paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Arena / Paintball Arena / Paintball Arena / Paintball Arena

Paintball Arena

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
65Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 631-694-2707
Address: 400 Patton Avenue
West Babylon, New York 11704
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Pb Streaker Wednesday, April 13th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: April 8th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
High Velocity indoor field- bayshore
Cousins- coram
Review: Alright, i've seen you guys posting reviews and i joined up to say this, some of you guys leave something out each time one of you speaks (almost each one anyway) so ill start this review with as soon as you get there.

So you arrive there and the first 3 things you'll notice are 1. right next to a strip club 2. right next to power station/dump 3. there's no lighting. well, obvoiusly its not a good neighborhood, if they tried to build in a nice area they'd never have been able to build, and no there's no lighting outside, Well who cares!?! what, you cant see the see-through glass window and the light coming from inside- as well as the people who go out for a smoke? Not only that but, theres hardly any fields with good outside lighting.

Next, when you walk in there are usually plenty of space on weekdays and sunday no matter what, there at least 30 diffrent tables to put your gear bag on. The floor usually is always dirty when those 2 new refs work, so you'll be stepping on paintballs often sometimes, the setup is nice and the on site IPS store is great and open as long as the arena's open. on to the refill station guy (I do know his name FYI) yes, the fat one that everyone has a problem with. well to start off, think how he feels sitting thhere all day basically, and hearing noob (yes noob) 11 yr olds be retarded thinking they no so much about the sport, then those kids slam the tank in front him and say "i need air". He's a nice guy if you get to know him, he's also a great paintballer whom i have alot of respect for. sometimes he'll snap if you get him annoyed or angry, well- No sh*t, and at the very least say please or thank you.

The field, depending on the ref's is going to tell you what to expect, basically if its the two new ones (who's names i dont know) which you can tell by if there using the riot shield things, the field willl be cleaned maybe every 8th game and the floor will be cleaned every 9th, every other ref cleans every other or each game. excluding the 2 new refs, they will check your paint, make sure you have chronoed your gun, all that good stuff, they'll also make sure to check you to see if you get shot.

Now the ref's & staff on site. as im sure you've noticed by now, i have a problem with those 2 new refs who i dont even really know. those 2 always seem to ref together and if you seem them refing, i pray to god for you. Besides them everyone is nice, though sometimes the kinda rotund one at the end of the store by the back door looks mean he's really fun and nice at heart. Now back to the 2 ref's. They are usually lazy and dont clean the field, never check for chrono or paint.they always stack the good vs the bad players. if anyone shold rally be fired-its them. one time my freind went it with me 2v6 because it was their whole group and they didnt want to split, might i add they didn't even chrono their guns, and so as soon as those ref's got on field they started chatting, so we waited for 10 minutes ( i counted) before we started. 2 minutes later he was shot and the refs were still talking. he tried to get up and walk off but each time he tried, they shot at him (yes he was signaling he was out) after two more minutes of him shouting at the ref's who were still chatting away, he just got up and ran. afterward he asked forsome bandaids since some of the shots he got while trying to get off the field were bleeding. they literally walked away still chatting, took 10 minutes (which never ever happens any other time) to go behind the desk, came back with band aids- still talking.

Safety. They have alot of great rules for beginners they dont allow bunkering, and they do yell at you if you dont keep your barrel sock on. they also kick you out (literally) if your playing with modes like psp millenium or uncapped and break any other kinds of rules aswell. all in all they have great rules

Final: overall its one of the best beginer places to go, and they also have a night specifically for advanced players on tuesday, its a great place to save some money and still go ballin', i love the place. but i have to minus for those two refs and how they usually dont clean the floors untill they actually see how bad it is.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tsplat722 Tuesday, September 1st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: August 29th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cousins paintball,skirmish
Review: ok you gotta love goin to paintball arena.when you walk in its a pretty clean setup with a bunch of prep table a new store etc. the field is always setup good usually a snake,some Doritos and other stuff.it can be expensive at times all depends on what you buy. the refs take care of any issues on the field and the rest of the staff is good except for the fat guy that works at the air fill station.you ask him one question and he gives you an attitude. i mean i know it stinks you gotta work and all but seriously if a customer asks you for something you should at least respond. the arena also orders pizza from down the block its really good yum
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Alman12 Friday, March 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
cousins happauge (out of bisnus)
cousins courm (ok but not the best 'no speedball')
hivi(best field around!)
Review: ok i've been to this feild once, compared to happauge it sucks but i don't plan on comparing much. ok the fat guy isn't mean if ur just polite to him and don't go "fill up the f******s*** ok?" besides he probably gets paid minimum wage and has to feed a family, i would be grumpy at work too, wouldn't you? so the fields are nice, on the L it's alot of fun because the shorts always rush and i just ither lite them up while they come outa the corner or i run so fast up the straight side that i bunker them. they don't normally alow bunkering but if everyone is not a noob then they allow bunkering. the refs are good, but sometimes miss hits. one time i lit up someone and they didn't call him out, i coulda cared less caus he got his a** bunkerd 2 seconds later and i laughed when he showed me his welts. Everything is pretty much good.

