paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Flying Dutchman Paintball Field / Flying Dutchman Paintball Field / Flying Dutchman Paintball Field / Flying Dutchman Paintball Field

Flying Dutchman Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
13Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 207-564-3369
Address: Sebec Shores Rd
Guilford, Maine 04443
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
luvswoodsball Wednesday, March 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: March 4th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
splatz bangor
splatz vezi
Review: I LOVE THIS FIELD!!! I came in a while ago and i had no one to play with. The owner came over to me and kindly explaned that it would be good next time if i called ahead. (the owner is the nicest guy i have ever met!!) he made some calls and in about 20 minuts i was in a full swing game on the urban assult course. BUT!! when yy tippmann alpha black choped and i had no time to clean it ( couldent swap out the barrel dident have one on me dur!!) the next round the owner, get this, he let me borrow a BRAND NEW gun from the shop and use it!! I later bought the gun. ( a tippmann A5 ) The owner is the nicest man you will ever meat. I hightly recomend this field for anyone. The cources are amazing!! the urban asult course is the biggest and best course i have ever played on. This is an amazing place to play paintball. If you live near guilford and are looking for a paintball field look no further you have found you field. It is BY FAR THE BEST FIELD I HAVE EVER PLAYED ON!!!!!!!!! Plz listen to me and play on this field. Just try it and you will love it. it will ceep you coming back. This field is so good you would come from California just to play one game on this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tebby Tuesday, November 27th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: November 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Adventure Sports, Splatz, Rogue, Crossfire
Review: I played at Flying Dutchman this month. I hadn't been their in years. I'd forgotten how good it was. I loved their Urban field with 20 buildings to play in and around. When it started to get to dark they fired up the lights and we kept going. After a little bit I was getting pretty cold so we went into their indoor field to play. What a rush just right for 3 on 3. All speedball inside but that's perfect. They have addd Ions to the rentals as well as Auto Cocker pumps. Funny thing, the owner seemed to be more concerned with helping us hold down the cost then he was making money. That was nice. Over all I played for about 7 hours and even with renting gear I kept to less than 65 bucks. That's not bad at all. I guess they are starting a winter league for the indoor speedball. I'm going to put a team together and have a blast. Hope to see some of you folks up there.
I know I got so busy checking out all the other fields, I forgot how good this place was. Sounds silly, but the fields been open for more than 20 years I can see why now. GREAT TIME and group discounts
This place has it all.
I see they even sponcer teams now. super!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

darkwing Saturday, April 21st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Adventure Sports, Enfield Tactical, Black Forest, Wolf Lair, EMF
Review: I've been playing a long time and in many states, I have never seen a field like this one. These guys try harder to make sure you have a good time than any other field I've ever used. I was lucky enough to show up on a day when the owner was there installing his new compressor. What a machine!!! It's a giant 5000 PSI Mako, He was setting it up to fill a bank of 13 cascade tanks. I have never seen an air system this big in my life.
They explained to me that I should have called ahead, and they were right I just never thought about it. But he got on the phone and called players to see if they would come in and play. Within a hour we had a nice little 5 on 5 game going and I had a great time. I couldn't beleive any owner would be that great. He had a ton of work to do and yet he took time to help save my day. Great field!! The way paintball was ment to be!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rex_recta Saturday, February 10th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 11th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mostly NH and Mass fields, all are just as good maybe better.
Directions
to the Field:
Route 15 till a sign then right on Sebec road?
Review: Well, today was my first time at an ESTABLISHED field in Maine. The prices were decent. I had to rent a Tippmann Pro Lite because of my markers being at home and I cannot have them at college. The rental marker actually shot fine, never used an older tippmann and it was just as reliable as my 98 custom. The downstairs reball field was like a big maze. It was honestly confusing, and somewhat odd. The refs were good about chronoing and all of that good stuff with safety. The outdoor courses were nice even for being in the winter. We only played one game but it was fun. Noone wiped or anything of the sorts.

UPDATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I just played a tournament at this place. We played on their new downstairs course. They took down all of that old urban combat little walls and made a "speedball" course. This is the fields first venture into speedball because they are catering to the newer more woodsball type players.
The tournament chrono was a 230 feet per second. Now, some people might be able to get their guns down to this speed with out having some problems like slow cycling speed o their guns and different items here or there.
No clear shots were allowed over the chronograph. I had a little thought about this because most electronic markers have a setting with FSDO or bolt stick making their guns have "first shot hot shot" syndrome. Making the first shot to be a bit hot and over the limit. So I told my team to turn those all the way down and we didn't have any issues.
No bunkering within 5 feet. Good. I thought this was good for the new guys but bunkering is common in Speedball and I am sure they will accept it sooner or later.
Stop the game to have paint checks. I thought this was.....odd. This way your team can communicate to see where the ref ran to check. This was aminly so the refs wouldn't get shot. I didn't mind it but i oyu kept shooting and not able to hear the ref, then you kept shooting, you'd get a little yelling from the refs. For the most part this was fine though.
No more than 5 shots or someone on the other team would be out. Bonus balling does happen and this is a good way to try and limit it.
There were 3 classes: Semi-auto (mech. guns like cockers, tippy, other stuff). Unlimited (this confused me, pretty much you can use ramping and whatever ROF you want. I stuck to semi though because I don't need to ramp.) and Pump players. Guess what the pump could do, pump........

