paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / HeadRush Syracuse Paintball Field / HeadRush Syracuse Paintball Field / HeadRush Syracuse Paintball Field / HeadRush Syracuse Paintball Field

HeadRush Syracuse Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
26Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 315-453-RUSH
Address: 3417 Walters Rd
Syracuse, New York 13209
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Lawlson7x Sunday, February 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
High Energy Paintball- Amsterdam, New York - Best field in ny overall.
Albany Paintball Emporium- Nassua, New York- great scenario field.
First Prize Paintball- Albany, New York- Could use some work here and there.
Directions
to the Field:
mapquest.com
Review: First before i start, i attended Headrush's Blizzard Ball Tournament.

Safety: Safety was good, no mask off problems, nothing like that at all.

Layout: Theres only so many layouts someone could setups or think of for a 3man field. But they came out with a decent well planed layout. The snake side was useless to anyone and everyone. Games were won threw the doritos. There was also so many breakouts one could do. Lanes were setup well and everything was pretty decent.

Prices: (This was for the event only) Paint was $60 a case. $30 a person. ($90 a team).
The paint shot pretty well. I used .693 bore and has zero problems with it. Only one break in the barrel and that was due to one ball out of 2500 i shot all day.

Rules: Rules were given out to the captains at the beginning of the day. I wasn't at the meeting so i didn't hear the full little briefing but i did get the low down from my captain.
Simple things like, no more the one undershirt, field paint only, refs have final say, one foot and barrel must be in the start box, ect ect. All the other rules that go with a tourny.

Services: As far as services go, they filled to 3000 all day. Which is understand able because ya never know if some kid has a 4500 or a 3000 tank these days. There was a little Kitchen which sold drinks, snacks and other little goods. They also ordered pizza for the day.

Proshop: Pro shops seem to be a dying breed. It wasn't nothing to spend a day at. But they had everything from, tanks, pods, packs, pants, t shirts and gear bags. Everything someone needed to play pretty much. But the selection wasn't far and wide.

Staff: Ken has a real decent staff. Some of them are real down to earth cool dudes. Giving anyone a hand if anything is needed.

Refs: This is one of my only gripes threw out the day. There was a mixture of AXBL players as refs. As well as a few other guys. The AXBL guys knew there stuff and did anything they could to keep the games fair. There were a few of them having some problems with my marker. Even though the debounce, trigger and everything was tuned all the way down. They still thought i was shooting it a wee bit to fast for there liking. Oh well. As far as the other refs. These guys shouldn't quit there day jobs. They did the right thing with giving paint checks. But sometimes, even when there was no paint on a player they found it right to call them out. This goes back to the no arguing with the ref deal. Which i didnt do. I just took my walk and prayed my team could get it done. Some of the other refs (non axbl players) Were real cool down to earth guys, and i made sure to thank them after we were done playing for everything they did. These were the guys that would say "Oh hey good game" or something like that. On a little sidenote, some of the refs were friends were some players. Which made for a lopsided day. Overall. Id say all the refs could use a quick little clinic to show them some different things.

Players: Players at the event stretched from kids with tippmanns and spyders. To kids who knew there stuff in and out. I found it weird how some teams were playing beginner even though there experience didnt show it. Some kids had matching jerseys, all shooting the same markers and were doing what higher level teams did. (Walked fields, had game plans, ect)

Facilities: The entire setup was well thought out. With up coming plans for more to be built on the property. Headrush 'will' turn into a major extreme sports park.

Overall: I felt Headrush was a great place to play. I had a good time and i could deff see myself going back for open play. As far as tournys go. It all depends on who's reffing i guess.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MacAttack001 Wednesday, January 16th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Combat Zone Paintball Park: comparing apples and oranges, indoor (speedball) vs. outdoor (woods ball)
Review: Precursor: As a general rule I am not a huge fan of speedball, but let’s face it, it’s January and I was jonesing for a paintball fix. Having read ALL of the reviews here I was bracing myself for the worst.

Safety: There were a couple of young players that I reminded that they needed their barrel condoms on but that was it. And by reminded, I mean I politely and quietly pointed it out (no need to get bent out of shape).

Fields: The play area was split in two speed ball fields, with plenty of blow up bunkers to hide behind. Astroturf on the ground that seemed in reasonable condition, there is one pot hole at the entrance to the field on the right. I heard the complaints about the lighting and the real problem isn’t that it’s dark it is that the lighting present doesn’t get any bounce due to the netting around the perimeter. My solution was putting in my amber lens and I saw just fine the entire time that I was playing.