Cons that really are normal but everyone says so here i'm saying that they're cons but not cons ok!!!!:

1. The place is in a bad neighborhood: WELL AREN'T EVERY PAINTBALL PLACES? the only 2 paintball places not in bad neighborhoods are hivi and skirmish.
2. The place looks dark like it's closed: DUHH! EVERYSPEEDBALL PLACE DOES!! i haven't been too one indoor place that the lights are bright, it just adds to the adreniline and the creepyness, if you want blinding sun go outside.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mpaintballd Monday, February 11th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 8th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cousins
hivi
Directions
to the Field:
check site
Review: ive been playing at this field for a while now.
i love it
the only really bad thing about it is that fat ass dick that works the air fill. he make smart ass remarks all night at the kids that are only asking for a little help. idk why this guy isnt fired.

there prices are really fair for weekends and week days.

i usually play Friday nights with a few of my friends and it gets crowded but that makes it more fun .
the refs are nice. they stress safety a lot but idk how anyone can complain about that b.c it is the most important part of paintball. they check the players and do there best to make the night fun. everyone's reviews say the staff sucks but i think that they try there best and you cant expect them to be constantly running around in the middle of the field with 50 people shooting. half the kids there will just shoot anything they see so i can see why sometimes the refs just walk up and down the sides.

the on site proshop is great! another topic i disagree with most people about. so what if they sell flex's for 80 bucks if you but them online there 70 plus shipping and you have to wait for them to come in.

i love this field!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

NoelyDeezNutz Wednesday, November 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins indoor is the only field in the area that ive played at (Im not going to compare fields for this review)
Directions
to the Field:
I-495E to exit 49s
make a right onto Pinelawn.
Make a left onto Patton.
take patton all the way to the end and its on the right in a very dimly lit area...
Review: So I pull up to the place, and its dark, it looked like they were closed (only the outside lighting)

I walk in and WOW. The place is setup very nicely. There is a wall that has a ton of old school guns that i would love to have and USE.

There is a store setup there that looked very well stocked, but expensive ($80 for flexes?)

Safety - for the most part is was very good, a few times people were shooting hot, and people would be on the field with their masks off (myself included) and someone would come over and tell us to put our masks on.

Fields - 2 fields, only 1 was being used though, long but narrow. you could make it to the back corners with no problem off the break. bunkers kept deflating and the PLAYERS had to help fill them.

Hours - Open nights, works for me.

Prices - I went on team night, so it was buy a case and get entry/air for free. It ended up costing me $40 for the night (plus tolls and gas)

Rules - never explained to me but I was assuming its because I play all the time and the people there could tell that.

Services - Not sure if they do tech work. (learn to tech your own guns)

Staff - Very nice, I spoke with one of the owners for a little while, while I was admiring the wall of old guns that I am starting to compete with. He was very nice, and actually made people want to be there. He was the only one working the front though, so he had to run from shop to air fills/rentals, and back all night.

Refs - At first, i thought, "wow, this kid is running and doing paint checks and whatnot, this is great!" till I played. The teams were almost ALWAYS stacked against the guys who didnt play there every week. Here is an example: our team had 1 mech cocker from 96, 1 mech trilogy cocker, 1 ion, 1 epiphany, 3 rentals, and we were up against the regulars at the field, who had a marq, a timmy, a mini, pm6, egos.... Obviously it wasnt going to be fair... But hey... Whatever right?... So we go to play, and im in snake 1, and some kid is in the 50snake... He is shooting to our back left, not knowing im in the snake with him, and when he pops out to shoot the guy in out back left, i blow apart his hopper... He keeps playing... I shoot crossfield at a kid in a mini X and watched as the ball broke on him, he keeps playing... So i say **** it and just run the field and bunker whomever i can.... I hit 2 people, and they all stayed in the game....

A game or 2 later, the teams were a little bit different on the walk on side... So we go to break, and i make it to the right 50. Ref pulls me saying im hit on my back and side... what? There was NO paint on me, I was walking off when i got hit ALL NIGHT, and how to i get in the back from the other team off the break? I wasnt running backwards to them... Than i watched... And realized why i got pulled. Because the other team wouldve gotten torn apart with someone on the 50 off the break. I watched as 3 players got hit and the ref casually strolled over to do a paint check... Obviously there isnt going to be any paint left on the guy by the time he gets there... But... I know this happens all over. It was just sad seeing it where everything else was SO GOOD.

