paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / North Mountain Paintball Field / North Mountain Paintball Field / North Mountain Paintball Field / North Mountain Paintball Field

North Mountain Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
18Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (304) 229-1412
Location: Gerrardstown, West Virginia 25420
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
jsan1017 Saturday, July 11th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 11th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
be the hunted(maryland) Skyline.
Review: Okay, I played at this field today and it was the worst field i have ever played at. The 'xball' field they have is lame, the grass is knee deep and just breeds ticks. the bunkers are filthy. They obviously have never attempted to keep them nice. To be honest, the people who are giving it good reviews probably play there all the time. I noticed the 'regulars' didn't pay. It must be some sort of tax return and some guys who don't have a field close established this.The field owner or manager, (I don't know what he was but I could care less) did not help my friend who was having gun troubles, he just took a glance and said 'I don't know' his brother looked a bit ticked off that he had to help a customer. It ended up being fixed by a friendly local. I didn't even play. I packed up the car and left. All in all it was not a pleasant day.

Pros- They fill to 4500psi and I went to quiznos for lunch

Cons- Everything
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cex92 Friday, March 13th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: March 2nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skyline
Review: NMP in my opinion is run better than Skyline. At skyline, sure the refs are reliable, but if you are playing at nmp, chances are your playing xball anyway. At nmp, the refs will actually give you pointers, and other players will show you what else you can do to make your game better. NMP is a fmily and grows better players. Skyline is a machine run with no compassion for players.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sniperskillz Friday, February 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skyline- OK....nut not the best
Review: Hey Everyone.........NM is a great field. I have played at this field many times and i have never had a problem. At Skyline they run it like a buisness and their ok, however NM has that "home style" feel and they really make you feel like family. I had a little brother and it was his first time playing and the refs showed him how to play and gave him some tips. NM also doesnt have the kind of cheating scum that you see at other fields. It also has a really great mix of Vets and Newbies. Their fields are very diverse and range from Speedball to Woodsball. Overall this field is great for anybody who likes to play woodsball or speedball or just likes to have a good time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

master_chief Tuesday, December 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I play for a competion paintball team called The H'town Crew. Our team started going to NMP in March of this year for tournaments. I must say that the reffing there is the best I have seen. I have played in NPPL and APL events in my years plus lots of Rec ball. They have a very large woods field. A field that has a house on it that is used in scenario's plus a small 3-player field and a regulation X-ball field, that's right an X-ball field which they change around every so often to mimic different tournaments like The River City Open. It is great for the Recreational baller and the hard core tourny player. They have a D3 7-man team named Militia plus 3 five man teams House of Payne, Havik and The H'town Crew who are always there. Come out and play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kil3 Friday, October 21st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skyline,Master blasters(Chesapeke),actiontown
Review: I have read every ones reviews posted above, and how some complained about the road and only one airball field. I play at north mountain every weekend and recently about a month ago as of 10/22/05 the road was changed and it is now shorter smoother in most areas, and there are no more speed 12 inch speed bumps, also about there 1, 3-man field they had recently about two maby three months ago as of
10/22/05 they purchased a 7-man chronic field (very nice). personally i think NMP is the nicest paintball field around and you really dont have to worry about Ed babby sitting you if you know how to conduct you self in a reasonable manner and know the basics of paintball.
Last edited on Friday, October 21st, 2005 at 9:21 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

