paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Panther Paintball Field / Panther Paintball Field / Panther Paintball Field / Panther Paintball Field

Panther Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
35Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 6045330890
Address: 19022 16th Ave
Surrey, British Columbia V3A 4N4
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
SevenCross Sunday, November 22nd, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 24th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Valley Combat and Tactical:
Awesome place, just killer people to play with.
Sniperz Paintball:
Fun, especially the towers and the downed airplane.
Review: Their field was alright, the landscaping and layout would be good if it wasn't for the pricing.

My friends and I planned on going out to try a new field and decided to go with panther. Now I'll admit, the field is pretty cool. The paint is where I had encountered problems.

I don't know what it was, whether the paint was old or just brittle/poor quality, but it was breaking on me left and right. After asking the salesman if I could go grab some other paint (while promising to not return the paint I had already purchased) I was denied usage of anything else.
The one thing that caught my eye, however, was that the select few people who knew all the refs [and seemed to be extremely well known to some of the regulars] were shooting something different. I had asked what they were shooting but I never received a straight answer. I caught them wiping a few times (and one time in particular the ref was looking in his direction and seemed to pretend to not notice) and despite my one effort to notify the refs I became extremely frustrated. These people were immune! Immune to a point, however, as I quickly focused all my attention on them.

I have to admit that I love the dunes. Seriously, what a cheap and well thought out way to make a field. It takes really nothing more than a bunch of digging but improvisation like that deserves recognition.

I rate the field just below average, however, but not due to the construction on the field. It's how it's run. In an honest opinion you can buy the greatest field but with the refs ignoring the rules and punishing newcomers it's hard to think that it's fair. It's not just me either, it was the rest of the people there.

Maybe it was just a one day experience, maybe it was everyone else having a horrible day, but I'll be back with an edit on how the field does.

Field layout and construction-8/10
Referees-2/10
Paint available-3/10
Overall experience-5/10

Rating-5/10
Nothing to get excited about, but at the same time it shouldn't be ignored. Give it a try, you might like it. It just isn't the field for me
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

adrenaliine Tuesday, December 30th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 28th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Directions
to the Field:
19022 16th Ave.
Review: I love this field. They treat everybody the same and it depends but most of the time they use good paint but it really sucks when they use bad paint. Very friendly and good service. The concession girl makes the BESTTTT french fries. Lit fields so on Tuesday they play past dusk. Working toilets. CSPO often holds tournaments and thats the best time to go and play because thats usually when they have great paint.

Its worth going to.
Only downside is that sometimes they have crappy paint that breaks in the barrel quite often..
make sure you have barrel swabs and squeegees.
Last edited on Tuesday, December 30th, 2008 at 6:37 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rottendrew Sunday, August 5th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ambush, Adrenaline MPL ridge, Private, Too many to list
Directions
to the Field:
take the 200th south exit off the # 1 drive to 16th ave and turn left ,its on the right
Review: They were good on the safety. Barrel plugs in when leaving the field to the neutral zone and masks on at ALL times when entering the field or in play. Someone was actually ejected from the field for the day for his second offence

I have played their about 30 times but only once in the past 10 years . I will only talk about my most recent experience at this field.

They take cash, debit card, visa, master card but NO American Express.


The prices were too high for the quality of paint. 140$ for a case of 2000 or 35$ for 500 or 8 dollars for 100 (with your own marker) if not its 10 bucks. My son and I bought a case of the cheaper 140 dollar a case balls. Big mistake, this was a paint with shells so thin, that they would break if you dropped it from waste high onto pavement or let it roll off the table. The paint would break in your half filled tube or hopper if you ran hard , if it didn't it would dimple. I had several breaks in the barrel, hopper and ball tubes. My BT 4 did not like the paint but my son's Spyder MR1and the rental Tipman 98's(on air) seemed to handle it better , but forget about any sort of consistency in accuracy farther than 40 feet in both guns. The Paint they were using was made by XO industries they had a more expensive thicker shelled same brand for 160$ a case, but after being burned 140$ once i wasn't going to risk it. No off field paint is permitted, but i noticed certain individuals that had some and were not hassled. The paint was a big letdown , it could be a storage issue.