Players - a mix between woods guys and tourny players. although the tourny guys felt the need to run all over the woods and new players... I guess they lost the last tourny they played, so they had to make themselves feel better.

Food - They ordered pizza for the place, and who ever wanted a slice could buy a slice for $2.00


ill be going back so i can edit my review...Since it was only 1 time, you know?
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ryone17 Sunday, August 26th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
hivi
Directions
to the Field:
400 Patton Ave West Babylon
Review: Here are the things I do not like:
1) They always scream at you if you break one rule by accident.
2) They should get new lockers bc so many things get stolen and no one uses the crap they call lockers now.
3) The fat guy behind the air and co2 counter is careless.
4) The prices could be better.
5) They should have better field setups.
6) It could be a little better organized.
7) They could make it easier to slide.
8) Bathrooms are a mess.

Things I do like:
1) Pretty Clean
2) Good items at the shop
3) They make the teams fair
4) The shorter guy with the dark hair and is a little skinny is really cool so look for him.
5) I like the L shaped field (sometimes) but its still good
6) Great staging area.
7) Pizza is great.
8) Hours are great.
9) Refs are fair but I like them a little more than I dont.

Overall Rating: High 8
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballdude88 Thursday, May 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: May 19th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None so far

me and my friends are looking into trying out HiVi and NYC paintball
Directions
to the Field:
See website, or try mapquest. Surrounded by graveyards and industrial businesses. One stretch of road has about a billion potholes, then another road has like a kajillion potholes.
Review: Alright, I've played at this arena since i was a rental, to where i am now. This arena has many positives, and, like most arenas, a few negatives.

Safety: Ok, safety is an important factor in Island Paintball Arena. The refs will kick anyone out, without hesitation, that threatens another players safety. Sometimes they take safety a bit serious, but its for the good of everyone. They yell at players that bonusball, take their masks off, bunker and what not.

Fields: On everyday but Friday's, the field is a straight field. Decent sized, Just got new turf again. On friday's it has a L shape, which presents a challenge if your on the small side. Usually cleaned. Nice SupAir bunkers.

Hours: for the price you pay, they are decent. On friday's its so hectic that you dont get that many rounds in. On saturday's, you get like 10 or so rounds in, which is decent. Probably could get more if there's no private parties at the time. Have Saturday Night Special, which if you wear their battle field jersey, then you get Free admission which is pretty cool.

Prices: 25 bucks covers admission for anywhere from 3-6 hours *depending on day/ time they open or close (holiday's and such)* Also covers unlimited airfills. Paint on weekends is anywhere from 40 a case to 85. Weekend paint is 65. Proshop prices are decent.

Rules: A bit strict sometimes. Dont allow bunkering unless all the people in a session is ok with it. No blindfiring which is good. Bunkering is allowed on Tuesday Nights (team night) and tournaments only. Safety is good. Other rules like no racial, religion slurs are allowed. My favorite rule, which im not sure if its a joke but it says No talking trash about someone's family.

Services: Fill Station- Fills HPA/compressed air and CO2. My favorite service is if you have ANY problems with your gun/equipment, they will fix it for free. Unless of course, its extensivlely damaged, in which place, they charge a fee. They know like every gun inside and out, along with most of the equipment, which is good. They can fix minor problems fast enough for you to get in the next round.

Proshop: Has all the stuff you need to play paintball (Paint, Lube, Squeegees, Masks, Hopper parts, gun parts, pods, etc.) Decently priced. They also sell a few guns at the on-sight proshop now (PMR, Mini, and a PM6 i think was what they had last time I went) Also, selling raffle tickets to win a Brand New Silver Invert Mini, which is awesome. Spend enough money, and get free passes and 2-1 admission passes, which is cool.

Staff: Almost all of the staff is friendly, helpful, and know alot about markers and equipment. They help out newer players, while also fixing high-end markers. The only guy i have a problem with is, is the fat guy behind the Air Fill Station. He gives the Island Paintball Arena a bad image, and if i was the owners, which are the nicest people in the industry, I would either see if he changes, or fire him. The rest of the staff is awesome.

Refs: Alright, when i first started going, the refs were great. They were into the game, checking for cheaters, people using PSP/Full auto mode. They were professionally trained, and really good refs. Then, i dont know what happened but more....er...... dumb refs started taking over. They plainly sucked. Now, there are a few more refs comign in which are truely good refs. They to check for illegal modes, or wipers and also are into the game, checking players and calling players out.

