paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Boston Paintball Field / Boston Paintball Field / Boston Paintball Field / Boston Paintball Field

Boston Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
98Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 617.941.0123
Address: 111 Boston Street
Everett, Massachusetts 02149
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Frost1235 Tuesday, April 12th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 10th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
PnL Paintball - 1
Boston Paintball - 2
Review: ~Management~
Honestly, I've never met such rude people. Later on in this section, I'll note some of my experiences. But to continue, the only nice guy would be a single chubby guy who either works the window, or pro shop form time to time. The other managers are rude, unsympathetic, and only care about money.

1.) Boston Paintball was the first time I went paintballing. My group and I ended up throwing a private party, in the hopes we got the second field to ourselves. However, we ended up having to share with other people on the Saturday that we went. I was incredibly mad about this, seeing as how we were promised a field, and didn't get it. The manager jsut apologized, and walked away form me when asked. However, we did have fun.

2.) I went one time a february, and on a certain saturday, Boston paintball did NOT accept my college's bank check. I ended up having to pay out of pocket. This wasn't even the worst thing that happened! I bought 15 cases of paint for my college's paintball club. However, we opened up a case for each person, seven in all, and ALL the paint was breaking! I had several members with rather expensive guns that were supposedly set up to be smooth, and soft on tournament paint.

I attempted to talk to the manager, only to have him respond with, "Its not my problem," and walking away.
However, after getting MANY of the fellow players to complain, Boston Paintball finally exchanged the UNOPENED paintball boxes we had.

3.) During a day of playing with just friends, I wanted to buy a tank cover. I went to the proshop to see it was closed. I then went to the main window, where I saw the manager and and lady talking. I asked if the proshop was open, and the guy just asked if I was looking or buying. I, wanting to get a planet eclipse tank cover, wanted to buy something, but wanted to see if he was really a dick or not, replied by saying "looking for a something." The guy just said "we're closed," and the lady next to him just laughed. I asked if he was joking, and he simply said "nope." Pissed, I just walked away.

~refs~
Honestly, the refs don't really do much beside make sure players have their masks and barrel bags on, and calling game start/over. The refs usually stand near the snake side, and do nothing. I've seen people wipe right in front of the refs, only to have a ref point it out to his coworker.

~Field~
its a speedball field. Its pretty fun to play, but a good amount of the bunkers are pretty small. However, the refs change the field often enough to have players not be too familiar with it. This makes the field a pretty good place for teams and rec players looking to just practice and better their skills.

~Prices~
indoor paintball is expensive, and I feel it ALWAYS will be. This is because it is field paint only. Though I do not like it, the reason is mainly because indoor paintball places are dead during the warmer seasons, when most paintballers prefer to play outside. The way to balance this? High costs. However, Boston paintball DOES use Diablo Allstars most of them time. (Pretty good paint to play with in other words.)

~Conclusion~
The main reason, and ONLY reason I go to boston paintball, is because the only field I know that is open during the winter. SHould I find another area, I would probably never come back. The last time was this sunday, and after a poor experience with the management, I feel the need to find a better place to paintball.

But management aside, the field is a fun place to play casually. It is very relaxed.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

RivalX Sunday, March 27th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: February 26th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
PNL Paintball, and Boston paintball's field in Maynard.
Review: Safety is enforced, but thats common sense

The Refs there are O.K, they stay behind the nets so people on the otherside of the field
so some people tend to wipe (recall hitting someone on the hopper and he just wiped it off and shot me back when i was moving up).
At the Chrono-station the ref had trouble putting the allen key into my invert mini to adjust the Velocity... so then i took the gun off of his hand and chronoed it myself... it makes me a little skeptical, just sayin

The Games were good in the morning when not alot of people were there... but when the day grew, it was games of 9 on 9 (or more)... and when you dont have much cover off the break its a huge problem, and entering the snake side on one side you have HUGE gaps that can be shot at from anyone on the other side when running in and when theres 8v8 or so you get shot down easily trying to get into the snake, but thats just my gripe