Hours of Operation: 5 to 9 on Fridays, 12 to 5 on Saturday and Sunday. Here is my complaint, I wanted to play LONGER!

Prices: Extremely reasonable and they let you BYOP! I didn’t, instead buying a case of their V1. Shot about 1000 balls…NO breaks…not one. So I was suitably impressed.

Services: Self serve on the compressed air and they had a tech to take care of the CO2.

Proshop: I have not used it so I can’t commit.

Staff: Friendly, helpful and knowledgeable…covers all the bases.

Refs: No complaints.

Facilities: I have played in multi-story buildings that were a couple months from being condemned to some of the best woods ball fields around. HeadRush seemed fine to me.

Food: They had Gatorade so I was happy!

Overall: I liked the place so much I am going to go back. And while you won’t see me there once the weather warms up I will be there every weekend until it does.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

LHUDSON05 Tuesday, February 27th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 11th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
alliance
Review: A year ago when I first went to headrush I honestly did not like it. But a lot has changed over the past year. Headrush has really stepped up on the way the manage the feild. It is now much cleaner than before. They inforce the rules better. They have a larger staff. They have better deals on paint. There shop is very decent, its not huge but they have a nice variaty. I have heard complaints of the lighting but i don't think it is all that bad. Headrush has put more carpet and turf in the staging area so its less slippery. They have a snackbar which is nice. Over all headrush has fair prices and is a decent feild.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Iamwankman Monday, January 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: December 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
HeadRush Rochester - Oh my god its small
Rexplex NJ
Hustlers Paintball - NJ
Atlas Paintball - NJ
Review: Safety: No comment. Sometimes good, sometimes terrible

Fields:( I have only played indoor)
The carpeting is pretty bad, sometimes there are actual small puddles of paint. Lighting is Average. Thier staging area and viewing area is pretty nice though. Bunkers deflate every once in a while also...

Hours of Operation: I only play on weekends, so they are always open when i go

Prices: Very good

Proshop: Used to be amazing, they seem to be keeping less things in stock now, maybe its just a winter drought.

Staff: Very friendly

Refs: Sub par. In tournaments they seem to favor home teams. Ive seen many calls blown at tournies. They are fine for open play though.

Players: Most of them are nice. At tournaments you will get the ocassional annoying people, but what field doesnt.

Facilites: Bathrooms are usually very clean. Sometiems when there are alot of people there the bathrooms get backed up, and that is just baddd news.

Food: They have cheap good food durring tournies, which is sweeet.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MC_Mick Sunday, December 31st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
only been here, friends' houses
Directions
to the Field:
on walters road, off of state fair blvd
Review: it was fun for my first time at a field, they have 2 indoor speedball fields separated by a screen wall, so hearing people was tough. people constantly dry shooting their automatics so that didnt help the hearing. the staging floor was UNBELIEVABLY slippery. i almost fell 5 times throughout my 3 hour day there. brought my own paint because of the special going on. they had like maybe 4 people working there that i saw. a ref for each course, one counter man working the concession and parts booth, and one guy working the admission there. it was ok, but needs cleaning and a little more staff
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Your Mom123 Sunday, November 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
TnT-Awesome
Hyperson-Awesome
War Club-Good
Directions
to the Field:
Dont worry u dont wanna go there
Review: Terrible experience
i went up there for a tournament, and heres what i came to:
1.) worst reffs ever by far, called people out when they werent out, didnt give a damn about anything, seemed as if they didnt care about the game
2.) field wasnt raked once, very slippery, the staging area was slippery as a mofo. i saw a few people slip and fall, and one got hurt pretty bad
3.)lighting was AWFUL. should have glow in the dark paint and bunkers
4.) Had 2 games running at once, made it extremely hard to tell if a person on the other team is still in or not, hard to hear ur teammates, hard to hear where people are shooting at u from.
5.) $70 dollars for a case of paint

the main weakness in this field is the condition and the refs. reffing was absolutely terrible and headrush really needs to pull their act together and get some guys that can ref a game
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