Players: You got a variety of players: Rentals, which are ok because they arent cocky . Then you got the low-end players. They have their own lower-end mechanical or Electronic guns. Most of them are ok kids, who again, arent cocky. Then you got the Mid-Level Players. Have Lower or Higher end guns, but are at the mid level. Some are nice kids, some are a-holes. Then you got the High-Level/Tournament Players. I've played with some tournament players, and I must say most of them are decent people who help other players out. I've also run into the occasional a-hole who thinks he the best, and he's cool because he bunkers the rental 500 times and makes him cry. They give the sport a bad image, and should fall in a hole :D. You meet people real fast on friday's and saturdays and make some friends. Most players arent a-holes, but you do run into some eventually.

They have bathrooms, but you might as well take a crap in the graveyard, thats how bad they are lol. I find the bathroom's only useful because of the mirrors they have in there, which is easier for wiping off paint after a round that you cant see.

Food is pizza which the deliver 4-5 times a session which is cool.

They have a shop also in Huntington Station that has every single paintball need. THey have markers, gear, safety equipment, paint, and maintence stuff. Also get free passes and 2-1 admission coupons there when you spend enough money. I shop there primarily for my needs cause it's decent priced AND they have a full warranty on everything you buy from there. The Staff there is usually the same as the Arena's, and they are all friendly and helpful there also.

Island Paintball Arena also has some tournaments: Young Guns etc.
From Monday to Friday its BYOP and saturday, sunday, and tournaments are Field Paint Only

Conclusion: This field is great
Has some minor flaws but the benefits overpower those flaws hands down. THey have the nicest service and people there. 10/10
Last edited on Sunday, May 27th, 2007 at 9:22 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mastanick859 Thursday, May 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
havent played cousins or hivi yet but i will try soon i gurantee its much better then here.
Directions
to the Field:
when u see nothing but dumps and garbage ur close
Review: ill go in the order that u arrive. first u drive thru bad neighborhoods to a cemetery this arena is in a horrible position its next to 2 dumps/power plants a cemetery and across the street from a strip club.then when u get there the staging arena is nice and big still kinda crowded on Friday and weekends don't leave ur paintballs out they will get stolen.the price is perfect especially on Friday its nice and cheap but still u play with alot of ppl.the obese guy at the tank refill is really mean!! and always has his hairy crack sticking out.there's this old guy that also mans the refill station hes mean to but if you talk to him he gets nicer hes a great paintball tho.ok now the field is newbish but great for people just starting to play sum of the refs r nice chris and nick.but i have to say they don't no when to stop fooling around we stand there for like 10 minutes while they talk to friends and tryout other ppls guns.the ppl that play there are huge newbs and little 12 year old fat kids with $1,000 guns that suck.the food is awsome if u don't go fast its cold and gross.theres so many great ppl to meet there everytime i go i wind up hanging out with someone for the whole day.over all i think this is great for starters.they could be to scared to move up unlike in other arenas this one has tons of rules so newbs wont get bunkered.if your lucky and there's no newbs ask the refs and they might let u bunker.im sure cousins is much better.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyeballer94 Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
cousins,high velocity
Directions
to the Field:
map quest
Review: ok im not really gonna say to much.but the areana is kinda not including the store.


OK the staff is dawm lazy:once the bunker was shot and i got a smear off of it and the call me out and the next round it hits me and it bounces and they just stay to the side and call me out and dosent even check me.

pro shop:i think its pretty good i mean y not it has everything you need for replacment and upgrades.and paintballsso i give it a 7 out of 10


foods amazing its pizza which they order from like a block away:9 out of 10 cuold be alittle less germy =]


PLAYERS :they steel all of your stuff and i get so pissed:unless your on there team.there so cool when there on your team there cover tell you tips and so easy to make friends.




prices r prett fare but could be alittle cheaper on paint.



6 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

D_METHOD Friday, April 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: Alright let me start by saying do not go to this place if you have experience in playing paintball because it is TRASH!

The safety was a little over done and annoyed me a bit.
The fields are garbage, very very small and narrow it is a L shape and is completely pointless for playing a game of paintball, and there is no slide on the turf they use.
The hours are normal.
The Prices are OK not bad.
The rules are not followed at all.
The proshop was not bad, pretty big.
The staff made me want to pull my hair out cause they treated me like dirt.
The refs have no idea how to ref and are not paintball players, they do not have a clue what is going on in the game. My 5 Year old sister could ref better then them, better yet my dog could ref better then those refs.
The players are all complete noobs.
The place was clean but had a terrible mask cleaning station.
The food i dont know about.

Over all i feel very dumb for even spending money there. I have free passes which im getting rid of because i would never even go again. The place is great for a bunch of 5 year olds having a birthday, but then again i dont trust the refs with 5 year olds.
Last edited on Friday, April 13th, 2007 at 10:41 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media