Paint. Allstar paintballs are great, however this time when i went, they gave us OLD ALLSTAR PAINTBALLS to ALL THE PLAYERS, The stars were faded and the paint broke in
EVERYBODYS guns were having Barrel Breaks: DM10, Angels, Eteks 3, Egos, Invert minis, Rentals, Etc.
my friends and i got ten cases... we went through a couple cases until we had to ask them to replace the unopened boxes of OLD PAINT. :(
***Usually on the other days i come, the paint is in great conditions, but i was utterly dissapointed on that day

I think playing here is pretty expensive, and far (for me, since i live 60 mins away) and the staff is decent (i've seen much better staff at PNL, and heard about really nice owners at Granite State Paintball which i live closer to), GSP i heard is a BYOP for $20 entry , so i can go to a local paintball store and buy a case of good paint (for $30-$45), instead of Boston Paintball's $85 package

So in conclusion its the only speedball field i can go to in the winter, but other then that i won't be coming here regularly.
Try other fields, Please show some support for paintball fields that are CONSIDERATE and nice to their customers
To me i find that Boston Paintball just doesn't have that "Welcome!" feel to it.
Last edited on Sunday, March 27th, 2011 at 2:46 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

DyeKyd15 Friday, October 29th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 20th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Not sure
Review: Boston paintball has a very nice selection of airball feilds. the only problem is, is that the floors are too slick. you will always end up sliding into somebodie's rope when you are actually just trying to get into a bunker. there is no starting gate, only a small peice of rug. and if you try to run to snake of break, you will most likley fall.
The ref stays behind the nets. so there is no paint check. over all. it was a decent experience, they just need to do a few tweeks.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DroopyDogDude Sunday, June 27th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 27th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
New to the NE area
Directions
to the Field:
By the T get to haymarket then take bus 111 all the way to washington @ jefferson ave
Though they are named Boston paintball they aren't in the city of Boston but the street.
111 Boston Street Everett Ma 02149
Review: Safety: Each group of rentals receive a personal and very comprehensive safety demonstration. The fields are completely surrounded by two layers of netting.

Fields: Two indoor airball fields, but the one in the back is often reserved for private parties and not open to the public. I believe the public field is a standard X-ball field but they keep the X on its side. The floor is concrete with astro turf on top. Like most indoor fields the floor is VERY slippery good for sliding but I would highly recommend cleats. I love the field it's a lot of fun and very even.

Hours: From their site
Monday and Tuesday : Noon – 8p.m.
Wednesday - Friday : Noon – 10p.m.
Saturday (Now using Summer Hours): 10a.m. – 8 p.m.
Sunday (Now using Summer Hours) : 10a.m. – 7 p.m.

Prices:
Rentals
Tippmanns
$35 for equipment and 200 rounds and $45 for equipment and 500 rounds + 10 for electric A-5.
Self Equipped: $85 for admission all day air and a case of paint.

Rules: Mask rule is very important, like all fields you cannot take your mask off on the field. They enforce this very heavily which is good for players and for the field. They have a system where players wear a ski-lift ticket with two boxes one for a warning for breaking the mask or barrel cover rule and the other a dismissal, so you get two chances before you get kicked out.

Proshop: The have a fully stocked shop with a large variety of markers, loaders and accessories. I never asked but they probably have someone on staff to fix your marker if needed.

Staff: The have a very large friendly and helpful staff always available to help.

Refs: Though they normally have two refs for every game, they tend to stay behind the netting and only on one side completely blind to the other. There is a lot of wiping and the refs often don't see this and I hardly see refs actually calling people out.

Players: A very good mix of players. They separate rentals and self-equipped players for some very even matches. Rentals can jump into self-equipped games. Self-equipped is full of some very good and intermediates players. Players with beginner markers often play with the rentals.