Overall this tourny was a bit different. I come from playing NEPL and a lot of Mass and NH tournies so I am experienced in the scene. I know what I am talking about. If you are a relatively new player and want to try for a "rookie" to "beginner" tourny series, this is the place.

After the tourny was done and over, we played rec-ball until we were outta paint. That was awesome as well.

THanks Flying Dutchman
Last edited on Wednesday, February 13th, 2008 at 3:22 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippo Thursday, September 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: On my recent trip to flying dutchman in august, I was absolutely satisfied with the field, staff, and local players. Their staging area is a large building which looks like a converted barn. Inside, they have a small proshop, rental area, bathrooms, changing area and vending machines. As far as rentals they have jumpsuits, camo jackets and pants, vforce sheild goggles, tippmann prolites and autocockers. I advise to stay away from the autocockers, since the velocities were fluctuating wildly, and the open delrin bolt is easy to slash a thumb on while not wearing gloves, as I did. The tippmann prolites were amazing. the ruggedness, accuracy and durability are what makes these the better choice of a rental. When I first got their. My buddy and I got to try out their speedball course, which is made of tires and barrels, great fun. Later a large group came, and we got to try out all the courses. the castle is awesome, especially when you're inside. the urban warfare course is huge, and awesome, with big buildings. The recon course has awesome bunkers, including a satelite dish and a pillbox. So hats off to the folks at flying dutchman, for doing an awesome job.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

eroc1911 Monday, August 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: I found this field through some good reviews, so me and a friend went to check it out, we loved it, and have kept going back. Back in April me and three friends went down to play on a Tuesday, not a normal operating day. There was no other people there so the owner called up four of his refs so that we could play. This is how much they care.

They have all the rental equiptment that you may need, all reasonably priced. The staff is knowledgable, and helpful. The refs are very good, and involved. They also have a lot of good fields, they have a Castle, an urban enviroment, indoor speedball (opened year round), several woods fields complete with sandbags, bunkers, and buildings.

Overall this probobly the best field in Maine, and one of the top fields in New England, if you have been you should check it out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

B2K4.Spaghetto Tuesday, May 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: I had read some good reviews online about Flying Dutchmen and also my next-door-neighbor liked them, so my friends and I went and had a good time. When I shot my b2k4 an o-ring popped in the inside so I got to use a WGP Trilogy free of charge. The paintballs are also really good for the price and the staff is nice. I only got to do a urban warfare emulating field but it was really fun. It only ended up being 65$ for renting 2 20z co2, the field fee (for 3 people and including the ref), 600 paintballs, and a jumpsuit.

If you live in the area and paintball it is a great place to go.
Last edited on Tuesday, May 23rd, 2006 at 3:18 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kkellyjo Saturday, May 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: May 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I love Dutchman Hes the only dealer I will go thru If he doesnt have what I need want he will get it ...When somethins broke he fixes it for almost no cost to him ..........Dutchman is the BEST 2 thumbs way up Not only this the best fields The people are worth the extra five minute drive
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

evilnerd616 Monday, February 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have only played at the Flying Dutchman and it is the only field I will play at.
Review: The Flying Dutchman is the best paintball field in Maine.

They have a very knowledgeable staff. There hasn't been one time I have asked them a question and they didn't know the answer. Everything from guns to barrels to whatever. They know it all.

The fields are excellent. 14 fields, 60 acres. I mean come on compared to other paintball fields in the area, they have one course. You can actually use all 14 fields and the 60 acres. During the scenario games, all 60 acres are open. So that leads to a very intense game.

The Flying Dutchman's main concern is safety. They are the only field with a flag you can pull to say you're out. The refs are always in the middle of the action and are not afraid to get hit. If someone has to leave a game for paint or air they radio back into the pro shop to tell whoever is there to expect someone. They pay extra attention to younger players to make sure they don't get hurt or taken advantage of. It's a great place for everyone of all ages.

The refs are very fair and do not take favoritism. They are there to make sure you have the best time you can and go that extra mile to make you happy.

They are not expensive as some people say. Sure, Matt's paintballs WERE 5 cents a ball but now are 3.5 cents. There is a $10 field fee and a $10 rental fee ( they have a wide range of markers from Pro - Lites to Auto - Mags to automatics.) If you bring your own gun you obviously don't pay the rental fee. So you can play all day for $17 compared to $36 at other places. One of the refs actually let me use his $1300 Angel cause my gun was broke.

Sure they may be out of the way but in all my experiences it's well worth it. I've met people from Greenville to Belfast to Bangor and even New Hampshire we have come to the Flying Dutchman to play because of the experience. I live 40 miles from the Flying Dutchman. Splatz is 20 and Fairplay is 4 miles. Do the math - the Flying Dutchman is the best paintball field in Maine, hands down.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

berickson345 Sunday, May 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played on other fields in the area and flying dutchman is at the top!!!
Review: First of all, when someone posts a review, they need to know the facts about the fields before they write about them. Flying Dutchman is an amazing place with amazing fields. They have 14 fields covering 44 acres varying from fire bases to mock urban warfare. The fields are well maintained and new ideas are arriving all the time. The fields range in sizes from small, close combat courses to large courses used for scenarios and large groups. The staff is trained in the game of paintball and know what they are doing. To meet regulations, the speed is regulated at 260fps, which is more than fast enough for a game. The paint is not priced at 5 cents a ball, but at 3.5 cents a ball, also its good quality paint. The Flying Dutchman is located just outside Dover-Foxcroft and is very easy to find. High quality fields, high quality service, all in all its great. I would recommend this field above all the others.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media