puckit Saturday, December 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
bigl's,skyline
Review: Ive acualy played this field a couple of times over the past few years.. They have some cool fields most of the players ive meet were cool. I dont know how walk on play is because i only go when there is a big game.. Some of the ref are on top of things and some are just lax. iIhad some issues with one but over calm talking they were resolved and no hard feelings.. The reason im writing this is because after reading some of the reviews it desturbs me that some of you are whining about newbs.. Well it seems to me that you were a newb once yourself.. And if i were a newb reading your posts then i would probaly take my buissnes els were. And that aint helping ed much is it or the sport to grow.. So if you wanted more people to show up at your field so you can have more targets or meet new friends than try and help a newb out cause it just raises the level of play and that makes you better and it help bring more people there to make money that can be put back into the field.. Thats my 2 cents
Play safe,have fun, its just a game
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cal2cool4u Friday, November 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Greensburg it has really good airball.
Review: This place is pretty cool. The Airball Field is pretty small, though. But, that was kind of a good thing. Games didn't take too long, VERY action packed, and we had a good time. We never had any problems with the field, but it was slightly misting part of the time. And of course, my Spyder Imagine was fed one wet paintball and I had paint in the barrel, behind the barrel, IN the bolt, outside the bolt. But Zack (guy who works there, nice guy) helped me and we got that cleared up. But, other than that, the variety of fields was great, but I prefer airball. My group loved the village and the house. I would recommend if you like many different woods games. So I give it a 7 for lack of a good Airball field.
Last edited on Friday, November 26th, 2004 at 4:59 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntbllr99 Monday, October 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skyline and Greensburg. Skyline just plain stinks. The whole place just isn't one that's all that inviting. Airball is okay, but NM's is cooler for 3man. Plus, they change it each week. Greensburg is cool. They only have one field, but it is an awesome airball field. It rocks! Greensburg I'd say is equal to NM
Review: What the crap, I just had probably 150 words and they just disappeared. This is bull crap. Well, I'll continue where I left off. The refs there are awesome (Keagan, Jason, Zack and Ed(s), Cody's cool too. Safety is strongly enforced by most refs, but some are a little lax... Well, this review was much better until it screwed, but I give it a 10. This might not seem justified by whats written, but I'm too lazy to rewrite all of it. Oh well.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dotkom29 Friday, August 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played at Skyline and been to tourney's at Pev's and Tanneytown.
Review: I've played at NMP for as long as I've played paintball. I started there years ago and then got out of the sport and got back into it a little over a year ago. I'm not doing my review to bash any other fields, there is a reason that I stay at NMP and I'll leave it at that. As people have said NMP has been growing for many years now. The field however very recently has come into it's own. I think it's a real competitor in the area. Walk-ons always comment on how friendly the staff is and how fun the game play is. They also cater to tourney folk, the owner and a bunch of his buds have played tournament ball for years so they really take the time to teach you how to play the sport better. All and all, NMP has alot to offer noobs and veteran players alike. Come down to the field one Saturday or Sunday and give em a shot. You won't regret it!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

WVTERP Tuesday, September 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skyline is run like a business. Professional. Could use some more fields.
NM is run like an after school project. Has lots of potential though.
Review: Went to North Mountain the first time I played. The fields are nice, people are nice.

Not the safest or best organized place though.

3rd game was on the mounds field. 7 on 7 total elimination. Halfway through the game a guy comes out of the weeds (out of bounds) from a 90 degree angle and shoots my friend in the arm twice from 5 feet away. Left 2 pretty bad blood blisters on his arm. The bad part about this was he not only came in from out of bounds... he was not in the game when it started.
The ref let 3 more people join the game 3 min. after it started. Now it was 10 on 7. and allowing people to come in from out of bounds. Unsafe. My friend was not pissed that he got the blood blisters, he was pissed at how he got them.

I would say that NM has possibilities. They just need to run the place better. Right now it seems like it is run by people who thought opening up paintball field would be a cool idea. Employing their buddies as refs with no real training.

Pace of play was very slow. It can be the same at skyline. Keep the games moving. I did not pay to sit around.
What can be done to fix NM.
1. Better safety enforcement from the refs.
2. More organization
3. get rid of the 12 inch high speed bumps.
4. Better area to work on stuff and sit down.

Seems like they have a good bit of land to expand if they get their crap in one sock.
I hope they do since it is only 10 min from my house. Now I drive 40 to go to skyline because of the lack of safety and organization.
Last edited on Tuesday, September 16th, 2003 at 12:37 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media