods/hyperball field is good. It is not very big compared to most woods fields. But this is a plus, there are three trails, and a pond between the woods and the hyperball. It is a very good mix that people won't get lost in or spend 30 min looking for people.

Great place, always seems to have numerous walk-ons so you can show up alone and still play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

peeps7504 Monday, March 5th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: January 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have only played at other fields in Ms. that are no longer open.
Review: This is probably one of the best fields around. I have friends that have played at the other fields, and when I took them to Bob's they were blown away by the differences.

The employees at Bob's are very friendly, helpful, and will go the extra mile to make your day enjoyable. I have a handicapped friend who played with us one day, and they went out and bought a gun strap so that it would be easier for him to play. The refs are really good, and will occasionally play if there are uneven teams or whatnot. The staff ensures that people practice safety at all times, without being overbearing with the rules. They will just ask you politely to keep your mask on and make sure that your barrel plugs are in when you are not on the field.
The proshop is currently under construction, but they do like input on what players would want to see in there.
They are great as far as their operations hours go. They are open from like 8 AM to 5 PM on Saturdays and Sundays. Saturdays are generally for the rec-ball players and Sundays, generally in the mornings, are for the speed ball players. They also open up for holidays. They were open for Fat Tuesday and for a few days around the Christmas break time.
The players there are great. I haven't heard of any of the speedballers giving the recballers guff, or vice versa. All the players get along, and the more experience players are definitely willing to help out the less experienced players.
The fields are nice and are rearranged often, which ensures a new feeling of play frequently. Both fields are nice, but the woods ball field feels a little restricting in its size.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

slapass1 Saturday, June 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: May 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Swat Paintball (
Sports Xtreme ?? (not sure of their name really)
Directions
to the Field:
off Dawes Road in Mobile, AL about 1.5 miles South of the Cottage Hill Rd and Dawes Rd intersections.
Review: Everything about this place rocks... top notch. They have awesome fields and a staff that knows what the hell they're doing. If there's a problem on the field, they're on top of it... Looks like they have a lot of teams that play on Sunday and have the majority of the recballers out on their woodsball field compared to other places---- Both their Tournament fields and their woodsball fields are great. Theirs a pond on the woodsball field and open spaces as well as dark thick woods. They have a huge X-ball field with about 40-50 bunkers on it. The place is great for anyone cuz they have all these rules about good behavior and being a good sport an all --- it's a family place (but not like the bad kind of being strict with a bunch of rules)

I met the owner, and even though he was real busy, he stopped and answered all my questions and actually carried on a conversation with me --- when he didn't know something technical -- he got someone who specialized in the type of marker I had. anyway --- everyone's nice there.

I want to give this field a 10 --- but no place is perfect --- so I give it a 9! They are only open on weekends --- I think they should be open more //// That's all I have to say...
Last edited on Saturday, June 17th, 2006 at 1:37 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bushy00 Monday, January 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball pannic, paintball paradise, navarre paintball, swat paintball, fmj paintball field
Review: 2 words come to mind. Hell yea. I had a blast, bob and his people are very friendly and paintball oriented. There were no air problems all day like i have seen at other fields. The x ball field was set up very nicely. It is almost regulation size, only short by a couple of feet, no big deal. The netting is done correctly and they maintain a safe environment. They also have a rec ball field consisting of pipe and woods. They have a small pro shop with the basics of what you might need, no need to stock a bunch of stuff people dont need all the time, that just makes the prices go up. Seems to me bob has his stuff together with this place and is doing all the right things. To my information they will be setting up a compressor stage to fill up to 4500 psi with a push button station, somewhere late jan. The field is grass and very slideable and playable. all i can say is go and find out for yourself. youll love it.

ok this is new, went to his tourney the other day. i was impressed. field set up was nice and challenging. players area was awsome, he did not just throw something up, he actually thought about it for a bit. plenty of chairs for on-lookers and the reffs from what i could tell were on the job and doing a good job. he even bought pizza for everyone when the food guy ran into problems. the tourney ran very smooth and seemed to go off without a hitch. i give bob much props on the job he did and will deff play in his next one.
Last edited on Monday, January 30th, 2006 at 4:44 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

WiccanBaller Thursday, June 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xtreme is the only other one in mobile. Neither fields are all that great compared to other fields in alabama
Review: Well the people are pretty friendly, there are a few teams to play and scrimage against, plus they actually have air ball bunkers. They have a small woods field and a small speedball field (3 man style). I never played the woods ball field, but the speedball is half air and half hyperball. The field layout is so-so, mostly laydowns so the lanes are pretty large. FIeld is pretty much all grass so you can get your superman on without much trouble. Pro shop is pretty small. Its run by a preacher or youth minister (I think) so there doesn't seem to be a lot of paintball experience behind the management of the field. Anyhow, some people like it, some people rather go to xtreme. I guess if you live in mobile you should go there at least once along with xtreme. If your really into tourney style speedball go to SWAT paintball in ocean springs mississippi.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media