paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Action Games Paintball Field / Action Games Paintball Field / Action Games Paintball Field / Action Games Paintball Field

Action Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
5Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 781-942-9222
Address: 1078 South St
Tewksbury, Massachusetts 01876
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
FortySixand2 Wednesday, May 15th, 2013
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 11th, 2013
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox 4, FF
Review: This was my first time playing at Action Paintball and it was a mix of enjoyable and not so enjoyable experiences. As mentioned in a previous review, this place is really targeted towards inexperienced players who are part of a bachelor party, corporate team building, etc.

The Good: The fields were great, especially the village/forts. The bunkers are in decent shape and there were an ample amount of large trees which provided plenty of cover. Shockingly, it is actually somewhat safe to play there... The people who run the field do a great job at keeping it safe on the field and in the staging area. The refs that I came across were very professional and respectful. The BBQ was good and they also supplied water and coke.

The Bad: Not that many refs + inexperienced players who want to get their money's worth = a lot of not calling hits. If you go to a field that has mostly experienced players then this type of behavior would be frowned upon. The one-time player doesn't care about this norm. The rental markers are filthy! Someone needs to clean those things. You can ask one of the workers to clean your barrel but that entails them sticking a squeegee down the front of the barrel - while it's still attached. This only takes any paint or debris and pushes it back to the breech, causing more inaccurate shots. It wouldn't be so bad but you are forced to use one of their rentals or something they see as equivalent in order to play on their field. I had a few equipment issues: I chopped a few times because I pulled the trigger too fast (maybe 3 BPS); I ran out of air 2 times (I shot less than 1000 rounds per 20oz tank). The paint is kinda pricey ($20 for 500) for the quality that you get (lots of dimples and a lot of balls bounced). I ended up spending $90 ($50 for rental and 500 rounds + $40 for 1000 rounds).

Overall, it was a fun experience when my marker was working correctly and when people called their hits. This is a great place for beginners but I would stay away if you are experienced and looking to walk-on (which I don't think you can even do). It's hard to justify going to Action PB with other options available that give you better paint (2000 rounds), allow you to bring your own marker, and charge only $65 for the whole day. But Action is really in a league of its own because it is only targeting a specific type of costumer (who happen to be inexperienced).
Last edited on Wednesday, May 15th, 2013 at 6:17 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JulieI Sunday, March 28th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: June 22nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: I've taken a couple of different groups to this field for birthday parties and company outings, and we always have a great time. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The fields are fun and good size with a variety of terrain, so that you aren't always ducking paintballs. I think they cater to the new players so I don't recommend it to the professional players, but if it is your first time playing this is the place to go. They also put out a good BBQ wich is included in the price.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TM3399 Monday, July 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PNL paintball in Bridgewater
Cape Cod Paintball in Bourne
I would recommend PNL, then Cape Cod over Action Games.
Review: I would not recommend Action Games in Tewksbury unless it is your first time playing. They do not let you use your own gun unless you are in a private group of 20. I came with a private group of 16 and they wouldnt let our group join with another group of about 8 people so I could use my own gun (an A5). They said the reason was that we would get into a fight. The real reason was that their rental guns are aweful. They had short range and they would shoot 2 paintballs at a time. It really took the fun out of the game. One time I got so frustrated during a game I ran to a bunker with a guy on the other side. He ended up shooting me from about 3 feet away. Usually this would really hurt and leave an ugly mark. It left a small red mark. Thats how slow they had their guns shooting at. They did not have a chrony for us to check the guns so I could not check it. I did not stay too long. I felt like I was playing lazer tag.

The one thing I liked about this place was the BBQ. The food was really good.

I would only recommend this place if you are really scared about getting shot by a paintball. However, it wouldn't hurt at other places if you are not a really agressive paintballer.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

woddenduck616 Sunday, April 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: Overall, not a bad group. They are located at the end of a long dirt road in Tewksbury, semi-deep back in the woods. They have four fields and a base area that you can get your gun cleaned up at, get paint, or take some shots on a small target range. The four flelds set up are; three in the woods and one open speedball field. The three in the woods have well marked boundaries. One has a fortification towards the back and has some plywood bunkers and tires and is probably about a half mile in diameter. One is actually on the road you drive in on where they setup capture the flag or center flag games with some plywood obstalces, and fortifications, as well as some large spools and tires and some corrigated aluminum bunkers. The smallest of the wooded fields is about an 1/8th mile end to end with some corrugated aluminum bunkers. The speedball field has alot of blue barrels and some tires.
The folks running the show there started out the day grumpy as heck but warmed up as the day went on. The games were pretty well reffed but with a twelve on twleve on a fairly good size field there was a lot of room for people to ignore getting hit or just wiping off paint. A few people consistenly crawled outside the boundaries unnoticed until we'd told the ref. They keep the games moving and there isn't a lot of downtime in between games. 5 - 15 min's depending on how long the last games were. They do a pretty good lunch of burgers, dogs, and wings and supplied water and soda all day via a couple coolers. The water did run out around 11:30 and wasn't refilled so I would definitly suggest bringing water especially in summer. I enjoy woodball over speedball so I liked the courses and thought the folks running the show were fine, but my biggest knock is the prices. $30 gets you a gun(not bad at all for a rental and well maintained), mask and goggles(pretty chewed up), 50 rounds(for those new to this game, 50 rounds is like an 1/8th of a tank of gas; yeah it'll get your car running but you ain't gonna drive for too long), free CO2 refills(a tank lasts almost all day. about 1500 rounds depending on outside air temperature), and lunch. Most first timers will probably need a coat($5) and a case of paint was $100 or a bag of 500 will run you $30. Overall though. Not a bad place.
Last edited on Sunday, April 18th, 2004 at 9:31 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sliver1489 Friday, April 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
boston paintball
Review: They have a great barbeque at lunch time, the staff is well organized, reffing was pretty good, and overall the fields are pretty fun to play. As long as you like woodball, it's a sure good time. The only problem is that their prices are ridiculously expensive. A case of paint is 100 bux and entrance fee is 30. That's way out of my budget for a day's worth of woodball and that's what keeps me away from this field. It's a shame their prices have to be so high.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media