ET251 Tuesday, May 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
TnT- nice course, out door though
Fury- nice course but to small
Directions
to the Field:
Exit 5 off the state fair
Review: When I arrived at the field I was impressed with the cleanliness(not the bathrooms) and the goodies at the proshop. The people there are really nice and There is a guy who works the "fix it booth" with a killer rat stach!!(lol)- anyway he can fix anything you put in front of him. The field was a little shady, it wasn't lit super well but it was good. The field was a little slick(wear cleets). At first I played a couple of games and the bunkers were starting to soften-they really didnt do anything until I asked and then They turned the field back into a nppl level field.(If the bunkers are soft, usully just ask the ref or guy at the parts counter) Overall this place is doing good, the owner is planning a $70,000,000 action sports park, so i will deal with the differences until it is built.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BlackMagic2638 Sunday, February 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
First Prize Paintball, Albany Paintball, PbMissions, Splatt Factory, 3 guys games, and Friendly Fire Paintball
Review: Just got back from a team practice there. We drove about 3 hours to get there, and let me tell you the exprience was horrible. Paint was $30, and entry was free and we wondered how they could afford that. Then we found out: they have little to no refs working there, or any staff of any sort. This was an Xball team practice, and the cheating was terrible. There was 1 person there working, first half of the day he was working the pro shop and the second have he was playing with a team. We eventually had to have the people not playing ref, which is something that should never ever be done. Also people were freely walking around, on the field, with barrel bags off and no masks. People on our team were yelling at people all day to put their mask back on.
The floor is more slippery than you can imagine, and we were there from 10-4:30 and they never cleaned the bunkers once. The floor dips up and down in places, which is very hard to see with the terrible lighting. Bunkers were not anchored down, and stand ups would often just fall over if you gave them the slightest tap. There is only one way onto the field, and its through a small opening in the net. There is absolutely no place for people to wait to get on the field downstairs. Wasnt exactly heated either.
The only good thing I would have to say about this place is the staging area. Even though it is slippery as hell because of all the paint, it is a very cool view over the whole field from the second story.

Overall: I will never be returning, and tell all of my friends not to waste their time.
Last edited on Sunday, February 26th, 2006 at 6:19 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PB3 Monday, January 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Play to win,the under ground neither are as good
Review: Well first off i love this place nall the people are nice they help out alot the proshop is great has an awesome assortment of gear two indoor fields three outdoor fields ona a bmx track which is cool self serve air nice stagingare a little dirty but who cares im a dude and filthy things dont bother me that much unless its like nvm lol nice fields umm the turf is a lil un evn and the refs dont really play a big role in checking you could wipe and no one would know i have to be honest i did that once on the field ohh well. well other than those really non siggnificant weeknesses its a great place to play
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

badfish314 Sunday, November 27th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 26th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skyball 2004, LVP in PA, PBOTF in PA, Stonemak in PA, Rex-Plex in NJ.
All other fields besides Rex-Plex had better lighting, all other fields had better turf/flooring, I believe that the other fields had some sort of heating.
Review: Pro's- Nice Proshop, good assortment of markers and parts.
On-site food, I didn't get any, but it was there had I wanted some
Clean Bathrooms
Self-serve air fills-3000 psi only
Elevated staging and viewing area
Good Tourney Paint (Empire@70 dollars)

Con's- The turf is horrible and there is gravel underneath making it very uneven
Floor in the staging area is slippery as what
Is this place heated????
Bunkers were cleaned twice during a tournament-unacceptable
No Dead Boxes on field
No chrono reffs-unacceptable
Reffs don't know the NPPL rulebook(Tournament was NPPL rules)- unacceptable
Reffs stand on the side and let the games play themselves out-unacceptable

I drove 4+ hours in the snow to Headrush to play in a 3-man Tournament. I would have been better off crashing and dieing in a fiery explosion on the way. The reffs are horrible and refuse to make fair calls or even any calls at all. If you plan a tournament around NPPL rules, make sure you know what they are, have a rulebook in the store for reference. The floor was missmatched pieces of turf over gravel, also the turf was frozen in most spots and missing in some(bare ground/gravel). I was only chronoed in the first game I played and nothing after that, no checking for ramping, bounce, or shooting hot( the limit was 300 fps). Reffs should have cleaned the bunkers inbetween games instead of wrestling with eachother but whatever... The upside was the store, it had alot to offer from DM4's to Timmies and tippmanns along with a good selection of parts. The food stand was also a good thing along with the elevated staging and viewing area. The bathrooms were clean and the self serve air was pretty cool but it was only 3000 psi. I wouldn't go back again, it is 4+ hours from me and unless they change alot, it wouldn't be worth the hassle.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media