We played on 3 different fields they had about 40 walk on's and we formed 2 pretty well matched teams They also had two other reserved private parties with over 30 people each. Their was about 30 air soft guys too but they played on a different field ( 10 bucks walk on) ,the place was busy and making lots of money but ill get back to that later.

The urban assault type scenario field. With one two storied tower on each side and 10 or 15 shoulder high walls and windowed structures, all facing each other and painted white, on short grass on ether side of a 250 by 250 foot field. ( approx.)

A few deciduous trees and small bushes field. With hip high grass and several world war one style trenches and earth burns, off to the high side and parallel to the field, but only about 4 feet deep. The field was about 400 by 200 feet ( Approx.)

The final field was a bush field with minimal small bushes mostly coniferous dark cool and shady with tall fir's hemlock's and the odd vine maple. their was a single story structure with a huge upturned tree and root ball that rested on top of a crushed car and a white panel truck fashioned into a ambulance by a paint scheme all in all the fields were clean and easy to negotiate with minimal tripping hazards and a lot of fun.

During breaks between games they have a snack bar that has hot dogs, hamburgers , pop and the like, all reasonably priced for what it is . Free Co2 and air is included in the 10 dollar walk on fee. The pro shop was over priced but its probably only used for people in a pinch for replacement equipment. they have free lockers that will give you a lock for some ID or credit card imprint for deposit. ( 10 bucks)

Unfortunately I cant say anything good about the refs officiating this particular day. Myself and several other people witnessed the same opposing team players wiping off paint on more than one occasion. The fact that some of the wiping players worked their probably played a part in the refs lack of calls. While we were out in the field someone noticed My son had some balls from another field in his equipment bag still in their unopened bags. He and I did not appreciate being accused of using off field paint. Especially since I bought a case of 2000 and left with 5 or 6 hundred. Their was more than one paint check throughout the day looking for off field paint. They could have used a bit more tact when dealing with the players. My son who is 12, and others were amused by the tattle tailing, snooping and accusations by the field staff but all in all we all had a good time. It would have been a 9 out of 10 but for the paint . The poor people skills and the greed they showed when it came to the small amount of off field paint that was seen. Especially when they were having such a great day, it was almost comical if it weren't so sad
Last edited on Sunday, August 5th, 2007 at 10:39 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

JLohner Monday, June 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: August 16th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Northwest Flag
Review: I like the whole layout of the field. But the last time I went to this field, it was extremely
overbooked and my group had to wait 15-30 min between games while the staff
ran around trying to organize groups. The rental equipment is also very poor. Very
scratched lenses and fog alot. Staff was very rude when asked to use better
equipment ( 'Q: do you have a better mask available? A: Yeah at the proshop)
This field is also far too expensive. I just can't recomend this field.

Note that the date last played is just a guess as I have moved out of the area and it was a couple of years ago that I played there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

nicksniper Monday, April 23rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 26th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
There is ambush but that is a little of a drive and they only have one feild
Directions
to the Field:
watch the right side of the road because the sign dosent have the name on it and its small.
Review: OK they have many different kind of feilds so if u like ciuse they have a tire feild withtons of bunkers, city feild with many buildings, crack shack kinda like cops and robers, and three forest feilds. They also have about 15 acres of waste area for random things like senario or people that play airsoft. staff is nice and if youre RENTAL breaks u get a new gun. Paint is a little pricey but isant it always. They have food which is cheap and three night lite feilds.

the only bad thing is their bathroom hasent been cleand in about 20 years.so dont LOOK DOWN!!!!!

its a great place to go so have fun!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

silenthawk Saturday, April 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rampage Paintball
Tswassen Paintball
Review: This was the first paintball field I ever been to. In my opinion the best one around. Ive been here about 7 times and each time I've had an absolute blast.