Facilities: They have single men's and women's bathrooms. Their staging area is full of tables which people can place their things. Personally, I would like to have a locker or some closed storage place but they claim to be watching your stuff and I have never had anything stolen from me so I guess it's safe. They have a closed chrono area where the refs check your marker and where you tweak it too.

Food: They have two always stocked vending machines with snacks and drinks. There is also some fast food and a supermarket nearby.

Critique: They need to put a ref on the other side of the field there is too much cheating and it can be very frustrating. I would also feel safer with some sort of locker for my belongings. Their prices are moderately priced but they have a lot of special deals making this place a great deal (look on their website for more details). I would also like to be able to play on the other field but I understand private groups get priority.

Overall: This is a great field, it's fun, clean and well priced. Now going to school in Boston, I'm calling this place home. I give the field a 9/10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer1184 Thursday, December 31st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 27th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: Upon arriving at Boston Paintball and walking in, I noticed that the indoor field was really nice. The pro shop is also excellent too and I easily spent a lot of money there. The staff is very friendly which I liked. To sum up the short review, it is well worth the $85 even though it is a bit steep for entry and a case. I am rating it an 8 because of the cost, and because there is only one decent sized field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

loldozer Tuesday, March 3rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 23rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire
Directions
to the Field:
A bit in the middle of no were to me but not bad
Review: Im posting this review because this is were i learned how to play paintball. this is a amazing place to learn the sport of paintball.

Safty is a 10/10 here its always PUT YOUR MASKS ON AT ALL TIMES!!!
The pro shop is apsolutly stashed with guns masks paint ect. the pro shop staff is really nice
the staff was very nice they helped with gun problems and so on.
the indoor field was really nice and the floor was slippery so you could slide!
the price was like i think 60 bucks for all day air a case of ammo and a rental. the rentals come with a mask and a obvously a marker. the marker is a tippman.
35 bucks if you own your own gun
there are venging machines there so its all good
the refs were very fair and they were good at evening the teams out

I definetly reccomend this field if you love speedball


(im more of a woodsballer)
Last edited on Thursday, March 5th, 2009 at 1:58 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cthoop54 Monday, March 24th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 29th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Canobie Paintball
Planet Paintball
Review: First I want to tell you about the way paintball feilds all over work. I'm sick of hearing people who complain about the refs in some stupid way or another. They have a tough job and they only have 2 eyes. Also, its a paintball field,its going to be messy so dont complain about the mess or the smell for that matter. Also, yes there are some people who give paintballers a bad name, but take the hint and walk away. And one more thing, paintball is an expensive sport anywhere you go, not jus boston paintball.

The best field anywhere. I have never had a bad expirience. Refs are always helpful and kind. Fields are the best, they use a turf floor, and super 7 bunkers. They also change the field layout every day, so you'll never have the same play twice. Tons of staging room. BP is vary stricted on saftey as an field should be. If u take your barrel bag off, your done playing (and leaving the field with it off is a vary big deal). Dont let anyone fool you, the best field any where
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

omen924 Sunday, February 10th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 18th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Well, the first time i ever went paintballing was at this place. Best time of my life! I had so much fun as a beginner and i just got hooked on paintball immediatly after that. This place was the best place for a birthday party. Sure, i may not have gotten anyone out, but i STILL was having so much fun. The staff is very nice and i only got 1 strike the whole day. It's based on three strikes then your out, pretty fair to me. Anyway, the day i went i got to use a tippmann 98 custom pro (I rented). It was really fun and i had a great time. This field is awesome! Whether you are expierienced or not, this field is so much fun!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

NoMercyJoe Friday, June 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Their outdoor field in Maynard?...
Review: One of the better , if not , the only fields around here.

Saftey - Very Saftey orientated. I'm a regular there , so , I don't have to go through the long briefing , but , if your new , expect to be sitting down for 10 minutes for a saftey orientation.

Prices , Proshop & Staff - The prices are a bit high , but , this is paintball. The proshop is well stocked , and the staff is very friendly , and , at times , funny.