Pros:
-Friendly, experienced staff
-covered area
-free lockers ( you only have to give them your drivers license or a 10 dollar bill for the time being)
-Many fields to play at
-people of all skill level are always welcome
-very strict on rules and safety. (one kid walked into the "masks on" zone before a game by accident, and was told to sit off)
-people with their own gear benefit. (8.00 for 100 paintballs instead of 10.00)
-staff always help me out when I need it
-staff give me tips and advice for making my gun better
-speed ball field
-games start like very 5 minutes, so you aren't ever standing around waiting
-refs let you pick the fields most of the time
-hot dog guy is always there to save the day when your starving

cons:
-pricey if your renting, but also for anyone else. (Generally I spend about 35 bux when i go, which isn't too bad.)
-Very small sign. (I drove past it 2 times before finding the driveway)
-very, very, very bumpy and rocky road. (remember to go slow)
-the place is kind of run down and junky, but it doesn't really affect your experience
-the field boundaries are sometimes not roped off which can be confusing
-the main concern is that they didn't even have a chrono machine when i went last. I wanted to check my gun out for the first time, but they said someone stole it. Like come on, every field needs one!!!
-lots of people don't use the mercy rule, either because they forget or they are just feel like giving people alot of bruises


Overall this field has some sweet courses, I like trenches the best by far then maybe crackshack. Most of the downsides are minor and don't affect your game, but I would definitely pave the driveway. I gave it a 9 instead of a 10 because they didn't have a chrono when I went, and the paint prices could be better.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

bcballer321 Friday, July 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tswassen Paintball. Ambush Paintball.
Directions
to the Field:
From the west, ie: Vancouver go east on Highway #1 to the 200th Street exit. (Go Southbound)

Or from the east, ie: Abbotsford go west on Highway #1 to the 200th Street exit. (Go Southbound)

Travel down 200th through Langley, and continue south to 16th avenue (about 70 blocks) and turn right onto 16th.
Go down the dip in the road, and as you come up the other side of the dip you will see Huckleberry Farms & Greenhouse on your left, then on your right is a big lonely cedar tree.
The driveway and sign is directly across from this tree (19022 - 16th Ave) drive in and down the long driveway to the parking area.
Park and come sign in under the Panther Paintball sign.


If you are coming from Vancouver on the #99. (Go Southbound.)

When you get to the 8th avenue turnoff, take the turnoff to go East on 8th avenue.
Go over the #99 and continue to 176th Street.

Turn left and go North (away from the Border Truck Crossing) 8 blocks to 16th avenue.
Turn right and go to 19022 - 16th Ave (about 2 miles = 14 blocks)


(Look for the Sign)
Review: In my opinion I think this is an awesome field. The first time i went , I was very impressed at how many different areas there were on the field. My personal favourite is the trenches. I've played this field in the rain the snow and the sun and every time I've been there I've had a great time. I give this field a 10 out of ten because they have nice staff, a great field, and it's free field free and rentals on holidays. So come on out and have a great time at Panther.
Last edited on Wednesday, August 16th, 2006 at 7:05 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

slinkey Tuesday, June 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: June 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
badlands in winipeg, and ambush.
Directions
to the Field:
it has a big white sign that says 19022 and has four paintball hits on it. located on 16th avenue. not hard to miss.
Review: the prices are not to well for bush ball but for speed ball it is 60 bucks for 2,000 paintballs. all you do is call 604-533-0890 and ask if speed ball practice is on sunday or tuesday this week and they'll tell you. go there get mabe 2,000 paintballs and have a fun day.

P.S. the speed ballers meet in a white tent to your right when you drive in.


like i said been paintballing there for three years, best paintball feild in B.C.


Hope to see you there.......
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

t_reed45 Tuesday, March 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
warrior paintball, guerilla paintball, tigerland paintball, many home made fields
Review: i recently went to a tournament, series 1 bcppl, at this course and i played in the rookie division on team FYU. this was an awesome field with everything we needed and very well set up speedball fields, there was a problem with chrono's but thats no biggie, the tournament was the best i've ever played in and i look forward to playing at this field again and playing in the next bcppl event.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ballah' Wednesday, November 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 29th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
TPG NS Ambush Snipers
Review: That's too bad that you did'nt get to play at Panther cause it's the best field for rec ball in the lower mainland.It might have been a smart idea to call their "game day" phone as this is the # of the playing field NOT the retail store which as all the other paintball retail outlets is NOT open sunday's.

I play at other local fields and much prefer the atmosphere at Panther.The staff seem's to be very helpful to newbies as well as regular player's.Their paint prices are on par if not cheaper then TPG,Ambush,NS etc...

Everyone should play here as they are one of the first commercial fields in the Province,not copycats...innovators in my mind!!!

Check this place out if you have'nt already!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media