Players - During the week teams practicing , Fri , Sat , Sun , you get your parties and your regular rec players.

Food - You can order a few things like pizza , or get some snacks and drinks there.

Facilites- The bathrooms remind me of the burgerking ones..well..a tad better , and , the place may look a little "rickety" , but , believe me , it's a great expierance , and , they just got new bunkers , with a neat little set-up in the middle.

All-in-all , if you're near Boston *sommerville in this case* , then , pay a visit here.

P.S. The rentals are old Pirhanas , but , they actually do shoot , and they all used Compressed Air , which is a plus...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cacjr88 Monday, April 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Randolph Paintball
Camp Pendleton (no comparison)
SC Village (no comparison)
Directions
to the Field:
93 north to exit 29. take an immediate right once you get off the exit. you will probably see it. it is near the home depot.
Review: Yesterday, I played a few games at Boston Paintball. I loved every round. Since we came when it was crowded and stayed till there was no one there (7:40 although they usually close at 5:40 for practice), I think I have a pretty good idea what BP is like.

First off, the prices are kinda expensive for the normal person. However, it's paintball. Paintball is expensive. What do you expect?

Safety is a major issue for insurance reasons. Even before you can play, a ref sits you down and explains everything. Unless you tell him beforehand that you have played before, he will go over every aspect of gun and field safety. Also, you are given a tag to wear that also explains the rules and safety points. After he gives you the safety course, he will punch a hole in your tag, verifying that you took the safety course.

After that, if you have a rental, you have to walk all the way to the back of the arena. However, it is kinda of cool because you can observe people playing. The rentals aren't bad and they aren't necessary great. They shoot paintballs. Sometimes, they aren't consistent. Sometimes, they are on the money.

Anyway, if you are reg and you have your own equip, you have to chrono your gun down to 250 I believe. Once you have done that, you have to get your tag punched again (for safety reasons).

Alright, now that you have done ALL of that. You can play. Depending on how many people are there, the games usually go as follows: beginner/rental, group, OPEN. Beginner games are for people with rentals or low-end guns. Usually, those games have many inexperienced players. I found myself owning it up with a borrowed rental. Group is for....groups. In this case, groups are birthday parties or a group of people who scheduled playing time a day or so earlier. Okay, after that, there is OPEN (beginner - advanced), which is by far the most fun. Many people around are loaded so you will see all types of high-end markers being used. Yesterday, I had my minion up against about 5 EGO 07s. It was insane but I held my own.

Now, if there aren't that many people at BP, it will be OPEN 24/7. Unfortunately, don't expect you and your friend to play on the same team. My buddy who had an EGO and I had to be split up a few times in order to make teams even.

Services are excellent. However, there is no food besides vending machines. The guy at the window/proshop will break anything (he broke two $20 for me yesterday).

The staff is overall very nice. I only met one disgruntled ref and that was because he had been shot in the head and balls by a player the previous games. Besides that, all the refs and staff were very nice. The ref are especially nice to you if you are good. After a few rounds yesterday, I was being allowed into almost every game (including beginner and groups). Refs used my friend and me to even the teams a few times.

As far as the field goes, there is only one speedball field. The field is very slippery. However, I loved it. Since I am a run and gun player, sliding was astonishingly effective. On the other hand, if you are one of those people who likes to stay back and snip targets, you would love this field as well. That is what my friend and I would do when we played beginner.

Next, we have the players. On Sunday, there were all types of players. The army buffs, the expert who had modded their guns, the townies, the birthday party types, the 5-year vets, etc. Everyone seems to get together but not everyone is honest. The refs try to catch people wiping paint off on another but there is only one ref so he can't see everything. There were two instances involving the same two paintball vets in which they rubbed off paint on each other. I know who you are so I won't call you out.

Besides that, I would say definitely go play on the weekends. Or, if you have a party/group, play during the week to guarantee yourself as much playing time as you like. I am rating this field a 9 because it doesn't have more than one speedball field but the place operates very well with what it has.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media